paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Matrix / Proto Matrix / Proto Matrix / Proto Matrix

Proto Matrix Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Matrix

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Matrix
[ View Photos (87) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 207
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $995

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Matching Proto Barrel - Internal Modular LPR - Hyper-2 in line regulator - Revised Anti-Chop eye system - An industry first, composite eyeplate - Continuous 3 dimensional body design - Compact ergonomicly designed milling - Lightweight compact body - Proto Matrix Sticky grip - LED program control - Ergonomic 45 grip frame - Removable one peice FUSE bolt system - Adjustable trigger sensitivity
Product Availability 
The Proto Matrix is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (21):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
pbfreakICPfan Thursday, June 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I dont know what ever you like
Marker Setup: Proto Trixs'
CCM on/off valve
CCM drop neck
Empire rail
Stiffe
Recommended
Upgrades:
CCM on/off valve
CCM drop neck
Empire rail
Strengths: Fast out of box
Light
Small
And i like the trigger
Weaknesses: When i first got mine i blew an o ring in the bolt
Review: I love my Trix, but before you buy one make sure that you will love yours as much as i love mine....... do research on it and make sure its the one for you, go to your local dealer and ask what they have heard, make them work for the sale.=), also ask other ballers what they have heard or know. be sure before you put air in your gun to turn your pressure down so you dont make the mistake many proto owners have by blowing that o-ring, hope this help you in your such for a gun


a way to aviod this is turn your pressure down when you get it,
Dye loves to crank there regs all the way in =)
Conclusion: Great gun love mine 10 out of 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

jon1672001 Saturday, February 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None. My first electro.
Marker Setup: 2005 Black to Blue Fade Proto Matrix
Smoke Halo B w/ Rip
Dye Peanut 70/4500
Hybrid Blunt Drop
Hybrid Grind Rail
Hybrid Hedlock 2
Hybrid Contract Killer Grips
CP Roller Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Locking Feedneck
Force Feed Hopper
Strengths: Light
Fast
Good Lookin
Cheaper than a DM
Weaknesses: No locking feedneck
No ASA stock
Soldered chip
Review: I was either getting this or a used DM4 or alias timmy. I decided to go new, and was not disappointed. Out of the box, the gun looked great. Machining and anno were perfect. I removed the bolt with the supplied allen key set, and greased it liberally with the supplied Dye Slick Lube. I slapped on a 12V revy and Dye peanut and went out back. The gun was shooting ropes with Draxxus Blaze. A lot of paint on paint at about 15 yards. The only problem was that I outshot the revy with ease. The Halo B cured this problem quick. The trigger is light, but a little long. Enter the CP Roller trigger that made a dramatic improvement. Also, the hybrid parts are, in my opinion, second to none. They make the gun look even better, and perform flawlessly.

In it's first day of action, the trix saw a 6 hour scenario game with a few rounds of speedball at lunch. Three cases of Field Blaze (required, FPO) later, not a single break. I got a hopper and 6 pods on about 2500 psi. I'd say it is pretty efficient. The stock barrel was surprisingly accurate, and I am thankful I held off on the Dye UL. I don't even think I willorder a kit for it, although I could use the Freak kit from Jr's cocker since it's the same thread. I picked up some Hellfire today and saw how accurate it can really be.
The Hyper-2 reg stayed consistent all day, too.

Walking this thing is a breeze. It has a good balance, and is easy to operate and maintain. I think that anyone that would buy a DM5 over this is either 1) Waaaaay too concerned about labels, 2) Has a great sponsorship or 3) Parents with a lot of money
The change offs between the two are minimal and in my opinion, and not worth the extra $400.00. (You younger guys will understand when you're payin for your kids to play also)

I was a little disappointed that you could not drop in a chip like a DM model, put then I saw that Matrix Owner.com now has a $50.00 NXL/NPPL legal board mod, so hoorah!
I also realized that it goes plenty fast without a cheater board anyway.
Conclusion: This gun is fantastic. Great performance at a great price. I feel that I have a pro level marker that can hang with anything else out there. I would highly recommend this product.
The gun is well made, and stands behind a great company. I am giving it a 9, just because of the feedneck and ASA issue.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

