paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Matrix / Proto Matrix / Proto Matrix / Proto Matrix

Proto Matrix Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Matrix

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Matrix
[ View Photos (87) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 207
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $995

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Matching Proto Barrel - Internal Modular LPR - Hyper-2 in line regulator - Revised Anti-Chop eye system - An industry first, composite eyeplate - Continuous 3 dimensional body design - Compact ergonomicly designed milling - Lightweight compact body - Proto Matrix Sticky grip - LED program control - Ergonomic 45 grip frame - Removable one peice FUSE bolt system - Adjustable trigger sensitivity
Product Availability 
The Proto Matrix is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (21):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
hxcpaintball77 Friday, April 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye dm4
2005 ego w/ virtue board

both had a 92/4500 crossfire carbon fiber wrapped tank and a egg with z-board
Marker Setup: dye proto matrix 5
dye unltralite frame
92/4500 carbon fiber wrapped crossfire tank
egg with z-board
full freak kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
DYE ULTRALTE TRIGGER FRAME!
Strengths: can barely hear the gun,VERY FAST,no problems,never broke a ball
Weaknesses: First ball drop which you can fix easily
uses alot of air
Review: i got this marker at the begining of one of my practices so i had to mess with the stock settings, it is all player prefrences with that.

The PM5 is a smaller version of the dm5. It is as fast,as quite and is the same basic concept. The only difference is it is smaller and different milling. The PM5 as any other dye marker uses alot of air.

When i first got this marker i put the dye ultralite trigger frame on.then i took the bolt out and lubed it(i do this to all markers i get in but its not nessisary) this marker has a 3 piece bolt set up. After lubing the marker i aired it up. NO LEAKS. i chronoed it and it was shooting under 200fps. i set it to 280 and it was making the balls curv. i set it at 260-270 and it was perfect. i messed with the trigger sensitivity and stock settings and set them to my personal settings.

I went out and ripped almost 500 through it and none broke. When the rest of my team got there we started playing. the gun is so quite i was ripping at people and they couldent hear it. the entire day i didnt brake a ball.
Conclusion: i suggest this gun to anyone who wants to play tournament paintball. I also recommend the dye ultalite trigger frame. It comes with ramping capability out of the box, very small and it has a 25g switch insted of the stock trigger frames 80g switch
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

fata_00 Sunday, November 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dm5's.Dm4's.Gen- Matrix's.Angel Speed 05,Angel Fly Rasta.2k2 Intimidator
Marker Setup: Pm5, Dye Ultralite,Hybrid Bolt Sysytem, Shocktech ASA, Stock Board, CCM Feed,Halo B
Recommended
Upgrades:
Dye Ultralite, to be honest i gave the stock barrel to a friend of mine before even shooting out of it, but i know the ultralite hasn't chopped whatsoever, and it shoots darts, (if using the right paint).If you like to save air i recommend a Hybrid bolt..they get you about 2 pods worth of more shots.
Strengths: Cheap
Fast
Very Customizable
Efficient for me
Something different
Weaknesses: Not reliable for me
Too many o-rings
picky on air pressire
Kinda Heavy
Review: Well, I bought my Proto Matrix from my nearby paintball field Predator's Creek Paintball, brand new mind me (the marker). When i opened the box i was amazed at how good it looked. So i air it up, put my Halo on, and fill it with paint. I shot a few times to see just how accurate it was with the paint i was using. (very accurate) then, my favorite and most everyone elses. i checked to see how fast this baby was, It was surprisingly fast for it being 750 dollars. I couldnt give you a bps, i own no chronograph. But it was very decent. I remember showing it off to all my friends and fellow players. It was great. But anyways, My proto, in its glory was struck down at first, with a Broken o-ring..and it all went downhill. I fixed the o-ring problem..and turned DOWN my air-pressure to make sure it didnt happen again and used the Dye Lube that came with it. So a few weeks later, i go to play and i hear another leak..Its the Low Pressure Reg. I fixed that after sending it to The Matrix Center..then..the solenoid blows out..Ive given up, its become a money pit. But i know it must be my fault even though i took many precautions to Keep it clean and working well.
Conclusion: Very excellent gun, i recommend it for players moving towards higher-end guns. Great expirience, i just apparently didnt do something right. (id give it an 8 and a half...but you know that whole ordeal.)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

