paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Switch EL Mask / Proto Switch EL Mask / Proto Switch EL Mask

Proto Switch EL Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Switch EL Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Switch EL Mask
[ View Photos (18) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 162
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $30

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Proto Switch Entry Level (EL) Mask

-Deluxe woven goggle strap for comfort and durability.

-Tiger tooth strap buckles will allow you to adjust your strap for a custon fit. Just set it and forget it.

-The multi-ported ear piece provides unrestricted audible transfer to take place without sacrficing any ear protection.

-Our incredibly simple 1/4-turn buckle (patent pending) makes the hassle of changing lenses a thing of the past. Simply turn the locking tabs to the right to unlock your lens frame. Pop out your old lens, drop in a new one, place the frame over the lens into position, and turn your tabs back again to lock it in.

-Multi-directional venting drastically reduces re-ventilated fogging. The venting also assists in keeping you cool and breathing easy.

-The first tirodial lens in the world of paintball - all the clarity jet pilots have. All Switch lenses have perfect optical clarity, setting a new standard in visual performance.

-Self-venting, low profile and removeable, the Switch visor is able to pivot up and down for easy lens replacement.

-Solid, lightweight one-piece construction face mask protects you from paintball impacts.
Product Availability 
The Proto Switch EL Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
naughtydogpball Sunday, March 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Random assortment of JT and vforce masks
Strengths: Great vision, looks cool, padding makes it very comfy.
Weaknesses: No bounces whatsoever, very hard mask. Alsothe chin strap is useless, i cut it out.
Review: I bought this mask as a step up form the crappy rental masks and i like it. Its got great padding in the ears and around the face. It gets a 9.5 for comfort.
Unfortunately it does not get anywhere near that in performance. The outside of the mask is very hard and wont get you any bounces. Its also very large compared to my next mask which will be the pro flex, it seems more like a helmet sometimes than a mask. However, if you dont play tournament paintball and just want something comfortable for a great price, this is for you.
Conclusion: Get it if you only care about comfort and price. If your looking for bounces, dont buy this mask.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

smartparts399 Wednesday, January 2nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: stock smart parts vibe
Strengths: Light
Weaknesses: Lens is hard to change in and out and lens is big.
Review: they are few key strengths and key weaknesses.
weaknesses
lens is wide and hard to change
strengths
light can't even tell it's on ( I know from experince)

I bought this mask off of a friend and he bpught it from a sporting good store for $30 i bought it off him for 10 or 20 $ it was well worth it
Conclusion: Don't spend more than $30 on one can buy them new for that much
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Jeff_Meister Tuesday, November 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
V-Force Vantage
Extreme Rage X-ray Thermal Goggles
Marker Setup: Shocker '03
Smart Parts All American two piece 12'' and 14'' with freak kit.
Halo B
Scion HPA
Strengths: Comfort
Style
Protection
Vision
Price
Weaknesses: It says Entry level...
Review: It says Proto EL for entry level. I think it is anything but this however. It is incredibly comfortable, chin strap helps to hold it in place. Has low profile, and vents well. It is probably the easiest mask in the world to clean, just snap it and your good to go. Fog resistant lenses work fairly effectively as well, just be sure not to scratch them or scrub the coating off on the inner lense. This competes well with higher end masks in my opinion, and for the price you really cant go wrong. I would recommend this mask to anyone, dont be turned off by the El on the side, it works great.
Conclusion: Awesome mask, anything but entry level. Just try it on, you will be pulled into buying it as nothing fits your face better. You will love it, just as I do. Give it a 10 because for the price it easily deserves that.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

KTaDD x 23 Friday, September 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
V-Force Profilers, JT Proflex
Marker Setup: SP Ion
Virtue Board
Freak Kit
So many more upgrades to list.
Strengths: Light.
Low Profile, once modded.
Easy to remove Lens.
Weaknesses: Comes with single lens.
May think it is too big or bulky.
Review: This is a great mask. If you think that the mask is too big or bulky you can simly cut it and sand the edges to make it look sleek like a E-Vent or Avatar. Capable of being up there with the High end mask once adding a Thermal lense. Thermal lense cost 25 dollars so it isnt that bad. This is a great mask and dont think it isnt good because of the price because this is easily one of the best and most comfortable masks I've tried on or worn in a game. Very nice price, only 30 dollars. Great buy.
Conclusion: Great buy, go get it. You wont be disappointed. Trust me. Not expensive at all.

AMAZING MASK.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NoCowsEver Wednesday, June 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Some Brass Seagul garbage
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Smart Parts Linear 14' Barrel
(((Soon to be E-Grip
Strengths: Very Comfortable
Never Fogs
Great Fit
Weaknesses: Lets paint get into your mouth fairly easily
Review: Well, first off, I bought an A-5 gun package a while ago from a local store. My old stuff way screwed up anyway, so I decided I'd need a new helmet and stuff too. This helmet came with the gun, so I decided it was probably garbage. I'd need a new one soon.

Well, I tried it out in a game later that week...and good God was it amazing. I seriously don't know how to explain it, this thing is just great.

