paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Switch EL Mask / Proto Switch EL Mask / Proto Switch EL Mask

Proto Switch EL Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Switch EL Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Switch EL Mask
[ View Photos (18) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 162
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $30

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Proto Switch Entry Level (EL) Mask

-Deluxe woven goggle strap for comfort and durability.

-Tiger tooth strap buckles will allow you to adjust your strap for a custon fit. Just set it and forget it.

-The multi-ported ear piece provides unrestricted audible transfer to take place without sacrficing any ear protection.

-Our incredibly simple 1/4-turn buckle (patent pending) makes the hassle of changing lenses a thing of the past. Simply turn the locking tabs to the right to unlock your lens frame. Pop out your old lens, drop in a new one, place the frame over the lens into position, and turn your tabs back again to lock it in.

-Multi-directional venting drastically reduces re-ventilated fogging. The venting also assists in keeping you cool and breathing easy.

-The first tirodial lens in the world of paintball - all the clarity jet pilots have. All Switch lenses have perfect optical clarity, setting a new standard in visual performance.

-Self-venting, low profile and removeable, the Switch visor is able to pivot up and down for easy lens replacement.

-Solid, lightweight one-piece construction face mask protects you from paintball impacts.
Product Availability 
The Proto Switch EL Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17
        Next Page
coolrazer Tuesday, May 31st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Proflex
JT Flex-7
Dye Invision
V-Force Profiler

The Proto ranks up there with the best of the paintball masks.
Marker Setup: -Blue SP Ion with various upgrades
-2004 Blue BKO
Strengths: Lightweight, Small and compact, confortable, and gives a wide sight range.
Weaknesses: I can't really think of any right now.
Review: This mask is great. My team won four of them at a tournament and we've used them ever since. I cut and painted my mask like Legacy's and often receive complements on the looks of the mask. People can't believe that it looks that nice. It is very lightweight and offers a wide range of vision, to help looking down field. The lens is very easy to take out and clean. You can do it in less than 20 seconds. For 30 bucks, this is a great mask.
Conclusion: If you're on a tight budget, go out and my the Switch EL, you won't be disappointed.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

igota98custom Saturday, May 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Extreme Rage X-Ray -not so good
A couple JT masks- ok
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom, Eggy II, ups+
Strengths: Cheap
Looks really nice
Foam
Comfortable
Field of vision
No fogging
Easily taken apart
Weaknesses: It may be a little big (it was for me)
Review: When I got this mask it was only about $25.00! For that price, how could you NOT get it? Also got it because it looks really cool. I first put this mask on, and wow. This is one comfortable mask, let me tell you. First I was worried that I couldn't wear my glasses with my mask, but after shifting around a bit, It fits comfortably with my glasses, and snug. Now the actual lenses...Pretty good I might add, there's a wide field of vision. I played in the woods, a windy afternoon, and I was running, hiding, and breathing heavy, but still, it never fogged up. Also, if you want different lenses or something, this mask is for you. This mask comes apart, very easily. The visor, the lenses, the two parts of the mask, all of it is a breeze. The only problem for me is, that when I play with my smaller glasses, the mask is a little to big. It fits good on my head and all, but when I run, it just feels like it's going to fall down. I dove, and slid, and it hasn't fell off yet, so I doubt it will anytime soon.
Conclusion: Buy this mask. If your looking for a mask, that isn't $80.00 dollars, then get this for sure. Your mask is an essential part of paintball, and your safety.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheSpy11 Tuesday, May 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Proto Switch FS - better, but more expensive
JT Elite Headshield - not even close
Extreme Rage X-Ray - not even close
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
CenterFlag Reg.
Flatline
E-grip
R5
Strengths: Low price
Excellent vision
Quick lens change
Great looks
Weaknesses: None at this price
Review: It's amazing what $30 buys these days. It's about time that a low price mask has the same quality as masks priced twice as much. It has all the great features of it's big brother the Switch FS: The super easy lens change makes it a snap to quickly swap out or clean lenses. The vision qualities are outstanding; everything is easy to view and the wide field-of-view is a big help when scanning the playing field for opponents. It's easy to communicate with the Switch with speaking and hearing a cinch. The great looks make it stand out above the rest because the Switch is best looking mask out there. It comes with a single lens that does a good job at resisting fogging. Just swap it for a thermal lens and you mask almost as good as the Switch FS. The Switch EL is an excellent value and this mask easily beats all other masks I've tried in this price range.
Conclusion: Just buy it. I highly recommend it. This is a great mask for the price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

user42 Saturday, April 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
The terrible ones that come with a m98. My face hurt for hours after wearing those.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
LPA kit
System X Vengeance Reg
Nitro Duck Plasma 68/3000
J&J 14" Barrel
Proto Switch EL Mask
Strengths: Comfortable.
Very nice FOV.
Looks nice, IMO.
Easy disassemble.
No fog! Woot.
Ventilates nicely.
Weaknesses: Uncomfortable over very long periods of time or on hot days.
Review: I managed to get this thing for $35, and have never spent a dollar better. It was well worth the purchase. No fog, comfortable to wear, huge range of vision - beautiful.

