paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Paintball Inc. GT 2000 / Paintball Inc. GT 2000 / Paintball Inc. GT 2000 / Paintball Inc. GT 2000

Paintball Inc. GT 2000 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Paintball Inc.

Buy Paintball Inc. GT 2000

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Paintball Inc. GT 2000
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 42
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $120

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The world's first vertical powerfeed paintball gun. Comes with 45 grip frame, rear cocking, valve extender, all o-rings are tank o-ring compatable.
Product Availability 
The Paintball Inc. GT 2000 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Unregistered User Saturday, February 9th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
stingray2 ice (cant compare to the gt)
Marker Setup: GT2k bottomline w/ 14in 32 degrees terminator barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
order of importance: new barrel, expansion chamber, bolt, grips
Strengths: The GT is a very rugged gun. more so than the famed tippman reliability. all o-rings are the standard co2 tank size. that right there is a great point about the gun. oversized valve is good for colder weather play. i play in south west washington state, and i've shot snow twice, both times it was 40 degrees out, but when it got 48 degrees i didnt shoot snow anymore. upgradability is another good factor. basically anything a spider can have, the GT can take. uses spyder threads. off center verticle power feed port means tht you can actually sight down the top of the gun. the wieght is actually a good point, because it steadies your aim, and gets rid of the effects of shaky hand syndrome that screws up your aim. solid aluminum body, very economic looks which means that Genesis Trading is more concerned with quality than appearance. If you have a tech problem, you can actually mail the creator/designer of the gun!! i emailed him and got a response withing 24 hours. talk about service with a smile. stripping this gun only requires the removal of TWO screws!! this means if you bust an o-ring, it is possible to fix it in the field if you are prepared, otherwise you are only out one round.
Weaknesses: stock barrel is mediocre. in temps up around 65-70 degrees, the barrel expands and is pretty accurate at about 20-30 feet, but when the mercury drops, to say around 50 deg, you start curving or chopping like a mad mother, which is your fault for doing something that stupid. the barrel is loud, but who cares? whats the point of having a silent gun? no one can tell who just fragged someone. but the GT sound is unique, and when you get hit you will know it was from a GT. the grips on this bad boy are just hard panels that will make it kinda slippery if you dont use gloves.
Conclusion: VERY UNDER RATED GUN! just becuase it doesnt say tippman or spyder on it doesnt mean squat. be smart and get something different from the rest of the pack. add some variety to the sport and get this gun. it does need upgrades, but no stock gun is perfect. period.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, December 2nd, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders, Tippmans
Marker Setup: GT-2000 with nickel plated cyclone II bolt and beavertail, Presure balance valve, double trigger, silver thermal expansion chamber, 14" 32 degrees Nyte Stikk barrel, 32 degrees gel grip, and repainted metallic blue with white and blue splater and clear coated.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Cyclone Bolt and beaver tail, expansion chamber, barrel, pressure balance valve, double trigger, grip, and maybe some new paint/anodizie work, the black is just a lil blahhhhhh.
Strengths: Very Reliable, hasn't broke on me yet, and i've put it through some pretty intinsive use.

Very rarely chops paint, has only ever happened once or twice because of borrible weather conditions and/or extremely high volocities.

Pretty good design, easy to upgrade and to work on (even easyier to work on with the feild strip thumb screws that come with the cyclone bolt) very user-freindly

Feed is nice too, vertical feed of set to the right works well and stays out of the way of the site rails, also nice that u can remove the plug in the bottom of the feed to clean it and it continues to work even with out it in

pretty accurate for stock, and with up grades it only gets better

Pretty fairly priced, good buy for the money
Weaknesses: its a lil heavier than some guns but its definatly not unbareable

stock barrel aint the greatest in the world, but its easy to find good replacements at a variety of price ranges

the stock color sucks, it just isn't apealing, i know u don't usualy want it to stand out (esp. when your trying to hide) but the stock color is just depressing or somthing, but thats all easily changed

