paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / System X NME / System X NME / System X NME / System X NME

System X NME Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount System X

Buy System X NME

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


System X NME
[ View Photos (16) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 54
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $975

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features:

Wicked Air Sportz Board - WAS
Break Beam Eyes - WAS
Double Ball Bearing Adjustable Trigger - For Greasy Speed
Smaller trigger frame than similar guns
Larger trigger guard design so you can easily walk even with Large Gorilla Fingers
LPR Operating Pressure 60psi - MORE SHOTS
Balls Per-Second come stock 25BPS - Can shoot up to 30BPS
LED Board - No more Confusion - Ready to rock
Shorter Delrin Bolt - Lighter and Faster
New Design - Sticky Grips
Product Availability 
The System X NME is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
illagod Thursday, June 8th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proto Matrix '05, Smart Parts Impulse w/ vision eye, Wdp Angle G7 w/ 45 grip frame
Marker Setup: 14" Smart Parts Freak System w/ .687 insert
H.A.L.O w/ rip drive
Pure Energe 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
The feed neck
14" dye ultralite barrel
Strengths: Its light
looks great
The speed is bananas
trigger is ez to adjust
PRICE
Weaknesses: The feed neck is my only problem
Review: First of all, when I got on the field I felt like the ish because of all the eyes on this monster. The refs and even the pro players were on the NME as if it was the only one in existence!! The performance was better then I expected because I just knew that it couldn't touch my Angle or a timmy but to my surprise it worked great. It ripped a hole in a couple of people I was gunning for. I tried my friends dye ultralite on my NME and this barrel made it even better so that's my next investment. The trigger adjustments were very easy. It took me about 30 minutes to get it just the way i wanted it to be. Its so short that a light wind would fire off 3 shots. Only issue I had was with the feed neck. For the life of me I could not get it tite enough to hold the halo in place.
Conclusion: Over all the NME is the truth for the price. Get the one with the WAS board upgrade adjustable trigger. You wont regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 8th, 2006 at 5:57 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

merc3naryman Thursday, April 27th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Eclipse Ego, PM5, Smart Parts Ion, Piranha GSX, Tippmann A-5, Tippmann 98
Marker Setup: system x nme, derlin wave trigger, halo b w/ rip drive, 68 3000 pure energy nitrous tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
derlin wave trigger
Strengths: Great Accuracy, Rate Of Fire, beautiful milling, AutoCocker
Weaknesses: Kinda Heavy
Review: The system x nme is a great gun that can do great things for u! buy it better than a timmy!!! If you r looking for a gun that will rip people aprt than u gotta get this gun no questions asked! Ive shot many guns before, but none as good as this, if u want to eat people alive than get the nme
Conclusion: I recommend anyone who is looking for a great gun Should definately consider getting the NME!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 8th, 2006 at 4:40 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Raffaele_snoozy Wednesday, April 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5
98 custom
(They don't compare but wathever)
Marker Setup: Drop foward
Recommended
Upgrades:
Drop foward
Strengths: Speed, weight and speed
Weaknesses: Feed neck
Review: This marker is wonderful. It's light, fast and it's look is awsome. The trigger is very sensitive, wich asks an aaptation period if it's your first high quality marker. Since I have this marker, I never lost a game ( i'm serious). So i recommed you to try it and if you like it (it's impossible you don't) and you have enough cash, BUY IT!
Conclusion: I think that this marker is a good compromise for an Angel
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 5th, 2006 at 3:31 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Blindincolor Monday, February 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Cyborg, Timmy, Angel, impulse, shocker
Marker Setup: Halo Hopper
Dye Throttle 71ci
Everything else is Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
None really, Barrel? Only if you want a kit.

