paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Switch EL Mask / Proto Switch EL Mask / Proto Switch EL Mask

Proto Switch EL Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Switch EL Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Switch EL Mask
[ View Photos (18) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 162
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $30

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Proto Switch Entry Level (EL) Mask

-Deluxe woven goggle strap for comfort and durability.

-Tiger tooth strap buckles will allow you to adjust your strap for a custon fit. Just set it and forget it.

-The multi-ported ear piece provides unrestricted audible transfer to take place without sacrficing any ear protection.

-Our incredibly simple 1/4-turn buckle (patent pending) makes the hassle of changing lenses a thing of the past. Simply turn the locking tabs to the right to unlock your lens frame. Pop out your old lens, drop in a new one, place the frame over the lens into position, and turn your tabs back again to lock it in.

-Multi-directional venting drastically reduces re-ventilated fogging. The venting also assists in keeping you cool and breathing easy.

-The first tirodial lens in the world of paintball - all the clarity jet pilots have. All Switch lenses have perfect optical clarity, setting a new standard in visual performance.

-Self-venting, low profile and removeable, the Switch visor is able to pivot up and down for easy lens replacement.

-Solid, lightweight one-piece construction face mask protects you from paintball impacts.
Product Availability 
The Proto Switch EL Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
MightyMace Sunday, October 26th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Elite Headshield Mask, JT Elite NForcer Mask
Strengths: CHEAP
Comfortable
CHEAP!!
durable
CHEAAPPP!!!!!
Weaknesses: Lenses are sooooo easy to scratch!
Review: After getting fed up with my old JT masks being so painful to wear, i looked around for a cheap but comfortable mask.

This mask is very comfortable, the foam in it is very soft and placed in the right spots to keep it on your face. The strap is layered with rubbery stuff so in never comes of your head and the lense change is very easy. thing i dont like is the retardedly small child size clip on the chin strap... i mean wtf what is the point in making it so small?

My only problem with this mask is that it is very very very easy to scratch the lense, i rubbed the outside with my sleeve lightly and managed to rub off some of the thermal layering on the outside of the lense (or thats what i think it is) but they are easy enough to replace.

The anti fog layer works perfectly, and the mask does everything it is meant to.

EDIT : AHHHH WTF?!?!?!?! tried my mask out today on the field today, and it was cold and i saw what seemed to be ice on my lense and i was like "WTF its not that cold"

Got back to the safe zone to find it wasn't ice at all

IT WAS THE F-ING THERMAL LAYERING WAS CRUMBLING OFF, i dont get what happened, i hadn't used any solvents of any kind and before it was fine...

Looked just like ice its wierd, same sorta pattern...
Conclusion: this is a good mask for everyone from beginer to expert, very durable, very cheap. I give it a 9 because of the lense, but all in all, i would advise this mask to anyone.

EDIT: now a 7, would go lower but my god is it comfortable, feels like a feather on my face and also new lenses are a penny a piece

If anyone knows what could have caused this please msg me!
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, October 29th, 2008 at 3:25 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

98 or BT-4 Monday, September 8th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
N/A
Marker Setup: BT-4 Combat
Aimpoint Red Dot Sight
Foregrip/ Bipod
Strengths: Cheap
Easy to Remove Strap
Chin Strap IIncluded
Weaknesses: Hard to remove lense
Mask feels quite fragile.
Review: Unfortunately, I have to disagree with what everyone said about the lense being easy to remove. As I attempt to remove the frame, it keeps flexing and bending, it makes removing the lense a nerve wrecking experience...

Also, I purchased the woodland camo colour and it could be a little darker.

However, I must say that the price of the mask is quite appealing.
Conclusion: I wouldn't say that removing the lense is as easy as everyone saids...
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, September 8th, 2008 at 7:13 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

A.Tech Wednesday, August 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
N-vader(my first) various crappy Brass eagles. Dye i3, Empire Events.(only tested)
Marker Setup: Various markers thoughout the year, like Spyders and when I first started had crappy Brassagoles Talons (what I was 12 at the time.

Currently for Woodsball playing. UP'd Tippy Custom 98 Pro. Buying a PMR SE very soon for speedball..
Strengths: Price
Chin strap.
looks
Can be upgraded too a Thermal lens($25).
Weaknesses: Plastic is hard=heavier
Foggy lens.
3 colors only.
Squeezes Nose
Review: Just bought this mask today, prob the best & most comfortable mask I ever put on for the good price. The price was strangely really good too for a dye product, $31 bucks. Now with that said, too me I think this mask could be the cheapest & best mask on the market. Not sure why I don't see them much at all, Maybe there just not known much or too new? hell I didn't even know Dye made a Proto mask this cheap...

