paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Switch EL Mask / Proto Switch EL Mask / Proto Switch EL Mask

Proto Switch EL Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Switch EL Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Switch EL Mask
[ View Photos (18) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 162
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $30

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Proto Switch Entry Level (EL) Mask

-Deluxe woven goggle strap for comfort and durability.

-Tiger tooth strap buckles will allow you to adjust your strap for a custon fit. Just set it and forget it.

-The multi-ported ear piece provides unrestricted audible transfer to take place without sacrficing any ear protection.

-Our incredibly simple 1/4-turn buckle (patent pending) makes the hassle of changing lenses a thing of the past. Simply turn the locking tabs to the right to unlock your lens frame. Pop out your old lens, drop in a new one, place the frame over the lens into position, and turn your tabs back again to lock it in.

-Multi-directional venting drastically reduces re-ventilated fogging. The venting also assists in keeping you cool and breathing easy.

-The first tirodial lens in the world of paintball - all the clarity jet pilots have. All Switch lenses have perfect optical clarity, setting a new standard in visual performance.

-Self-venting, low profile and removeable, the Switch visor is able to pivot up and down for easy lens replacement.

-Solid, lightweight one-piece construction face mask protects you from paintball impacts.
Product Availability 
The Proto Switch EL Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
ERLUFRAL Tuesday, October 6th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
only had used the rentals previously
Marker Setup: S-P-1 WITH E HOPPER
Strengths: Nice looking, cheap price, stayed in place well.
Weaknesses: Instantly fogged up.
Review: The mask did stay in place and they were inexpensive comparatively, but all three people who used them had problems and they are all different body sizes and shapes. They all complained of fogging within the first 5 minutes of wearing them. They did put on some anti fog substance that someone at the field had which helped for a round or two but then they started fogging again. It was so bad my children wanted us to rent them the masks rather than use these.

Conclusion: I would not buy them or recommend them. I don't know a whole lot about masks I bought them based on the reviews I saw, maybe we got a bad batch but like i said all three people had problems with fogging. They mask did stay in place well because of the chin strap and head strap and they were comfortable, looked good the price was cheap too, but it is no bargain if you can't see to play. I was lucky because the store owner took them back but you may not be so think twice about spending the extra money and getting a pair you know won't fog.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

danewbie Friday, September 25th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock mask from viewloader triton 2 gun package.
Marker Setup: 08 spyder pilot with trinity t lock(needs ion threads), invert reloader 2, j&j s2 14inch barrel and a 48ci 4500psi guerrilla air HPA tank.
Strengths: Doesnt fog,
easy to adjust,
clear view with
180 degrees
Weaknesses: Maybe when you sweat the eye things soak it up.
Review: This mask is clear with a wide view along with a budget aforrdable price. Sometimes sweat builds up in the eye things but that is a easy fix and is no problem at all. It looks good and keeps me wondering why people spend anywhere from $50 to $150. Its just crazy
Conclusion: Buy this mask works great and is cheap.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Landerpurex Thursday, September 17th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Old JT mask
Old brass eagle mask
Marker Setup: Spyder VS2
universal spyder virtue board
infiniti trigger
12" CP barrel
new designz feed neck
HALO B w/ rip and v35 board
48ci 3000 psi NO2 tank.
Strengths: Fits Well
Easy lens switch
CHEAP
Weaknesses: Fogs
Scratches easily
Hard to adjust
Review: I JUST bought this mask, because my old one is getting old and very scratched up from woodsball play. I was also looking for something that doesn't fog, or at least NOT AS MUCH. Needless to say, I played speedball a week ago using this mask for the first time and it didn't fog up quite as bad as my trusty old JT mask, it stilled fogged up badly after awhile. Also, I wear glasses beneath my mask, and after a day's play the inside of this thing was scratched up like an angry baby badger had been caught in there.

Granted, this mask is very cheap for the quality. It IS made of hard material, but it didn't bother me that much. It fit my face really well, my JT mask used to slip off my face from time to time, this was nice and tight. The straps can be tough to adjust, I'm hoping they get easier with wear. The chin strap was very nice, it came with a little padded thing so it doesn't cut into your chin. Switching lenses is relatively easy, it's good because it's possible without tools, but newer masks are coming up with faster, easier ways of doing it.
Conclusion: I would recommend this product to someone looking for a new mask and has a tight budget. It's a good mask, but it was a swing and a miss for me personally.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ClawInFace Tuesday, June 9th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tried on many at shops...
Marker Setup: Dynasty Ion
360 QEV
CP Sling Trigger
CP Feedneck
Dynasty Body Kit
etc.
Strengths: Cheap
Protects your face
Better than the rental masks at my local field...
Weaknesses: FOG
Lens scratches so easily
Cheap Materials
Review: I got this in a package with my marker and I thought it would be pretty cool. Took it to a few games and hated it. The lens is so sensitive to scratching on the inside, that when it started fogging and took a microfiber cloth to it, it permanently got scratched.

The first few matches were fine but it slowly began to fog up. By the 3rd or 4th game it was horrible. I could BARELY see anything. I was lucky to stay in the game until the end because I hid. That's how bad it fogged up.

