paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Palmers Pursuit Shop Stabilizer Regulator / Palmers Pursuit Shop Stabilizer Regulator / Palmers Pursuit Shop Stabilizer Regulator / Palmers Pursuit Shop Stabilizer Regulator

Palmers Pursuit Shop Stabilizer Regulator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Palmers Pursuit Shop

Buy Palmers Pursuit Shop Stabilizer Regulator

Paintball Regulators

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Palmers Pursuit Shop Stabilizer Regulator
[ View Photos (9) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 103
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $65

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Comes in 4 different versions: Inline for remote tanks setups ($65), Side-Line for direct input to Automag ($70), Female for remote or on-gun bottom line ($75) and Male (pictured) for bottom line with direct input to standard ASA ($95).
Product Availability 
The Palmers Pursuit Shop Stabilizer Regulator is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
zeebob Saturday, March 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
Palmer Stabilizer
Flatline Barrel
Response Trigger
Doubble Trigger Kit
Strengths: Excellent Consistency (+ or - 5 fps)
Built Tough
Weaknesses: If there are any, I havn't found them yet!
Review: I've always used Tippmann markers, starting with an original Custom 98 and soon moving onto an A-5 for multiple reasons.

[History]
My first upgrades were to a Flatline barrel as anybody will tell you that the stock standard 7" barrel is useless. With that I was more than impressed with what my A-5 could do, hit my opponents upto 50m away (a little angle and multiple shots but it did work). Then upgraded to a double trigger as its much easier to fire with 2 fingers and a Response Trigger soon after which game me the speed factor. But none of the was enough to keep me happy. Every time I went to chronograph before playing i would have problems trying to stay below the 270fps limit my local field has. The gun would vary from 230fps for the first 3 shots then would spike to about 290fps for another 3 shots, and the accuracy would be all over the place! This was fixed slightly by moving to a remote line which brought the overall variation to + or - 20fps which is still crazy!

[Product Installation]
I talk with the other players on my field about their setups and see what they do. All the ones with A-5's were using some form of regulator to get their consistency nice and low. One guy had a Palmer Stabilizer which he lent me, so I installed this and my chin would have hit the ground if i wasn't wearing my goggles! I have never seen such an improvement! I could now hit the same target (60cm x 60cm) at a 15m distance accurately and with every shot! We stuck it on the chronograph and WOW! with a 3/4 twist to the stabilizer to allow for the fps drop from the flatline curve, I was not shooting at 265fps with + and - 4fps!

I immediately ordered one online with the mini-guage and paid for the fastest shipping to NZ. It arrived 4 days later on Fed-Ex and I left work early to go home and install it. Went outside with a case of paint and decorated the back wall of the house to "burn it in" as it says it could take about 2000 - 3000 shots to get it to work efficiently. Was careful not to fire too fast and too many at once as it did get very cold and ice was forming on the outside.

[Current Status]
Took it out today to the field for our big monthly game and several the ref came over to check my fps because he knew I had done about 700 rounds on a 20oz CO2 tank and the shot consistency and accuracy was still as efficient as a full tank. Usually with the RT and cyclone feed I could get about 500 shots before I started having issues and wanted to change bottle, but today i got 1000 shots on a single tank and never had a bad shot and the cyclone never failed to feed a new ball! The only thing I have to complain on is that the RT stopped working as efficiently as it should after about 500 shots but a small tweak to it with a screwdriver and was back in operation
Conclusion: Just WOW! If you read the review you would understand why. I am about to buy another marker (perhaps an X7 or another A-5) but not without another Palmer Stabilizer. I am also going to buy a female or inline stabilizer to stick on the bottle for my A-5 so I'm using to regulators.

