paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BT Paintball Design BT-16 Tactical / BT Paintball Design BT-16 Tactical / BT Paintball Design BT-16 Tactical / BT Paintball Design BT-16 Tactical

BT Paintball Design BT-16 Tactical Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BT Paintball Design

Buy BT Paintball Design BT-16 Tactical

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BT Paintball Design BT-16 Tactical
[ View Photos (9) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 26
Average Rating: 8.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $299

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
• 6061 T-6 BILLET ALUMINUM RECEIVER
• VERTICAL FEED SYSTEM
• M-16 STYLE CHARGING HANDLE
• 1 YEAR FULL PARTS & LABOR WARRANTY
• HARD ANODIZED RECEIVER
• PRECISION BARREL SYSTEM
• ADJUSTABLE FRONT GRIP
• DUAL SIGHT/MOUNTING RAILS
• EXTERNAL VELOCITY ADJUSTER
• EASY FIELD STRIPPING
• INCLUDES BT-16 BARREL KIT
• CAR STOCK INSTALLED
• ADJUSTABLE SIGHT RAIL INCLUDED
Product Availability 
The BT Paintball Design BT-16 Tactical is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
williewonka Sunday, December 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month36 of 45 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder aggressor xt
Marker Setup: bt-16 tactical(stock)
Recommended
Upgrades:
horizontal bottle adapter
Strengths: Distance, Speed, Accuracy
Weaknesses: Uses way to much Co2
Review: This gun was awesome. I have been using it for about a month and I cant get enough of it. The speed and accuracy is awesome. This guns price is really good considering that it is used by the military for practice combat. The only downfall is that it uses way to much Co2. I played for about 2 hours and I only had a quarter tank left.
Conclusion: I recommend this product for its price and its durability
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
17 Comments - Add Comment

Meathouse Sunday, February 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month28 of 32 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 Custom w/flatline barrel
Marker Setup: BT- 16 Tactical (stock.) Ricochet AK hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
horizontal bottle adapter. Or a remote system
Strengths: Accurate, great velocity, easy breakdown, comfortable shooter, high intimidation factor.
Weaknesses: vertical ball feed makes the rear sight useless. Aftermarket offset sight needs to be used.
Review: Carefully break down and go over each part before using.The first time I used this marker out of the box I fired maybe 25 rounds and most of my shots were exploding back into my hopper! Upon further review I found that the hammer was installed backwards which was not creating any recoil. This caused thebolt to remain foreward thus causing the air pressure to send my paints into the hopper, not out the barrel. I corrected this and I have had 0 problems.
I have used it several times and it does'nt use much more CO2 than my Tippman 98.
I would recommend a remote system due to the weight of a larger bottle plus the marker. Although, the placement of the cylinder is centered well on the marker for small bottles. I adjusted the velocity to about 285fps and this seemed to be optimum for accuracy, distance and minimum ball breakage. I would recommend a side offset scope for you snipers out there as this marker works well for that purpose.

Conclusion: Overall I'am very pleased with this product. If you don't want to spend a small fortune on an Ariakon or Rap4 go with this one. It is user friendly and versatile. Overall a good value Mil-Sim.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

