paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann SL-68 II / Tippmann SL-68 II / Tippmann SL-68 II / Tippmann SL-68 II

Tippmann SL-68 II Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann SL-68 II

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann SL-68 II
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 116
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $170

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Tippmann is reintroducing a paintball legend with a few modern updates, including a redesigned integrated feed neck that fits most current standard hoppers, as well as a redesigned ergonomic grip for enhanced comfort and control. Most of the other great features that helped establish the original as a true paintball legend still remain.

Key Features:
• 11” Performance Aluminum Barrel For Accuracy
• Smooth Short Stroke Design For Speed
• Redesigned Integrated Feed Neck Fits Most Standard Hoppers
• Auto Receiver For Faster Firing – Hold trigger and pump repeatedly for continuous firing
• Solid Cast Aluminum Receiver and Non Corrosive Internals for Durability
• Redesigned Ergonomic Grip For Comfort And Control
• Integrated Tank Adapter with Built-in Gas Line
• Front and Rear Sling Mounts
Product Availability 
The Tippmann SL-68 II is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (12):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Black_Ice_4 Monday, March 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Talon, Aci Maverick Deluxe (with 14 inch barrel)
Marker Setup: Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Tippmann 14 inch sniper barrel, Hopper adapter, Sling (all of which i am getting from Tippmann soon).
Strengths: Great gun right out of the box. Very accurate stock. Replace my broke Aci maverick (cant find parts for it) with a sl 68 II. Parts are easy to get right from tippmann. Bottomline intergrated into handle. easy to aim sights. Exellent back up for your semi or good begginer gun. Best pump I have ever shot, period.
Weaknesses: Needs a hopper adapter, but Tippmann will sell you one if u call them. Barrel dosn't mount to reciever like other threaded barrel so it takes longer to remove. The pump handle rattles slightly but does not affect prefomance.
Review: I just bought my sl 68 II about a week ago. I use a tricked out piranha as my main gun and have used a aci maverick with a 14 inch terminator style barrel as a back up, rental, and pump only game gun. My maverick which is about five years old is now leaking down the barrel and I cant find any parts for it. So I bought the sl 68 II new for $90! I am very happy with it and cant wait to upgrade the barrel plus get the hopper adapter. this gun is now my second gun and will be my teams sniper gun after being upgraded. Seems to be a very solid gun, no little pump handle screws to lose like my maverick. Looks as ggod as it preforms. Nice flat projectory. overall the best made and prefoming pump at a price that is in reach of most everbody.
Conclusion: Buy this gun if you are getting into paintball or want a pump for a back up. Pump only players, this is the gun to get! For about $100 you get $200 of value.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MadPaintballer5 Wednesday, February 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Phantom
Marker Setup: an autococker.(E-orracle) i have many barrels a 88cu 5000psi fiber raped nitro tank, steal braided hose new delrin bolt and a blade double trigger.
Recommended
Upgrades:
none it is a pump it is fine
Strengths: it is ready out of the box. accurate and can do exelerated pump mode. light and can be good to snipe. does not waste or break paint. easy to clean.
Weaknesses: nothing it is all good in that gun
Conclusion: pump tournaments are fun and my team came in second with these guns. buy it for a pump touney only
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dmikein Tuesday, December 31st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Had an older SL-68 and currently have a BE Tigershark
Marker Setup: Currently use a Tippmann ProLite with CMI barrel. Also own/use a Compact 2000, BE Stingray, and a Trracer S/A.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I have not needed to, but lots of folks say to upgrade the barrel. However, there are not alot of barrels available for this marker. If you are cheap (like me) polish the barrel with some rags, mother's polish, and a drill until it shines. This will improve accuracy somewhat.
Strengths: This marker is a freaking tank, indestructible, good to loan to friends and family.
This marker is accurate. Almost all markers need barrel upgrades, this one probably needs it the least.
Its a pump, so CO2 usage is low.
It has some power behind it, it will leave your friends/victims with welts.
Can be purchased cheaply, I purchased a brand spanking new one from ebay for $50.
Weaknesses: Loud!!
You have to purchase or rig a hopper adapter, I use an old small ball hopper that came with one of my BE markers, this works fine because you dont pray and spray with this marker.
Few upgrades, barrels are fairly hard to find and somewhat expensive, but you can live without it.
You will have a tough time surviving if you are used to shooting alot of paint at your opponents and hopeing for a hit, the rate of fire with a pump just isnt that fast.


