paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Switch EL Mask / Proto Switch EL Mask / Proto Switch EL Mask

Proto Switch EL Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Switch EL Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Switch EL Mask
[ View Photos (18) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 162
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $30

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Proto Switch Entry Level (EL) Mask

-Deluxe woven goggle strap for comfort and durability.

-Tiger tooth strap buckles will allow you to adjust your strap for a custon fit. Just set it and forget it.

-The multi-ported ear piece provides unrestricted audible transfer to take place without sacrficing any ear protection.

-Our incredibly simple 1/4-turn buckle (patent pending) makes the hassle of changing lenses a thing of the past. Simply turn the locking tabs to the right to unlock your lens frame. Pop out your old lens, drop in a new one, place the frame over the lens into position, and turn your tabs back again to lock it in.

-Multi-directional venting drastically reduces re-ventilated fogging. The venting also assists in keeping you cool and breathing easy.

-The first tirodial lens in the world of paintball - all the clarity jet pilots have. All Switch lenses have perfect optical clarity, setting a new standard in visual performance.

-Self-venting, low profile and removeable, the Switch visor is able to pivot up and down for easy lens replacement.

-Solid, lightweight one-piece construction face mask protects you from paintball impacts.
Product Availability 
The Proto Switch EL Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
jtpro024 Monday, July 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
scott rentals- terrible
Marker Setup: diablo wrath- 48ci 3000psi hpa, halo tsa frontman, hoping for a halo b or somethin
Strengths: Clarity
Looks
Company sticker that comes with looks sweet on my halo
field of vision
Weaknesses: Hard not many bounces
Only goes down to chin,
Chin strap is annoying
Review: This is a great mask for under 30 bucks i got mine for 24, worth every penney. the ability to take the visor and lenses out so quickly makes cleanup, or installing a new lens easy. good mask. the chin strap is kinda annoying so idk what you want to do with it i just left it. this mask has a good field of vision u can see from side to side which is nice when reloadin.
Conclusion: Go and get one if u can find one under 30$ its a good mask
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 17th, 2007 at 10:13 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Janek566 Monday, May 31st, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Same mask but with regular (single) lens.
Marker Setup: N/A
Strengths: - Lens quality,
- Field of view,
- Weight,
- Head ventilation,
- Overall head protection,
- Visor,
- ...and Price!
Weaknesses: - Quality of plastic,
- Do not fit the bottom of the face,
- Anti-fog coating,
Review: ~~ STRENGTHS ~~
This mask is great if you're looking for a cheap but reliable mask. Good for big but also smaller heads. The lens have great quality (but they are bit hard to clean because the anti fog coating is very "fragile"). The field of view is astonishing for such a massive mask. It is plastic and so, light. The head ventilation is perfect (look at the number of the ventilation holes :D

Head protection is full, ie. front part of the face, jaw, forehead and even the chin. The visor is also a cool feature. The mask would be very bad without it - the lens can't stand the light and you won't see much on the field.

The price - big advantage; I bought it in UK for 28 pounds - very cheap!


~~ WEAKNESSES ~~
The quality of plastic is poor - after the first use and the first cleaning the plastic developed a crack along the side (small but still),

The mask's shape suggests that people faces are equally wide from the forehead to the chin - weird;

Although the lenses have an anti-fog coating is doing its job, it will quickly wear off during regular usage, and even faster when cleaning too,

OVERALL THIS MASK KICK ASS!

... but if you are something more that the begginer get something better ... really...
Conclusion: I give it 8 because of the quality to price ratio
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

head_-_shot Friday, July 11th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
cheap jt elite mask
Marker Setup: diablo mongoose lcd , 14" night stick , proto drop , empire reloader 2 .
Strengths: Foam
Useability
Cheap
Lense
Weaknesses: None
Review: this mask is probably the best you can purchase for the money , in most masks under £30 usually have inconsistent foam which makes them hard to get a good snugg fit , but this mask is cheap and a number of my freinds at paintball have this mask and all have a good amount of foam.
The switch mask is also very simple and easy to use you just strap it on and your ready to play no nonsense with the strap or Manoeuvrability in play , the lense is unlike any other mask in the price range proto have created a revolution with the lock lense system , all i had to do to change the lense was pop out the buttons on the side and remove the frame and then once the lense was changed do the reverse , i took around 2 minutes for a lense change.
now thats a good fast lense change.
Conclusion: This , for me is the best you can get in its price range , easy , simple and clear , a tick in the box for proto.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

