paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Pro/Carbine / Tippmann Pro/Carbine / Tippmann Pro/Carbine / Tippmann Pro/Carbine

Tippmann Pro/Carbine Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Pro/Carbine

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Pro/Carbine
[ View Photos (23) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 449
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $249

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Tippmann has taken two of its most popular guns, the Pro-Lite and the 68-Carbine, and combined them into one. The Pro/Carbine features the CVX valve to allow for a change in the weather without changing the gun's performance. It uses a stainless steel braided gas line which will allow for the use of both compressed air and Co2. Also features a 10.5" micro-honed ported barrel and a quick release rear sight.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Pro/Carbine is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (45):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Chill_Bebop Saturday, August 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pro lite, 68 carbine, m98
Marker Setup: Tippmann Pro-lite, Model 98, Armotech Zeus w/holster
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel...i dont like the stock one
Strengths: R-E-L-I-A-B-I-T-Y
I spelled it out
Weaknesses: Heavy if your a wuss, slow trigger if your a wuss
Review: I actually dont own a pro/carb, i own a pro lite, but theyr almost identical anyway, so who cares. This is an excellent marker. I bought mine used from an army surplus store, came with 230 round old school hopper, a very worn 9oz, and red mud from the desert caked in it. (Also the manual) I cleaned it up, put a flatline flash suppressor on the barrel (I had an extra) and put about 2000 rounds through it. out of 2000 rounds, i had 2 ball breaks, and that happened through my own stupidity. Like the guy below me said, theres a reason this is the world's #1 rental gun. The only argument ive seen against this is it's performance and weight. Performance?! Oh im sorry if tippmann made a gun that isnt as fast as your electro, but while those guys are fixing theyre markers, im actually playing, so HA.
Conclusion: Buy one. Even if you have a great high end mrker, this is a great back up
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

WTChilds Tuesday, September 24th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
WORR Games Autococker (various types)
Kingman Spyder TL and Compact
Brass Eagle Raptor
Marker Setup: Stock setup - field rental
Recommended
Upgrades:
1) Barrel
2) Double Trigger
3) Drop Forward
Strengths: 1) Reliability and Durabilty - This is one of the most reliable paintguns on the market and thats why most fields that I have been to have them as their primary rental gun because they dont require constant attention.
2) Cost - Perfect paintgun to start out with
3) Accurate.
4) Comfortable to shoot - feels like a real rifle almost.
5) Good stock components.
6) Paintgun, mask, hopper and CO2 package available.
7) Good with any paintball types, even the cheap stuff!
Weaknesses: 1) The one I used a the field couldnt hit the end of the field but this was probably due to the field chrono settings.
2) Has a much slower rate of fire than my Autococker but Im sure a trigger job and maybe a double trigger can help that.
3) Not as many upgrade parts available compared to other paintguns but then again there isnt too much you need to do with it.
Conclusion: I ended up using one of these paintguns at a local field when my Autococker acted up on me (Autocockers can be so moody sometimes!). I say I was not kidding on how impressed I was when I used this thing. This paintgun is PERFECT for someone who is looking for a cheap and reliable paintgun and you can bet that it will work everytime. I recomend this paintgun over a Spyder any day. You cant go wrong with this paintgun.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 12:56 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sollo44 Sunday, January 18th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
truely similar. a pro lite nothing else compares on a fair level.
Marker Setup: Evil Minion 07
J&J Ceramic 2 piece barrel kit
crossfire 68 4500
empire B reloader
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: Durable without a doubt
Weaknesses: Slow
Review: As many have said this marker is slow and is only really suited for woodsball. That is about as true as it gets. If you find and buy this marker it is for one thing and only one thing. You are looking for an extreamly reliable woodsball gun. I have literally fallen into the mud gotten up and kept shooting without so much as a broken paintball coming from the barrel.
This marker has gone through brush, through rain, through mud, and through particle board. Yes the stuff was rather soaked with paint and mushed pretty easily. Not once, save a broken o-ring and those happen to every marker now and then, has this marker caused me a problem.
The biggest downfall this marker has is its as slow as mollasis in a Wisconsin January. If you can shoot at more than 8 balls per second you are cooking on this marker.
Now you will want to get a new barrel for it. I suggest a J&J Ceramic 1piece barrel. As the 2 peice will not fit in the housing. It has the same threads as an A-5.
If you are looking for a marker for speedball then do steer clear of this. It is long and slow and will NOT be very useful for you.
Conclusion: For what it is ment for this marker is a 9. If you want a speedball marker then its really only a 4 or 5.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, March 20th, 2009 at 11:56 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