Conclusion: Another great Tippmann product. This is an old one and not that much in demand, but great fun in the right kind of game. I had an old used rental sl-68 which survived rough treatment for years until it was lost by an idiot relative in the woods. Debated about replacing it, but glad I did. I have never given any product a 10 because nothing is perfect, but this baby is close.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jeremy Evans Friday, November 29th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
tigershark, talon, blade, all b.e. and this is the best (i have used alot more guns than this but i only listed pumps)
Marker Setup: Rebel Xtreme with 14 ounce smart parts on/off, expansion chamber, 12inch teardrop, 7inch forward 2 down dropforward(cant remeber what it is.) Evilution II hopper
------------------------------------------------------------ ------------------------------------
Tippmann Pro carbine with venturi bolt, 13" armson pro one series rifled barrel and custom grenade launcher.
------------------------------------------------------------ ------------------------------------
SL-68 II stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
a barrel if your into pumps, i made a mistake, i like semi autos, i thought i would try this and see, but its not for me. I havnt used any really good pumps but i would say it is accurate even stock. But it does need a barrel. get a sling on it too if you play in the woods so you can crawl around and stuff :) and a scope and a bipod too!
Strengths: ACCURACY-the accuracy of this gun is good, unless you turbo trigger it but i only do that in desperate situations.
COST-only 100 bucks last i looked, not bad for a gun this good.
DURABILITY-tuff as nails. i dont know if you know this but the gun is all one peice except the barrel and the gun is made out of aluminum. It is built like a tank. I have loaned this gun out to friends and they have beat the sh*t out of it. and it still works.
UPGRADES-there are hardly any, but what do you need besides a barrel? this gun cant take drop forwards or expansion chambers. but thats good if you like the rifle feel
MAINTENANCE-it is so easy to take care of and there is only like 5 parts inside the gun and they are all really tuff and there is almost no way you can hurt them
Weaknesses: It gets cold really quick in winter games. no insilation in the handle so your hand will get really really cold. Its a pump so unless you play very well and with alot of heart you will get smoked by semis. But thats just me so maybe you can do it.
front handle is plastic and wobbles a bit but it is solid, just bugs me a little ..
need a hopper adapter which raises it up a little more than i like. people say they cant find em but my gun came with one. :)
thats it...
Conclusion: by the way my brother wants me to say this. this is not jeremy evans this is his bro jared. He was afraid you would get mad at him :) now hes yelling at me lol so anyways this is a really good pump gun and would be an excellent sniper weapon if you got a scope and a bipod and a barrel. im giving it a 8 for stock because i think that is realistic for what it is compared to other really good pump guns
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MAJ. RaZoR -MR- Friday, September 27th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Phantom (THE BEST pump gun ever)
Marker Setup: JT Excellerator 3.5 (all stock, AWESOME GUN!)

PT Extreme Black (all stock)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrell needs upgrading. the stock is too short.
Strengths: Sturdy- made of metal and iron

Compact

reliable

Somewhat accurate. i think the accuracy could be better though.
Weaknesses: Heavy because its metal and iron, but its good to be strong. it is pretty short, shorter than i like. the barrell is short too. Its not good for peeps with big hands. It barely fit into mine. The main problem= LOUD!!!! its VERY very loud. dont snipe alotta ppl with this gun cause u will be dead. even if you hide after you pop up and shoot.. the sound will tell the enemy where you are. but it is fairly accurate so u probly wont have a problem sniping mabey 1 or 2 guys.
Conclusion: its overall pretty good. if i wasnt getting a Phantom, i'd buy this one.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

FalconGuy016 Thursday, September 26th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tigershark
Marker Setup: A big towell and some paintball gun
Recommended
Upgrades:
Are there any? I would like to know.
Strengths: It works cleany, consistantly, and very well. Very smooth feel to it.
Weaknesses: I'm afraid there isnt anything to go here. Just enough words to fill up this 100 word limit. That is all really that is going here. This 100 word requirement. Sometimes I like to think about oranges before I sleep. Its very soothing. I hate grapefruit however, gives me kawee.
Conclusion: Its a very nice pump gun.

