paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Hammerhead BattleStikxx Barrels / Hammerhead BattleStikxx Barrels / Hammerhead BattleStikxx Barrels

Hammerhead BattleStikxx Barrels Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Hammerhead

Buy Hammerhead BattleStikxx Barrels

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Hammerhead BattleStikxx Barrels
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 40
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $129

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The "Fluted" Barrel is the "Rifled Hammerhead Barrel" and can be used either for tournament or scenario play.

The BattleStikxx is a "military style" rifled barrel, than can be used in both woods and in scenario as well. Scenario players use this barrel quite a bit due to its Marine sniper profile and reverse porting.

For new players that purchase their own paint,or use field paint, we recommend the player purchase a fin and a front and add fins later.

For serious players that want long ball accuracy and must utilize tournament paint provided by others: We recommend a fin kit with with either 3 fins or 5 fins.

Starts at $129.
Product Availability 
The Hammerhead BattleStikxx Barrels are newer, so they should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
af895 Sunday, November 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Palmer Pursuit Shop 14" unported Brass
OpsGear Interceptor 18" fluted
stock 14" ported SP-8 barrel
SP-8 Stealth Barrel kit (19" ported)
Marker Setup: Jungle Green SP-8
Extendable Stock
Tactical Rail Kit
TechT L6 Lightening Bolt
Clippard QEV
CP Regulator, Long
PMI Pure Energy 68/4500 HPA
PMI remote
Palmer Pursuit Shop unported, 14" brass barrel
Tasco BKRD30 RedDot Sight
Q-loader System
Tippmann Triumph SSL-200 hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
X-ball Bronze, Silver
Draxxus Hellfire (see caution below)
Strengths: Lightweight, quality of machining, well thought out case.
Weaknesses: "Fins" (aka "backs") are only about an inch long. Does NOT self-clean, period.
Review: I bought this barrel not because of the rifling which I'm skeptical does anything but because of the stated quality of construction. I have to give Hammerhead kudos on that - this is a well machined barrel kit and extremely lightweight.

Testing
I ran over 2000 paintballs through it ranging from X-ball bronze (500), X-ball Silver (500), and Draxxus Hellfire (1000).

First off, I also several other barrels to compare - primarily a 14" unported PPS Brass barrel - the OpsGear Interceptor 18" and the stock SP-8 14" ported barrel.

With more consistent paint like Hellfire, there are less "zingers" - paint going off at an angle. This is regardless of barrel.

No question, the Hammerhead is more accurate than the stock barrel - significantly so. What I was surprised to find was that it is NOT more accurate than the very well made PPS Brass, unported one-piece barrel. I saw *slightly* more consistency with the PPS brass, at all ranges out to about 150', the length of my indoor field.

Paint Breakage
A barrel break in the Hammerhead is where things go way downhill. It seems like one barrel break will lead to another and the barrel just doesn't self-clean. No matter how much you try to shoot through the break (I probably took 20-30 shots after the break) accuracy and consistency suffers greatly.

Breaking low-end paint had a lessor effect - it seemed to clean easier probably on account of a thinner fill.

CAUTION: If you break Hellfire which has a THICK, waxy fill, it seemed like you had to take the barrel off to clean it as it really stuck to the inside of the barrel. (likely the rifling grooves)

Rifling
There's a lot of talk about how rifling affects a paintball.
I won't make arguements for or against it but I will make a statement for consideration:

The APEX and flatline barrels cause a paintball to spin which has a clear effect on the flight path. It's a different spin in those cases (back, side or top-spin) versus rifling.

I don't know if longitudinal spin (rifling) does anything to stabilize a paintball but I would suggest the Hammerhead barrel is at least a well machined barrel which results in very-good to excellent accuracy.

"Fins" (Backs)
One thing about the Hammerhead system is the "fins" (aka: "backs) are extremely small. There's perhaps 1-2 inches of effective "back" with the rest being "front". In comparison, a Freak kit insert is about 6 inches long. I don't know how relevant this is but there are a lot of good barrel kits (two piece or inserts) that make use of a much larger "sizing" section (eg: the part you match bore with your paint). I don't know if this affects anything but it's a visible difference I felt worth mentioning. More research would be needed to determine if this has any bearing on performance.
Conclusion: I wish I could recommend this barrel but my results just don't justify it. Usual disclaimer: there are a vast number of factors that affect how paintball equipment performs - air pressure, dwell settings, rate of fire, paint type and freshness, atmospheric conditions (temperature, humidity) and user error.