You have to have a fast Hopper!!!!
Strengths: Fast: WAS!!!!
Accurate: Grouped 10 at app. 100ft within the palm of my hand.
Weaknesses: Feed Neck,
LPR
some internals,
Bolt
Review: Well this gun is amazing. I fired a mech cocker for the longest time and just got this beauty 3 weeks ago...whew...it flat out rips and I can outrun my friends Angel Speed!!!!
It will fire as fast as you can pull the trigger and your hopper can load, which is well....FAST!!!!!!

The feed neck is ok and if you must it can be replaced.

I get the gun, and a week later the velocity won' t go above 260 fps. I can't believe it! The gun is great when it works but playing at 260fps does not do it for me. I have just found out I got a bad bolt with O-rings that are over-sized, the poppet is not made from the right material (cheep).

This gun has issues!! System X, don't take shortcuts we can tell!!!!

Gun Has been fixed, back to 300fps!! Issues are all resolved now, except the new bolt (still waiting).

This review will change.
Conclusion:
Remember to get a fast hopper!!!! Halo or Egg 2


Gun has some issues. If you have problems take it to them.



Very fast, and I love the trigger.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 16th, 2005 at 5:16 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

an_asian Wednesday, December 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
intimidators
Marker Setup: 04 angel speed 45/45 nitro tank egg 2 hopper shocktech on/off
Recommended
Upgrades:
none that i no of
Strengths: This gun is very fast and very light.
Weaknesses: None
Review: The new system x nme is a great gun. it is as light as a shocker but fast as an intimidator. This gun is a great gun for this price it is cheaper than a timi and just as good as a timi to. This gun is the best gun if you want a fast gun for cheap.
Conclusion: If i didnt have my angel speed i would get this gun in a heart beat beacuse this gun is a cheap but fast and it also looks good to.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, December 3rd, 2004 at 8:00 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PilotShaneR Wednesday, April 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
System X Xonik
DYE DM-5
Marker Setup: Freak Barrell System
Slider on/off
69/3000 Crossfire nitro tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Slider on/off
New Barrell
Lots of extra detents (see review)
Strengths: Looks
Speed
Weaknesses: Customer service for System X stinks
Review: I wanted this gun real bad when it came out. I got it and it broke balls like there was no tomorrow. I fought this thing for 3 weeks, buying different balls, trying different settings, paying money to go to fields to play then the gun fails while playing. I even went through 6 sets of detents. After over 13 calls to System X I had to send the gun back at my own expense. Then after two weeks I get the gun back and the LPR leaked, screws were missing and they said they put in a new bolt and the original one was still in the gun. So after a bunch of calls again they finally sent a call tag out this time and they supposedly fixed the gun. I got it back and it did not leak any more but there were screws still missing and the thing breaks balls. I have a 850.00 trot line weight. The fish are going to like this one.
Conclusion: It is a great idea, I know of some people that have not had one problem. But then again I know of some that have had problems from the get go. If only the customer service would have been better.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

pbdude01 Tuesday, December 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
e99 avant with lots of ups
timmys
angels
and trix's
Marker Setup: spyder e99 avant with cp barrel, egg, clamping feed, egg and 72/3k nitro

soon to be a timmy
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: I found it to be very very fast, without any kick, or blowback
Weaknesses: It was hard to get to bounce
Review: I was able to test this marker recently at the caljam out here in socal. and let me say that this marker rips!! i would have boughten one right there if i would have had the money... I shot it with a barrel cover on and the cover didnt even move, even when I was hitting rates of fire of up to 15 bps (not really trying to rip super fast) it was super quiet even without shooting paint.. and it has no kick what so ever!!!! and for the price tag i find it a steal!! buy this marker and you will be glad you did
Conclusion: I found this marker to be a great marker.... if you are tired of seeing every one with a timmy, and want a marker with the same performance but dont want to look like everyone else get this!!! you will be glad you did... its well worth the 1000$
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

ur nme Thursday, March 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Timmies and Angles
Marker Setup: System X NME
12 inch nme barrel
empire reloader b hopper
System X HPA 91 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel and good hopper
Strengths: Fast!!
Accurate!!
Light!!
Easy maintenance!!
Weaknesses: Nothing
Review: This gun is the best gun I have ever shot, its fast, light, accurate, and reliable. I've used this gun 5 times and its great.

