paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Matrix / Proto Matrix / Proto Matrix / Proto Matrix

Proto Matrix Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Matrix

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Matrix
[ View Photos (87) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 207
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $995

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Matching Proto Barrel - Internal Modular LPR - Hyper-2 in line regulator - Revised Anti-Chop eye system - An industry first, composite eyeplate - Continuous 3 dimensional body design - Compact ergonomicly designed milling - Lightweight compact body - Proto Matrix Sticky grip - LED program control - Ergonomic 45 grip frame - Removable one peice FUSE bolt system - Adjustable trigger sensitivity
Product Availability 
The Proto Matrix is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (21):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
NSA Scoot Thursday, April 28th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 67 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
LCD Matrix - Better then this gun
DM4 - Better then this gun
DM5 - Better then this gun
Shockers - Better then this gun
Intimmidators - Better then this gun
Angels - Better then this gun
Marker Setup: I no longer own this gun.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definitely new barrel, and if you could (they're not out yet) some kind of 3rd party electronic board because the stock ones are EXTREMELY fragile.
Strengths: This gun has a strength?
Weaknesses: Reliability. Anadizing. Trigger. Regulator. Electronics. Wiring. Barrel. Efficiency. Looks. Recoil. Eyes.
Review: This gun is probably the absolute worst gun I have EVER used. I expected this gun to be as awesome as one of the old LCD Matrixes, and could compare to a DM4, but woo boy was I worse then wrong.

Out of the box the gun was damaged. Trigger was chipped, bolt cap was dented. Anodizing was littered with scratches, barrel was chipped. Trigger SUCKED.

I turn try to turn the gun on, won't work. Put a new battery in, won't work. Had a PTI certified airsmith look at the gun, and we sent it off to Dye. We requested a new gun because of all the damage. I get my gun back, Dye did not send a new gun. Gun can now turn on, but eye wire is broken. I call Dye, get my eye wire in, and the board fries. AGAIN. By this time I'm getting more then upset because I haven't even used the gun yet, and it's having constant problems. I get that gun back from Dye the second time STILL without them replacing the gun because of all the damage, and took my first shots on it.

First shot, chopped. Second, chopped. Third, chopped. Tried some different paint, and shot a hopper through it but chopped about 3 or 4 times. The eyes are built very strangely, all your paint just sits where the eyes are whenever you chop, so once you've chopped once it's game over for you. Trigger is very awkward, it is very scratchy and is not smooth at all. Adjusting the trigger is a very big risk because you have a huge chance of pinching your wires. The trigger will not work without a spring, and once you set the trigger with a spring it's still very slow and catches quite often. LPR is pretty junky, it's preset and will really go haywire if you don't have it set at exactly 85PSI. This sucks because you have a lot of kick at that pressure and it's loud.
Conclusion: Do not buy this gun! It is a ripoff, get a DM4 or LCD Matrix!
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
38 Comments - Add Comment

#1TiMmYfAn Wednesday, January 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
NONE NO GUNS I HAVE HAD R ANYTHING LIKE IT
Marker Setup: Red Dust Proto Matrix
Dye Stubby Tank
Red/Black Uni
Black Halo B W/ Victory Board
Recommended
Upgrades:
NONE UNLESS U DONT LIKE 12IN BARRELS
Strengths: Speed
Weight
Small
Fast
No Kick
Weaknesses: NONE THAT I HAVE SEEN So0o0o FAR
Review: Well i recently just sold my viking and was out on the market for a new gun. it was a proto matrix, 05 speed, or a naughty dog freestyle. i chose the proto and its the best choice i have made. i went to my local shop bought my new baby aired her up and shot her. she was shooting darts right out of the box all i had to do is take the spring out of the trigger and boy was she set. the first thing i noticed when i shot it was how fast it was easly just as fast any any other gun i have shot and NO KICK whatsoever. i say buy the proto over the dm5 is waty less cash and accually has better features.
Conclusion: I highly recomend it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

scpaintballer01 Wednesday, June 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
DM4, DM5, 05 SPEED.
Marker Setup: Blue-Black Proto Matrix
CP On-off
Musashi 3 Board
LPR Bolt Rear Cap
CP Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger
ASA/on off
Feedneck
New board (M3, Speedy, Virtue)
Barrel kit (Dye UL works PERFECT)
New Grips if ya want.
LPR Bolt Rear Cap
Strengths: Size, speed, accuracy, DYE product, durability
Weaknesses: stock feedneck sucks preety badly, doesnt come with on-off/asa, Kinda back heavy.
Review: Out of the Box
Ok, so i take the marker out of the box and it looks great. Cosmetically perfect and the 3D milling is great. So, i put together everything to see what it looks like. Pictures do not give this gun justice, its a really really nice gun. The manual is very well put together and it really gives you a feel about the gun but please READ IT! It will only help you.

