paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder Pilot ACS / Kingman Spyder Pilot ACS / Kingman Spyder Pilot ACS / Kingman Spyder Pilot ACS

Kingman Spyder Pilot ACS Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder Pilot ACS

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder Pilot ACS
[ View Photos (26) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 106
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $330

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The revolutionary Anti-Chop System (ACS) is the world's first true anti-chop bolt. Simple and affordable, the ACS bolt delivers the same results as expensive markers with eyes. The ACS precision spring tension recognizes obstructions before crushing balls and jamming the marker, so the action never stops.

Features:
Second-generation CAMD (Color Access Display Mode)
Sensi-tough straight trigger with multi-adjustment points for enhanced rapid firing
ACS venturi bolt
Reactive response trigger, capable of up to 20 shots per second
Sleek, custom designed receiver
Special ACS edition body engraving
Tournament lock switch
12" aluminum stock barrel
Anti-double feed
Expansion chamber with foregrip
Tournament velocity adjuster
Vertical ball feed
New style drop forward
New two-finger trigger with regulation trigger guard
Adjustable trigger pull
Low pressure chamber
Bottomline with stainless steel hose
Top-cocking bolt
External recharge port
Quick disconnect pin
Adjustable rate of fire
Battery power indicator
Operates on CO2 or compressed air
Includes JAVA 9.6-volt rechargeable battery, indoor battery charger and spare parts
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder Pilot ACS is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
spyderguy275 Saturday, May 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Fenix ACS
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot ACS with a Viewloader revolution loader, a nitro duck carbon fiber air system and a twist lock feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
definately a new feedneck
Strengths: the light weight, spiral barrel, and ACS bolt.
Weaknesses: Lower end marker. Maybe not as fast as the manufacturer claims. Needs better feedneck.
Review: this is a smart looking, light-weight marker. the new stock barrel is different than other pilots as it's got the spiral to it and seems to fire very straight for a stock spyder barrel. i used to have a fenix acs but had nothing but problems. this one is MUCH better. I also like the new faded red/black color. although i'm a serious woodsball player, it was love at first sight. after i tried it, that love was justified. accurate, decent rate of fire, although my loader isn't too fast. that's just my preference, though. if you want to shoot a zillion bps, maybe you might want to try something else. but this is an all-around good gun and i definately think it's the best spyder that kingman has on the market.
Conclusion: I recommend this to anyone who likes paintball a lot, but isn't into extremely serious competition. It's lightweight, has a good feel to it, good stock barrel, reliable, and fairly well priced. i have no complaints.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jonnerboy715 Tuesday, June 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Imagine
Piranha EVO
Spyder E-99 Avant
Piranha STS
Marker Setup: Red to black fade B2k4 with PDS, eggy 2, crossfire 68/3000 tank 32 degrees drop forward with on/off
Recommended
Upgrades:
Perhaps a barrel, the stock barrel's bore size is a little small. Maybe a new reg, clamping feedneck

Get a FAST hopper if you have fast fingers! Get an eggy 2 at the least.
Strengths: Very fast!, Anti chop bolt, everything and anything
Weaknesses: None I have come across, grips kinda suck, has lots of kick
Review: What can I say. I love this gun. My friend got his today and I went over to shoot it with him. Out of the box the trigger pull looked huge, but it's extremly easy to adjust since you no longer have to take the whole grip frame off to shorten it. We hooked up the air and filled his eggy with 150 paintballs. Man, this thing is soo fast, I would buy one if my B2K broke because it performs just as well. Its pretty accurate with the stock setup and with fast fingers this thing shoots ropes. I have videos of it here

http://www.putfile.com/media.php?n=O-PilotACS

http://www.putfile.com/media.php?n=O-PilotACS2
Conclusion: This gun is amazing for the price. Anyone thinking of buying this gun, go for it! You will not regret it. It has the whole package. And for me, it was way easier to walk than my B2K4 w/ PDS :O. I love this gun so much and the ACS bolt works like a charm, no chops what so ever, even when we were out shooting the eggy :)

deserves higher than a 10
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 7th, 2005 at 1:20 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