TruthbeTold Sunday, June 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months16 of 27 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
VM Series, Model 98, 98 Custom, Custom Pro, A-5, Numerous 'Cocker Series Markers, Classic BL Timmy, ION, Impy, Shocker, SIM-5, etc
Marker Setup: Too many markers to list - currently I am a well known airsmith in Central USA - since my reviews will be unbias, I rather not say who I am.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None are recommended since at this time upgrades are not available otherthan a horz. bottle adpater which is a good way to break your jaw on a 5M rush - makes teh marker top heavy- an e-grip was supposed to be available to the public in the Spring of 2005 - but it failed to show.
Strengths: The name Tippmann is it's key strength.
Weaknesses: Shotty design in specific areas, upgradability limited.
Review: At first glance when you look at the BT Series from the Ben Tippmann Design group one would think "Great Deal" - which in itself it really is.
I know that may sound odd considering the review I am about to give this marker series.
The design theory behind the BT is basically that of any Ben Tippmann product - Connecting rod, rear bolt, front bolt, valve make-up, 98 threads on the barrel, etc.
The problem that I have seen with this marker is the failure to properly thread the marker body screws - using inferior heli-coils that break apart under the to rear rail where the body takes a licking under an awful amount of pressure rather than actually threading the receiver hole was a mistake, mismatching ball detents from one marker to the next (actually ball-bearings spring loaded - what happened to the good old peach colored ball stopper?).
The valve is a carbon copy of the A5 valve system which the guts are retained by a bur-bur o-ring rather than a retaining ring or even a "c"-clip - which makes it somewhat difficult for your layman to properly maintain.
I believe Ben will work out these kinks - making the ball detent old school rather than a different design not used in quite a long time - I don't know if he signed a no compete clause with K-2 - but his design could have, and should have been more user friendly as his past markers have been for about 20 yrs. These markers are more show than substance - the value is the purchase comparison of the aesthetic parts rather that the internal operating mechanics, which in the end is the most important reason for a purchase like this. Ben had a chance, and stills does if corrected, to basically knock Armotech, Ariakon, and the likes of out of the market once he cleans the bugs ot of what may be the next best thing in Rec-Paintball since the 98 Series from Tippmann Pneumatics.
Conclusion: Once these problems are corrected - and more options are available to the public i.e. RT, E-Grip, etc. this has a chance of cornering a market that Ben knows all too well - but until these kinks are worked out - I believe the Jury will remain behind closed doors, as too this marker should be - this is a piece of equipment that in my opinion was rushed into a market to be sold with a name of quality rather than the quality of the product.
As mistakenly stated by another reviewer - this company IS owned by the Tippmann's and you can call them at 260-424-9100 to ask.

NOTE: Addendum to my post - subsequently BT Designs has stopped production of the BT-16 Series because of the problems that I had mentioned - they now sport a BT-4 which believe it or not is almost a carbon copy of the Tippmann 98 Custom - with the ability to go ahead and drop an A5 RT kit in immediately and double trigger. That review to follow.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Friday, October 7th, 2005 at 5:17 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Impreza Sunday, May 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Modded Spyder TL
Modded 98 Angel LED
Marker Setup: VL Motorized Hopper
Remote system on HPA Bottle
Rifle Sling
Recommended
Upgrades:
Remote System
Rifle or Tactical Sling
Strengths: Accuracy
Dependability
Intimidation factor
Realistic Car15/M4 Proportions
Weaknesses: Weight
Size
Review: This is the first new marker I have bought. Being a woods-ball player and former military, more I play with BT Tactical, the more I like it.
Marker is quite accurate, little heavy, feels robust, is well balanced w/ remote and seems to be a Tippmann clone. (which are known for durability)
This not a gun for people who feel uneasy about extra weigh and size. Myself, I feel right at home, with realistic gun design vs. star wars sci-fi looking guns.
Crawling, sprinting, shooting in awkward positions is easy with the use of hand-guards and the adjustable front hand grip.

Marker does not require but could use a sling. With any marker it gets tiring having to hold the marker all the time while off the field, or walking on or off it. I got a cheap sling before the last day I played. World of difference.
The carrying handle needs to come off in order to clear some of the motorized hoppers.
Small price to pay for uninterrupted ammo supply.

These days you can get these for about $270. I recommend the remote system for it, but a 20oz smaller co2 tank will attach to the gun stock.
People with Tippmann A5 and 98's can upgrade their markers to look somewhat like this model but they will likely spend as much as this marker is worth.