I can't comment on how this would work on other setups or markers as I havn't tried but I'm sure it would work just as well as mine has. The Palmer Stabilizer is the "MUST HAVE" accessory!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Craig Niland Monday, August 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
GTA Expansion Chamber
Marker Setup: 98 Custom:
Hyperstar Bolt
Response Trigger with 1/8 inch Macro line upgrades
Empire 7 piece barrel kit
BT Apex barrel system
12V VL Revolution
Rocket Cockit II
Large Bullet Drop foward
Pure Energy 48 CI 3,000 PSI HPA tank W/ Dye Rhino Cover
Lapco offsets with 30 mm BSA red dot sight.
Palmer Stabilizer with Vertical Adaptor
Strengths: Handles C02 very well, never lets liquid C02 into gun. Very sturdy.
Weaknesses: $100 Is a bit high for a reg, but worth it in my opinion.
Review: Palmer has a type of reg setup for any marker out there. I was very satisfied with my Palmer, still am.
The reg is adjusted via a screw at the bottom, and is rebuildable. It will keep a constant input pressure to your gun, regardless of how high you Co2's output pressure is.
Here's what that translates to: You can chrono you gun to 280/300 FPS, and leave it there. The reg will provide that input to the gun, rather you Co2 tank is outputting 700 psi or 1,200. No more velocity spikes, no more hot guns. EVER!
This is the part were effeciency comes in. With Tippmanns, the velocity is adjusted via a FVA. The screw interrupts the airflow before it hits the ball, decreasing the FPS. Now, this is a tremendous waste of gas. Having the tank outputting 1,200 psi, then interrupting the air flow to slow down the ball is stupid. If you let the FVA screw out all the way, then adjust the regs input pressure, and add a heavier rear bolt spring in, you can decrease you Tippmann's operating pressure to 600 or less. Now, not only is you gun using half the ammount of gas to shoot the ball the same FPS, it can now also run down to 600 psi vs. 850 before you see any shoot down. This is why I love regs. UBER BETTER EFFECIENCY!
After I chrono'd my gun with my Palmer, I never had to adjust it again. Unless you have an RVA or replace the rear bolt's driver spring, the FPS will hardly ever change. (disregarding barrel bore to ball match, and other contributing factors)

Edit: Some may claim this reg isn't suited for HPA, but I disagree. Shooting my 01 'Cocker with J&J 14", and running the Palmer, I noticed no more than +- 1 FPS with HPA, vs. around a +- 5 FPS with Co2.
Conclusion: I STRONGLY recommend a reg, especially for C02. It needs it more than anything. Buy it, and enjoy worry free paintball, and far tighter vertical groupings of you shots.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, November 10th, 2006 at 8:08 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DrMUR Saturday, December 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
CMI International R-2000 In-line Regulator
Marker Setup: Spyder TL w/ (Listing Performance Parts Only): Black Magic CupSeal, WGP 15" 2 Piece Barrel (w/ Custom Silencer [made by me]), 32 Degrees Magnaport Valve (w/ HighFlow Pin), Custom Drilled Vertical Adapter [drilled by me], Palmer's Stabilizer (Phat Performance guage [0-1500]), Stock bolt (w/ removed Venturi and round "paintball friendly" front), Polished to perfection.
Strengths: Everything you would expect from a reg. + Lifetime Warranty.
Weaknesses: Nothing that I've seen yet.
Review: Palmer's Stabilizer has an incredible recharge rate. I dryfired my SpyderTL around 9pbs/sec for about 15sec and the guage didn't move at all. EXTREMELY consistent (as consistent as CO2 can get). I'm running my old SpyderTL at 250psi around 280fps (+/-5fps at most).

