paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Empire Reloader II / Empire Reloader II / Empire Reloader II

Empire Reloader II Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Empire

Buy Empire Reloader II

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Empire Reloader II
[ View Photos (22) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 184
Average Rating: 8.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $50

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
What's the deal with a sound activated loader? An optical sensing loader "prevents" misfeeds while with the Reloader they simply don't happen. While an optical loader basicaly acts like a regular gravity fed loader until it senses a misfeed and then rotates the paddle, the Reloader never waits for a misfeed to happen. Instead it loads a ball everytime the marker is fired, able to load up to 14 balls per second.

This latest version of the Reload features an improved shell design, magnetized lid that won't wear out, and a contained battery door so you won't lose it!

Product Availability 
The Empire Reloader II is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (19):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
Dreadpiratepig Saturday, November 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
All manner of VL's, Ricochets and Halo frontman. Regrettably, this loader has done nought but reinforced my opinion that you are often better sticking with what you know works. The nifty sound activation is offset by by the crappiest shell construction since the backman/frontman loaders and unusual slight tapering of the feedneck guaranteeing that it will not fit true in a clampneck.
Marker Setup: When I'm playing semi, RTP with body and externals by RPG, Deadlywind and White Wolf Justice barrel.
Strengths: Sound activation, moderately good aesthetics. Feeds perfectly well for up top top end mechs.
Weaknesses: Overly brittle shell construction.
Tapering feedneck.
Review: All in all, I have used this loader less than 5 times and already there are stress cracks emanating from all the magnet housings. That combined with the periodic rotating in the feedneck when full, due to the feedneck getting bigger toward the body has made all 5 outings with this loader utter misery.

After chatting with a friendly but unhelpful customer support person at Empire who suggested that I have a gun tech check it out (WTF?) I have found a perfect use for this loader - broken in half it serves adequately as a dish to put nuts in while I enjoy a beer and watch the OSC 3 man games on dvd.
Conclusion: Avoid like the plague. You can do better for your dollars, and should. The below rating is based on the fact that it actually holds paintballs and looks better than a non motorised hopper. Your VL200 will last longer though. But then, so would a scooped out meringue.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Camo Man Tuesday, March 6th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
The only other product I have used was some cheepoe from Wal-Mart. It wasn't electric, so the empire one was better
Marker Setup: I have a Spyder Piolet with a twelve inch stock barrel. It has semi-auto, full-auto, three shot burst, and six shot burst (electric trigger).
Strengths: This hopper is easy to turn off and on. The lid has magnets in it.
Weaknesses: Falls apart very easily (see review body for details)
Review: I have had many problems with this product. If you buy this hopper, and use plastic feed necks, (and play in rough terrain like the woods where there are many places to trip or fall) be prepared to break a lot of the necks. I went through several, and eventualy bought an aluminum Java feed neck that stayed very tight to the hopper and to my gun. the sound activation feature is almost piontless. You could scream at it and it wouldn't do anything. It does work very well when on the gun (rotates every tim you pull the triger, if useing burst or full auto, still works well though.) This hopper FALLS APART EASILY!!!!!!!!!!!! In just a couple of times of being dropped (from distances of about three feet) It started to come apart. The threads on the screws stripped and stared to come out. Since the small screws went in just a little into the plastic, I had to drill a bigger hole and use some bolts just to keep it from literally falling in half. The magnets in the top start to come out to, and during reloding can easily be lost. the sliding peice of plastic that is used to remove the bateries is a huge pain. It fell out during a war (I lost it and the batteries, I was plaing in the woods), and I had to use a buddy's regular one for the rest of the day. To fix my hopper, I had to insert a peice of aluminum into the spot where the sliding piece was. I actually think that this works better than the origanal peice that was in there.
Conclusion: For a first timer, go for it, but be prepared to do some handy work on it. If your a hard core baller, don't waste your time. I still have mine, but i also don't mind working on it. I also need to get a new barrel, so my money is busy saving for that, instead of a new hopper. I would just flat out get a different hopper if I were you.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Djtoot Tuesday, October 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Revvy
gravity feeds
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra, 14 inch CP barrel, Empire Reloader2, ESP 2.0 with CAMD frame, 20oz Co2 tank, Trinity t-locking low rise feed neck
Strengths: Sound activated
Good speeds
Weaknesses: Plastic will develop cracks and break apart
Neck needs some major sanding
Loud
Battery Hog
Review: I got this hopper as a Christmas present and i liked the packaging but all the manual was was an exploded view of the hopper and the phone number of the company. It at first performed well at my buddies field but the battery door kept opening. I fixed that with a piece of electrical tape then after playing with it 5 more times it was the off season. ( we have a long off season in Arizona) Then, about 3 weeks ago we planned on playing again. I pulled my hopper out of my closet and was amazed to find that chunks of the feed neck was falling off and their were cracks all around the screws and lid. I was throughly POed about this and have been looking to buy a new one since. My buddy owns the original one and he didn't have this problem. I have also read reviews about certain areas of the hopper cracking but i got cracks ALL OVER!!!!!.