Anyway, if your on a tight budget (like me)and looking for a really good looking mask that has real good protection all around, comfortable and can breath well and not echo. Go for a Proto Switch EL.

1.Price
2.Chin strap.
3.Come with visor
4.Can be upgraded too a Thermal lens. for $25 bucks YAY(hence why this mask is so cheap because it comes with anti-fogs...yuck)
5.Fits good and comfortable, foam ant bad. Although i3s felt stickier too my face.
6.looks just as cool as an i3 and Events.
7.Dye
8.Proto badged quick unlock straps.
9.No echo from what I tried, but never was in a loud area. So this pro is pending.

cons:
1. The covering Plastic is really tough so it masks it a little more heavier then the i3 and Events.
2.Comes only with anti-fog lens.
3.Only comes in 3 colors, Black, Camo and olive. Camo imo being the best looking while the others are just plain and boring.
4.Visor is cheap and looks like it can fall off easy.
5.Strap is a little weird at first to get used too, but no prob for the i3 users out there. It also does not really adjust. And the foam on it moves around too much.
6.Not too many goodies in box other then a cool proto sticker, but if u buy this at actionvillage.com, u can get a free $10 proto hat.
Conclusion: So that's about it. Check it out. All together compared to the $99 masks, your only gonna pay $56 bucks with a lens upgrade just like those masks.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 14th, 2008 at 3:35 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RyanTaylor Wednesday, July 9th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Empire E Vents
-20/20 Extreme Rage (horrible, used as a rental)
-Dye i3 Pros
Marker Setup: Pirahna Evo 05
-Boss Blade Trigger
-Boss Blade Bolt
-6 inch Steel braided Hose
-Rap4 Unimount (on/off airport)
-Halo B with rip drive
-3000 psi, 48 ci Pure Energy Tank
Strengths: -Easy to customize
-Price
-Comfort
-Easy of cleaning
-Durrable
-Easy to repair
-No jaw exposure
Weaknesses: -Hard (no bounces)
-Stock Lenses Fog
-Not much breathing room
Review: Excellent mask. I have Empire E vents, but i still like to use my Switch el's once in a while. I am currently buying some spray paint, and I plan to customize the paint job...
(yellow frames , chrome mirrored lenses, and yellow and black checkered design)

This mask is excellent to customize, it comes appart easily if you want to repair it. And its extremely durrable.
Conclusion: Yes, i would reccomend this, even if you are pro. It's nice to customize. I plan to buy 3 of these, and 3 JT pro flexes.

8/10
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

shadokiller Monday, June 23rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: tippmann a5 with response trigger
Strengths: Very comfey, nice ear padding, adjustable strap,no bouncing, real fast lens removal
Weaknesses: Fogs up pretty bad, padding isnt verry durable(ear pad fell off), pinches your nose
Review: Well ive had this for two years and i havent had a very good experience with it. the first time i wore it it fogged up within five minutes. now i have anti fog spray and i have to apply it every hour i play and that caused it to pick up more dirt and stuff.
Conclusion: Well by the time you buy a thermal lens fot this mask it'll cost around 60$
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 23rd, 2008 at 5:02 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

vinny13 Saturday, June 21st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
First mask...
Marker Setup: Tipmann A-5 w. EGrip (WAS) and a BT16 Barrel.
Strengths: Comfortable.
Fits all heads.
Easy to take apart for cleaning.
No blind spots :)
Weaknesses: FOGS LIKE A B****
A little on the hard side.
Like 0 neck coverage.
Review: Ok, I got this mask in a packge. It's what the store supplied. I didn't care because what I read from here besides the neck coverage and the hardness this was a great mask, and I do like it somewhat.

I've used it twice. First time, it fogged a little, nothing horrible. The second time, last night, I couldn't even start a round without walking of to wipe my mask again! I just didn't understand? I was like, WTF!? I must of had to walk off a couple rounds because I couldn't see things 5ft. in front of me and in other rounds it just made me an easy target because you would see me with my head sticking out trying to see if there was anybody in my sight.