Quality only hurts once. You buy cheap junk it doesn't hurt much (cheap) until you try to use it (it sucks). If you're going to get a reg to go low pressure, go all the way and get the best. You'll avoid frustration and failure later.
Conclusion: Remember, Quality only hurts once. If you're going low pressure, get Palmer's Stabilizer, no alternatives (if you're just trying to stop hotshots, then go ahead and get some other cheap reg). You won't have any problems w/ the Stabilizer, and if somehow you do, Palmer's Persuit Shop warranties this product for a full lifetime. Yep, that's right. ANYTIME it starts acting up, they'll help you out. Why would someone even consider buying something else? Purchasing another reg is ludicrous.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Devs Wednesday, May 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Torpedo - only slightly more consistent, and smaller
Messiah - just as good
WGP Stock Reg - decent for a stock reg, sucks otherwise
Marker Setup: WGP Green 2k2 Vert Cocker
WGP Hinge
WGP CT 3Way
Shocktech FGP LPR
WGP STO Ram
Palmer Stab inline reg
kapp beavertail, cocking rod, on/off
cp flame drop
shocktech rat and supafly
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Green with black splash BM2k
Vapored
Soon to be chaos chip
soon to be PDS'd by ICD
Strengths: Consistent
High recharge rate
Pretty
Weaknesses: its really long...
Review: Function
The stab works very well. The best thing about the stab is that it works just as well with Nitro as it does with CO2. This is a very consistent reg. Its easy to adjust and it has a gauge port on it so you know what pressure you're running at. The way it threaded into mine was that the gauge is directly on the left and the input is directly on the right side. perfect fit!
Style
I have a smooth polished chrome Stab. It looks good even though the shape is very simple. Kinda disappointed that it took them so long to get colors... I would have loved a green one to match my gun. But the chrome looks really good.
Durability
Not quite sure what its made of, but its been holding up really well. It only has minor scratches, and I've had it for just over a year. It hasn't even taken major damage when i tripped and slid gun first into a bunker! So its well built and will hold up to pretty much anything that you can throw at it!
Conclusion: Great reg, I picked mine up for $85. I think its worth every penny. The only thing I don't like about it is how long this thing is. But thats just cosmetic... High recharge rate, no FSDO, great consistency. everything you look for in a great reg.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Telefragged Monday, January 7th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
No regulators, only a few expansion chambers that are no where near as good as this!
Marker Setup: Tippmann M98C (silver), Tippmann RT trigger, Tippmann vertical adapter, Lapco Bigshot aluminum, Lapco dovetail sight rail, Lapco double trigger guard (nickel), Psycho Ballistics Pro-Style drop forward, Psycho Ballistics double trigger, Palmer's vertical Stabilizer regulator, AirTipps RVA, Ballistic Sports Spee-T-Cocker, 12v Revolution with X-Board and Centerflag 420 Series 68/4500 N2 tank
Strengths: -Designed or use with CO2 which is good for all those who can't afford expensie nitrogen tanks
-Wide range of pressure adjustment, 0-900 psi, perfect to match any gun
-Extremely fast recharge rate, got it clocked at .44 seconds
-Extremely consistent, on par with AKA, MacDev, and ANS regulators
-Completely blocks liquid CO2 from the internals, therefor eliminating freezing at lower temperatures or higher ROF's, and ensures long lasting internals seals and o-rings. This feature allows CO2 to be used on guns that do not take kindly to CO2, such as Mags and Cockers.
-Thats the thing, it LIKES CO2!
-Everything else!
