paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Pro/Carbine / Tippmann Pro/Carbine / Tippmann Pro/Carbine / Tippmann Pro/Carbine

Tippmann Pro/Carbine Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Pro/Carbine

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Pro/Carbine
[ View Photos (23) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 449
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $249

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Tippmann has taken two of its most popular guns, the Pro-Lite and the 68-Carbine, and combined them into one. The Pro/Carbine features the CVX valve to allow for a change in the weather without changing the gun's performance. It uses a stainless steel braided gas line which will allow for the use of both compressed air and Co2. Also features a 10.5" micro-honed ported barrel and a quick release rear sight.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Pro/Carbine is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (45):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
donut Saturday, April 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom
A-5
Marker Setup: Tippmann Pro/Carbine
14' All American Barrel
Dead on drop forward
Dye sticky grips
16 oz Co2 tank
9 oz Co2 tank
9 oz co2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Drop forward evens out the gun nicely if you have a large tank
Strengths: Reliable
easy to maintain
shoots straight and accurate
Looks more realistic than most paintball gun
Weaknesses: Somewhat large (some like it like that)
Review: The Pro/Carbine is a great gun , Dont listen to other people when they say you cant customize because you can! you can perty much do anything to it besides a RT or electric bolt or the other more high end upgrades, but i have seen pro/carbs with RT (have too do some major mods) My first gun was a viewloader genesis but after a year i thoought it was time for a new gun, so i asked my self what i wanted in a gun, I wanted a gun that is reliable, shoots good, looks cool, and will last me forever and the name Tippmann came to mind, now the 98 custom is only beter because it has more upgrade possiblities but i had already 2 friends with those guns so i wanted to be a little diffrent so i bought a pro/carb and upgraded it to my likeing im too poor to even put a electric bolt or whatever in it. So if you want to be a little diffrent from your friends (if they all have 98 customs) want a gun that will last forever and perform great get a pro/carbine. No wonder so many fields use them there awsome!
Conclusion: Get it is a great gun and it wont let you down but if by some act of lucifer and it breaks tippmann will replace it. (tippmann customer service is great)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

YAHpaintball07 Sunday, October 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
a-5 and 98c, The Pro Carb is better in many ways
Marker Setup: I use a tippmann 98c w/ a dye or nightstick barrell
Strengths: easy on CO2, accurate, deadly, scary if in the right hands. Quiet
Weaknesses: hmmmm, in the hands of a newb.
Review: Yah that guy stoney from Shadow Company (My team too) is scary crap w / one all u hear is a light zip and u cant see cause u have so much paint on your lensI used this marker the other day to decide if i was goin to get a pro- carbine or an a-5......guess what im getting the pro carb, i like the what u can hold it by the front grip better, its closer to an actual rifle and is easier to aim,doesn't use too much air. can shoot a fair distance and be accurate. While i was using it i didn't have a single ball break, even with cheap paint. Another good thing is that it is affordable and reliable.The trigger pull is a bit heavy but if u complain about that your a wimp and that can be fixed.
Conclusion: My final recommendation is to buy this marker even if it will only be a back up.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, October 26th, 2003 at 6:26 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sk8bordr706 Saturday, March 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Automag RT, 14'' PMI ceramic barrel, 68/4500 HP, level 10 bolt upgrade
Recommended
Upgrades:
Tippmann 14'' sniper barrel
Strengths: -frong grip
-accurate
-great for beginners
Weaknesses: -not very upgradable
-heavy trigger pull
-annoying to take apart and maintenance it
Review: This is definately a great beginner gun. if you play on playing mostly speedball, this is probably not the gun for you...(you can only get like 4-5 shots per second with the heavy trigger pull).

if you play woods, this gun is great:
-strap for when you are climbing trees
-frong grip easier to maneuver with through heavy vegetation then one that goes straight down
-its dull so no shiny reflections to give you away

YOU CAN ACTUALLY USE THE SIGHT ON THIS GUN. i think its stupid when they give you a sight rail but then you have a vert feed and you cant even use it... I actually attached a Pellet gun scope (crosshairs, not red dots) to mine when i had it and it worked really well.