pilotpaintballr Thursday, January 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
m98 custom
diablo mongoose lcd
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot ACS
egg2
Dye Sticky 3 grips
nexed gloves
spyder jersey
all american barrel(planing on getting it)
5 pod down harness
Vforce mask
Recommended
Upgrades:
electro hopper
new grips
new barrel
eventually a new reg
Strengths: very accurate
never chops
F-A-S-T
losts of upgrades
trigger frame
acs bolt
Weaknesses: Grips are not very good.
Barrel sucks (what barrel doesnt?)
feed neck
Review: first: i went paint balling with my friend and at that time i had a Halo TSA backman hopper and the hopper chopped every ball in it, so i would not recommend that kind of hopper for that kind of money.
Second:it is very very accurate and it never chopped one ball except the ones that chopped in the hopper but that was not the guns fault. i love this gun and it is one of the best i have ever shot. I have a egg2 now and it is so fast. but i don't know if i should get the T-board.(if any one has any suggestions about that or any thing else please tell me)
Third: velocity consistency is very nice and the trigger is awesome too. i like how the trigger can be set from two different point and it really gives the trigger a nice feel to it. the one thing i don't like about the gun is that it is kind of hard to field strip because u have to take the top cocking pin out and it is difficult to get the bolt ot come out. but that is about the only thing bad about it. i think it would be a very smart idea too get a electric hopper because this gun is fast if u have a good finger. the dual ball detents is a nice plus too the gun also. i like the C.A.M.D, it is very easy to read in the brightest sun. the milling is a very good affect on the gun.it would be nice if Kingman put the reg a little closer to the trigger frame but that's a personal preference. the barrel out of the box is nice but i don't like the look of it so im going to get a All American barrel. I also don't like how the trigger frame has two places to put your fingers, to me it just gets in the way.
Conclusion: This gun is very good for this price. I would recommend this gun for any newbie-tournament player. I love this gun so if i were you i would save up my money and buy this(its not that expensive).
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 19th, 2005 at 6:29 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

greeneax Monday, May 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
98c, and other spyders, o yea an ion
Marker Setup: 05 Spyder Pilot w/ ACS
Halo hopper (TSA)
Progressive barrel (arrives Tuesday)
TWISTER barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
NEW BARREL!!!
Electronic hopper
Good paint
Strengths: ACS!!!
Ready expansion chamber
Top cocking
Strait trigger!!
Weaknesses: Disassembly hard (Getting cocking Knob off really hard, read review)
Tall vertical elbow
Stock barrel
Review: It all began as I was looking for a paintball gun to buy, I had decided I wanted something that worked well looked good, was cheap and was easy to upgrade. When I saw the Pilot I started asking people about it and reading reviews, after about 2 weeks of "research" I decided to buy the Spyder pilot for only 180 dollars on ebay . Sweet deal!! When it arrived at my door step I was transfixed by its beauty, I immediately started shooting paint a thing trying to see if a ball would chop (even with its fabled anti-chop bolt), and much to my surprise after me playing a couple games and putting around 6000 ball through it (my hopper counts how many balls I put through it) I still hadnít had a chop. So I decide hmm.... I have this leftover 8 month old crappy opened paint letís see if the anti chop bolt can handle this. After about 150 balls the inevitable happens, I chop a ball. I had tried once before to open my pilot but couldnít so I decide that Iím going to open up this gun and clean it if it was the last thing I did. I spent about 15 minutes trying to pull the cocking knob out of the bolt and just couldnít do it. I was pretty sure that you just pull it up and out (the manual didnít suggest otherwise, but of course with all Spyder manuals it wasnít very helpful) SO NOW I TELL THE WORLD, to get the cocking bolt out of the gun you just have to YANK!!! It up (I say this because no matter how hard I searched I couldnít find that answer) and if you cant get it up with your hands get a pair of pliers and then try. IT WILL COME OUT!!!!! <----- that is the worst thing about this gun and, if you think about it, it really isnít that bad!! (Reason for 9-10)
Conclusion: A great reliable gun for cheap
ACS is sweet
I highly recommend this gun for anone who is in the market for a cheap reliable electronic gun!!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 2nd, 2005 at 3:56 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

nish99 Friday, November 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
* Tippman 98 (non-electric)
* Spyder Fenix
Marker Setup: * Spyder Pilot ACS
* Halo B
* Stock Barrell
* Nitrous (47/3000)
Recommended
Upgrades:
* 14 or 16 inch barrell works best
* Nitrous
* New trigger
* Fast hopper
Strengths: Look at the review
Weaknesses: Loock at the review
Review: PLUSES

1. Pretty fast (considering its a spyder)
2. 4 modes (3 shot burst, 6 shot burst, full auto, semi)
3. Not too expensive ($108 online)
4. I have chopped 1 ball, and that only because I tried my hardest to chop a ball. (ACS-anti chop system)
5. Easy to make adjustments