The materials are mediocre, you get what you pay for. The visor is easy to put in and take out, and it stays in pretty well. The mask is great if you're on a budget, but it wouldn't hurt upgrading to something better. You can't shoot anyone if you can't see them.
Conclusion: Cheap masks, get them if you don't have much money but it's worth the wait to upgrade. fogs up way too much and is kind of bulky at the mouth area. It's personal choice, but try to buy something better.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Temple Wednesday, May 13th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Invision
Marker Setup: Spyder ACS 12oz tank VL200
Strengths: Great Look, FOV, Comfortable and CHEAP
Weaknesses: Fog, PURE FOG
Review: I bought this mask for the Feild of vision. I had a JT mask that came with a T Storm that I got, and it restricted my view so much I couldn't stand it. I bought the EL for 29.95 with free shipping, and found a great deal on a blue thermal lens on a well known paintball website. I put the mask on, and it was VERY comfortable. FOV is awesome, and the blue thermal lens made it look real cool. But 10 minutes into its first woodsball game, it fogged. It kept fogging all day (it was a humid day, and rained a little, so I didn't think much of it.) The next time I used it, it was perfectly clear, I wasn't really sweating any, and it still fogged so ,much I couldn't see through it. I thought maybe I messed something up, but my Friend bought his EL the same time I did, and it fogs to no end. Maybe I am doing something wrong? I dunno, but the mask will not stop fogging. Even with a thermal lens. Not even 5 minutes into my second game with the mask, and I couldn't tell a tree from a person.
Conclusion: I would recommend this mask to someone who needed a good mask for a cheap price. Maybe WE are messing up on something, but you can't see anything in this mask after about 5-10 minutes.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Perinhawk Sunday, May 3rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Rental masks (various ones)
Marker Setup: 98 Custom
Shocktech Superfly Bolt
Smart Parts Linear Barrel 16"
Techt Fang Trigger
RAP4 Collapsible CAR Stock
Extreme Rage Coiled Remote
48 Ci HPA tank
Strengths: Comfort
Easy lens replacement
Foam in ear area
Ventilation
Stock lens doesn't fog
Price
Weaknesses: Hard (no bounce)
Straps hard to adjust
Review: I got this mask for Christmas of 08, and so far, it has performed excellently. This mask has not fogged up on me once since I used it, even when I sweat so much that the foam gets soaked. It has excellent ventilation. Even though it hasn't fogged, I got a smoked thermal lens anyway (mostly for looks). Another strong point is this mask's comfort. This mask is so comfortable that I have literally forgotten I'm wearing it multiple times. Also, unlike many masks, this one has foam in the ear area. I have tried on many masks that either have those "soft ears" (which I imagine would hurt like crazy if you get shot in them), or have no foam and press against your ears (very uncomfortable). It also has a very simple lens swapping system. Twist two tabs, swap the lens, and put it back. The only drawbacks are that it won't get bounce, and that the straps are a little hard to adjust, but those shouldn't be too much of a problem. This is an excellent mask for only $30.
Conclusion: If you're not a tourney player and want an inexpensive, great mask, buy this.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Disaster Theory Friday, March 27th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Game Face mask
Marker Setup: Proto SLG
Barrel: J&J barrel Auto Cocker
Trigger: new Designs trigger ( slik )
Strengths: Cheap
Light
Doesnt fog for me
Weaknesses: Lense scratches easiely
Mouth area is to open
Very little bounce
Review: Ok, the mask is great for its price! For people that has only start playing paintball it is awesome! BUT!! when you start playing pro this mask isnt realy that great when shot in the mouth area there are quite alot of holes here and you are going to taste mega paint. one of my experiences with the mask is that i was shot in the face and the pieces of paint broke off and smacked me in the face ( There was quite a bit of blood ). this happened multiple times
Conclusion: Good for its price
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mccraw321 Saturday, January 24th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Two JT masks that were cheap
Marker Setup: Gen 3 Diablo Wrath
Ups
Lucky board with ace chip
Delrin Red ACP 2 oring bolt
Kalld Rake trigger
new red LP hose
Red Dyed grips
NDZ asa on off with empire rail and macroline
Strengths: Good foam
Good protection
Weaknesses: Fogs easily
No bounces
Review: I got this mask for $20 new and it was well worth it. It does fog easily but for what I paid not too bad. The protection is good and the visor adds a little more. I don't use the visor though. The mask looks fine nothing too special but better than anything from walmart. I do sweat a lot so fogging was an issue with me. The fogging issue caused me to buy a thermal lense which I havn't got to use yet but I will update after I do.
Conclusion: Overall a decent mask but you may need a thermal lense if you sweat a lot (like me lol).
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

I.P.freely Thursday, January 22nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
jt proflex(older one)
Marker Setup: odessy rpm
14"j and j ceramic
evo 2 hopper
48cu stealy tank
Strengths: Great fit so comfy like no otheir mask,easy to clean and fit,
Weaknesses: single lense fogs BAD,Iplay in the snow so that would explain it.
Review: I got jiped i paid like 90 bucks for this mask
its a good mask but if you play any where near percipatation then buy the double pain lense (i live in canada so mine fogged like mad till i got double pain lense(dont buy anti fog it never works that well))
Conclusion: Buy it with the double pain and dont pay more than people say (50 max)
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

h4554n Sunday, January 4th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Java V-type goggles sucked
Marker Setup: Spyder Sonix
12 oz CO2
gravity fed hopper
this mask


Strengths: Good ear protection comfortible and it fits nice
Weaknesses: Fogs up sometimes and scratches easily so you cant see alot
Review: I boughtthis mask hoping to stop fogging and sadley it didnt so ima return it and spend more money to get a better one, dont buy unless you go onece a year. At night its horibble you cant play stay away from this trust me. Get a better mask or save up for better one
Conclusion: I wouldnt recomment cause it fogs
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media