the single trigger just don't get the job done, the double is much better

Conclusion: its a good base gun to start with, i love mine. I'd buy one if i didn't allready have one. its very user-freindly and thats a very appreciated trait when it comes to feild stripping, working on, upgrading or just plain shooting it. Its no Angle or Autococker or anything, but it gets the job done in a very effective and cost effective maner. its a good buy 4 the bux ($).
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, November 14th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Strengths: This is my first gun. I bought it a few months ago and I'm very pleased with it. It only cost me $125. It comes with three hex wrenches, 2 o-rings, a cup seal, and a barrel plug. Pretty basic. I also got a "package" with it that included a cheap mask, 12 oz., hopper, oil, and a squeegie. I spent the extra 20 bucks for a 20 oz. and a JT Spectra Thermal. That was probably the best $20 I ever spent. The GT-2000 is basically a no-frills spider clone with a vertical powerfeed. It's a great gun, and since I've been playing a lot and comparing to others, I have come to really appreciate it. First of all it is SOLID. Well built, simple design--not a lot to go wrong with it. The stock barrel is actually pretty good--medium bore, nice honing job, 11 and 1/2 inches in length. The vertical powerfeed is really nice, and I don't believe you can get it on any other gun. It has a set screw to hold your hopper on, and feeds faster than the gun can shoot, but the best part is that it allows you to sight down the built in sight-rail and across the barrel. That's a REALLY big deal. But the best feature of this gun, in my opinion, is the fact that it is very pointable. If you have ever used a shootgun you know how important this is. Basically it means that when you point your hand at your target, your gun fits you in such a way that it pretty much aims itself at what you are pointing at. Of course pointability also depends on the shooter. It doesn't eat a lot of CO2, and it has a pretty nice trigger pull (for a paintball gun).
Weaknesses: Yes, the GT-2000 is a bit on the heavy side. Don't be a wuss, it's only a difference of a pound or so. Your boots wiegh more than that. And the stock barrel is way, way LOUD. BOOM!! But at least it is fairly consistent, so you won't have to add the cost of an aftermarket barrel on to the price of the gun just to make it worth your while (think M98). And it is not exactly a sleek, elegant weapon, but who cares, it WORKS. Lastly, it only comes in black. Personally I like to play in the woods where circus colors only invite nasty whelps, so to me that is not bad at all, but for the rest of you....
Conclusion: I was considering a tippman or one of a million spider clones out there when I bought this gun. And I think a made a good choice. Here's why:
1. it is inexpensive (my favorite)
2. it is every bit as indestructable as a m98, no matter what people who own 98's tell you
3. it works really well right out of the box (no need to by anything else for it immediately)
4. it can be upgraded as much as anything else (FYI it can run on pressures as low as 400 psi bone stock) I just put an expansion chamber on mine and I think that is the last thing I'll ever do to it
5. it is well engineered, in fact if you go to www.gt-2000.com you can email the guy who designed it with questions. I did once and he wrote me back the NEXT DAY! how's that for customer service?

Sooooooooo, if your are looking for your first gun, or whatever, do yourself a favor and think about the GT-2000. AND FOR GOD'S SAKE SPEND THE EXTRA TEN BUCKS AND GET A GOOD MASK! I would give the gun a 10 cosidering it would be a good deal if it cost $200 (think Spider, Pirahnna,etc.) but I am fundamentally opposed to rating anything as perfect--that's saying there is no place for improvement, and besides, the purpose of a rating scale is for comparison. I will say, though, that it is THE BEST paintball gun you can get for less than $200 new. At least as far as I know.....
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, October 30th, 2001
Strengths: Everything that I could think of about this gun is good. I bought this gun for only $100 dollars and it was definately worth it. When I got it I immediately went and played a game. I played against people with spyders and tipman 98s but to be honest I kept up pretty good. I was really impressed with the performance that i got for the money i paid. Also there are many upgrades for it.
Weaknesses: The only thing that i could find that i didn't like was the barrel. But i haven't shot a gun yet that i actually liked it's stock barrel.
Conclusion: This gun is the best gun i have ever found for the price you pay. It performs fine without upgrades but i would definately recommend a new barrel. If you are looking for a good paintball gun for not very muck money this is an excellent gun.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, October 23rd, 2001
Strengths: Good feedback from Doug Brown (creator of the GT-2000). If you have any problems at all, he will more than happily respond.
Good Price (picked mine up for $100)
Durable
Vertical Feed is not in line of sight
Weaknesses: Morons like Piranha-boy (TheMAster) aren't educated enough to realize a good marker when they shoot it and decide to spout their uneducated dribble here, so that he doesn't feel so bad about spending more money.