My results are from informal testing with a freshly cleaned and greased and otherwise well-shooting marker, indoors, with fresh, high-quality paint of different types.

Even if the cost was lower, the lack of effective self-cleaning makes this a challenging barrel to use on field. If you break with a tourney grade paint like Hellfire which has a snot-like fill, God help you. Sorry guys - I know a lot of people love this barrel but, taking into account breaks, I just didn't have great results with it. :(

For accuracy with a clean barrel, I'd give the Hammerhead a 9/10.

Shooting through breaks it gets a 1/10 - it just won't.

Price: very high. I don't think you can buy a more expensive kit. 1/10.

Palmer Pursuit Shop brass is more consistent, less expensive and less hassle, having no inserts or backs to change.

I have to give the HammerHead "slightly above average" (6/10) on account of very good accuracy, way too high price, inability to self-clean and availability of other options.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 4th, 2007 at 5:49 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mike murdoch Sunday, April 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sm1,sm3,smartparts freak
Marker Setup: Whitewolf carta ule mag,l10,ygrip,sm1,sm3patriot ,hammerhead
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any with a 4 or more bounce on drop test
Strengths: Accuracy,distance
Weaknesses: If you break a ball you are done
Review: I was one who did not believe in rifled barrels but had to try it,and i was not disappointed. I first used this barrel with old paint and Hollywood sports paint at that;big mistake,after breaking a ball it will not shoot strait until you completely clean it out,which can not be done on the field.After that i upgraded to better paint and the hammerhead shot like a dream.I've heard both sides of the story on this barrel and cant explain how it works but as long as your marker does not have a habit of breaking paint you will probably like this barrel
Conclusion: Like i said before if you don't break paint ,you should try this barrel
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 1st, 2005 at 5:57 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Gspence Sunday, December 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Armson Stealth, J&J ceramic
Marker Setup: A-5 w/ tac cap or ricochet hopper, Hammerhead Battlestikxxx 14 inch or hammerhead Shark Tooth, ADCO red dot sight
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marballizer, anything small.
Strengths: Accurate, quiet
Weaknesses: Aoes not self clean, needs small or hard-shelled balls
Review: i like this barrel. the first ball i shot broke in the barrel, but it was at the range so i just squeegeed it out. you either need a swab or anything else that's fuzzy. if the FPS isn't in the window (i think its 165-185), then it gets inaccurate. its great for city levels, because it can small targets. compared to my friends J&J, it was less affected by crosswind. its harder to clean, because of the ported end. i did very well in my last game, because of the barrel and experience i have gained. however, the fields weren't woodsball fields, so i didn't get to try ambushing.
Conclusion: i think that it is worth the money if you don't mind doing a little more cleaning, and if you plan to play ambush sniper. if you want a barrel that is almost as accurate for point man, i would get a J&J.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

^Andrew^ Friday, January 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
12" Battle Stikxx
14" SnapShot
14" Bigshot
8" Stock 98c barrel
10" Tippmann Werk barrel
14" J&J Ceramic Barrel
98C Flatline
NOTE: I've owned all of these barrels except the J&J.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c Performance upgrades include:
Shocktech super fly bolt(not even sure if it help any)
Tippmann Cyclone feeder
Tippmann Response Trigger
Dead on paintball RVA

Recommended
Paintballs:
None
Strengths: Accurate
Durable
Light
Good looks
Easy on bad or old paint
Somewhat quiet
Weaknesses: Swab
Price
Inaccuracy if you've bust a ball
Finish scratches and dents easily
Review: Out of all the barrels I've used the snapshot was the best. I used it often, but ofter shooting this one, I think I maybe using my Snapshot less. Here's what I found...

I was test shooting at 75ft (roughly) and had a max spread of about 16". Most of the balls landed with in a 6" grouping, and on top of that I was mostly shooting in 3round bursts, I was shooting Monster Ball (Junk from Brass Eagle. What can I say? They were cheap.) and using CO2 (My air tank was out). The Hammerhead shot equal to that of my SnapShot, even when using CO2 and cheap paintballs.

Now if only I had my air tank full and some nice paintballs I would be in business. I'm sure the ball grouping would be much smaller.