I know it wasn't just me either because my friend has the exact same mask and bought it just before me and it looked like a waterfall. Then there was this other old guy that was at the place and he had the same mask. He built a computer fan into it to stop the fogging.
Conclusion: EXTREMELY disappointed. It's comfortable and all but that's not stopping me from selling it... I'll give it a 3 just because of the pros but it's not doing what it's supposed to do (besides protect) and that's fogging up.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

seektoamplify98 Monday, May 12th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT USA nVader
Marker Setup: Primary:
Tippmann A5-A2 EZ
25mm reddot sight
X7 low profile hopper

Sidearm:
ACP 2.0
3 Mags

Reserve gun:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Rufus Dawg Wicked Bolt
PMI 14in Barrel
Strengths: -Few parts = less maintainence
-Tough to fog
-Good range of vision
-Nice quick change system
Weaknesses: -Stiff plastic
-Can be snug on glasses frames, if you wear them
Review: I have to say this mask is pretty good for the price, sturdy, fairly easy to clean, it is tough to fog, BUT not impossible, i remember at the end of one of my games it just couldn't handle the fog, i did apply anti-fog solution on it, but I might have improperly applied it. That made the last hour of the game a real buzz killer, but if it could handle my level of perspiration (essentially waterfalls of the stuff) for 7 out of 8 hours, it has my vote! My only quip with it is that it's fairly rigid and it can be snug on my eyeglasses, mostly on the ear hooks, but it's still good for that purpose, also the lenses or frame of your glasses won't touch the mask lense.

My recommendation you either invest in the fan unit for the mask, or make your own. I made my own, and it came out fairly well (I'll upload pics for the setup later on)
Conclusion: This mask does give you some bang for your buck, there are other masks that perform better than this one. But, if you're on a budget and want safety, but want to see the action, this a good mask to get, although I do recommend you either buy the drop in fan upgrade ($45, if you seriously don't have any wiring skill), or go hardcore and by a small fan and wiring for 10 bucks and have good anti-fogging.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xJakex77 Sunday, May 11th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Empire Vents Helix, JT Nvader
Marker Setup: Spyder Sonix 2005 with a 14" razzor barrel, eVlution 3 hopper, and a spyder rockn' trigger frame.
Strengths: Good Protection
Big Lens
Comfortable
Easy to Clean
Doesn't Fog
Weaknesses: Foam Tears Apart Easily
Review: I've been using the proto switch EL for about 6-7 months now and I was pretty pleased with how it was working. It feels really comfotable when you wear it. It fits snugly on your head and sometimes you don't even realize you're wearing a mask. It offers really good protection. It covers areas of your head that some masks don't protect completely like right below your jaw. The lens is awesome. It never fogged on me except the time I played in the snow. Other than that the mask never fogged. Also cleaning it is easy. All you have to do is flip switches on each side of the mask and you can pull the lens right out. The only problem I had with the mask is the soft foam. After a while mine began to break apart and I got a few holes in the foam. it also didn't keep the sweat out of my mask. I didn't get any fog but occasionally the lens got covered in sweat. I recently bought a empire vents helix because of the ripped foam. If the foam hadn't ripped I could've gotten a whole lot more use out of it and I would probably still be using it.
Conclusion: If you're just getting into paintball or don't want to spend a whole lot on a mask don't even look to other masks. I bought mine for $25 which is only $5 more than an Nvader and this mask out right pwns the Nvader in every aspect.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

majorpayne36991 Tuesday, April 8th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Full Head Shield - completely sucks, always fogs, very uncomfortable, and the lens cant be removed
Marker Setup: Dm5 with an ultralite barrel, rhino richochet 2k hopper, and a 68/3000 crossfire tank
Strengths: Very comfortable
affordable
light
clear vision
easy to clean
Weaknesses: No ball bounce - almost impossible to bounce
Review: If you are looking for a new paintball mask then look no further you have found what you are looking for. This mask only costs $30 on some of the most expensive paintball sites. I got this mask one year ago for my birthday and i have never thought of getting a new one. There is no reason to, this mask has everything you will ever look for in a paintball mask.
Conclusion: I recommend that you buy it asap.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NickDaddy Sunday, March 16th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
rentals
Marker Setup: 07 EGO
Reloader B
Strengths: Lens replacement is super easy,
Light, cheap, price, fit over my glasses pretty good.
Weaknesses: It leaves a bit of my chin exposed, but I have a long face.
Hard?
Review: Great mask for the price. Great mask period. The price is just a bonus.

Lens removal for cleaning or changing is easier than making a peanut butter sammich. Just turn the straps a bit and out pops the lens.

The only complaints I have are that it leaves my chin hanging out there and the field of view isn't as good as my profilers.
Conclusion: I give it a 9 just because it's a bit short for my face and teh field of view isn't quite as good as my profilers. still damn good for a back up or for anyone for that matter.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media