At the crono
After breaking in the Hyper2 with a ton of dry fire shots i took it to the crony. 350, then turned it down a whole bunch, 285, 289, 286, 287, 285, 285, 285. So overall the consistency of the gun is very good for a brand new gun. It is very easy to adjust the velocity with just a allen wrench at the bottom of the Hyper2 reg. Time for the field.

Playin Time
The first game was great. Very light and crisp trigger pull to it and overall a good performer. I noticed something though, the feedneck and the ASA (part that connects the reg to the body) its not all that strong so i would upgrade to a new feedneck ASAP. Yeah, im pretty sure i stripped the threads of my feedneck the first day of play. Ill get into that later. The gun was ripping all day long and i was loving every part of it. People were constantly asking if they could test it out. Ok, time for the feedneck part. I was playing (my last game of the day) and off the break im lanning up the right tape and get a guy out trying to get to the back right stand up. Well...coasts clear so i make a dash for a 50 bunker, im about 20 ft. away from it and i start to get pounded with balls and all were bouncing, or maybe they weren't, doesn't really matter, so i superman dive into the bunker. The barrel gets plugged with dirt and some dirt got into the bolt. Not just dust, but i had a dirt clod come out of it. Well, i broke off the feedneck and its been crappy ever sense. Right now duck tapes working, but i need a new one badly. Im still kinda pissed about that, but o well..crap happens. On the field the gun is awesome, my M3 board was ripping away at 15+ constantly and it was very accurate. But then again, most matrices's are.

Upgrades
Im not real big about upgrades, but these WILL help your gun:
1. New trigger (CP Roller works great) The stock, is nice, just kinda stiff
2. Feedneck, the stock is a POS. do yourself a favor and get a CCM clamping
3. M3 or a new board, these are great to have, but not essential. I would recommend M3 because it was uncapped semi, capped semi, and PSP/NXL mode
4. LPR Bolt Rear Cap. This upgrade is commonly looked over, but this is essentially what makes the DM5 different. It lowers the operating pressure by 25-30 PSI, reduces kick, and is a bit easier on the paint. IT IS WORTH IT! It will reduce shot count, but IT IS WORTH IT!
5. New grips are nice to have and they help the gun look a bit better
6. Barrel kit, almost essential for any gun.
Conclusion: I give the proto matrix a 9/10 because of the small problems ive had with the threads bein kinda weak and what-not. But its a VERY good marker for the price. You cant get better.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Turtle1 Monday, December 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
All
Marker Setup: angel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel kit.
Strengths: Accurate, speed, smaller than dm4, style! price!!!! not a gas hog.
Weaknesses: Barrel, feedneck, i personnal like to adjust my feedneck.
Review: This gun out of the box, is ready to rock!!!!!! i personnal like the look of this gun its differnent and cool, the eye covers could be smaller but who cares, right!
this gun shoots great! big plus for dye with the price of this gun.
i dont care for the on/off switch for the air on the dm4 and im glad they didnt add that feature to this gun, one less o-ring to go bad!

Conclusion: price A style A speed A
Good job DYE/PROTO!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 20th, 2004 at 10:47 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

keala Friday, November 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Chick Chick Ir3 Fly, Impulse, Storm Timmy, 03 Matrix, 2003 shocker, tippman lol
Marker Setup: Black/Blue Proto Dm5, Halo B Victory Board, Freak Kit, tmc mini drop, kapp on/off, 3A 68ci 4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
A clamp feed if you want
differant barrel
Strengths: This gun is uber fast, small lite, awesome operating pressure.
Weaknesses: None
Review: When I first saw this gun i had to have one, it looked sexy i the pictures and when i opened it it was ever better looking. the first thing i recomend is a trigger job. when i shot it it was uber fast and accurate at first i thought it was bouncing but thankfuly it was not. i didnt break or chop a single ball the whole time it was awesome the bolt was easy to take care of just like the dm4 but smaller a plus in my mind is to have gotten rid of the on off on the fron and just put the lpr in, cutting down on wieght and making the lpr easy to set. After shooting a Storm Timmy i switched to a 03 matrix and now i havn't left the matrix family yet these guns rock even the 03s if you are man enough to take the wieght, the proto is as realiable as the 03 and alot faster.
Conclusion: This gun kick a$$ you should buy one over a angel or timmy
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

flyingeagle3 Saturday, January 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM4
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix, Halo B, 68/3000 aci
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel(Ultralite), o-ring (will discus in review), Check it bottom line
Strengths: Speed Speed Speed, accuracy, consistant
Weaknesses: Poor o-rings, Leak right out of the box. Poor wiring
Review: *Out of the box*
When I first saw the box I couldnt beleive that it could fit in it. I took it out of the box and it was lighter and smaller than it look on the internet. I was impressed.

*First Test*
I put my Check-It bottomline on and went outside and ripped a stream. The next day I go do the same but i get a leak out of the front of the bolt and the tophat.