UPDATE: I played for the first time with this barrel and I'm very impressed! One weak ago I played with my Snapshot (same cheap paintballs) and I was using compressed air that day. Using the same paint, I get chops and stray shots the whole day. The paint to bore matched, but it still wouldn't work (I don't have this problem with good paint). Now I played today with the same exact paint (out of the same box) using my hammerhead (I was using CO2 this time). I had ONE brake! JUST ONE! After that brake accuracy went down but I could still shoot (My snapshot would not shoot through a bust with this paint).

The Hammerhead is much easer on paint than you might expect. I believe itís the rifling, the ball has less to ride on than in a normal barrel, because of the rifling. So you get less friction, thus putting less stress on the paintball.

As for the revers porting, it makes it a little quieter down range, but don't expect silence. It's really not useful unless you have a lot of people firing the same time you are, to mask you fire.


Conclusion: I wouldnít say the Hammerhead is anymore accurate then any other barrel. But the HH defiantly has some strong points. Iíve been using it now for half a year and I still love it!

NOTE: The price for this barrel has dropped for some guns (like the 98c). I got my full kit for $160 (which is cheaper then what the Snapshots kits are going for right now). Shop around a little, you maybe surprised.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 18th, 2007 at 7:43 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tzzler44 Tuesday, July 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
J&J Edge kit - Probably the best next to my Hammerhead
All American - Decent back-up barrel
Xcel - No Thanks
Marker Setup: WGP '04 Prostock
'05 Worrblade
Hammerhead Battlestixx Kit
Flurry Ind. Tactical Vest
Proteus 2 mask
3A 71/4500 nitro
Q-Loader
Recommended
Paintballs:
Nothing too brittle or it won't be able to handle the rifling. Draxxus Nightmare worked well, but it was around two months old.
Strengths: Accuracy, Range, and Sound. See description.
Weaknesses: The barrel doesn't clean itself out as well as advertised, but still reasonably good.
Review: Even with bad paint i was seeing improved accuracy and not to mention range! My range increased by around twenty feet! Those of you who have ever tried longballing someone and been only hitting around their feet will appreciate this. Another thing, the wind seemed to have less of an influence on the flight of the ball, flying straighter than my J&J polished bore when i shot them right after each other. This barrel really helps with sound too, it might seem louder when you are behind the gun, but is much quieter if you are the target. The reverse porting actually directs the sound back towards the shooter as opposed to the shoot-ee. I broke two balls and the only response from the barrel was every couple balls would zing off to the side and my grouping got bigger by 5 or 6 inches.
Conclusion: I would personally recommend everyone else stay away from this barrel so that I'm the only one out there with it. Seriously though, it's a great barrel and i love the shroud with the rails.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bumzors Wednesday, May 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak
J&J Ceramic 1 piece
J&J Edge kit
Stock A5 and Ion barrels
SP Teardrop
Marker Setup: Ion, 360 QEV, 14" Freak, Warrior trigger, T-Board, Sidewinder, Dynasty Body kit, Warrior feedneck.
A-5 with a Stock, new foregrip, and a 16'' J&J
Recommended
Paintballs:
I've used DBX and Heat
Strengths: Looks nice
Backwards porting works
Didn't get any breaks in the barrel
Weaknesses: A little expensive at retail price
Tough to clean
A little gimmicky
Review: I ordered mine used off a guy in the forums and it came with your run-of-the-mill scratches and such, but the inside was still nice and smooth. As I said, I've put Heat and DBX through this barrel and didn't have a problem with either. Didn't get a break inside the barrel, but I did get shot in the porting. All I can say is the porting is impossible to completely clear out without actually sitting down and taking some paper towels and water to it. Also, don't buy the barrel because of the rifling. Yes, it's accurate, but most barrels will be if you get the right sized paint. The rifling is just a gimmick to get people to buy it. All in all, it's a nice barrel, but at retail price, I'd go for a J&J or the Freak or something.
Conclusion: Again, too expensive at retail price to merit a purchase, but it's a good barrel if you can get it at a more reasonable price.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Niels Saustrup Monday, April 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Autococker
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any
Strengths: Quiet. 5 variable bore barrel breech inserts available.
Weaknesses: Expensive. Not the cheapest way to first rate accuracy.
Review: Bought Hammerhead years ago when first introduced, and then got their latest "second generation" barrel with stepbore barrel tip few months ago. Bought for "Scenario" games where you sometimes must use poor paint. I needed a variable bore system for my Autococker to handle paintballs that would run down the barrel and give bad chrono readings. No marker firing from "open bolt" needs "Hammerhead" or any other expensive variable bore system. My "Hammerheads" deliver accuracy no better and no worse than my Dye, J&J, and Lapco barrels. They are as quiet as quiet gets. My "Hammerheads" can chamber and shoot poor quality paint as well or better than my other "premium" barrels. Hammerhead does not handle ball break better than any other barrel, but seems to handle a little slime and keep shooting fine. My autococker tech and many others compare Hammerhead to Armson and other rifled barrels that did not live up to "hype", but myself and a lot of very experienced players think they are as accurate, and probably quieter than other premium barrels. Given the cost, "silence is golden". First "Hammerhead" bought years ago had minor quality issues, latest version is perfect.
Conclusion: Hammerhead is not a bunch of "hype", it is a well made variable bore system about as accurate, maybe quieter, and maybe more expensive than other "premium" barrels.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