Conclusion: BT 16 Tactical, looks good, turns heads and gets asked about allot.
It is accurate, durable, comparable to Tippmann markers.
I would suggest buying this one if you like playing woods-ball. I'm having a great experience with it, and haven't had any issues with it so far.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Backwood Sniper Friday, April 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months9 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Sniper Rifle
Marker Setup: BT-16 Tactical
Strengths: -Durable
-Very accurate
Weaknesses: Very heavy
Sight rail is useless because of the vertical feed
Review: *EDIT*
I added this to my review because I would like to clear some things up with a new one. First off, this gun was taken off the market a while ago due to the fact that it has many design flaws, so this review probably doesn't matter to anyone except for those who have the gun and may be experiencing problems with it. My bt-16 tactical has not worked very good since the day i bought it.. I figured out the problem so I am posting this for anyone who may be having the same problem as I was. My gun was shooting poorly because my paintballs were being shot back into my hopper. This was causing paintballs to bust, then gum things up, and cause what few paintball did come out, to fly with little/no accuracy. I fixed this by drilling a few holes in the lower part of my vertical feed, and also by drilling a few holes in the lid of my hopper. I will put pictures on within the next few days to help anyone who needs it. After doing this, my gun seems to be working fine. It shoots faster and better than it did before.(yeah, its still not that fast, so speedballers stay off my case) Anyhow, now that i have it fixed i am fairly happy with it and hope that it will continue to work for a long time. BT has since come out with a BT4 line of markers and from what i hear they seem to be okay. However, in my past experiences with BT, i doubt i will ever buy another product from them again.

*OLD*
This gun is pretty decent. It looks cool and has great accuracy. Although, i dont really like it because it is too heavy. It is made of thick alloyed aluminum. It is very heavy compared to a Tippmann 98 Custom. Also, don't be fooled by the name ben "TIPPMANN" because this isn't an actual "Tippmann". This is a different company with the same name. As for CO2, this gun seems ok. I shot probaly over 500 rounds off of a 12oz and it still wasn't empty. Although, with this gun, you have to screw the CO2 Cylinder as far up as it can go or else it will leak CO2 and you wil waste the tank. This gun may seem cool and you may like the fact that it is accurate, but if you are considering buying this gun, I wouldn't if i was you. If you are looking for a good gun that is similar to this, then go with the Tippmann 98 Custom Sniper Rifle. That is a good gun and is very accurate. If you are looking for a gun that looks like this, then my advice would be to buy a Tippmann 98 Custom and buy the accessories on--- www.bentippmann.com ---to make it look like this gun. You can find a barrel attachment, stock, and sight rail to make it look almost exactly like this gun, but it will then be much lighter and CO2 efficent. Also, if you go with this setup, the sight rail will then work because tippmann 98s don't have a vertical feed to get in the way.
Conclusion: I wouldn't suggest buying this gun. I would suggest buying a Tippmann 98 Custom and just buying the accessories to make it look like a bt-16 tactical. It may cost a little more, but it will be a lot lighter, more CO2 efficent, just as accurate, and just as cool looking. Or, just buy the tippmann 98 custom w/ flatline barrel and stock.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 24th, 2007 at 12:05 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

bayruun Friday, October 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98, 98 Custom, Spyder Xtra (I guess it's similar)
Marker Setup: Stock MR2
9oz Co2, basic 200 round hopper
Ronin Gear Tactical Vest
PMI USP stock with Ronin holster - amazing pistol!
Recommended
Upgrades:
Remote, sling
Strengths: Realistic, decent stock, overall good ergonomics.
T-bolt is pretty cool
Pretty good effective range
Weaknesses: Feed neck blocks ironsights
Very complex internals
Low rate of fire
Review: The first thing that I noticed when I fired it was that it sounds very different. Most of the noise seems to be generated by the bolt, a kind of "bink, bink." It doesn't sound heathy, but there's nothing wrong with it.

The second thing is that the sights are useless. You have to sight down the side of the barrel like most other guns. It isn't as much of a handicap as it seems, but being able to use the ironsights would be nice.

When I was test-firing the gun, i found that it was very accurate at longer ranges. That's why I bought it; I needed a long-range marker. There's some curve to the balls which will cause problems, but that's common among most markers.

I don't like the positioning of the tank, which is straight down. A remote will fix that, but until that's rectified, being prone isn't much of an option.

