paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Hammerhead BattleStikxx Barrels / Hammerhead BattleStikxx Barrels / Hammerhead BattleStikxx Barrels

Hammerhead BattleStikxx Barrels Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Hammerhead

Buy Hammerhead BattleStikxx Barrels

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Hammerhead BattleStikxx Barrels
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 40
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $129

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The "Fluted" Barrel is the "Rifled Hammerhead Barrel" and can be used either for tournament or scenario play.

The BattleStikxx is a "military style" rifled barrel, than can be used in both woods and in scenario as well. Scenario players use this barrel quite a bit due to its Marine sniper profile and reverse porting.

For new players that purchase their own paint,or use field paint, we recommend the player purchase a fin and a front and add fins later.

For serious players that want long ball accuracy and must utilize tournament paint provided by others: We recommend a fin kit with with either 3 fins or 5 fins.

Starts at $129.
Product Availability 
The Hammerhead BattleStikxx Barrels are newer, so they should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
MultiGunMan Monday, January 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Flatlines
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with flatline, 98 custom with flatline , Spyder Shutter with hammerhead barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Draxxus Blaze Or Empire. Higher Grade Paint
Strengths: Accurate works well and as advertised.
Weaknesses: None
Review: Barrel works well. very accurate and it does a good job of self cleaning after 2-3 shots. Has a nice look and the rifiling works very well, and is very quiet as apposed to the flatlines. Light doesnt add a lot of weight to the gun.Has a nice look to in either black or silver, and the fins and ball gauge help to make it work as well
Conclusion: Accurate light and quiet.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dmshooter Sunday, October 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Ultralite
Dye Boomstick
Flatline
J&J Ceramic
Hammerhead is better
Marker Setup: Dm5
14' Battlestik Hammerhead
Dye drop forward
Halo B
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything with a thick fill and a round shell is good. I have read that thick fill works better with the spin created on the paintball by the barrel's rifling.
I am going to test new paintballs by Nelson called Special Forces paintballs. They are supposed to be absolutely round and have the thickest fill available.
I will also test the new Black ops paintballs that just came out a while ago.
Strengths: Best Accuracy
Very quiet dowrange
Perfectly match ball to barrel with the fins
Weaknesses: High price
The best is always expensive though
Review: I tested the 14' Hammerhead Battlestik (5 fin kit) against the 14' Dye ultralite that comes with the dm5. I shot scorch paintballs (basically crap paintballs.)
Our target was a tree about 150 feet away.
First off both barrels are great. The ultralite shot very well. The battlestik shot excellently however despite it being quite a windy day.
Even though the paintballs I shot were not that great they were still hitting their mark 7 out of 10 times with the Hammerhead.
I can't wait to test it with some good round paintballs.
Conclusion: I would recommend this barrel to the player who like myself enjoys aiming and taking a few well placed shots to get a kill instead of spraying 32 balls per second spray and pray style. Accuracy by volume is never as satisfying as getting that aimed shot off at 200 feet. If you get this barrel get the kit with the 5 fins so that you can perfectly match your ball to the barrel with whatever brand of paintball you happen to be using.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ycfan456 Friday, March 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
just everday barrels
none anywhere close to as good as this
Marker Setup: -Tippmann A-5
-Hammerhead BattleStixx 5 fin kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
good ones
dont use cheap ones because they will break in the barrel because of the rifling
Strengths: -Accurate
-Loud to you but quiet to people in front of you
Weaknesses: None
Review: My dad and I both bought the black, 5 fin, battle stixx kit off the website. We asked for quick delivery b/c we wanted to use them that weekend. They got there in plenty of time.
We took them out the day after we got them and tried them out. But, we had chosen to small of a fin. It chopped every 7 balls or so. We turned the velocity down and that helped a little. So we went out the next day with bigger fins and both of us were amazed. It shot so accuratly we could easily shoot leaves off of trees that were 50 feet tall with one shot.
When we played that weekend, It was awesome. The first game I sat in the back and was so busy picking people off I didn't need to move up.
The barrel does clean itself pretty well. After you chop you can see paint coming out the end. You should still carry a swab to get the paint out of the rifling.
Conclusion: This product is well worth the money you pay for it. It is super accurate and cool looking. If you have the money, BUY IT! I would give it a 12 if it were an option.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

LongbowWilson Tuesday, March 28th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stiff
All-American
Marker Setup: Longbow
Hammerhead BattleStixx
HPA
Remote Line
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any high quality(so that ball sizes are more uniform)
Strengths: ACCURATE!!!
When flies past you sound intimidating
Weaknesses: Thicker paint will not allow shoot through
Review: The Hammerhead BattleStixx are amazing. I just got them and went out to play. I used to use a Stiffi, not any more these things are much more accurate. The rifling puts a spin on the ball allowing less air to effect its flight path. This also has the added bonus of makeing an intimidating whining noise as it flies past the OPFOR. Its relatively quite, it sounds louder to the user because of the reverse poting.