The few problems are that it can become uncomfortable over long periods of time, and cleaning it is a tiny bit too complicated, even though diassembly is easy - I'd rather be able to clean the sucker w/out taking the mask apart.
Conclusion: Go buy it if you're looking for an inexspensive, yet very functional no-fog mask.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

141414 Thursday, April 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Java x-type
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-X
Strengths: Doesn't fog
looks cool
light
very comfortable
Weaknesses: None
Review: Great mask for under 40$. Played 4 hours and it didn't fog once. Multi ports keep me cool and make it easier to talk to team mates. The rounded lenses, in my opinion, look cool and make it easier to clean. The quick lens change doesn't take 10 seconds, it take about 20 seconds. I would recommend Proto Switch E.L. to anyone.
Conclusion: See above.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 14th, 2005 at 5:13 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ase Thursday, April 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT wal-mart goggle
JT proflex
Dye Invision (jus tested).
Marker Setup: Matte Red Team Strange Vision Impulse
Diamond Red Empire Reloader B
System X Hyperflow 68/4500
Red CP On/Off
Red Freak Barrel Kit
Black Dye Sticky 3
Chrome Custom Products Twist Lock Feed Neck
Xball Paint
WAS board
Shocktech Mini-Drop
SP LPR
NDZ RIP Valve
NDZ Slik Shot Ram
NDZ Titanium Bolt Pin
NDZ 15*ASA
NDZ Blade Trigger
NDZ Equalizer Stubby Bolt
Strengths: COMFY!!!
easy lens change
durable
looks
stays on
fairly light
Weaknesses: Only comes in black super hard plastic (no bounces).
Review: These goggle are very good goggles. they stay on your face very well and i have never had a problem with them coming down on my face or anything like that. they are the not the lightest pair of goggles i have worn, i would take the 05 proflex over these anyday. they are, however, the most comfy pair of gogles i have worn. sometimes when foam underneath your eyes get sweaty it starts getting itchy and irritating but im pretty sure any other goggle system would have that also.
Conclusion: it is BY FAR the best goggle on the market you can get FOR $30. get it if you only want to spend $30! if not, get the more expensive proto switch that is anti-fog (if you need anti-fog) ad comes in kooler colors, and is softer plastic. but my recomendation would be the 05 proflex.
i give it a 7 because it doesnt come in more colors, and the plastic is too hard, and it is a bit on the heavy side.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 2nd, 2005 at 12:09 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rcar77 Monday, March 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Marker Setup: 98 custom w/flatline hpa photo switch el
Strengths: Fog resistance
Fit
Fast lens change

Weaknesses: The 10 seconds len change its more like 25 seconds
Review: I have not been in to paint ball that long. I have scotts before these and it fog up bad. Living in Michigan it is cold so i wanted a mask that was not to much money and still be able to use in cold weather. The times that i have been out with these they have not fogged once. I had to quit playing when i had the scotts due to fogging. You hate to quit playing in the middle of a game
Conclusion: These are a great lower end mask. I would not think twice about buying another pair.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Anchor76 Tuesday, March 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
V-Force
Marker Setup: Gun Set-up
Spyder Xtra
C.A.M.D electric Frame
14 inch Dye Xcel barrel/ 12 inch View Loader
ACS delrin bolt
4 set shockteck Spring Kit
32* remote Line
Ricochet AK hopper
16 Co2 on/off
Strengths: $$$ cheap
Good field View 250*
Nice design
I got a Free Sticker
Fast lence change
Weaknesses: Visor keeps falling off
Chin Strap kind of chokes you
Review: This mask is kewl i like its pretty tight and goes along with all my other proto gear also this mask stays on your head and dosent fall and i dont need a beany to be tight. the only bad thing is that the visor keeps falling of and once it does u cant get it to back to tight its loose forever and ever, but o well who cares i still like it
Conclusion: With this mask i Feel safe better this one than my V-force Armor but i liked the foam on the armor even thought this mask may not have good foam it still rocks!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sabretooth Wednesday, March 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Cheap Rentals that were not comfortable at all
Marker Setup: Spyder Electra DX -- Shocktech Derlin Bolt, Ricochet Apache, Dye Ultralight, 20 oz CO2/ 45ci 4500 N2

Proto Switch EL -- turbine fan, thermal lens
Strengths: Comfortable
Affordable
Built well
Uses same accessories as FS
Vision
Weaknesses: Tough to change lens in cold weather
Fogs unexpectedly
Review: I got these goggles for about $30, and I think it is worth every penny. It is a very comfortable goggle system with the adjustable strap. What I liked most about this product is the ability to add components to a solid basic system. I am a bit of a perfectionist, with a limited budget, and these goggles allows me to change it any way I want over time. I have taken a couple shots in the mask and holds very well. In Wisconsin summers, it gets very humid often, and I have had this mask, at stock, fog on me once in a while. I know Wisconsin is a cold place, but the summers only feel hot, due to the humidity. When it does fog, it always fogs from the top down. So, I did upgrade the lens to a thermal lens, which did help a lot. Actually, I do not have to use the fan, since the upgrade to the thermal lens.

EDIT: I did not talk about the tirodial lens, which I should not have forgotten. I wrote the review while I was sick. It has better vision than some JT and PMI masks that my friends and I have used. Proto/Dye claims 250* vision, and I would say that is pretty close. The peripheral vision is very good and helps to avoid tunnel vision.
Conclusion: As of the moment, I do not think I will exchange this for anything. It has treated me well. If you do not have the money for an expensive mask or just need something that will get the job done, this mask is a good choice. I will recommend the thermal lens for those who live in humid areas, because the original single lens may fog.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 1st, 2005 at 4:39 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

lostazncause Sunday, February 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye invison
Marker Setup: 05 trilogy pro
cp razor drop
egg2
nitro duck 68/3000 carbon fiber
Strengths: Fast lens switch
sturdy
price
good coverage
Weaknesses: No bounces
foam gets a bit uncomfortable
Review: overall a great entry level mask. It has great coverage and a decent field of view. I got my mask at the same time my bro got his invision. I laughed at him for a month cuz he got a new lense for it and couldnt get his lense in. taking out the lense in practice takes about 15 seconds. the mask sturdy but since its made of harder materials, dont expect bounces on this. After playing with this for a while you might start to notice the foam getting uncomfortable, but no big.
Conclusion: Great entry level mask
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 6th, 2005 at 3:37 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media