[EDIT Oct. 24th 2005]
Just played with the thing in the cold and the rain. Where my Spyder Xtra worked as well as ever, the BT16 multi-fed like a demon. I had to use the thing like a shotgun due to the sheer amount of paint I'd put through the barrel in one shot.

Basically, the thing has no tolerance to poor weather conditions. While performing admirably on clear days, I found myself finishing missions with a pistol more than once due to the fact that "shotgunning" uses massive amounts of paint.

[EDIT April 17th 2006]
The thing won't work this year. I've been maintaining the thing properly, but it chops like crazy, and won't shoot straight at all. Repairs have already cost me a fortune on this, so I'm just going to sell off the parts. In my opinion, it isn't worth your $300. Maybe worth your $100, but certainly not three hundred.
Conclusion: I was initially impressed by the range and feel of the marker, but I've since had innumerable problems with the gun.
The BT16 has troubles in poor weather, and seems to have reduced effectiveness as it ages (I've never had that happen to any other marker).

I don't suggest it at all.
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 17th, 2006 at 5:53 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

fearmenow Monday, December 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tipmann A-5 w/apex barrel
crossfire nitrogen 69ci tank
viewloader evo2 loader
Marker Setup: BT 16 Tactical marker
Worrgass 48ci tank
remote hose
stock everything else
Recommended
Upgrades:
Q-loader>the vert feed is not a problem, but when you want to go long range, and you need some type of scope, its a problem. the q-loader will solve this for me.
Strengths: Accurate
Awesome looking
Intimidating features
Great distance
Weaknesses: Heavy
A little loud if you are into the sniper positions
Review: The BT 16 Tactical is an awesome gun. I think that all woodsballers should at least look at one.

When the marker arrived, some of the bolts and the screws were loose. I purchased some thread lock and put on them and they haven't came loose yet.

One of the key features that i love is the accuracy. I was taking out people that had pump cockers, angels, timmys, and A-5 assaults. This gun rips.

This gun is also a very fast marker for its size and its stock capabilties. I was able to get around 13 bps, thats fast enough if you only need to shoot one ball for every person on the field. I would have had the same results even if I would have had a single shot.

Another thing that i like about this gun is its high intimidation factor. Many people at the field asked if they could take it for a test run. I thought I was going to have to deck a guy out because he wouldn't give it back.

These guns are really easy to upgrade and modify. Take mine for instance, I didn't really like the look of the barrel shroud, so I took them off and now my once M-16 is now a low pro sniper that still shoots the same.

This is a great gun and it doesn't need any upgrades, although I am getting an interceptor barrel from "OPSGEAR" that should be in any time now. I will update this entry when i have a chance to test it out.
Conclusion: This is a must for the beginning to intermediate sniper. This gun has unmatched accuracy, distance, and looks. I do recommend some type of remote hose and remote hopper to accompany this dazzling piece of machinary. Other than the vert feed, there are no flaws with the gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Wraith06 Monday, January 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98
Various Spyders
Recon E5
Marker Setup: BT-16 w/ 20" Smart Parts Tactical Barrel
Remote line to Pure Energy 72/4500 carbon fiber
Halo B