icycold68 Thursday, June 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye boomstick, CP one-piece barrel, stock
Marker Setup: '04 cocker w/ e-2
slik bolt and lightened back block
twisted cocking rod
CP vert reg
MacDev sonic red valve
Nexus ram w QEV's
Q-Loader system and pure energy 48/3000
Runs at 170 PSI and max ROF so far is 26 BPS
Strengths: Extremely accurate when you match the barrel to the paint. Very quiet
Weaknesses: Does not clean ball breaks well.
Review: I have to say, i love this barrel, it shoot like my 'stick, but is alot more versatile with the ability to match the paint and barrel together. The grouping that can be shot from this barrel will match up to or beat any of the "best" barrels out there. If you break a ball, your done for, this is the biggest problem. its not bad for me, i just pull my bolt and run a swab through my entire gun in about 10 seconds, but for some people it could be a nightmare.
Conclusion: Its a great barrel, shoots very, very nicely, you will be impresses with it's consistancy to put paint on top of paint at 75' or closer, once you get to about 100' range, you start to hit a 12-14" grouping, and at 26 BPS, i'm sure ONE will hit the target. Love the barrel, just wished it would self-clean better, or hell, wish it would self-clean AT ALL.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 9th, 2005 at 11:36 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

primezero Monday, June 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
empire 10 peice,freak kit,edge kit
Marker Setup: ion with hh barrel kit, roller trigger,q-lock no rise
Recommended
Paintballs:
blaze
Strengths: Very accurate a very flat trajectory
Weaknesses: Use a swab on breaks
Review: I have now used this system for a few games(3+ cases) and it is excellent!
-1) in big games or sniping it is the quietest barrel i have ever used. i was taking players out but they could not find me and they were close enough to hear me reload my Hopper.
-2)accuracy is grate i was able to constantly able to shoot true small holes in the brush,it also has seemed to take some of the arch out of the ball flight, this allows you to shoot lower and avoid some of the brush
-3)well made this is evident, in the world of smaller lighter it is a little heavy but it will take some abuse so the weight is not a downer.
-4)it seemed to handle some of the odd sized pint just as well as the good and round it was a humid day but i only had one break.
-5)you will need a swab or a cable squeegee with a swab on the end to clean it the plastic disc will not get into the rifling.
Conclusion: Well worth the money, i saw improvement in range,accuracy,and sound. the quality is superb i would recommend this to any rec,scenario, or speed baller it will enhance your game
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, June 19th, 2005 at 4:01 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bbrp54 Monday, April 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak Stainless Steel Kit with Aluminum Barrel
J&J Edge Ceramic
J&J Full Tilt
Stock Tac-One
Marker Setup: Spyder
M98
Tac-One
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any that are round
Strengths: Great Accuracy
Extremely Quiet
Weaknesses: Dimpled Balls will result in Wingers
Review: I tested this barrel kit at MXS PvH. I recieved a 3 fin kit from a sponsored team that uses these barrels. We all agreed that these barrels were some of the best on the market for scenario players. Quietness and accuracy are extremely important in scenario ball and this is what this product was designed for and has accomplished. There were several different paintballs that were used more paint was sold throughout the event. Some of the balls had dimples and these resulted in wingers but these were always to the right and never more than 6 inches off at 50 feet.
Conclusion: We have already purchased one kit for a teammate whose b-day is in the near future. The rest of us will be purchasing the kits in the future as more money is saved.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media