Weaknesses: -A little small for those using a vertical Stabilizer (like me) who have big hands (like me). You'll get used to it though, I already am, and I just got if for Christmas.
-A bit pricey at $90 for a black vertical Stabilizer, but then again, its price reflects its performance, I love this reg!
Conclusion: Anyone looking to improve the efficiency, consistency, and preserve internals should definately save up some cash and buy this reg, whether it be inline, sideline (for mags), female, vertical, or direct. As a matter of fact, I would suggest just skiping the whole expansion chamber thing and getting one of these instead. Expansion chambers and a whole bunch of other regs can''t even compare to the Palmer Stabilizer. Thank you Glenn!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, December 12th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
nothing
Marker Setup: Tippmann Pro/carbine , Smart Parts All American .689, Palmers Stabilizer, Airtipps RVA-
Strengths: Ultimate regulator. designed as a first stage for CO2, or a second stage for nitrogen. For playing with CO2, you almost certainly need it. It has an unbelievable output consistancy. also has an ultra fast recharge rate. It comes in many different configurations for your needs (go to palmer-pursuit.com to see them). If you run CO2 in the warm seasons, and nitro in the cold, then this reg is perfect. It works well in the cold with CO2, but you lose shots because the CO2 only expands halfway in the cold. My freind's Shocker stopped in the cold because the Max-Flow reg froze with the CO2. My gun ran fine despite shooting long strings of cover fire. output is easily adjusted with a common 1/4" allen key.
Weaknesses: costs nearly $100, but it's well worth it. Palmers is in California, so if you want a version other than the vertical male CO2 threaded one, you have to call them.
Theres nothing bad about this reg.
Conclusion: Buy it if you have $100 to improve you CO2 paintball gun. If you only run Nitro, there are regs better suited than this one, but nothing beats it on CO2.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 6:23 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bRoKen 15 Wednesday, December 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
benchmar x-chamber.
Marker Setup: spyder victor
14" teardrop
NDZ clamping low rise feed neck
modified bolt
polished internals
palmer stab
new and moded va
esp ipi frame
checkit speedy drop
12vlt revvy
72/3000 PE bottle
Strengths: Very very very consistent.
Super good with co2. 70:1 ratio
Lifetime waranty
Weaknesses: Price maybe
Review: very very good regular. very well made. great company. palmer pwns. over chrono i get 284,284,284,285,285,285. very very consistent. i love mine. couldn't have made a better choice on the reg. sept for maybe a max-flow. the only weakness id say is the price. $100 for just a plain black one. if you want in annoed then its 120 i think. and then a gauge on top of that is 12 more dollars. so mine, cuz i got it in blue, with shipping was 140. and only 8 bucks for shipping to hawaii? damn good. WELL WORTH THE PRICE. VERY VERY GOOD REGULATOR. its also super super good with co2. i used to run co2 with just an x-chamber. not a good idea. the stab has a 70:1 pressure ratio. with out a reg, whenever you get a pressure spike or drop in your co2 bottle, you get major velocity spike. bad. very bad. with the 70:1 pressure ratio, the pressure has to change by 70 psi for it to affect your marker by 1 psi. so if it usually drops 10 psi in your gun with out the stab, it now has to drop 700 psi for the 10 psi drop to get through the stabalizer to your marker. so no more velocity spike. plus ive been told that its the best reg at blocking liquid co2 from getting into your marker
Conclusion: Very very good reg. go buy it, support palmer, and be happy with the best reg for co2 and one of the best regs out there
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

