paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Pro/Carbine / Tippmann Pro/Carbine / Tippmann Pro/Carbine / Tippmann Pro/Carbine

Tippmann Pro/Carbine Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Pro/Carbine

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Pro/Carbine
[ View Photos (23) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 449
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $249

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Tippmann has taken two of its most popular guns, the Pro-Lite and the 68-Carbine, and combined them into one. The Pro/Carbine features the CVX valve to allow for a change in the weather without changing the gun's performance. It uses a stainless steel braided gas line which will allow for the use of both compressed air and Co2. Also features a 10.5" micro-honed ported barrel and a quick release rear sight.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Pro/Carbine is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (45):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
carlpaintsballs Thursday, May 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
the 68 carbine and the pro lite
Marker Setup: pro/carbine, and empire twister barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel and an expansion chamber.
Strengths: looks
durability
easy cleaning
light wait
good out of the box
Weaknesses: not very upgradable but can be
trigger pull
Review: over all i love this gun. and to be honest you CAN upgrade this gun, maybe not as much as the 98 but it is definitely not that hard. the trigger pull may be a bit harder than most people are used to but its not that important. the gun is light wait and makes it for a good game of woods ball and i never regret buying it. this gun is a little loud but with a simple barrel upgrade it is as quiet enough. but i don't think that people wont hear you anyway. the best thing about this gun and any tippmann is that you could bring it to the beach and still be able to play. oh yea and don't let anyone tell you its a snipper gun because i have won my share of speed ball games with it to.
Conclusion: I, being an owner of this gun, would recommend it to anyone because of its durability and its looks. if you want to be different than all of the every day spyder and 98 users than this is the gun for you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Switchblade69 Wednesday, July 16th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 40 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pirhana E-Force G3, Tippman98 Custom, Black Dragun, Pirhana E-Force VTL, Spyder Agressor
Marker Setup: Pirhana E-Force G3
Dye Boomstick 14 inch
Storm E-Trigger Frame
Revulution II
Nitrogen Tank
Increased drop forward
Gas Thru Fore Grip
Strengths: Durable, Easy Aiming, Cool lookin, easy to clean
Weaknesses: over priced, slow, bad trigger, not easily upradable, hard to take apart
Review: I bought mine for $180 as my first gun. I figured it was cheap and should be a solid gun. WRONG!. It ended up bein a pain in the butt. I go out on the field get a couple kills and am pretty happy. After a bit it became pretty obious that this was an incredibly slow gun and a pain to use.
Conclusion: Its a solid gun for a beginner who wants to snipe and stay out of combat for the most part because of the easy aiming. But for a beginner that doesn't know what they want to do or wants to play the front or middle i would strongly suggest against it. it is definately not a tournament gun and cannot be upgraded to be a strong competetor either. The trigger is the main problem but the limted uprades is a real pain along with the hard to take apart.