abulldog Wednesday, November 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
pro lite, spyders, other mechs
Marker Setup: A main markers up in the air at present, using 10 shot pistol
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel (almost any barrel you could want as a5 barrels fit, possibly with a little modification to the forearm), polish internals, file and polish sear, drop foreward
Strengths: The pro-carb is dependable.
Weaknesses: It has a low rate of fire, ball detent wears out
Review: I had my pro-carb for something like 8 years. I just sold it and already regret it. The biggest reason that i like it is that it just fit so well; i would shoot so instinctively that i didn't even think about where i was pointing or the arc angle or anything. Now granted that could come from using a gun for 8 years but that time was broken up by intermittent use with other markers. I have owned 5 spyders and clones and none of them shot the same for me. Ive shot a dynasty shocker and other higher end electro pneumatics and they are impressive in a way, but they just dont have the feel of the pro carb. My pro-lite has the same feel and dependability of the pro-carbine but is less modifiable; i like a drop forward. Ok so this review is starting to look like a bit of nostalgia but that is what i have to offer. It is a marker that will fit perfectly for some people, and function perfectly for all. It cant keep up with the rate of fire of a lot of the competition but i have gotten a lot of players out with a few well placed shots while they sprayed paint at me.
Conclusion: I know a lot of reviews have a lot of specific information about what went wrong and how it was fixed etc. So ill try to give a record of dependability: i bought it used and broken (it was just so full of dirt that it chewed the o-ring up on the striker bolt) fixed it than used it without any problems for 8 years, beat that for dependability. I really think everyone can have a different marker that works right for them. this is the perfect marker for anyone who isnt a real heavy gunner but when they pull the trigger they want it to go bang, every single time.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 12th, 2008 at 3:41 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

f4u4np Thursday, January 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
4 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom, Tippmann ProLite, Spyder MR-1, Smart Parts Ion, Dye DM-5
Marker Setup: Tippmann Pro/Carbine with 16 inch Armson Stealth rifled barrel. compressed air
Recommended
Upgrades:
Though the marker is quite accurate as it comes out of the box, a good aftermarket barrel still makes a world of difference
Strengths: Accuracy
Durability
Extremely reliable
Weaknesses: Hard and long trigger pull
Slow rate of fire
Review: I bought my Tippmann Pro/Carbine after I had been playing for around a year, and I must say that it is a worthwhile step up from the 98 customs that most fields rent out.

Accuracy
Out of the box, this gun has a pretty good shot grouping at 50 feet, but I would highly recommend an aftermarket barrel. I have a 16 inch Armson Stealth rifled barrel and I can consistently pick off coke cans at 100 feet. 10 out of 10

Trigger/rate of fire
What the gun has in accuracy, it loses in rate of fire. The gun can fire a maximum of 7bps, which is admittedly quite slow. Another problem is trigger pull. I have heard that there are modifications that can be done to the trigger spring to alleviate the problem, but honestly I just got used to it. I have to give the gun a 5 out of 10 for this section, just because at least it isn't a pump, but it still slow compared to 12 bps you can get out of a stock 98 custom.

Durability/Reliability
This thing is pretty much the AK-47 of the paintball world. As long as you don't cut it in half, it will still work great. In the four years that I have had it, It has only malfunctioned once, and that's because I was an idiot and reassembled it wrong after cleaning and oiling it. Even that setback only took 5 minutes to fix. I have NEVER chopped a ball or even had the gun double load. I have played in some pretty rough terrain and conditions (on sand dunes, in the rain, I accidentally submerged the front end of the gun in mud once, etc...) and it has never skipped a beat. 10 out of 10