(Please don't peg little kids with paintballs with this gun, I know, it seems fun but they cry and you'll get kick out of the park and probably get sued. So please be careful, Paintball guns are not toys and this gun especially leaves huge welts.)









Conclusion: This is the best gun out in the market and is worth every penny.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

DRTHV8R Tuesday, June 9th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
For poppits, just an evil pimp
Marker Setup: System X NME #2041 Dust Graphite
Trinity Mini-t Clamping Feedneck
Evil Pipe Barrel Kit
Stiffi Pipe Tip
Evil Intimidator Front Block
Evil Respirator LPR
Evil On-Off ASA
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamping Feedneck
Intimidator Front Block and LPR (see below)
Strengths: Air efficiency
Light
Looks Awesome
Smooth
Trigger
Weaknesses: Maitenance
Hard to find parts?
Review: My NME is my main gat that I use.

The good:
-it is a very nice looking marker. a lot of people will give you props at the field and they are definately a rarity
-fast, has w.a.s. board stock. very quick, great board and eyes.
-very light, about the same as my freestyle, very light gun
-trigger is amazing, ball bearing magnetic trigger has a very nice feel
-very air efficient with stock lpr and front block
-great packaging. spare parts, barrel sock, two piece barrel, everything you need
-extrememly smooth shooting for a poppit marker
-the marker feels very nice in the hands
-the hpr is awesome, basically a bob long torpedo with a swivel
-great all around gun

the bad:
-maitenance can be troubling. to get to the poppit, you have to take the front block out like on any intimidator. the only problem is that on the nme, it is much slimmer so to get to the set screw for the front block, you have to remove the front barb. i have had troubles with this in taking off the barb, stripping screws, and rounding screws. one way to fix this is to buy an intimidator front block. the only problem is that there has to be some modification to the block and to the trigger frame to get the block to fit, and the nme lpr doesn't fit on regular intimidator front blocks
-when putting an intimidator front block and lpr on the gun, air efficiency gets reduced
Conclusion: I would definately recommend this product to anyone who has a chance to pic one up. just make sure you are ready to be able to do some work on the gun, especially when getting to the poppit. great all around gun, designed as an upgraded alias, very smooth shooter, i would definately recommend to anyone to pick this up. do you put a new front block and lpr on it? that's up to you. you can sacrifice recharge and efficiency for easier maitenance or vice versa, its all up to the user. but i would definately say pick one up if you have the chance, you'll be glad you did
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mitsu13gman Friday, May 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Original '94 Kingman Spyder
Mech Trillogy 'Cocker
E-Bladed Trilogy 'Cocker
Snipered (pump) Trillogy 'Cocker (yeah it's all the same marker)
Marker Setup: Old-Style ('cocker-feedneck) NME, EvLution II, Micro Max-Flow 68/45, CP Twist-Lock feedneck

Trilogy pump coversion, 47/3k, VL200
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: durable, fast, simple, easy to maintain, GREAT trigger feel, very flexible board, great looks
Weaknesses: grip screws strip WAY too easily, external LPR hose, uncomfortable inline reg
Review: I picked this up used about a year ago now. I've used it in a variety of games (rec woodsball, scenario, and some rec hyperball). For the $450 I paid for it, it's been quite impressive.