Hope that helps
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

Sideburns2141 Tuesday, November 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
2003 Spyder Victor (stock)
Marker Setup: Tippmann Pro/Carbine
16" J&J Ceramics barrel
JCS Folding Combat Stock w/ RVA
32 Degrees Coiled Remote line
Redz 2+1 Harness
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Remote setup...makes the gun lighter
Strengths: Very Accurate
Almost Indestructable
Few Parts...easy to clean and fix
Doesn't chop balls
Weaknesses: Not really weaknesses but: semi-heavy trigger pull and few upgrades
Review: I just took this gun out this past weekend and it work flawlessly. I had heard a lot of bad talk about the stock barrel, so I haven't used that yet, I bought a 16" J&J Ceramics barrel along with the gun and used that from the start. It's also not needed, but the JCS Folding Combat Stock helps with aiming, and gives the gun more of a rifle look. I put under weaknesses that it has a semi-heavy trigger pull...this isn't really a problem for me, but this gun definately was not meant for speedball. When rapid firing, it would fire before the paintball had time to drop into place every so often, but I'm not really a speedball player, so this wasn't a problem. I also said it had few upgrades, this is, in my opionion, because it doesn't really need any. The only real upgrades are very generic upgrades: get a better barrel, and a remote setup takes a lot of weight off the gun. My gun has very good range with the 16" barrel. A friend of mine has a 98 Custom with a Flatline barrel, and while his gun shot farther and was slightly more accurate, the 2 guns matched up pretty closely. One of my only complaints is the amount of work it takes to strip the gun down to clean. It's definately not a gun you can just strip down in 30 seconds in the middle of the field, clean, and put back together all within 3 minutes. If you want to take it apart to clean, it's gonna take a good 5+ minutes. The key thing here is, it doesn't need to be cleaned much. I shot about 800-900 paintballs through it, and not one broke. It should be striped down and oiled (like all guns) after a game, but thats about it.
Conclusion: I would definately recomend this to someone planning on playing woods-ball or scenario games, but not for speedball. It didn't chop any of the 800-900 paintballs I shot through it so far. It's also a very reliable gun, as are all Tippmanns. All in all, it's a good gun for a paintballer to buy, whether they're new to the game, or have been playing for years.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PiranhaGuy Wednesday, August 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5, Custom 98
Marker Setup: 68 Carbine w\ wooden grip,14" All American barrel, power feed, everything is old style
Recommended
Upgrades:
14" barrel seems to be the ideal length
Strengths: -Reliability \ very old gun has not broken down
-Accurate
-Distance
Weaknesses: -Some velocity spikes when in rapid fire
-Expense
Review: The 68 Carbine is an older version than the Pro Lite and Pro/Carbine. Like the names says it is a mix of the 68 Carbine and the Pro lite. I bought mine for $70 from a friend who has owned it for years and years. Its age doesn't bother me because I have not had it break down. The gun is so accurate that the sights on the gun will help you get 1 shot kills. This gun can shoot very fast and far but you should chrono it down or you will take chunks of skin off your opponents. The trigger pull is not light but its like a real rifle. The gun also looks like a real gun and not futuristic like. I'm not much of a writer and I really don't know what to say to convey my message to you about how truly awesome this marker really is. It's reliable, accurate, and has long range. It doesn't fire fast but I don't like using a lot of paint to get sloppy eliminations.
Conclusion: I have used many different markers and this one is even more reliable than the other Tippmanns which are noted for their reliability. It's old and stood the test of time. I wouldn't add anything else to it except for a barrel. "If it ain't broke don't fix it".
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Cougar Wednesday, July 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP 2k3 Autococker- More High-End
Brass Eagle Raptor- Cheaper marker
Marker Setup: WGP 2K3 Vert. Cocker w/ EggII, Evil Pipe, Shocktech ram, ACI 47/3000
Tippmann Pro-Carbine w/Lapco Bigshot, coiled remote, Palmer Stabilizer,20oz
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: Light
Low Profile
Good bolt
Ok stock barrel
Weaknesses: Stock barrel is loud
Review: First of all the pro-carbine as one of the most accurate stock barrel on a low-end marker that I ever seen. Second I never seen the pro-carbine chop or blow a paintball, even BE paint shoots well. Otherwise to some people say this gun is a extremely light marker. But one thing I found was that it was a bit louder then other low-end open bolt markers. And one thing I would love to see for this marker is more upgrades that are specifically made for this marker, im not saying that there not allot of them but most upgrades for the 98 custom can be retrofitted to fit this marker.The stock pull for the trigger is long and hard, but can be easily fixed by changing the spring and doing a simple homemade trigger job.
Conclusion: Great marker very few weaknesses I recommend it for anyone
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

yellownestle Sunday, June 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Stock Pro/Carbine
Recommended
Upgrades:
-A new barrel --------J&J ceramic--------
-Expansion Chamber
-Drop forward
Strengths: -Its built like a tank.
-Co2 efficient
Weaknesses: Replace the stock barrel.
Review: This is a great gun but to expensive, if you really want one look on ebay!
A lot of people say that there isn't any upgrades for it... Thats not true, there just harder to find. with the upgrades out there, you can seriously pimp it out 2 the max.
Conclusion: If you want a great gun that will last you a lifetime buy this one.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 28th, 2004 at 12:02 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ZZ rai Tuesday, January 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
4 years4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none, this is my first semi-auto. My first gun was a Maverick
Marker Setup: Pro/carbine
8in lapco bigshot
ak-spetsnaz fore grip
jcs folding stock with RVA
remote.
Recommended
Upgrades:
lighten trigger pull
New barrel
Elec. Hopper.
expansion chamber or remote
Strengths: Built like a tank, solid. Good feel to it.
Weaknesses: In 4 years of using this gun, I have not found anything wrong this gun.
Review: Strengths:
This gun is built like a rock, very solid. One good thing about this gun I found out is that it does not require much cleaning. Even though is a open-bolt, you can't get much dirt in there unless you put them in there intentionally. The stock barrel and the gun itself works very well together, which means, no ball breakage. I shot over 1000 rounds in one day, and still no breakages. The sights on the gun is fairly accurate, although I never used it much. The looks of the gun is very intimidating, I had one person commenting my P/C looking like a rifle. The accuracy of the gun is quite good, more than I expected. I was surprised that I hit quite a few people within 1-2 shots. It also came with a whole bunch of cool accessories, like squeegee, oil, barrel plug, etc. Overall, It has been 4 years and about 8000 rounds have gone through this gun. Not one ball has broken in my gun. And after 4 years, this gun still shoots like when i first got it.