Conclusion: As the gun comes stock, it is a very good gun for a beginner, and with a new barrel and a compressed air tank, it becomes an extremely formidable weapon in the hands of an experienced player. While it does fire rather slowly, I find myself expending far less paint and hitting my target far more often. I play both woods ball and speed ball with this gun, and as long as you take the time to aim properly, it doesn't matter that you can only fire 7bps.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

shadow2726 Sunday, November 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Blade Pump Marker
View Loader Orion
Marker Setup: Tippmann Pro Carbine, CMI 16 in. Sniper Barrel, Remote Coil
Recommended
Upgrades:
Remote Coil
Strengths: Acurate
Sturdy
Rifle Feel
not everyone has em
rarely chops balls
Good out of Box
Weaknesses: Heavy Trigger Pull
Loud with stock barrel
Not very many upgrades
Review: All I've ever done is woodsball with friends, and after trying the Blade pump and Viewloader Orion, I knew I had to find something better for woodsball. I got the Tippmann Pro/Carbine and I finally knew I had found the perfect gun for me. It was so acurate that I could nail my mail box repeatedly from a long distance with Blue Streak!
Conclusion: The TIppmann Pro Carbine is a great gun for any woodsball player, and you really dont have to worry about it breakin on you. You have to spend lots of $$$ to get a 98c to be very good, this is a great gun right out of the box.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sne@kyB@st@rd Thursday, August 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ProLite, ProAm, SL-68II--Anything I've ever used with a Tippman name on it has been a pleasure.
Marker Setup: ProAm with sniper barrel (so old I don't even know who made it) and Taso muzzle break (from the days before muzzle breaks were machined into the barrels).
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, some kind of powered loader
Strengths: Reliability, durability, consistency, layout
Weaknesses: Increasing lack of company support, loud
Review: I've been playing with a ProAm for years (for those who've never heard of the ProAm, it's about two generations earlier than the ProCarbine, looks just like the ProLite except it's ALL metal, grips and everything--so much for the 'heavy' ProCarbine!). It was old enough that my roommate abandoned it when he moved back to New York, and the rest of my roommates were talked out of taking it to the pawn shop when I explained they'd get maybe $10 for it. In all that time (pushing ten years) , I can count the number of problems I've had with that gun on the fingers of one hand, and none of them were serious. A friend lost my sight, which was easily replaced. The connecting rod popped out a couple of times, which was easily fixed--just pop it back in and adjust the sight location so the rod couldn't pop up. The velocity adjustment went out of whack (FINALLY) last fall, so I replaced (for the first time in a DECADE) the o-rings and seals. It's only been thoroughly cleaned maybe once a year, because that's all it needed--rarely sheared a ball, and was easily cleaned when it did. You can't beat a Tippman. You can get faster guns, slicker guns, but you can't get better. I'm finally expanding my collection, adding an Autococker (another excellent marker, but I don't like it as much) for playing indoors. Realistically, yes, the Tippman ROF is a drawback if you're playing speedball...but I don't play speedball much, and I hate the layout of most guns designed for speedball (the second mod I bought for my 'Cocker was a shroud for the pneumatics--so I had a front grip, because I couldn't hit JACK with it using the drop-forward as a grip, the way most of these high-speed-high-gloss markers are designed). The other fun thing about mine--I played a scenario game last fall, and when we all lined up to clock in at the chrono, everyone else was out there with their 20" marker systems. My BARREL was longer than their whole set-ups...and there were a lot of nervous "What the hell is that?!" comments behind my back as I chronied in. When I was sniping them for the next 18 hours, they got to recognize the sound of my marker pretty well, and I had to get very selective about where I set up to snipe (my one gripe...it's not a particularly quiet design)! I will use my ProAm until the guts fall out of it...and then I'll either find more or bite the bullet and pay someone to machine me new guts for it. If you're a tourney player, this probably isn't the marker for you--half of tourney play is looking flashy while dispensing gallons of paint downrange in a rapid-but-controlled fashion. But if you're not playing tourney ball, if you don't want to be the guy walking off the field after the first game of the day with a broken gun, if you want to know exactly what your marker's going to do on any given day, get a Tippman. They may not be flashy (though the A5's are getting there), but I'll take substance over style every time.
Conclusion: In case you didn't get it, I love my ProAm. I've been thrilled with the few ProLites I've used over the years. The ProCarbine comes out of a great tradition (and can I just say how disappointed I am that Tippman decided to follow the crowd and make a new style of barrel for each new model after this?) It's a time-proven, solidly engineered and well-built piece of equipment that will still be shooting paint when just about any other marker on the field has fallen prey to the ravages of age, rough use, or inadequate care. If you get one, it may well be the only gun you'll ever need.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