It looks really cool.
Conclusion: if you are a player just starting to play and you like playing in the woods, this is the gun for you.
if you play speedball, i wouldn't suggest it
if you like to upgrade your gun, DEFINATLEY DO NOT get this gun... ther is like no upgrades for this thing and very little barrels, although tippman makes good barrles for it(the sniper ones)
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 15th, 2003 at 9:50 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Nightmare1989 Saturday, July 31st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom, although its not as customizable.
Marker Setup: Pro Carbine
20 oz. Pure Energy CO2 tank

ordering :

32 Degrees Nyte Stikk barrel
remote coil
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Strengths: Accurate out of box.
Not too loud.
Shoots pretty far.
Good stock barrel.
reliable
Weaknesses: tight trigger pull (I don't mind).
not very customizable
Review: Heres the deal. Normally pro carbine's are around $150 + tax. Mine was $110 w/out tax. I had been planning on buying this gun when i first saw it. Finally I worked up the money to buy it, but did not see it on the shelf. I asked if they sold it. They said some kid bought it and returned it in 3 days, saying there was something wrong with some bolt. The people at the store had then put all brand new parts in the gun and fixed and were willing to sell for $110, so I took it. And I'm glad I did.

First I tested the gun in my back yard, shooting down some small little toys from about 35 feet, and I hit all 6 of the toys with about 10 shots total (completely stock). I was amazed at how well it shot and performed. Also the feel is so comfortable and nice.

Then a couple of days later I went out in the desert to try this gun in real action. The game was 3 on 3. One of my friends had been shot out, so it was only me and one of my friends left. I then shot all three of the people out by myself. One from about 75 feet and the other two at about 50 feet. (completely stock). For the rest of the day the gun still performed perfectly, as I was racking up points, from a distance and up close and personal. I have shot about 750 shots with my gun so far and still haven't broken a ball. Now that's awesome.
Conclusion: If you are planning on getting a good gun that is reliable and awesome out of the box so you don't have to spend a lot of money on upgrades then I suggest you get this gun. Also get this gun for using at a distance. I wouldn't really recommend this gun for speed ball, but I would use it.

I'm giving this gun a 9 because no gun is perfect, but this one sure is great. Also another problem is trying to find upgrades for this gun. Although the stock barrel is good, I would recommend getting a new barrel, for even more accuracy and distance. But overall its a great gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Emorrison84 Friday, March 4th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Name it, I've used it.
Marker Setup: WGP Trilogy Sport Pump Autococker
14" CP 2 Piece Barrel
GxG 50 Round Hopper
Pure Energy 48/3000

Tippmann Pro/Lite
12" Lapco BigShot
VL Egg 3
Pure Energy 48/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: Excellent quality
Solid performer
Vast array of upgrade possibilities
Weaknesses: Depending on your Setup, it can get a little heavy.
Review: Like many other members who have posted reviews here, I own a Tippmann Pro/Lite, which is essentially the same marker as the Pro/Carbine but made earlier and with a gas-thru grip instead of a Bottom-line ASA. So pretty much everything I will say in this review applies to BOTH markers, even though I will be using the Pro/Lite name.

A short story to start things off...

After a year long hiatus from paintball and dispensing of most of my markers, I became interested in the sport once again. I have used numerous guns in my tenure as a paintballer, but there was always something about Tippmann markers that I liked. The Pro/Carbine always carried some weight with me, since it was the first gun I ever used (a rental) and it rewarded me with a cross-field goggle shot on the Birthday Boy for my first elimination.

About a year ago, I came across a Tippmann Pro/Lite on eBay for $39.99 Buy It Now. I decided since my aging Piranha was not suitable for Mainline operations that I should take full advantage of this opportunity. A few days later I received the marker, and it was in very good condition. It had spent most of it's life as a rental, so naturally there was a little cosmetic wear & tear, and some cleaning to do, but it had been very well maintained inside.