Of course i'd recommend a semi for new players, but whatever floats your boat. (you can get a semi for the same price as this, so im assuming you bought it for the fact that it IS a pump)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Le Squash Sunday, August 18th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
MY FRIENDS tippmann flatline "sniper" setup
MY BROTHERS vulcan pump marker ($13 at big 5)
A RENTAL tippmann m98
Marker Setup: tippmann sl-68 II
12 oz. co2
homemade sling
(coming soon) lapco bigshot
Recommended
Upgrades:
there are few upgrades available for this marker. since it is designed to function on liquid c02 an in-line regulator or expansion chamber is unnecessary.
a barrel would be an ideal upgrade (bigshot coming soon, also j&j and boa make barrels) but the stock barrel itself is still fairly accurate, especially compared to other stock barrels.
also a butt plate or a stock of some sort is needed to help steady aim. there is a company that makes gas-thru stocks which take c02 cartridges, but a $3 butt plate works fine for me.
Strengths: -the sl-68 II is reputed as one of the most durable paintball guns ever, if not the most. now i have not played with many guns but with my experience with this one i would not doubt it. its body is of one piece construction and can and will take a beating. it also has very few parts inside of it making it difficult to break and easy to fix. along with the simple design comes the ease of field stripping and cleaning, any fool can do it.
-it is an accurate marker stock, much more accurate then my friends flatline "sniper" setup, and i can only imagine how accurate it will be once the bigshot is made available for it.
-because the barrel has no threads, you stick it in and tighten a screw, it won't unscrew on you during a game
-it looks badical.
-made by tippmann: made in u.s.a., made with care, unmatched customer service.
-the joy felt when shooting down an expensive marker or even just a semi-auto with this built-like-a-tank-from-hell gun is unmatched
Weaknesses: -though i don't necessarily think it bad, not many upgrades are available for it. but then again i count this as good since i don't believe any more upgrades that are available are needed.
-slow rate of fire. duh. its a pump gun.
Conclusion: this is a fantastic pump gun, especially for its price. built like a tank and shoots like a laser (hyperbole, but compared to other guns its accuracy is rather grand) if you want to play pump but don't want to spend a bunch of money on some shiny gun, get this one. get it now. you shan't regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paint magnet Friday, June 14th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Not many pump guns compare
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom (black), 12 oz aluminum CO2 tank, Psycho Ballistics double trigger, lightened trigger pull, Dye Aluminum 12", GTA rc/rva, Dye Stickys, 32* coiled remote(sometimes) KAPP black gas-thru foregrip, GTA vert. adapter (Black Phantom gravity feed, vert ASA, .45 frame on the way !!!!!) My SL-68 w/ a hopper adapter
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel is not completely nessecary but is nice. Also, you have to have the adapter to put modern loaders on it.
Strengths: This gun is built like a tank. I bought mine used for $55 and it had been a rental gun for 7 years. And after seven years of abuse and neglect, it still works! Most of the time the gun was left lying around pressurized, too. The gun is very lightweight and very compact. If it was any smaller you wouldn't be able to fit a handle on it. It has a short and smooth pump stroke, and the cleaning port thing is cool. It also is meant to run LIQUID Co2! This means no problems with liquid getting into the gun, because it doesn't make any difference! This is a great feature, esp. in cold weather. hardly ever chops, and the gun is very reliable. (I mean, it was used as a rental for 7 years and is still works like it was new, even if it's not as pretty) Also, the first time I picked the gun up, dropped in a couple proballs that were sitting in the back of the guys truck, cocked it, and not knowing what to expect, fired it at a tree 40 yards away. It hit about 2 inches below where I was aiming. For a gun that's been abused for seven years and still has the stock barrel shooting not so good paint, that was awesome. It also has a pretty flat trajectory.
Weaknesses: Well, you can't take off the barrel during a game, but the cleaning port means you don't need to. You can't use any aftermarket grips with it, but it doens't need them.
Conclusion: This is a great gun! But if you're going to pay195 for it, pay another 3 and get a Phantom. But if you can get it for less an want a gun you can just gas up and play with, this is the gun for you. I love mine. (I still haven't got over the rental thing) Nothings perfect, so I give it a 9.4. If mine was new it would probably be a 9.8. Realize that I'm rating this gun on how it works after 7 years of being used by newbies.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, May 20th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sheridain PGP 2
Marker Setup: Adco sure shot sight. Other then that its stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel if you can find one. While not nessacery it might be worth getting one.
Strengths: Well its a good gun right out of the box. Its durable like all tippmanns. It is very accurate even with the stock barrel. Plus the autotrigger is kinda cool.
Weaknesses: Well theres almost no aftermarket parts for it. Also it is hard to clean. Because you have to basaclly take apart the whole gun to clean it. Also it is very loud.
Conclusion: Overall a great pump gun. I recomend this to anyone looking into getting involved with pump games. And it is quite capable of competing against simis and electros. This is a very well made gun. I suggest you buy one.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, May 18th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sheridan XTS nemisis, Stingray II, ACI Maverick, Tippman procarbine, Tippman custom
Marker Setup: SLII, with 12oz.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
Strengths: Is very accurate, is made by tippman (can't go wrong) looks sharp, loud; will scare crap out of animals and opponents, built in elbow, very consevative on co2, can go semi by holding trigger and pumping, durable, simple to take apart
Weaknesses: breaks balls if you try to go semi for too long, so don't. is a Little heavy, when balls break, hafta take apart gun to clean
Conclusion: Overall, I really liked this gun. I planned to, after moving down from a semi, sell it and move back up, but once I tried it, I loved it. Is a perfect gun for an anxious beginner, will definately suprise your friends, and gives new meaning to the word "pump"
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (12):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media