RogueX Friday, May 7th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
98c with flatline (which works well)
BE Tiger Shark (lol)
Marker Setup: Pro/Carbine
Adco "Hot Shot" Red Dot Site
9 oz Co2
12 oz Co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe barrel, stock is accurate to 50 yards, which is the range I engage at.
Red Dot site works well and looks good on it.
Strengths: -Accuracy
-Rifle feel
-Shoulder strap included
-Very Light
-Good Range
-Indestructible
Weaknesses: -Long (But I like it that way)
-Nothing really
Review: This marker is perfect for my play style. Ive only played woodsball and this marker is great for it. Probably too long for speedball but I don't care about that. This marker can be made into a sniper if you want it to. There ARE upgrades for it, but the only I might ever get is a barrel. This marker is great for the scout/sniper or squad leader roles which I always play. The included shoulder strap works well and is great for climbing and crawling. The marker is incredibly light and easy to aim. The hopper doesn't get in the way at all. I especially enjoy the rifle feel and look to the marker. The velocity is easily adjusted. Be warned my velocity was very high when I got it out of the box. The red dot site works well with it and is very easy to mount on the provided rails. The trigger pull is not nearly as heavy as some reviews will lead you to believe, you wont even notice it when playing. It's fairly accurate at longer ranges but within 50 yards the ball flies straight. Im using Blue Streak Wal-Mart paint and I havent chopped a single ball. Plus it's the toughest of the Tippmanns so it will never break.
Conclusion: This is the perfect sniper or leader type marker for woodsball. I would not reccomend it for speedball but It's great for beginners or pros in the woods. I love the entire feel of the marker and will use it for years to come.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Mr Dole Tuesday, May 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
The two guns they combine to create the Pro/Carbine; the Prolite and the 68-Carbine.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 68-Carbine w/ Vert. adapter, 1500psi gauge, ACI Sub-Zero 6 Stage Expansion Chamber, rear velocity adjuster, Star Fire Bolt, 18'' Dye Boomstick
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Vertical Adapter, Expansion Chamber or Regulator.
Strengths: Built like a Rock
Accurate and Quiet
Easy to use and Clean
Weaknesses: Hopper elbow is combined with front fore-grip
Review: Pros- I have used the Pro-lite and the 68-Carbine for well over 5 years. The guns were more indestructible then superman. Lives up to the Tippmann name. The Pro/Carbine is longer with a large front fore-grip w/ elbow like the Pro-lite, and features the customizable ability of the Carbine along with it's CVX valve. Out of the box it's a great gun for beginners. Also easy to take apart and clean. Tippmann has very helpful schematics on it's website if by some miracle you manage to brake it. Nice to have a spare one around that you can let people use; It introduces people to paintball and you don't have to worry about them braking it because they can't.

Cons- If you don't like your front fore-grip you are stuck with it because the hopper elbow is connected to it. If you like always having to tinker with your gun to get it to work this isn't your gun.
Conclusion: I would recommend it to anyone. Deadly with Boomstick and expansion chamber or Palmer Stab. If you play paintball in the woods you have the added security knowing that you can take down a bear in hand to hand combat without damaging your gun. This gun is dominate.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Evolution 8 Saturday, April 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 Custom, Spyder Victor II
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine Select, VL Revolution, Freak Jr kit.
Recommended
Upgrades:
If you wanna stick with this gun for awhile get a barrel
Strengths: Strong gun for playing woods ball.
you can play in the rain without getting electricuted
Weaknesses: stock barrel is very inaccurate
Not the fastest gun if you want to play airball
Review: This is the very first gun I ever played with and it was a good gun exept for the fact I couldn't hit everything I wanted to. It is a good gun for woods because 1 it won't break if a dump truck ran over it and 2 it doesn't eat paint.
Conclusion: It is a great gun for woods and it is a great gun for not breaking or eating paint
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 17th, 2004 at 6:29 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (45):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media