As far as the marker goes, it really needs an aftermarket barrel (but what marker doesn't?) and an expansion chamber.
Conclusion: Don't listen to Piranha-boy. Try it for yourself. Just remember that the marker is only as good as the user. If you take care of it, it will take care of you. A moron toting an un-kept Angel is still a moron.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, September 16th, 2001
Strengths: I've had mine for a couple of years now and made some upgardes PBV, Double trigger, Cyclone Bolt, x-chamber,new hogue grips and a ported 14" barrel. I can keep up with the big boys except those guys using full autos but hey full autos are for people with no talent.
Weaknesses: None to report, just keep it clean and serviced just like any other gun.
Conclusion: For the money its a great gun, you could spend more for a gun but why? Its performance is just as good as most other guns.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, August 2nd, 2001
Strengths: This gun rocks man. I owned model 98 customs with it i owned spyder shutters and compacts and i owned a pirahna. I love this gun its easy to upgrade the barrel is good but too loud. It shoots all types of paintball good but i would HIGHLY recommend ZAP PAINTBALLS i must of shot 800 with out any breaks its good for tournaments too specially when u upgrade it it will not leave u stranded cleaning ur barrel.
Weaknesses: Velocity changes alot. Easliy fied though get a pvb valve and a force II cyclone bolt and thermal cell expansion chamber.
Conclusion: BUY THIS GUN NOW! and BUY ZAP PAINTBALLS WITH IT.
the best gun out there besides the angel lol i cna take on any gun wit my gun and maybe an angel when i get my electronic frame.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, July 24th, 2001
Strengths: The GT-2000 is a great gun- not just for beginners. It's got a nice rate of fire, good accuracy with the stock barrel, and is inexpensive. I've used it a few times at a field and with friends in the mountains S. of Denver. I have never broken a ball even with 3 month old brass eagle and other bad paints. Some people say that the gun is too heavy, but that makes it easier to aim when firing bursts of 3 or 5. I got mine from a friend who traded up to an impulse, only because it's low pressure (more accurate) and because it gets him more respect (he's an ass).
Weaknesses: The only bad thing is that the range of the barrel is as long as could be desired, and, it's also kind of loud, but who's complaining, it's stock.
Conclusion: This gun can be tournament quality with a couple of upgrades. First, get a new barrel, a boomy($105) or armson($80) if you have the money, or a custom products classic ($40). You can also get the CO2000 regulator to make it run at a lower pressure along with the pressure balanced valve which is more consistent and uses 1/3 less CO2. Also if you get this gun, you should also get the thermal cell expansion chamber ($15) from nationalpb.com because it makes the GT-2000 alot easier to carry. This gun is worth the $120 because it is better than the M98 or a similar priced spyder. Anyone who is looking for a good *reliable* gun should buy the GT-2000 after visiting www.gt-2000.com/serial111 to see doug brown's (the designer) gun. It looks sweet. (Spyder Boo-yah grip, PBV, Stone Cold Diamond Barrel, drop forward, Force II Cyclone bolt, X-chamber, Micro line, etc.)

By the way, people in the owner's forums have said that the designer, Doug Brown (VP of nat'l PB) provides -kick ass- tech support- he made it, he knows it, he'll help you fix it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, June 26th, 2001
Strengths: I got my gun for 110. I was very pleased and impressed by the accuracy of the stock barrel. DId not break a single ball in shooting about 500 balls. My hopper had a little trouble keeping up with me but I will eventually get a 9vlt.
Weaknesses: It is kind of heavy and the grips are pretty bad.
Conclusion: If you get this gun get dye sticky grips helps the feel and accuracy for the gun, it helped me. This gun is very reliable and durable. Good buy. Great gun for beginners. I like it better than the model 98s.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, June 10th, 2001
Strengths: Vertical feed is positioned so it does not interfere with sighting down the barrel
Very accurate right out of box
Takes spider threaded barrels, all o-rings are same diameter as CO2 rings.
Inexpensive
Weaknesses: Stock barrel although accurate is loud since there is no porting
Grips are hard and uncomfortable, need to be replaced.
Trigger is stiff, requires some force to pull
Conclusion: Well worth the price.
Far more accurate then my Impulse although slower rate of fire
If you're accurate you don't need a high rate of fire. This is the gun I use in wooded field games.
Replaced the barrel with a Taso Stone Cold II, this quieted down the marker quite a lot.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media