Backup: 32 Degrees PT Jr. paint pistol
Recommended
Upgrades:
The remote line is a definite must.
A good sling
Barrels, bolts, hoppers, etc. only improve on an already impressive marker.
Strengths: - Affordability
- Durability
- Easy Maintenance
- Consistency
- Mil Sim Appearance
Weaknesses: - Vertical Feed (blocks sighting along barrel)
- Handle slightly loose on body
Review: Although not built for the fast and furious play of pro speedball, the BT-16 makes an excellent milsim/woodsball marker. It has the heft and shape of an actual M-16 without being as heavy as the real weapon. The stock barrel and bolt both perform admirably straight out of the box, although for an increase in accuracy at range, I would recommend the 20" Tactical from Smart Parts. A sling and remote line are almost a must, since the marker will wear on you after awhile. Very easy to break down to clean/repair, only requires a few allen wrenches and a flat head. The handle on mine is slightly loose when seated on the marker. Could be corrected with a small strip of tape/paper between the two. Longer trigger pull, won't let off lines of paint, but has a respectable bps for woodsball. Very forgiving when it comes to paint quality. Almost all metal, with only the collapsible stock and barrel guard completely made of plastic. Cheaper then a Flatline equipped tippman 98 and almost as good when paired with the tactical barrel. The sealed bolt system and T-grip cocking mechanism are excellent. The vertical feed is the only thing I truly dislike about my BT-16.
Conclusion: For a milsim/woodsballer, this an excellent marker. The vertical feed is a disappointment, but in my opinion, the closed bolt out weighs the benefits the side loading BT-4 presents with its open bolt. I would recommend this marker to a woodsballer for its ease of use/maintenance, realism, and its consistant above average performance.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Iceman295 Tuesday, August 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman A-5, very similiar.
Tippman 98 Custom, (see next)
BT-4, not even the same category, the BT-16 blows the BT-4's out of the water
Marker Setup: Remote line, gravity feed hopper, 3 point tactical harness
Recommended
Upgrades:
Without a doubt you need the 3 point harness, after you hold ot for awhile you'll know why.
Strengths: Stock adjustable feed neck, durability, closed bolt system.
Weaknesses: Vertical feed hopper.
Review: After wanting this gun forever, I finally got it, so here it goes.
I got it second hand, so it had the harness and the remote line, which is great cause I could see that without a remote line for the air it would just be awkward, and I don't think it would work at all well. (I noticed that the trigger guard is scraped from someone screwing an air tank it and the fill nipple caught it)
For an 8 inch barrel (stock) the accuracy is awesome, it has a 3-4 inch spread and 40+ feet, and thats with firing from a standing position and loading paint by hand, as my brother had my hopper. It will take some getting used to for aiming, the barrel seems to be way off, but take a few shots and you'll figure out where to aim etc. As for hopper related a gravity feed is all you'll need and I love how it has an adjustable feed neck stock. Distance is nothing spectacular but it seems to pretty good, and the balls seem accurate at a long distance. As far as weight go, it is a little heavy, but that just means you can feel it, unlike some guns where you could forget you're carrying them sometimes. Its a pretty solid set up too, the closed bolt means sand and such are less of a problem then say the 98 Custom. Now I wouldn't shove it in the dirt, but I wouldn't do that to any gun. The length also takes some getting used too (going around corners etc) but once you are comfortable with it you'll love this gun.
Conclusion: All in all I'd say its a pretty sweet gun, once you get a remote line and a harness its a damn good bushball gun
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 8th, 2006 at 8:35 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

kR15 Friday, December 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None, nothing compares that I have ever shot
Marker Setup: Stock with remote coil, 20 ounce Co2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Remote Coil
Strengths: -Powerful
-Good Range
-Accurate
-Reliable
-Ergonomic
-Sturdy
-Good Rate of fire
-Intimadation
-Milsim
Weaknesses: -Uses alot of Co2
-Vert Sight
Review: I received this gun for Christmas and have used it twice. out of about 400 paintballs I did not have one break. I fired at a 2 foot wide target and all of the paintballs hit, after I readjusted my aim, and they all hit within a half foot radius.It had good range as they were hitting in the woods about 50-60yards behind my house with a lot of power. The Vert Sight makes the sight rail useless. It is heavy without a remote coil.it fires consistently .I dropped it twice now and has not even been scratched. It is extremely easy to field strip and reassemble, but on mine the rear strip pin is hard to remove. this could just be my gun, or it could be like it with all of them. because of this I would recommend carrying a pen or similarly shaped object to help get the rear pin out. I would also recommend carrying a small drill (such as the ones advertised in Canadian Tire) for removing the tank adapter. It intimidates anyone who sees it, or at least it has for me playing against my friends. Unlike most people, I did not find this gun very heavy.
Conclusion: I would give this gun a 9.5 if I could. It is very good. accurate, reliable and sturdy. it has good range and accuracy. This is a good gun for anyone willing to pay over $300 for a marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, December 30th, 2005 at 11:27 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media