*Troubles*
I break it down and fix the leak in the front but fail at fixing the Top Hat leak. I jump on the board and began getting tips, none of them worked. . Nexted I called up DYE and they OFFERED to send me the back part of the bolt, and a new o-ring kit. He also suggested that I find o-ring slightly bigger. I went to the hardware store and picked up a size 08 oring. Put it in my gun it worked perfect. I ripped the rest of my bag of paint.
Conclusion: When I first opened the box I was impressed. When the gun went down I was strongly disappointed knowing that dye doesn't have a rep like that. But over all this is a great gun. I love it. You may have a few minor leaks out of the box but once you get it runnning its unstopable. Go buy it
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 23rd, 2005 at 3:33 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

james52 Sunday, May 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Timmys, Angels, B2k's, Impulse, shockers, Ions,
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix 05
Hybrid Feedneck
Cp Roller trigger
Check it unimount
Dye Ultra lite barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
VIRTUE
Halo/Reloader
Barrel
Feedneck
Strengths: 0 kick
Light
Small
Damn secksy
Quiet
Weaknesses: Lots of O rings
Little bit of a Gas hog
Long breakin time
Review: I've played with this gun for quit a while now and let me say wow, its awesome, I love matrix's. The one thing that these guns are known for is that they are the smooth es shooting guns out there, Absolutely no kick whats so ever, due to the spool Valve desighn, there's no ram so the only thing moving in the gun is the bolt. It's also very quiet and sounds nice. I would say it's the nicest gun right now next to the DM4/5. The milling and the annoe is just so damn secksy. It's also very light and small.

One thing about the gun is that bolt has a lot of orings on it, you have to lube the gun a lot, Dye recommends every 10 000-15000 shots, but if you want really good performance and want it to last long, i would lube it up after every days play. The hyper 2 reg took a while to break in, but after it broken it works really good. The gun is a bit of a gas hog but if you have your lpr and dwell set right it's not that bad.

I wouldn't say it the fastest gun outa the box, but once you get Virtue board, it absolutely rips. It's mechanically capped at 23/24. I defiantly recommend a Halo or reloader. My gun came with a Ultra lite and a hybrid feedneck but if you buy the gun new you get a crappy feedneck and a Proto barrel. So you would have to upgrade.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun if you play in tournaments. I would give this gun a 9.6 but i can't so i round it up to 10. This guns awesome.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 15th, 2005 at 4:54 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nick hitman Saturday, February 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
timmys, matrix, ecockers, angels, imps
Marker Setup: proto matrix blue/black
black reloader b
new designz drop
cp on/off
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
Strengths: Speed
Weight
Looks
Quiet
Weaknesses: Trigger pull length out of the box
Review: I just got this today and it rips, this is just as fast as any gun i have ever seen, just got it hooked up the air turned it on and it straight up rips man i love it, any one looking for a sweet looking, compact, really fast, quiet gun get this over anything else trust me i shot an alias today and my proto was better
Conclusion: Buy it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

wazzzup032190 Monday, December 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
dm4, maybe dm5 if u throw an ultralight on it.
Marker Setup: dust blue/black fade, reloader b, centerflag 45/45, dust black 14" dye ul, shocktech micro drop, shocktech on/off, shocktech no rise.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, i went with dye ultralight, clamping feedneck, new board maybe???
Strengths: Fast, light, small, accurate and easy to maintain
Weaknesses: None
Review: I think this marker totally kicks a** it is very light and compact making it easy to run for the 50 off break or just to sit in the back and shoot lots of paint!!!

all u need is a fast loader, i went wit reloader b, and a nice tank and ur set to go.
this marker is set to go out of the box... it is ready to rip no pressure or setting needed.
all u need to throw on is a st no rise.

this gun comes in sick colors and u dont need to add anything!!!!

grab yours today!!
Conclusion: Get this gun as soon as possible!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mps2216 Tuesday, December 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ummm.... ive shot a bunch i guess (lcd matrix, e cocker, angel etc....)
Marker Setup: black proto trix
cp rail w/ on/off
evlution II w/ z board
68/3000 crossfire

ill prob have UL, clamping feedneck, and a cp roller trigger by the end of the month
Recommended
Upgrades:
i guess a barrel and clamping feedneck. Trigger is more of a preference
Strengths: Weight
Speed
Accuracy is slightly above average
Weaknesses: A little bit more kick than i wanted, but nothing serious
Review: Well, once i got the gun, i adjusted everything to my fitting and found my way to the chrono. Consistency was alright , +-8. Of course the reg wasnt broken in yet, so no harm there. Accuracy was fairly well. about an 8.5 out of 10. Good enought for me. A UL would probably serve better though. Somewhat of a gas hog, but i guess an improvement over the LCD. As i said earlier, kick was noticeable but minimal. The gun had really no serious problems; lube it and dont bash it in the ground and u shud be fine.
Conclusion: Great gun. Its price comparison to the DM4 and DM5 makes it seem like an obvious buy to me but i guess not to others. But from what i heard, their performance is equal. I suggest try it out.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 21st, 2004 at 8:12 am PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (21):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media