G0dFather Sunday, May 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Intimidator
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix Black
DYE UltraLite
Warped Sportz Function Trigger
CCM Clamping Feedneck
PSP-CFOA Board
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger
Barrel
Feedneck
Strengths: Very Light
Speed
Price
Reliable
Weaknesses: None as long as you keep it in good condition
Review: Well I got this recently and when i first shot it..wow. I used to like my intimidator but once i got my proto my timmy is collecting dust.
The proto matrix looks very good and it preforms perfectly, it is good to lube your gun up to make sure it shoots perfectly every time. When i first shot this and saw the speed i was very impressed. Even though i don't have my halo b yet. It still was shooting very fast. The proto is also very light weight. when i first picked this up it was like picking up feathers. Now the price. i bought this for $800. it's worth it, but it usually goes for $850-$900 at stores, that is still very cheap and worth it.
Now it would be smart to upgrade your gun. i bought mine already fixed up with everything, but would be good to buy a new barrel. Also a new feedneck is helpful.
Maintenance now, well haven't used this much but just lube it up good. clean it after a game and you should be good.
Conclusion: The proto matrix: cheap, fast, light weight, reliable. A clean overall 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

vppaintball Friday, April 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing that can compare to this
Marker Setup: Black Proto
Check it unimount
Recommended
Upgrades:
I guess maybe a barrel
deffinetly have a haloB or empire realoder B
Strengths: Speed
Weight
Size
Reliability
Weaknesses: Effieicency is ok but free air fills so no worries
No on off
Review: I used my new proto yesterday for the first time and i was blown away. The gun ius beautifull the looks of it are amazing awsome anno and milling the gun really flows. I love the size of the gun nice and compact allows for you to get in the small bunkers nice and tight. The guy at my local shop did an awsome trigger job on it so it is really easy to rip on it. Its i very simple to work hold the top button to turn on ( eyes are already on as soon as the gun is on) hold down bottom button until it blinks to shut opff eyes if u want to dry fire. The manual that came with it is very detailed and very easy to follow. The gun comes with allen keys lube manual and a small parts kit.
Conclusion: I love this gun and i would deffiently recomend it to anyone who wants an awsome gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Catfish2850 Saturday, March 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Older Trixes
Timmy's
And others
Marker Setup: Black to blue Proto Matrix
68/4500 PE
Halo B
Empire Barrel Kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
1st get a clamping feedneck I got a Function clamp.
2nd get better barrel, stock is ok
Strengths: Quiet
Light
Fast
Accurate
Weaknesses: Needs a clamping feedneck.
Review: 1st I took my new Proto out of the box and looked it over.Anno on my marker was very good.No flaws on anno no scratches of any kind any where on marker.I then took a look in the book for operating instructions.2nd manual on the Proto was well written and had real good diagrams of the internals of the Proto.It also gives you valuable info for maintaining your Proto for optimal performance.So after reading manual I learned that the settings were very user friendly.3rd i added my air source to the Proto and turned it on.The marker pressurized and I had no leaks at all.4th I took Proto to chrono to test it out.According to the manual it should be shooting around 285fps out of the box.I chronoed gun and got 288,285.290.I was impressed with the settings out of the box so I left the velocity alone.5th I shot marker and noticed that it was very quiet with my barrel I was using(did not use stock barrel because paint was not matched to it).Also I noticed that I had little to no kick with this gun,which was a big plus for me.6th went to airball field to play a game.Proto was fast and accurate.Marker was real comfortable to hold, no fatigue at all while holding marker.After running 500 balls through marker I went to chrono again and was getting same results as when first testing.So back to field I go.After shooting 2500 balls on the first day I called it a day.I have had zero problems as of date.Marker never chopped and never had any shoot down problems.Air efficiency seemed to be good with my 45/4500 tank.
Conclusion: Personally for the price at my local shop I could have not gotten better deal.This marker really surprised me with its performance.I would suggest shopping around for one because I got mine around 125.00 less than most internet sites list them for.I give it a 9 for performance and looks.But with the well written manual which many markers don't come with now and days its getting 10 overall.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 19th, 2005 at 11:26 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

conor hawks Sunday, February 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
pm7, pm rail, dm6, dm7
I love them all!
Marker Setup: ion with t-board freak barrel and a CP sling trigger, pm6 with ultralightframe and a hole lot of other ups! also the proto rail gun!
Recommended
Upgrades:
ultra light frame
Strengths: The proto matrix 6 is a light, fast, and sleek! strait up great!
Weaknesses: I have found none!!! amazing gun!
Review: i love this gun it has been a absolutly great gun!! its fast so if you are gunna get it get a fast hopper! this gun is great right out of the box but if you want to make it any better get the ultra light frame! you cant ask for a better gun than this one!