I was shooting my E-Bladed Trilogy when I got this, because the field paint was so inconsistent that my 'cocker was shooting +/15 FPS over the chrono. The NME tightened that up quite a bit (+/-8). But in the end the solution was just better paint. I shot Marballizer through it recently for a day of rec woodsball, and it was literally ball-on-ball. Even with the GROSSLY oversized stock barrel (balls just fell through it - nevermind rolling), it was +/-5 FPS at the chrono, and it was very easy to place a ball where I wanted (once I got dialed in on the position)

As for speed, I can pretty comfortably push the limits of my (non Z-boarded) EvLution in semi. The ball-bearing trigger is like night and day over the pin-pivot trigger in the EBlade. The stock grips are almost too comfy. Even with enough trigger throw to guarantee it will NEVER bounce, it's very easy to talk the trigger up to very expensive (in terms of paint consumption) rates of fire. Combined with the feel of the microswitch (I've finally decided that I just don't like optical triggers), it's the best trigger I've shot to date.

It is very easy to clean. On the field, you can just pop out the bolt and yank a squeegee through it and it's right as rain. On the bench, it comes apart quickly, except for the valve, which requires a special small box-wrench to pop off a barb first. $15 at Sears gets you the set if it's an issue. The DOW55 lube recommended is not the most common stuff, but it's not impossible to find. The only leaks I've had have been due to setting the LPR too low - once you get it back to operating pressure, it seals right up. That external LPR hose is just annoying, though. The banjo fitting for it sits right where you want your hand to be when you use the inline reg as a front grip. Gloves make it a non-issue, but hey - I like to complain.

Finally, even with the departure of the manufacturer, Wicked Air Sports continues to support the board (largely due to the shared design with the Alien markers), so the PCB, solenoid, eyes, and switch are all readily available. Also, the stock board is very programmable, so unless you've got an obscure tourney or one of the promoters comes out with something truly odd, you shouldn't have to worry about electronics.


The most obvious downside to this marker is the lack of support. If something breaks other than the electronics, you're out of luck. That said, I haven't had any trouble with it, so I'm getting less concerned the more I use it.

Also, it's pretty heavy. I know many don't see that as an issue, but when you're out on a scenario field all day, a heavy marker setup is an unnecessary distraction.

Also, the small set-screw that locks down the LPR and inline reg sleeve likes to either strip or fall out. In general, the whole marker appears to be made from a fairly soft grade of aluminum, so I'm always a little concerned about stripping something irreparably. This includes the grip screws, which appear to be 5-40 (not 4-40), so they're tough to replace if you lose one. I've got one I just tapped out to 6-32 when I could no longer get the stock screw to hold it.

But I've got to say, the first few times I took it out and people asked, "What is that?" and I replied, "A Timmy clone." and they all said, "Huh - looks nicer than a Timmy." it just felt good! This is a great looking marker whose shape and contours seem to be aging very well.
Conclusion: For the $450 I paid, I got an excellent marker that handles very well, shoots very fast, and doesn't need a ton of maintenance to keep it shooting every week.

Sadly, the specter of catastrophic failure looms over it. Not that it appears to be in eminent danger - but if it happens, then I've either got to find a marker to steal parts from, or I have to scrap what I spent on this one.

With the recent price drops of the older Timmies, it's tough to recommend this over many other similarly-priced markers. But since spares for those are likely to be as scarce as for the NME, I guess it comes down to personal preference.

At the end of the day, it's a fairly common operating platform (so it's easy to get help fixing it), but with some unique twists to help it stand out in the staging area. On the field, obviously your skills have to do the talking, but at least you won't have the same marker as everyone else.

I'm giving it a 6 since I think it's a good marker - but for they money, I think you can do as well or better now. If "5" is average, then this is slightly above average. The Ion at half the price will shoot just as fast, though it may get you labeled a "noob." And older Timmies (as well as the DP Fusion or even the Mini) are about the same price as a used NME, with more likely longevity and better (ie they're still in business) support.

If you find a screaming deal on one and like poppet-valve markers, I wouldn't hesitate to jump on it. But if you're saving your hard-earned pennies for a paintball "investment," I'd say there are safer options to consider first.

That said, I'll keep mine for a while. I'm looking to pick up a spool valve marker just to have something to compare to, but even if a DM6 ends up in my gearbag, I'll keep this as a backup and loaner.

...and for those days where I just feel like something different.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media