crazedmonkey Sunday, January 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye invision
crappy field masks
Marker Setup: A-5
R-T
J&J ceramic barrel
Ricochet r-5 hopper
CO2
Strengths: Anti-fog
Field of view
Quick change
Stays on
Price
Weaknesses: Foam is uncomfortable
Not thermal
Hard to clean
Review: This mask is great, its very cheap and rarely fogs up, except under extreme circumstances. You can take the lens out to quickly change it or clean it. Unlike sum other cheap masks i have tried these actually stay on and dont slip, however the foam can get uncomfortable against ur face after a while. You cna also see alot more than with sum other masks, i believe the FOV is 250 degrees. If ut looking for a cheap yet reliable pair of goggles get these and at only $30 (or less on ebay) theyre very much worth it.
Conclusion: Im not going to lie, there are better goggles out there, but this is probably the best u can get for under $65. They do everything theyre supposed to do and more for the price.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 13th, 2005 at 12:35 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MitchB Thursday, April 17th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Had a REALLY crappy Java V-type mask but thats not comparable.
And rental masks, but they are always horrible.
Marker Setup: Spyder MR1
14" Smart Parts Barrel
Standard Grav. fed hopper
Custom built 16 rd hopper
Kingman Remote Coil
Strengths: Lens
Durability
Field of View
Price
Weaknesses: None
Review: This mask is my first mask that isn't some piece of $%!* from Kingman.

Good
Lens: Very easy to remove, easy to clean, optically correct.
Durability: Although its not a soft mask, and will probably not get many bounces, it will never break.
Price: Hell, for $35, these can compete with even the most expensive goggles on the market.....Almost.

Bad
The only thing that I don't like about the Switch, is the front of the mask covering the nose and mouth. To me it looks a bit funny, and kind of bug-like.


EDIT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
1


After using these for about a month, they began to fog within 30 secs of wearing them. I've been using just the gogs (half mask) and still fogs. ABSOLUTE GARBAGE!!!1


Now i have V-force Grillz with blue mirror lens and they have never let me down. Amazing
Conclusion: If you are short on money, like me, poor little me, BUY THEM.

If you are a little rich kid with his mommy's money, BUY THEM ANYWAYS. You don't deserve any better.

If you are a veteran Paintball player, that is in need of a SUPER high quality name brand
goggle, look at the Grillz or the E-Vents (IMO).


EDITTT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

CCCCCCCRRRRRRRRAAAAAAAPPPPPPP
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 23rd, 2008 at 8:58 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

The REV. 71 Tuesday, April 6th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Walmart specials, other JT products... None compare except in price
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion, Black Heart board/Stock board, Remote feed(Ninja) with Ninja Tank, Virtue Grips, Halo V35 hopper with RIP, Low profile locking feed neck (dont remember brand)... (Back up Marker) Old Spider compact (dont remember the year i think 92-95), Upgraded spring, locking feed neck and VL 200 RD hopper, (Same air setup as ion)
Strengths: FITS WELL WITH GLASSES!!
NO FOG
Comfortable foam around eyes
In-expensive price
Weaknesses: Back strap isn't the best for adjusting
Doesnt Cover my Neck well
Review: These are great Goggle, and have a great price. If I were to buy a second "Back-up" pair of goggles, I would get these protos in black. Haven't had a problem with them yet. (yet... yes everything eventually gives you trouble)

The biggest thing people reviewing goggles never put in reviews is if they fit well around glasses. (mostly because they aren't vision impared for those who have put how well they fit with your glasses thank you.) I mean VERY well around glasses. This is one of the biggest things for me because I am BLIND! I also wear some large lensed glasses because I perfer to have larger peripheral vision. I wear big sixties style Elvis Costello glasses. These fit perfectly with no bouncing (of your glasses) that I see happen alot to the Vision Impared because the mask doesnt fit the bows well.

On to something that applies to everyone. These goggles havent fogged up on me yet. Which I havent used them in the summer yet so I dont know the full stress test of them. I figure if they do a no fog spray would fix that right up.
They have very comfortable foam around the eyes and are very light weight. They hold on strong (if adjusted right) and do not slip. I haven't used a higher end goggle before but for the price these are the best goggles I have used.
For me they have great peripheral vision my glasses dont even cover how wide the view is so that great for people who wear contacts or have good eye sight.
They are a harder shell which is a plus for me and I also like how they come in a good forest camo. So poping you head out from time to time atleast feels safer.
The goggles also hang far off your face which I like to an extent. As said in the weaknesses because they hang far off your face (which keeps them cool and less foggy) they dont protect your neck the best which isnt a big problem drop the ten dollars and get a neck gaurd if you are that concerned. (getting shot in the neck does make me sit out a good thirty minutes but doesnt happen that often.) The back strap isnt the best I've seen for adjusting compared to the higher end goggles, but if you take them off and adjust you can get a good range from a big fat head to a pea head like mine. Just takes some trial and error.
Conclusion: Final conclusion. These are the best goggles I have used and I am probably going to stick to proto for my eye protection based on that. For anyone that has big clunky glasses keep looking cool on and off the field and get a pair of these. Anyone can afford them and they are built like a tank from the first timer to the professional. (Good for woods, senario, and speedball)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jesse_G Wednesday, November 18th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: 09 Invert Mini with Halo Too loader and 4000psi
Strengths: Looks cool, very comfortable, great price, nice lens
Weaknesses: Hard, does not bounce
Review: Great Mask!