CONGRATS PROTO/DYE !!
Conclusion: Get this gun its amazing! you cant ask for a better gun! its great for all players that wanna have a great up on the compitition!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pb502 Friday, June 26th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
dm5,dm4
Marker Setup: silver and red pm5,stock barrel, lucky bolt and board, cp on/off, and ccm fedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, trigger, replace ribbons eyes
Strengths: Fast,accurate,quiet,light
Weaknesses: Stock barrel,stock feedneck,no asa,
Review: I bought my pm5 from some guy down the street, he was once sponsered by proto in early 2006 so they gave him a bunch of stuff. he gave it to me for 200, it had the lucky bolt, lucky board with dmc chip, on/off asa, and clamping feedneck. i shot this thing and it was quiet as a luxe, if your in the woods with this thing or on a big 7v7 speedball field you cant hear anything at all. its easy to clean, i had cleanes the lpr and hpr and bolt when i first got it and i have my lpr 5 turns out. this thing is consistent as hell. i chronoed it and it was 287,287,285,286,285. i was shocked. i dont like the stock 1 piece 12 inch but they are decent for 30 bucks, i am planning on buying a all american, freak or 2 piece proto barrel. also a trigger becuase i cant walk it at all, and i also dont like the rubber detents, i wish they were spring, but watever
Conclusion: Good gun once was 1000 dollars when they first came out and u should be able to get one for 250 to 300, get one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

A-5 user Saturday, March 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Hybrid shocker, dm3, dm4, NME, 05 Angel Speed
Marker Setup: -05 Proto Matrix
-Dye "14 Ultralite
-Macdev Legionair 45/68ci
-Trinity clamping feed
-Halo B
-Unimount
Recommended
Upgrades:
dye ultralite, a fast hopper, an ASA (needed because it doesn't come with one) and slick honey lube.
Strengths: -Fast
-Easy to maintain
-No kick
-Smaller compared to old DMs
Weaknesses: -Efficiency
-Stock barrel is decent
-Stock feedneck
-Doesn't come with ASA
Review: When I bought this thing and put my ASA and macro on it could rip right out of the box. It shot darts. This gun doesn't only look nice but it sure as hell shoots nice too. This gun is clearly a fine peice of machinery which can be noticed just by holding it. With my tank and Ultralite and halo full of paint on it the gun seemed very very well weighted which I love. The gun is well manufactured and has the quality you would expect from a company like Proto. Upon shooting the gun I noticed right off the bat that the kick was almost non-existant. The gun is very very quiet and has super tight shot groupings. I also noticed how fast this thing thing could just spit out paint (that is also thanks to my trusty dusty halo B). After some shooting until my air ran out I noticed the trigger wasn't set all that well so I took the grip off and found it somewhat challenging to adjust the trigger with the eye and solenoid wires still plugged in, but I managed. Now I am a person who likes to tune and tinker so I ordered some slick honey and proceeded to lube the entire gun (hpr, lpr, bolt). I noticed that disassembling and cleaning the bolt/regs in the gun are fairly simple to do and require little skill. After I lubed it with slick honey I realized I could lower my lpr a good amount making my kick completely non-existant which is what I love about this thing. The efficiency may be a problem for some who don't buy all day air or do not have access to a fill right away, but I have all day air available at my field so that isn't much of a problem. I picked this little beast up for $650 which I think is quite the steal for a marker like this. I give it a 10/10 because it gives everything you could ask for.
Conclusion: I would say if you can get your hands on one of these then buy one. I personally don't like the feel of the UL frames on them, but if you can get one used and slap a UL frame on there then they cost less than a pm6 and I think they weigh about the same or less than one.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 25th, 2006 at 6:23 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tproto61 Friday, June 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tipmann a5 Ion pro most spyders
Marker Setup: Proto matrix pmr 07
autococker barrel
halo b hopper w/ rip drive
new trigger
drop foward on/off
Recommended
Upgrades:
new trigger
new barrel
Strengths: Acurrate
Easy to use
Very light
Weaknesses: Gas hog
Review: Ive been playing speedball for a while now and i have to tell you when i got this gun it totally just owned everybody i went to a local paintball field called friendly fire for a competition and i just was ownin face. This gun is very very reliable but it uses alot of gas and paint. I do recommend puttin a new hopper on it as sonn as you get it
Conclusion: Get this gun if you want a good mid end to high end marker if your playin speedball most of the time
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

JackDano Monday, April 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye DM4, Dye DM5, Dye Box matrix
Marker Setup: 05 proto matrix
red halo B rip drive
68.4500 psi crossfire tank
dye ultralight 16'' barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: None
Weaknesses: Chops
Eyes
Review: I have had my matrix for quite sometime and i have been trying to fix this problem with the eyes and it worked for a litltle bit but ended up going back to choping i called dye and it still didnt work sent it in and it still doesnt work.
Conclusion: My recommendation dont buy this gun unless you want to chance it. it might work and it might not work right out of the box.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (21):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media