)proto_matrix( Tuesday, December 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Toxic Matrix, Bushmaster, '03 matrix
Marker Setup: Stock Nerve
Recommended
Upgrades:
Dye Boomstick, Empire reloader. Don't really need much, already super sweet
Strengths: Very fast, nice trigger, super accurate, comfortable, sweet milling, light, cheap
Weaknesses: Not very efficient
Review: This gun is awesome. It worked very well out of the box. I had to adjust the trigger very little. I played in a couple of local tournaments and everyone was intimidated. They all wanted to be on my team. It performed very well on the field. I dominated all.
Conclusion: This gun is awesome. I would recomend it over anything. It is, in my opinion the best gun i've used. It's cheaper than a dm4 and just as good if not better.Get this gun!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pspoolman Monday, December 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Imagine- No Comparison
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix
Empire B
3000/47 air
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel (instantly)
Strengths: Quiet
Fast
Air Efficient
Weaknesses: Small bore Barrel
Review: I recently upgraded from a Spyder Imagine to the Matrix. They are like night and day. I was unsure between the dm4 and the matrix but after talking to my local store and semi pro players I decided on the matrix. In my area some players are selling the dm4s and buying Matrixs. Out of the box my matrix had a small air leak which disappointed me. After changing a couple of o-rings on the bolt I loaded some Proballs in the hopper and went out shooting barrel plugged about every 20 balls so I took the balls and gun to my local shop for some answers it turned out the barrel bore size is very small, so after a new dye barrel I went back out to try it again. The gun rips I have broke 1-2 balls out of about 3000. The eyes work great. As the manual says " get a very fast hopper". The gun is very quiet with no noticeable kick. I have been getting very good air efficiency. I love this gun. I have shot a DM4 and cant tell the difference. I don't think the DM4 is a better gun.
Conclusion: I would recommend this product to any one wishing to step up there game. This will be the last gun you buy for a very long time.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TBK Tuesday, December 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 38 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
NME, Ego, DM4, Many Angels and Timmys, Freestyle B2k's, Impulses, Rat, RJR, ect... Ebladed cockers...
Marker Setup: E2 Bladed J2 w/ Stiff! switch kit 45/4500 Crossfire, Empire Reloader B
Recommended
Upgrades:
2 piece barrel
Strengths: See review.
Weaknesses: See review.
Review: First of all this gun looks just like a DM4/DM5 which is a minus... They could have at least made it look more different, have its own look you know? Second of all is it that hard to make a stock gun with a 2 piece barrel? Ive seen 200 dollar spyder clones come with better barrels then this. This gun is very picky on paint, don't bother buying anything worse then draxxus blaze, and make sure its the right bore size or u'll be cleaning ur chamber all day. eye covers are ugly as sin. the whole feeling of it is pretty good, it could be lighter and the trigger could be better. stock regulator is crap, go get a CP reg or something reliable. the only good thing is this gun is cheaper then a DM4, but why spend this much money when you might as well go all the way?

Its a good gun, not like its bad or anything, but its not good enough to get it over guns around its price range that are better, better looking, better deals ect.. unless you really want it dont get it.
Conclusion: You shouldn't own one unless you work for proto.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
22 Comments - Add Comment