Weakness:
I read many complaining about the trigger pull on this gun. What I did was stretched the trigger spring to lighten the pull, and that made it a whole lot better. The stock barrel is loud, but I do not mind.
Conclusion: I would definitely recommend this gun to everyone. This gun would be a great starting gun. Right out of the box, this gun is accurate, intimidating, and not heavy. As expected from Tippmann, this gun is build very solid and works wonders even after 4 years. I have went through 8000 rounds in this gun, and not one ball has broken in it. And with in these 4 years, I have never had any problems with the internals at all.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 19th, 2006 at 12:59 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

MRFIXIT08 Sunday, January 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
pro-lite ,A-5(accuracy)
Marker Setup: pro/carbine with Lapco Bigshot red dot sight and collapsible stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
The stock is good at close range, but a new barrel is the first thing that needs to be replaced.
Strengths: It is indestructible, and reliable. Extremely accurate up to 130 feet (bigshot).
Weaknesses: arches at long range with cheaper barrels ,slow ROF
Review: Just today I went paintballing with my friends ,and of course they had their tricked out A-5's with flatlines and Spyders braggen how fast they could shoot. After 15 minutes of playen in the 45 degree wheather all their guns broke down except the Pro Carbine. there isnt a gun out there that can match it's durability. And to comment on some of the reviewers before me who said the were little upgrades to it or none at all the Pro Carbine is one of the most customizable markers out there. there are plenty of parts and upgrades you can buy if you look in the right places. and about the weight some people(who owned 98c) said the carbine was "too heavy". well the 98c IS HEAVIER, this is a fact. but the PC has it's bad parts too. without the right barrel it can be extremely inacurrate at long range ,and even tends to veer off at medium range. My gun used to bust paint kinda bad, but now that I have my bigshot I have not chipped once, even with crappy paint. The Bigshot has also made my accuracy better 10 fold. I own anything with 80 feet, and with a precise aim can hit anything up to 125+.
One of the main (only) weaknesses however, is the ROF. and this weakness is most definetly exploited in large scenario games and speedball-allthough there are some people who have tricked out their carbine into a kickass speed gun-where there are thousands of paintballs flyin in every direction, and you just can't match up to the fire power(in most cases). The best tactic for using this gun is to stick to areas with plenty of cover, pick your shots, hit and run, and think smart. most people diss the carbine for its rof ,but remember it only takes one shot, and i can garuntee if you know your gun and it's limitation you'll have that shot on target 10/10.
Conclusion: This gun is great. It has never let me down, and with the right parts or even stock is a well built and reliable gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 14th, 2005 at 4:14 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sonnemann Sunday, November 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
hmm...pro-lite, 98c, some spyders
Marker Setup: not again...compact 2k, sprint, fxs drop 7.0, java expo chamber, pmi 14" razzor, 12v revvy, 16 oz a/s on/off
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing- it works great stock as a rental (how i used it)
Strengths: incredibly durable
incredibly reliable
Weaknesses: it's an uggo
heavier than most blowbacks (but it's all metal, as well.)
Review: This is the first paintball gun I ever used. I rented one for my first day of paintball. Let me just say- I pity all the people who did not have the privilege to get into the sport with a tippmann, and ha yi use a brass eagle.
I went paintballing without any previous knowledge of the sport. I had no idea how to fix this marker, how to clean breaks, how to toake off the barrel, even how to cock it. The field manager simply handed me the marker, and away I went. The marker never chpped a ball, never leaked, never had weird shots or very inconsistent shots. In short, this is the ultimate rental. If you're going for the first time, then make sure you're renting one of these. They rock. Maybe, If i find 140 bucks lying around i'll buy one just for fun- they're that nice. The final thing that proves this marker's excellence- even after this many years on the market, it still sells for as much or more than most entry-level markers. The only reason to buy a 98c over this gun is if you wanted to accessorize. If you're looking for pure reliability with no frills, buy pro-carbine.
PS The only thing you may want to improve accuracy is a new barrel, even though the stock is fine. Anything else is either cosmetic or unnecessary.
Conclusion: excellent rental or dependable main marker. Definitely one of Tippmann's best.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ZachTippmann Sunday, October 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
98custom
Marker Setup: pro carb
trigger kit
red dot sight
J&J Ceramic
Recommended
Upgrades:
A barrell,$2 spring to make trigger a lot lighter
Strengths: consistent-durable-can be accurate-perfect woodball gun
Weaknesses: Stock barrel (like all tippmanns)
Review: Don't diss on the trigger pull. If you're lazy and like me and don't like pulling that slightly heavy trigger, get a spring for it. 2 bucks. I have a 98 with a foregrip,raised sights, carry handle, expansion chamber,the works. Its cool, but very heavy. However, the pro carb is light and easy to use for me. I went back to it and did awesome last Saturday. Lots of people in the ColoradoPaintballClub use cockers and timmy's, but have the procarb "just in case"
Conclusion: If you'd prefer going out and slinging over 90 bucks of paint with a nice gun that might have technical problems, have fun. If you want to use a gun that never quits and make those sweet sniper shots, get this gun. I know I'll use this gun for a long time
(Some professional players put down their autocockers and try some woodball,too)
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 16th, 2004 at 1:15 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (45):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media