Lens is awesome! Super comforatble lots of padding and protection! Best mask for under $60 Canadian! It's small. I would recommend the camo one for woodsball! This mask just looks and is awesome! Only problem is if you get shot in the mask it WILL splatter unfortuanatley, yet it's my favourite mask!
Conclusion: I would recommend this to anyone who plays or is interested in playing paintball
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BloodLustDE Monday, May 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
JT Elite Radar
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine LED 05 w/ SwiX 50g switch, Kila Detents
Empire Reloader 2, New Designz Clamping Low Rise
14" Proto One piece, J&J Performance Ceramic, Evil Pipe Barrel Kit
Dye Stickies
Kingman ACS bolt
Empire React 06 Gloves
Flurry Reaver Shinguards & Emissary Vest , Proto EL Switch Goggles
Strengths: VERY Comfortable
Cheap
Durable
Easy cleanup and lens change
Weaknesses: Small chin strap clip!
Review: After getting hit in the side of the head and having ringing ears from my JT's i knew i had to get something else. I looked at most of the goggles but didn't feel like dropping a ton of money on them. I found these proto's that are the perfect combination of quality at a good price. I got mine shipped to me for $25!

People really aren't exagerating, these goggles are very comfortable. I found it hard to believe that i'd forget that i was wearing them, but a few times i did. The lens is so clear and has such a wide vision that i went to scratch my eyes 2x during the day only to have my hand hit the mask, lol.

Cleanup was so much easier since the lenses and assembly pop out in 10 seconds. To say i'm impressed is an understatement.

My only grip about this mask is the tiny freaking chin strap clip. It's not a regular full sized clip, but a super tiny version that is extremely difficult to undo or attach with gloves on. having to remove you gloves and set your gun down to take off your mask is a real pain. But if that's the price i have to pay to wear these, i'll deal.
Conclusion: A great product that i'd recommend to anyone. very comfortable, affordable goggles. I got mine in Olive and i intend to give them a custom camo paintjob soon.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JDCocker Tuesday, March 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Cheap JT - sucks butt
Marker Setup: WGP '04 Pro Stock
CCM Front-End kit
CCM In-Line regulator
Eclipse Blade hinge frame
Worr Blade bolt
Check It Uni-Mount 2
Dye Sticky 3 grips
WGP Kaner barrel kit
Revvy w/ X-board
PMI 68/3000
Strengths: Comfortable
Fits over glasses
CHEAP
Field of view
Weaknesses: Poor coverage on neck
Review: This is a great mask! Hasn't fogged on me once (playing in Southern California) and is well-ventilated enough, that w/o a fan... my glasses haven't fogged over either. Did I mention, it fits well over glasses? I had a cheap JT mask, that made my glasses fit at about a 30 degree angle... but with the Proto, its fit flawless. The lens area, is well shaped and large. Gives you a very large/wide field-of-view.

Only complaint, is that the lenses seem to scratch pretty easy. A quick change system however, makes it a snap to swap it out.

EDIT: Horrible fogging problem this past weekend. Don't know why, as previous use did not. It was slightly hotter, but not by much. However, out the break on the 1st game... I'm suddenly blind. Glasses fogged over and goggles were literally dripping with condensation almost instantly. Made for a very poor day. If you wear glasses... you best buy the fan and do it ASAP.

2ND EDIT: Bought the fan for this. It is NOISY. It also has to be running from the time you pull your mask down. It is not something that will DEfog your mask. However... it does its job. Plus, once you're in the heat of a game... the noise isn't as distracting as I thought it would be. If you play in warm-weather climates, the fan is definately a must-have with this mask.
Conclusion: Would recommend this mask to anyone looking for the best deal for the money. You will not be disappointed.

Gave it a 9 because of the neck coverage. But, just get in the habit (which you should already) of keeping your head down. Don't want your neck to be exposed anyways.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 28th, 2006 at 3:16 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

cmandh Friday, January 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Pro Flex, nVader
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
14" Teardrop Barrel
GTA Expansion Chamber
32 Degrees Universal Drop Forward
Revolution Hopper
Strengths: Anti-Fog
Durable
Light
Great FOV (250 degrees)
Comfortable
Weaknesses: Not Thermal
Review: This is a very, very good mask. If I could stop at that, I would. ( 50 word min.). Anyway, I personally would vouch for the reliability, comfort, and overall goodness of this mask.

Comfort-- Very, very nice foam. Chinstrap adds Durability and feels nice (can be removed it you do not like.) Field of Vision (FOV) is also great- opposed to the std. 180* FOV on masks <$50, this one is 250*!! *=degrees. Also very breathable.

AntiFog- coated with an anti fog layer. Never fogged up on me- i tried to manually fog it and after huffing and pufffing-- it didn't!!

Durable- Very nice lens and a sturdy mask- like 30% bendable 70% hard plastic

Light- enough for me.

GET THIS MASK !!!!!! see conclusion for only neg.
Conclusion: BEST mask under 50 and if you want it to compare to 70+ masks, all you need to do is get a thermal lens replacement. THATS IT. Other than that, this masks kicks arse!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media