MINUSES

1. Too easy to change modes (all you have to do is press a button!)
2. A little bit heavy, not too much though
3. With the hopper on, its a little tall (not a big problem though)
4. The gun is loud, but you won't notice while you are playing
5. The gun bounces somtimes when you adjust the trigger to close to the button to make it shoot (bounces- shoots 2 times for one trigger pull)
Conclusion: I would say that this is a great gun for someone who is on a low budget and a starter. This gun is also for people like me who are cheap and don't want to pay too much money. The gun doesn't have many negatives that would affect your game play. The parts for this gun aren't too expensive either so if you want to upgrade it, you don't have to worry about paying more than the gun itself. In conclusion, I would say that this gun is a great buy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

tippmannboy98 Thursday, February 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
piraha e-force
Marker Setup: Spyder pilot ACS, 32 degrees whisper barrel, evo2 hopper with yboard.
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, reg, hpa, fast hopper(revolution, reloader, evo2, halo/reloaderb)
Strengths: 20 bps
4 firing modes
Looks
Top-cocking(preferance)
price
Weaknesses: Stock barrel
Thats it
Review: This paintball gun is the first electro i have ever owned. I love it!!!! I never chop paintballs, I always stay in the game, I can shoot really fast. This gun is unstoppable. I can keep up with my rich friend with an e-bladed cocker. This is probably THE best electro you could buy for about 200 dollars. 4 things you really should look into for this gun are a new barrel, a regulator, fast hopper and an HPA tank. But even stock with co2, it works great.
Conclusion: Get this gun. You will not be dissapointed. I bought it and I'm glad I did every time I see kids with their high end angels and timmys squeegeing their barrels, and I have no reason to pack one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bloodyirishboy Sunday, December 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months7 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TL X
Spyder MR1
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix 05
CCM No-pro neck
Raptor trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Neck
New Barrel
New Grips
New Board
Simply put,

New Marker

Strengths: Trigger is easy to walk
Chops less than other spyders
Weaknesses: Poorly Manufactured
Still chops
Low Cap
Review: Before i go into all this, let me say i may have just gotten a bad one:

From the start, i liked the look of this marker. The fade anno and the twist barrel made for a unique looking piece of equipment. I spent some time reading reviews and stats, and decided i'd get one.
I ordered it, and within a week i got it. First thing i noticed: The "red to black" was more pink than red. That i figured i could deal with. I plugged in the 9.6 volt it came with, and started playing with the trigger. Despite some side to side play, it was fairly easy to walk. I tried out the other firing modes (without air). They sounded pretty fast.
After a little while, i headed to my local field to try it out. First few games, doing good. No chops. Then the next game, i'm start shooting quicker, and it stops. At first i thought i was out of air, but instead the gun just didn't recock. So i recocked in myself, and started letting of shots again. About a minute and a half later, it does it again.
Them game ends, and i try to figure out the problem. I make sure every things clean , i strip the bolt and lube it.
Next game. All's well until about 3/4 of the way through. Same problem!

Then i decided to try out some of the other firing modes. And it starts to chop like you wouldn't believe.

A few weeks later, a buddy of mine decided to get everyone together for a day of woods ball for his birthday. The Pilot was deadly in the woods. Switched over to full auto, it shot the woods to hell (surprisingly without chopping).
I'm going out to kill the last person on the other team, and i'm laying paint into the scrub brush he's in, then i feel something hit my lens. It wasn't a ball, so i figured it was just a stick or plant. Later i find out the top half of the back metal plate had blown in half, and had shot back at me! i was pissed needless to say.


Bad examples aside:

Pros:
+Looks pretty nice
+ Electronic
+ Anti chop bolt (stops SOME chopping)
+ electronic

Cons:
-Still chops
-Caps off at 13 bps
-Falls apart with fast rates of fire
-Accuracy
-Grips: They're flimsy and uncomfortable, and aren't tight to the frame. A shot to the side WILL splatted paint onto the board
-Recocking issues
-Crappy plastic neck
-...Man, it's pink...