lobsterboy360 Saturday, January 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 48 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker, angels, other matrixes, e-cockers
Marker Setup: Black vision shocker
halo b
pmi lp 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, halo, nitro
Strengths: Fast
accurate
light
Weaknesses: Quality
solenoid wires
chops (eyes)
adjusting the trigger sucks
Review: Ok this gun is supposed to be a cheap version of the dm5, which it is. It performs well when it is working. It's fast, light, accurate, shoots pretty good ropes. On the down side, it has its own problems. Right out of the box, I noticed a lot of real small nicks in the anno. There were nicks on the reg, right under where the barrel screwed in, and few a few right on the sides of the body. Also, when I took the frame off to adjust the trigger, I made sure not to pull on the solenoid sires or pinch them or anything. I put it on and turn on the gun and the thing doesn't shoot anymore. The wires are too fragile and need to be soldered on better. After I fixed the wires, I took it to the field. In the middle of a game, a ball broke somewhere in the gun. I thought it was a barrel break at first, so I would just shoot through it. I walk the trigger a little and about 10 paintballs explode out the barrel. After the game I pull the bolt out and there is paint everywhere in the chamber. I do not know exactly what the problem was but I'm assuming it was the eyes since I turned down the lpr pressure as low as I could get and and still have the gun cycle properly. This gun just had too many problems for a $1000 gun.
Conclusion: It worked great when it worked. Otherwise, it just had way too many problems for a high end gun. Buy one if you want, but I got a shocker and that hasn't let me down yet so I'm happy.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 12:43 pm PST
I found this review  
28 Comments - Add Comment

C12OW Thursday, June 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
DM4
PMR
Marker Setup: PM5
CP razzor trigger
shocktech feedneck
Shocktech rail
CP on/ off ASA
CP logo left side
CP 12" one piece
Virtue Board
Egg II
PMI 68/ 4500 w/ rhino cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
feedneck and on/off are a must
barrel, for serious players
and any roller trigger you can find, their worth it over a board (in my opinion)
Strengths: Nice milling
Fast, still up their in today's speedball guns
Accurate
light-ish
Weaknesses: Sorta the profile
Needs some upgrades at first
Review: Allright, I'm writing this review to compare this gun in TODAY"S view. It's June 2007 comparing it to today's speedball so don't blame me for my opinions, just giving it an honest review.

Ohkay, first off the gun out of the box wouldn't really make it "speedball" ready, due to the fac that the feedneck isn't a clamp, so there goes chipping in some few bucks on a new feedneck. The ASA on/ off would also be needed as it doesn't come with that either.

Now that I've got those things out of the way, let's begin.

In today's standards this is a very good buy especially for the money if you're looking for these used on ebay. I luckily purchased mine for 290 with all the upgrade's above (except tank, hopper, and barrel). Thanks to the cheap price tag i was very pleased. Gased her up and shoots like a charm, the hyper2 reg shoots like a dream and wouldn't really see a need in upgrading as it is already light and efficient. the gun is pretty simple and easy, so i would consider this gun "Noob-proof"- first button turns in on/off, second one takes off the eyes, simple as that. Already set on semi, you don't need to hastle with the boards unless you really wanted to w/ help of the manual.

Moving on to the profile now.... tisk tisk tisk, the profile. The body is probably my least favorite part of the entire gun. The milling is absolutly fine and makes it one of the most beautiful guns out there today for a standard matrix, but the size I really wasn't pleased with. Sure, back then it seemed just fine, but when I compare this to an ego, or any older model of matrix's, it just seems "fat" i guess. It's not really a bigee but If I were to choose the biggest weakness on the gun (except the occasional leak) it would be that. Honestly I was already expecting this but you'll have that slight disadvantage when playing serious speedball where the smallest profile counts.

The bolt is extremely easy to disasemble, only needing the help of one allen wrench, and unscrewing the rest in your hands. So easy a caveman could do it right?

Lastly, the barrel isn't a huge problem. If it matches the balls you're shooting its fine, but if you're taking this to a tourney or team tryout, your going to wanna upgrade