EDIT: 11/30/05

This hopper has developed more cracks and one of the lid magnets came out and i lost it. The other one i glued in because it started to crack and got loose. I am getting a Diablo Wrath Soon with a EVo 2 so i wont be stuck with it for long. Also, a huge chunk of the feed neck fall off. Now i'm not talking about small quarter inch piece i'm talking about a nearly one inch long chunk, but the weird thing is is that even though the feed neck area is extremely chracked no other pieces have even become loose (I didn't use glue either). I don't know why but i am still angry and the hopper don't look so great with cracks all over and a huge chunk missing.
Conclusion: I have nothing against Empire. I just think that the plastic used on these should be higher grade so if u want and Empire reloader you should definetly get the original or save 20 more dollars and get an Evo 2. I give it a 3 because it completely fell apart on me. I would give it a 1 but i like Empire.
EDIT
I am down grading to a 2 because some important pieces came off but I think Empire is great in all other aspects of their products so i dont give this a one but a 2.
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 30th, 2005 at 5:09 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

the_toph Tuesday, December 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
12 volt revy
Marker Setup: 2004 Black BKO, Empire Reloader 2, DOP Long Bullet Drop Forward, and 70ci CF HP Tank
Strengths: I like the look of the hopper, it has great potential to deflect paintballs.
Weaknesses: The Reloader 2 has on oversized feed neck, and it wont fit in my BKO.
Review: I bought my BKO (04) and Empire Reloader at the same time. When I got the two, when I went to fit the hopper on, it was too big. I couldnt sand it down, because the sound sensors were in the way, so I had to buy and elbow, and cut the fat part off to make it fit. Now my gun has a very high profile.
Conclusion: They should just make all hoppers fit all guns, with no elbows needed.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, December 12th, 2004 at 9:19 am PST
I found this review  
13 Comments - Add Comment

n00b_cake Tuesday, May 25th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Halo Too
Gravity Hopper :D
Marker Setup: Invert Mini
Reloader ii
HPA
other stuff
Strengths: Magnetic lid
Easy use (one button ftw)
Holds 210 rounds
Cheap
Consistant
Feeds really well
Weaknesses: not programmable
12 bps is slow for some
Didn't come with instructions D:
Review: Works really well, hasn't broken any rounds so far and keeps up with me on semi. To be safe I capped it at 12 bps and I would recommend this especially if you don't have eyes on your marker. The one thing is that me didn't come with instructions, and I didn't know you have to hold the on button to turn it off so that was confusing. Once I figured everything out it worked fine. Not the fastest thing around, but if your playing semi or are a rec baller then I would recommend this hopper.
Conclusion: It's good if you're a rec player or cap your semi at 12 bps - if your a tourny player or play a lot of speedball invest in something faster.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

applejack30 Saturday, March 20th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
VL 200 Gravity feed
VL Revy 9v
Marker Setup: VL Charger, 14 inch Terminator Barrel, Empire reloader II hopper, Expansion chamber/ foregrip
Strengths: Sound Activated
low batt indicator
magnetic lid
Weaknesses: None so far
Review: I bought this hopper looking for something to feed my gun since the e-grip out shoots a gravity hopper. This does just that and is impressive. The sound activation is great. you can just turn the hopper on and forget about it. some complain about the sound activation not being sensitve enough, but mine is loud enough that this is not a problem... If you have that quite if a gun than its probably expensive enough that you would be thinking about getting a more expensive hopper...
Conclusion: Great for lower end markers and someone looking to save a few bucks...
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

eclipseninja Thursday, July 2nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire B, Evlution 2, Evlution 3, Gravity feeds, Tippmann Cyclone
Marker Setup: DP G3
Angel a4
Ion
Strengths: Price, Consistency, Sound activated, Magnet lid
Weaknesses: Not extremely fast
Review: I purchased the empire reloader 2 because i needed a hopper that was legal for the sppl, (15 bps or less) and my team suggested me this loader. I purchased it on ebay for 30 dollars new. When it arrived i was very impressed. It was very simple operation, 1 button activation, a very easy battery insertion, pretty sturdy, and best of all, it's sound activated. The design is pretty simple, and it is alot like the Viewloader Revlution. it is basically a gravity fed hopper (and it can work that way if the batteries die) with an agitator at the bottom.

The first time i used it was at my sppl tournament. I had my g3 set at nxl 15bps, yet the loader advertised at only 12 bps, yet it performed extremely consistent all day. The magnetic lid is definately something i loved about this loader. It was also raining extremely hard, yet i never had a problem.
Conclusion: I would definately reccomend this loader to a newer to intermediate player, or anyone competing in tournaments where higher end loaders are illegal. I only give it a nine because it is not the fastest.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Where'sMeShoota Monday, October 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL200 Shake & Bake
Reloader Original
Qloader
Reloader B
Halo
Marker Setup: Automag
Strengths: Simple
Reliable
Inexpensive
Light weight
Sound activated
Easy to maintain
30 minute shut-off
Weaknesses: Durability
Review: I can't understand how Empire advertised Reloader II as featuring an improved shell over the original. The shell is VERY brittle. It almost feels like thin ceramic china. The first time I closed the battery door, a small piece on the edge of the door frame snapped off (superglued it back on easily enough, so it's not that big of a deal). It'd probably crack or shatter if dropped on concrete. It's cosmetic design is an improvement, but I don't like the choice of material at all. This is my only complaint, thus far. Everything else seems to be identical to the original Reloader, to which I gave rave reviews.
Conclusion: Would have been a 10 if not so cheaply made. It's well worth it for $30, though.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zazor18 Thursday, September 11th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Standard VL style hopper
Archon hopper
VL 12v
Bunch of the force feed and agitated style hoppers
Marker Setup: JT Protium
Stiffi 14" barrel
Empire Reloader