burns130 Friday, May 16th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP regulators X 2 (better reg)
Marker Setup: Wow...here goes
2 X A-5's (set up the same way)
R/Ts (1/8 inch tubing)
Cippard MEV-2s(QEV)
JCS Jet Clicks
X-7 paddles
X-7 hoppers
Palmers Stabilizers
Allen brand aluminum front grip covered with black diamondback grip
remote with quick disconnect
Crossfire 70/4500 HPAs/one ANS 68/4500 LP tank
Flatline with thumb screw kits


2 X ions
NDZ V2 Bolt on one/NDZ Skeleton Bolt on the other
Clippard MEV-2s (QEV)
clamping feednecks
NDZ small rail on one/mini drop on the other
Empire Reloader Bs
CP on/off ASAs
CP short regulator on one/CP long regulator on the other
Virtue boards on both
Shocktech SSC bolt out back body (blue)
Maddog Designs black gloss flame cutout body (marker has red NDZ chamber/breech/donut)
Crossfire 70/4500 HPA tanks/one ANS gear 68/4500 LP tank
J&J Edge Elite kit (10/12/14 fronts)

Chrony A1 chronograph



Strengths: Good for CO2
Can run lower pressure
Weaknesses: Can creep
Review: I purchased two male Palmers for my A-5's 6 months ago. At the time, I was running CO2 so needed a regulator that would stop liquid CO2 from entering the power tube. I have has a 50% success rate. One of the stabilizers has been rock solid. I am able to run ~600 PSI from my high pressure Crossfire 70 peanut for 280FPS.
However, the 2nd stabilizer has been a nightmare. It has consistently crept up to bottle regulator pressure (~830) since I got it new from Palmer's. Judy from technical support sent me new o'rings and this did not rectify the problem. I then sent the stabilizer back to her and she reported that the problem was the gauge. I was VERY SKEPTICAL about this since I own a Chrony and the FPS was indeed increasing which told me that it wasn't a gauge problem. When I got the stabilizer back, sure enough, it still crept up and shot hot. I have since sent the stabilizer back. This time, I am told, they are going to replace it. Technical support has been average. Although they are friendly, they are very slow to ship items back (I had to call to get them to ship the regulator back the first time when they replaced the gauge...they had it for three weeks).
I own two CP regulators for my Ions and have zero problems. My experience with PaImers may be atypical but it is MY PERSONAL EXPERIENCE. I am not overly impressed with the Palmers Stabilizers.
Conclusion: Great...when they work
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

V0LTR0NN Thursday, July 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Thunder Pig, Stock Ion reg, Stock Autococker reg
ACI 6 chamber Ex. chamber
Marker Setup: Smartparts SP-8
19" suppressor barrel
Palmer Inline on the remote
Firebolt
T-board (best Ion board out there)
Runs onco2


WAS Flatline A5
Cyclone Feed (it will give the Qloader a run for its money)
Stabilizer on remote
Runs on co2
Strengths: Easy to adjust, good looks, GREAT customer service and warranty
Does what it says
Price
Weaknesses: None have been found!
Review: Granted, I have not used many regulators. But, the Palmer Pursuit shop Stabilizer is ther real deal. It is going to be your last regulator purchase. You will not ever change. I have been criticized be numerous field and store owners saying not to use co2 on my Ion. But with the Stabilizer I don't ever have to worry about liquid co2 ever even getting to the gun.

I really like my A5, but the velocity was nowhere near consistent until i got the Stabilizer. It gave me at least 30% more shots from my 20oz tank and always stays within +-5fps at the chrono.

If you change the fittings around, be sure you still have the gas running through the right way or it will not work. This thing is a stability monster! NO NEED TO RUN HPA with the STABILIZER!

Can you tell I am really satisfied with this product?

Conclusion: The inline Stabilizer only costs $69. Why wait? You will regret waiting once you finally get one. Stop reading reviews and go get it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 6th, 2006 at 10:43 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

wildchild7912 Wednesday, April 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock ASA
Marker Setup: 98 custom,20"J&J Ceramic,Maddman springs,Ben Tippmann Sealed Bolt System,Psycho ballistics star fire bolt,Dye Stickies 3,DOP aluminum power tube,Cyclone feed,darkHorizon Titanium lite Hammer,Palmer Pursuit Regulator,Special Ops Fixed stock
Strengths: Regulates air pressure,No need for an expansion chamber with this product
Weaknesses: Break in period(if you want to call that one?).Pric(but worth it)
Review: Let me start this is a bit on the pricy side but it is worth it so with that said you can take it or leave it.For me I am sold this is a great product(once broken in).It does have a break in period other than that there is no real weakness.It does what they say it will and I love it it keeps my marker from shooting hot and/or drawing liquid.I put a Bob Long Mini Gauge so i had a gauge and make adjustment easier,I shoot now -/+ 5 FPS so yeah I am impressed with it and now my accuracy has improved due to the fact of the law of consistency. It takes approximately 2000 to 3000 shots before the springs set(breaking in period)until that point is reached it acts like any other ASA(in case you are wondering I got the female style for the custom 98 which replaces the ASA)
Conclusion: For $100 you could by something worse but not here I highly recomend
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, November 14th, 2006 at 3:51 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media