On the down side, if you put in a too small insert every ball will break; if your paint isnt all mostly the same size it will break, and if its anyt hicker than water and breaks. it will not shoot very well, be prepared to squeegee it.
Conclusion: This is in my opionion the most accurate barrel kit available.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

keyman Monday, March 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing rifled used tippman A-5 flatline
Marker Setup: tippman A-5, hammerhead or flatline barrel, R.T., pure energy 68ci 4500psi air system
Recommended
Paintballs:
Only used PMI premium while playing (f.p.o.)
Strengths: Very accurate and sizing options (by use of fins)
Weaknesses: Broken paint won't always shoot clean
Review: I have played with the hammerhead barrel for about a month and have been pleased. The first time I used it I was able to shoot opponent's barrels (less than 1" in diameter) from 40 or so feet away. I have been able to do this several times and it drives my opponent's crazy, but it is the only thing that they were showing. I have been using the 14" version and it is great. I have also purchased the other lengths and will be trying them in the near future. I would recommend this product because it's pretty accurate and all the contact I have had with customer service has been great. The main drawback is they have 5 different fins and you have to measure your paintballs to see which one is needed for the ball you're using (for the PMI-premium I have been using the .690 and it works great).
Conclusion: I would recommend these barrels but when you purchase them make sure you buy all 5 fins or you might not get a good match to your paint. I give this product a 9 out of 10 because I haven't tried a lot of different barrels and there might be something better out there.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Argelmcgee Sunday, September 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Lapco Snapshot, stock barrels, PPS Brass.
Marker Setup: AGD Tac-1 Automag
Hammerhead 5-fin Battlestikxx Kit
Ricochet 2kx LCD

Backup/Loaner:
Tippmann A-5 with Response Trigger
Palmer 12 inch Brass Barrel
Lapco Snapshot Barrel .687
Pure Energy 68cu 4500 psi HPA
Palmer's Stabilizer
TechT Vortex Mod
JCS Redhot Powertube/ Hexadecagonal bolt

Backup/Loaner:
BT-4 Combat
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any quality balls, doesn't matter what size if you get the fin kit.
Strengths: Accurate, quiet to the opponent, light, adapts to different paintball sizes, and looks quite awesome.
Weaknesses: Shoots very badly after breaks.
Review: Ok, I waited until I used it to review it, so here goes...

I just got back from the West Point Fall Scenario, and tested out my new setup. If you read my Tac-1 review, it'll give you the little anecdotes. In essence, my setup shot just as well as a friend's setup with a REALLY upgraded NXT Shocker and a Dye Ultralite, and I played much better than usual, shoot five balls, a hand goes up 70 feet away, streams of paint hitting a two foot radius at 100 feet, etc.

I had not a single chop or barrel break, so it was basically just streams of paint both days (two cases of paint) but I did break some balls in my hopper, and I couldn't figure out what was wrong for a while, but I did find out that the Hammerhead shoots really poorly when you break a ball (which is to be expected, all barrels I know of shoot badly with oil or paint in the barrel).

The ball sizer worked well, the lithium grease was useful, everything was as expected.
Conclusion: Great barrel system. I haven't tried any other kits, but as a kit, this one is great.. Just what I expected.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gianfranco Wednesday, October 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: a5, qloader, egrip.
Recommended
Paintballs:
any
Strengths: Accurate.
Weaknesses: Finsetup. Ase the wrong fin and it becomes useless.
Review: i started playing with the flatline but after a while i got bored of the dispersion of the groupings. so i started looking for rifled barrels and found the hammerhead.
i bought the case with 5 fins, barrel, gauge and lube.

since the beginning the difference was amazing, expecially compared to the flatline.

the inaccuracy can only depend on 2 factors: wrong fin (start always from the larger and install the first one that doesn't let the ball through) or irregular air flow. the A5 is not very steady, as air flow, and a few fps more or less make a difference, at 30/40 yards.

it's especially good when hitting on bunkers with holes. i have taken out so many people hiding behind a 1'' hole...