Spyder Pilot ACS
Dye grips
J + J Ceramic 14"
Cam lock Feedneck
Empire Reloader II
Strengths: Pretty inexpensive
Good with batteries
Magnetic lock lid
Reliable
Weaknesses: Big feedneck
Shell is decent but could be stronger
Review: This is for you rec ballers or pb'ers on a budget.

The Empire Reloader II is a sound activated hopper so each time you fire and it goes 'bang' the device will push a few balls into the feedneck. So it's alot better than a gravity hopper in that your certain to have a ball in the breech each time you fire. I believe the BPS is somewhere in the lines of 12-14 bps. It's also decently quiet since it's only whirring around while the gun is firing.

I haven't had this thing blend any paint and my ball chops appear to have gone away (I only had one chop from using 4750 rounds).

The magnetic lid is pretty good. I would prefer slightly stronger magnets to assure you don't spill any balls during a dive. Hasn't happened to me yet but the potential is there.
The shell of the hopper is about the same to most other e-hoppers out there so it's on par with the standard but I just wish they simply use a more flexible plastic rather than something that could shatter.

Battery life has been real good in comparison to the devices I have used that constantly are agitating the balls or pushing the balls down. It simply turns on each time it senses a loud enough sound, ie. paintball gun firing, and when you not using it, it goes into a standby mode. After enough time it will shut itself off. I believe this number is 30min but I've never been out that long to find out. But the on/off switch is an easy push button and I don't expect that to be much of a problem for most. I also like the fact that it uses a battery door that snaps into place and installing the batteries is simply sliding the two 9v batteries into the compartment rather than using battery tabs that dangles from two wires.

Feedneck is on the big side and could be an issue for some. This will require you to sand the feedneck down or get a device that will accommodate the size.
Conclusion: Retail I think this thing is about $50 which isn't bad based on the performance of the hopper. Now if you can out shoot 14bps or like to be on full auto I would get something else. This hopper has been very reliable and beats the heck out of just using a gravity hopper.
Note: if your gun is real quiet this hopper is not for you either. But as I said earlier, rec ballers and budget pb'ers (who typically don't have the high end guns thus they're on the nosier side) should find this a great hopper to use.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DethWshBkr Wednesday, August 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Gravity, and prior purchase of same loader.
Marker Setup: SP Epiphany (225 PSI regulator pressure!)
QEV
Crossfire 68/4500 HP tank

Strengths: Seems Slender
Magnetic lid

-See review
Weaknesses: Obviously limited in speed
2 9V batteries add some weight
Review: Well, this is my second one of these loaders.

I had an Ion a few years ago, got out of playing, sold it, and just got back into it.
Bought an Epiphany, and of course, needed an e-loader. I'm on a budget, so hey, 50 bucks sounds pretty good!

I've checked out the listing on this sucker, and it says it feeds 10-12 a second. I've got to seriously question that.
Last few times I've played, I've been able to set my Epiphany on ramping, (which I have my ROF delay and dwell set to give me 17 bps).
I was in a 1 V 1 against a Dangerous Power F8, (25BPS) and after alot of bobbing and baiting, decided to throw a solid stream. I reloaded, and didn't back off that trigger for 10 seconds. My Epiphany didn't sputter or delay at ALL. (Eyes on) That tells me this loader kept up, at 17 bps for 10 seconds, while being advertised for 10-12 bps.

I wish I had a chrono that gave ball count, because I'd love to have absolute proof other than the fact that the marker didn't sputter or delay on fire at all. If it did, I couldn't tell.


I am not a magnetic lid fan. I know they are easy to open, but thats why I don't like them. I've lost paint already, and seen others lose alot of paint from these stupid mag lids. Hard running, and blamo, that lid could fly open, especially when you've got a full heavy hopper of paint. My other one, I used a small strip of velco to create a "safety" on the backside of the lid, which I had to grab and pull up to release. Still fast, but now SAFE.

I have had no issues with fit in my stock Epiphany feed neck, no sanding at all. No fall outs either.

It seems pretty slim, especially compared to my new Empire Reloader B2, which will be going on my Dangerous Power G3. It sits kind of tall though, but hey, it's an inexpensive hopper.


I've never had it not feed from the sound signature or vibration of my Epiphany (however it "senses" a shot), so no complaints there.
Conclusion: All in all, I like it. I'd buy it again if I needed a cheap hopper, that seems to work very solidly! It's surely not the fastest, lightest, or most impressive, but it works and seems to work well for what I got it for!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 13th, 2008 at 8:07 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (19):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media