First look...

The Tippmann Pro/Lite is made from a combination of Metal & Heavy Duty ABS Plastic Polymer. The only plastic parts are the grip frame and the fore grip/feed neck (same piece). When you first clinch it in your hands you'll feel a sense of quality that assures you the gun is built to last. The marker has the feel of a rifle to it, as it's heavy and meant to be held like one. The gun is equipped with a fairly basic cross-bolt safety, which does its job well. The addition of Ironsights is a nice touch here, as it makes you want to aim down the barrel and take carefully placed shots like the marker was intended to do.

On to performance...

Right off the bat, you'll notice this marker is a very solid performer. It fires nice and hard for every shot, and with Compressed Air you should have very good consistency. You can expect the marker to send your paint about 125 feet (approx 42 yards) down the field without having to angle upwards to increase distance.

There is a small kick from the gun whenever it's fired, which I like because I feel it adds a bit more realism to the game. The sound of the marker when it's fired is a very tolerable volume, and seems to be little bit quieter than other Tippmann guns. You can also expect to fire about 1000 shots on a full 48/3000 tank.

You may notice you may be shooting a bit more accurately than what you're used to with other markers. I am aware that accuracy is based more on a good Paint-to-Barrel match, but hear me out. The way the marker is designed to be held helps out too. Since you hold it with more support, naturally it will be steadier in your hands, so shots will be more accurate. This is true for most pump markers too.

I decided to purchase an aftermarket barrel for my Pro/Lite, and I chose the Lapco BigShot for reasons I will explain in a moment. You don't have to upgrade the barrel if you don't want to, but I would certainly recommend it. The condition that a lot of the stock barrels are in these days isn't favorable, so ridding yourself of it may be a wise course of action.

When upgrading to a new barrel, there are 2 things that come into play here. 1 is length. To clear the foregrip you'll probably want something that's at least 10 inches long. The 2nd factor is the width of the barrel, and I'm not talking bore size. The foregrip is only SO wide in diameter. You have to find a barrel with little to no styling & details that will fit inside the hole. I found the Lapco BigShot to be a perfect fit.

On to upgrades...

With most Tippmanns, you can choose from a very large selection upgrade possibilities, mainly cosmetic. I've seen some of these converted to look like M82 Barrett Sniper Rifles and even the Assault Rifle from Halo, so the possibilities are endless.

The top of the receiver has 2 separate rail widths to support numerous sizes of Scopes & Sights. I sometimes mount a red-dot sight on top on days where I'm going to be rather stationary on the field. If you do a lot of assault style playing then I'd recommend forgoing the Scopes and sticking to the Ironsights that are already on the gun.