P.S. - the customer service is fantastic, period.
Conclusion: This is a very well made gun and still competes with the other guns today with the right upgrades. With the money this is probably the best bang out there, unless you want a DM4(bleh). Get this if you want a high-end while still having enough money in your wallet, or if you're trying to avoid the PMR(like me) and still want a matrix. With the upgrades I have on it, I'd give it a 10 especially since I spent less that 300 for it. I'd pay an extra 100 for it if i had to. Stock i'd give it a 9 for all the good qualities of a matrix, with a good price tag
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

virtuedpm5 Monday, February 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder pilot
diablo wrath
alias timmy
pmr
Marker Setup: virtued pm5
empire b
45ci 4500 nitro tank
2006 proto pants
2005 proto jersey
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Grips
Maybe feed neck if you don't get a halo or empire b
Maybe trigger
Strengths: Light
Smooth
Sleek
Quite
No kick
Fast
Preety good on air
Weaknesses: Barrel
Grips
Review: i just got it and i was very happy about my purchase. It came with an empire b and i was fine with that. The package also came with a 45ci 4500psi carbon fiber tank.
i went to fill it up at al's army navy. i came home and hooked up my setup. i shot about 300 through it and was amazed by its speed, no kick and quite. It also is pretty good on air and i won't get to much from the tank i have but at epi it is all day air so i don't care.
overall it is a good gun get it.
Conclusion: Get it it is a good gun. Quite ,sleek, no kick and much much more
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fc3_drift Sunday, April 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing Ive used has compared to this
Marker Setup: Dragunfly LCD
72/3000 PE
Egg2 w/ z-board
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Trigger
Thats about it
Strengths: Fast
NO kick.....at all...
Quiet as hell
Light
Weaknesses: Not many..
Only the stock barrel
didnt like the feel of the stock trigger
Review: I went to play this Saturday and I got to the field and I saw that this kid by the name of Justin Pfaff had a PM5....from then on....we referred to him as "the kid with the proto".! I asked him if I could shoot it and surprisingly he was more than happy to let me take it and have fun....IT WAS AMAZING!!!...We were playing free play that day at the field and we were splitting up into 2 groups....well at the end of the day the 2 groups faced each other....and to make it fair...Justin and I traded guns....I used his PM5 and he used my Dfly.....I mowed faces with tis gun...it was absolutly amazing and it was the most fun Ive ever had playing paintball.....a sure investment in this gun....absolutly amazing!!!
Conclusion: If you have any doubts about this gun....throw them in the trash.....this gun is worth every penny and then some!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

rockyboarder Friday, April 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM4, Nerve, Shocker, DM6, PM6, quest..
Marker Setup: 05 Black to red fade Proto Trix
Red Halo B
45/4500 PMI tank

Virtued Diablo Wrath

98 Custom with too many ups
Recommended
Upgrades:
New bolt (evolve, lucky, orange), New board (virtue), New trigger (although I like mine), Hybrid Bolt Guide, New Feedneck (CCM), Thats it.
Strengths: FAST, quiet, consistant, can take a beating
Weaknesses: Likes the gas..NONE
Review: Well, to be honest, this is my dream gun. THis is the gun I have wanted ever since I attained my 98 custom. I got mine used with the only wear it had was on the outside with some scratches and nicks. I will try to be as honest and unbiased in this review as possible.

SIZE
The size of the marker is very good. It is not as lengthy as a DM4 but a little taller. Along with being roughly four ounces lighter.

Weight.
Its a pretty light marker. No real crazy things to point out. It is back heavy though. I like that.

SPEED
Out of the box, this thing just PEES ropes. You will just see one line extending from your barrel. This is a very easy gun to rip on even if stock. I am not that good of a lefty shooter but this trigger was so amazing that it seemed to allow me to shoot just as fast with my left with my right hand. Awkward sentence there. I can empty a hopper pretty quickly on semi-auto. ALthough I haven't time it.

IN GAME EXPERIENCE
I went over to chrono my gun and it was shooting 280's consistantly with one odd ball in the 270's. The gun was all chrono'd and ready to go. I get on the field and of course you get thequestions of how you like it, how much, what kind of autococker is that (every gun I have owned, I get that question). Off the break I laned like crazy and got one little kid out. The rest was all snap shooting. The lightness of the gun made me feel a little mroe daring and I tried some stuff I don't normally try. Overall, the in game experience was just plain excellent.
Conclusion: OK...my gun whore self has come to an end with this amazing machine. BUY IT
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 14th, 2006 at 8:44 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (21):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media