I did notice one thing though, if you're shot in the mouth area, be ready to taste paint. Some helmets have a better "curved" hole to the mouth so not as much paint goes through, but this one is gonna let a bit of paint through. Oh well, just don't get shot in the mouth, and it's no problem ;)
Conclusion: Best helmet I've ever owned, then again, I've never tried a really good quality helmet...
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 27th, 2006 at 1:57 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

brokenwing Sunday, June 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
The one that came with my spyder tlr and it stinks
Marker Setup: 98c w/ r/t, cyclone, polished internals, J&J 14' ceramic, flatline, dop wer tube, dop roket cock 2, dop derlin bolt, java remote, tapco stock, tasco 30 mm red dot scope, x-chamberkit


spyder tlr w/ the 2 stock barrels it came with
Strengths: Doesnt fog up, looks, vision, price, comfort
Weaknesses: Nothing
Review: I really enjoy this mask have it in olive drab. It looks good. I have great vision of the field. It hasnt fogged up on me yet. It did get a scratch but i dont know how. I think it happend in the trunk of a car. it dosent effect me while playing.
Conclusion: Get it. There are other masks out there just as good and better but i doubt you will find it at the price of this on. Nothing is perfect but this is close.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

evilcockermckim Sunday, January 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Radar and a cheap JT of some sort.
Marker Setup: 2004 Prostock Pewter Finish
Full Freak Barrel
VL Evo 2
Shocktech regulator
Shocktech asa
cp flame drop forward
3000 psi nitro tank
worr delrin bolt
dye grips
Strengths: Crystal clear image solidly built frame easy to change lense
Weaknesses: The visor and non-thermal lense.
Review: Well I had first baught this mask at MR Paintball in Saskatoon in olive drab man I though I look like the Master Chief. Anyway I used it for another couple of months and then the darn visor torn off, the little stubs taht keep it attachet ripped off. Needless to say I was disapointed considering it was a Proto. No worries though I went and asked the guy at MR for a new one and he gave me a black one no charge or questions asked. I used this one again for a couple more months and you know that darn visor got torn off again. What the heck. I kept this one and just thought I would play with out it. Anyway to the good stuff.
The mask is very low profile for a cheap mask ($50) and has a wide array of lenses and other gizzmos to upgrade it to a rather awesome mask. I do advise that you buy a second "thermal" lense because the one it comes with fogs up rather quickly when it is really warm out. Even though the mask has a rather hard frame I found that the GREAT EVIL paintballs bounced off of it!. The mask is very comfortable to use I have glasses and played with them on once and the mask didn't hinder them in anyway. Well looks of this mask are very sharp but I personally like the olvie drab because it reminds me of the Master Chief from Halo!!!!!
Conclusion: Well this review was more opinion and faults that I have found I would still say this is a WONDERFUL mask for the price and when its from a company like PROTO you know there are plenty of goods to do with it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ins4nePB3r Friday, September 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Extreme Rage (don't know the name not the 20/20)
VForce Shield (field one)
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine '04
Polished Internals
50g Switch
Kapp Drop Zone III w/ on/off
14" Teardrop Barrel
Strengths: Never Fogs
Comfortable
Price!! 27$
Weaknesses: Some Parts may break
Review: Fog: I've been using this mask for 6 months now and it has never fogged on me. It may fog on you because it's a single lens but it won't happen often.
Comfortable: This mask is very comfortable and doesn't get very hot when your playing.
Price: This mask is cheap for what it is should be like 50 bucks but i got it at actionvillage for 27.

Parts may break: While I've been using this mask part of the chin strap clip broke off but still worked. Also when I was taking off the visor one of the little parts that holds it onto the mask broke off.
Conclusion: This is a great mask for the price. If you're looking for something that's cheap comfortable and doesn't fog often this mask is for you.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

icecreamman295 Sunday, July 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
JT elite nVader
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot
2nd Gen ACS bolt/ bought seperatly
16" freak barrel
Evlution ll w/y-board
FBM delrin trigger
Radioshack micro-switch
20oz co2
Strengths: Comfortable
Doesn't move
Easy to change/clean lense
Wide field-of-vision
Weaknesses: Nothing compared to my mask
Review: This isn't my mask it's my little brothers and I'm soo jealous. I have the JT nVader with scratchy foam, hard to clean lense, small field of vision. I gave that mask a 10 but now that I've tried this I'm knocking it down to 7 if I can. This mask is oh so comfortable and it fits snugly, it doesn't slide down your face. The field of vision compared to my mask is like wearing sunglasses your whole life then finally being able to take them off, I love it. All-in-all this is a great looking, performing, and priced mask.
Conclusion: I would definatly recommend this mask to any player, new or experianced. 10 out of 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paintbalwizard Saturday, April 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Dye invision-good but $$$$$
Marker Setup: 98c, 20ounce catalina co2 14 Inch terminator
Strengths: Doesnt fog, rugged can take a beating
Weaknesses: Minimal neck protection
Review: For 25$ you get an awesome mask that wont fog. I went to a big game and fell face first into gravel. A little rubbing with mask cleaner got the scratches out. But i reccomend getting a spare lense so if this happens to you, you can switch them out and keep playing until you can clean the lense
Conclusion: i recommend this to all beginners and intermediates but expert might want to go for proto switch FS
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 30th, 2005 at 6:08 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media