the $200+ were justified.
Conclusion: If you have a good marker, buy it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mongolsniper Thursday, July 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Tippmann A-5 Barrel
Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel
14" Stiffi A-5 Barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, 14" AND 12" Hammerhead Battle Stikxx, Lapco offset sight mount, Vortex Mod, Shocktech Superfly Bolt, SpecOps A5A2 Stock with the Air-thru Kit, generic remote air line, Crossfire 92/4500 high pressure tank.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any premium quality paint will do. Honestly, any paint can be used, however. I've dried it with some cheap paint, and broke 1 balls in a case of 2000. That is a 99.9995% chance of functioning flawlessly with cheap paint, not too shabby.
Strengths: Accuracy
Moderate Sound Suppression
Looks nice.
Comes in a nice case.
Weaknesses: See review
Review: Well, I've had the pleasure of owning two of these barrels, a 14" and a 12". There really is no noticeable difference between the two, preformance-wise, except that the 14" uses a bit more gas per shot. Both of these barrels are extraordinarily accurate, and the most reliable barrels I have ever had. With premium paint, I have had NO ball breakages (although I've only had around 5 balls break in my barrels in my entire paintball experience), and only 1 with cheap paint. Hammerhead advertises that the barrel "cleans it self" after a breakage. This is not be entirely true. If you want the barrel clean, you're going to have to squeegee it. What is nice, is that you can keep shooting after a ball breakage, the first round expels most of the broken balls paint and shell, and after that the barrel retains most of its accuracy (if not all). Try doing that with a smooth-bore barrel.

Weaknesses: I don't want to say there are none, but I've tested this barrel quite thoroughly and there really are no major weaknesses that I have found in it. I ended up accidentally scratching the inside of the 14" barrel with a pair of pliers (idiot operator error) and the barrel STILL functions flawlessly. Other than the constant "What the hell is that?" from other players, the only weakness I can see is the price. It's is a bit on the expensive side. It's between $80 for just the barrel, and $200 for the barrel and full 5-fin set. You need at least one fin to attach the barrel to the marker.
Conclusion: The barrel does what it is meant to do, increase accuracy. It does dampen noise, and it is very reliable from my experience.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Revolut*ION* Monday, April 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Ion Barrrel
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Q-Lock Feedneck
Vlocity Hopper
Cp Sling Blade Trigger
68/4500 PE Tank
Shocktech Drop Forward
Hammerhead Barrel System
Recommended
Paintballs:
I would recommend any paintballs, the barrel's system ensure that no breaks will occur
Strengths: Accuracy, Nois Reduction, Accuracy
Weaknesses: Nearly none - Just don't break paint
Review: The Hammerhead barrel system is nearly flawless. First of all, the looks of the barrel is superb. Whether you purchase silver or all black, you know this is a sexy barrel. Secondly, the accuracy of this barrel is absolutely astonishing. In my hometown paintball arena, I shooting with my Ion at a target using the barrel for the very first time and I was amazed. I shot once and hit the tennis ball perfectly(tennis ball in the center) I began to shoot rapidly at about 10 bps and hit the tennis ball 9 ourt of 10 times. However I'm assuming I moved a little bit on the tenth shot. lol.

Other than the accuracy, the sound on my ion firing is greatly decreased and everyone know the ion is a louder gun when in comparison to pimps, Dm's, etc.

Finaly the only thing I found a disadvantage with this barrel is when you break balls. If you break a ball in your barrel it will curve to where you are aiming. This is an problem which is fixed easily by carrying a squeegee on the field
Conclusion: Great Barrel. If you are looking for a tourny quality barrel buy this one!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DaveM Saturday, June 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak Kit, CP One Piece, Stock bbl,
Marker Setup: '04 WGP Pro Stock with E-2 frame, MPP ram with QEV's, Delrin Bolt, Egg, PMI 68/4500
Recommended
Paintballs:
ONLY good ones
Strengths: Light, Looks nice, VERY quiet , accurate with good paint
Weaknesses: Doesnt not shoot through breaks well at all
Review: My wife got this kit for me for My B-day, I picked it out because it was "different" and I like trying things out. First day of play with the kit was disappointing to a degree. I was very happy with how quiet it was but the first broken ball sent every ball after in every direction BUT downrange towards the opposing team. Make absolutely sure you use the correct sizer / fin and good quality paint.

Next time out I was impressed, using good paint " hellfire, marbs, anarchy, even Toxic" this bbl shoots great. But you cant shoot oily slimy balls or you will spend more time cleaning the bbl than playing.
Conclusion: It's good, just have to use good paint and size it correctly
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media