Conclusion: For me at least, the pilot was not a reliable marker. If you're looking for something on the cheaper side, just to go out in the woods and play around with, it's fine. For anything else, dont bother.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

ProtoNitsua Tuesday, June 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Imagine 04
Spyder Shutter
Bushmaster 2000 and 2004
Marker Setup: B2K4 with PDS silver fade
Clear VL Evolution 2
Crossfire 3000 psi 68CI Nitro Tank
32 Degrees Universal Drop Chrome
J and J Ceramic 12 inch
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel (As on all spyders)
Maybe a faster hopper but i did just fine on a grav feed. One or two chops.
Strengths: Good beginning electro
Medium speed
Adjustable trigger
4 firing modes
Weaknesses: Chops (Supposed to not chop)
Loud
Could be a little cheaper
Review: Pros:
When i first got this gun it was my first electronic marker. I was happy to have it and have the ACS version. The main thing i love about the ACS version of the pilot even over the ACS system is the adjustable trigger. It works well too. Not must adjustability but it helps. The speed is good for a beginner but not as fast as some of the higher end markers out there though its expected for a lower end. Its nice to have a full auto mode but i don't recommend it without and electronic hopper. I could actually use a grav feeder and it worked fine for awhile.

Cons:
The biggest con i had with this gun was the ACS bolt. I mean it is a nice bolt but i did have chops with this gun. I tried the ACS bolt out and i put a ball half way into the chamber and fired the gun. The ball chopped right in half. Maybe my bolt was just faulty but it didn't work sometimes. Though i noticed i did chop less then with other markers i had tried before. The pilot is a loud gun but all spyders are. If you don't really care about how loud your gun is or if you can get a quiter barrel then its of no concern. I think the gun is a little overpriced and you can buy guns out there for the same price that are a little better made.
Conclusion: Overall the Pilot is not a bad gun but it could use some improvements. The Adjustable trigger is a great improvement over the stock pilot and the ACS bolt sort of works. I am going to give it an 8 because i did like this gun and it was reliable but its not the best gun out there.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bruce22 Tuesday, May 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Imagine
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot ACS
14"teardrop barrel
16oz. bubble
evolution2
Draxxus Recsport/blaze/midnight
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get a new grips because the old ones have no grip at all/dye stickeez
If you want get a new drop forward. This only applies to what you like.
Definately get a new feed port because my evo2 needs an elbow making the gun almost 3feet tall so I was a huge target.
Get a new barrell.
Get a hopper to keep up the gun.
Strengths: Anti-chop system works perfectly.
High fire rate 20bps
Covers all electronic firing modes.
Weaknesses: Feed port.
barrell (what do you expect).
A tiny bit fragile.
Review: This marker along with the spyder Imagine are by far the best low-end markers made by kingman/ e-markers. When I first got It I had no Paint so I tried to see what its trigger pull felt like. It was straight and the trigger has a good feel to It, even for younger players like me. I adjusted it to one millimeter. It was even better. I could shoot 13-14 bps with it.
I ordered a hopper to keep up with it and got an evolution 2. It's a really good upgrade.
While using it in a game against A-5's with response triggers and one even had an E-grip and some 98customs with good accuracy I proved to be a good player with my spyder. Whenever someone was shooting me I just shot in the general area of where they were and got 3 people out. It can shoot up to 20bps only if modified otherwise only 15bps.
Conclusion: It's a very good marker for its price range. I think It's a great gun for beginers
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

vindeta Friday, October 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann a5 & 98c
spyder: electra
victor
victor II
sonix
mr2
Marker Setup: spyder pilot w./ clamping feed neck, 14 in whisper barrel, e-roller trigger, macroline hosses, drop forward w./ on/off valve, trinity asa, dop 8 stage x-core expansion chamber, halo b.
Recommended
Upgrades:
BARREL
TRIGGER
FEEDNECK
Strengths: upgadable
fairly tough
fast
looks
ACS
solid marker
Weaknesses: heavy when fully loaded
stock barrel
stock trigger
cocking pin falls out
FEED TUBE


Review: i picked up my pilot for around 90 bucks used off ebay and then spent about $220 upgading it.
here's the review:
the stock barrel is not very acurate but no stock barrel is.
the stock trigger is ok but it is a little heavy and slow but with the e-roller trigger its VERY fast.
the feed tube is horrible and you have to use a plastic adapter to put a hopper on it and it makes the gun really tall i fixed this problem by getting a clamping feed neck which reduced the height by about 4 in. and i no longer have to use the plastic adapter.
i would recommend a hopper that can feed at-least 18 bps (i used a halo)


Conclusion: Off stock this gun is ok but for around $50-250 you can make it a beast.
if you are looking for a cheap way to get into speed-ball buy this gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media