Conclusion: In conclusion, I'd like to say that if you're looking for a very reliable marker that will provide you with years of faithful service, solid performance, and never fail you on the Battlefield then you can't go wrong with either the Tippmann Pro/Lite or Pro/Carbine.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 19th, 2011 at 3:44 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TritonUser Sunday, November 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
VL Triton II, VL High Voltage, Brass Eagle Talon, Brass Eagle Tigershark, Brass Eagle Stingray, Tippmann 98 Custom. They do not compare at all. Not even the 98C.
Marker Setup: Pro/Carb with SmartParts barrel and double trigger upgrades
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel, definitely. Maybe a double trigger; it doesn't make it fire faster, but it might, MIGHT, improve the trigger pull speed. It did for me anyways.
Strengths: -Durable.
-Alright-looking.
-Pretty much everything.
Weaknesses: -Slow trigger pull.
-Not a lot.
Review: I bought this thing off a guy on Local Sales Network for eighty-five dollars. It had a SmartParts barrel and a double trigger already on it. I was ecstatic. It shot well, never chopped a single ball out of a hundred, and I can't wait to use it in the upcoming game on Thanksgiving weekend. It will be joyous when I own my friends, who are using guns from the Brass Eagle T-storm to the Tippmann 98 Custom. It is now my primary weapon and I would reccomend this to anybody. BUY IT! Worth it!
Conclusion: BUY IT BUY IT BUY IT Hope this review was helpful thanks BUY IT BUY IT BUY IT
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ck8l4 Friday, April 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Stock Pro/carbine with a 20oz CO2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
There are no upgrades
Strengths: Accuracy, good starting gun
Weaknesses: Slow ROF, has a shotgun style barrel
Review: This worked very well had very good accuracy and was great for a first gun. It allowed me to learn the basics of paintball without getting to good to fast. It was very easy to strip(take apart) especially on the field. Cleaning was simply too. The only problem was there was no way to upgrade and the gun had horrible ROF. I mean like even when firing my hardest i could hit only 6 and the cap is 7.
Conclusion: Great gun good starter only bad ROF(rate of fire)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PRO/CARBINEboni Sunday, March 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5 W / lapco bigshot and stock, stock ego for speedball
Marker Setup: pro/carbine
-ricochet AK loader
-16'' progressive barrel
-APP double trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
electric hopper > tends to dry shoot
-barrel
Strengths: -Strong
-Well built
-Weather does not affect it
-Simple mechanism
-accurate out of the box
Weaknesses: -Very low rate of fire
-Almost impossible to find upgrades
Review: This is a terrific gun, its never had a problem or popped many paintballs its a very ruggid desighn with toughness in mind (no wonder police use it for training) this is also a very heavy gun witch makes it a bad choice for tordaments or speedball. another bad desighn is the weight, but its worth it because it is a simple long lasting gun (made with heavy duty parts)
Conclusion: It is a great gun for woodsball because its a good, accurate, tough gun out of the box
its also a gun anybody can realy use(low maintenance) . overall its a great gun. I will give this marker an 8 because it shoots 7 bps (bad for speedball) and most of all, there is no upgrades.. the only thing I know of is the barrel threads are the same as the A-5..
buy a 98 or A-5 before you buy this.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 6th, 2006 at 1:15 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rug_doctors Wednesday, February 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Also used a rental Tippmann 98 custom. Eh. I dont like that front grip.
Marker Setup: Tippmann Pro/Carbine
200 rnd cheapo-depo hopper
14 inch Nytestick Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
If you dont have a shoulderstrap, GET ONE. But all you really need is a barrel. Ive also read an expansion chamber would be helpful. Nothing much to upgrade on this thing anyways.
Strengths: Handy shoulderstrap.
Very balanced with 12oz
Accurate up to med ranges w/ new barrel.
Weaknesses: Low rate of Fire.
Weight can sometimes hinder movement.
Easy to lose the Velocity gauge.
Review: The Tippmann Pro/Carbine has its definite strengths and definite weaknesses. While not well suited for the fast pace of speedball, or the intensity of tournament play, The Pro/Carb easily handles the needs of paintball's woodsball weekend warriors, with its rock hard reputation, construction, and reliable performance.

Now that I got the formal introduction crap out of the way, (thank you High School English), I can get into the personal experience I have had with the Pro/Carbine (Scored off e-bay! w00t!)

Accuracy-
-While far from the most accurate gun you can buy, the Pro/Carb can be deadly precise at medium and short ranges. From 50 feet, I can, without a problem, shoot through a 20x20 window on a tower. (This means the gun is shooting upward too). With the correct velocity, the stock barrel can be tuned to an accurate 5 shot grouping from 30 feet, and with my upgraded barrel, the accuracy is obviously greater. Beyond 70 feet, don't even try. Well do, but I doubt you'll hit anything. 14'' is the way to go by the way, as 16''+ breaks a load of balls and take forever to clean.

Reliability and Build-
-This thing can take a beating. Literally. You can fall on it, drag it through the dirt and mud going prone, wham it up against bunkers, use it to throw out and retrieve a shoe that got stuck in the mud, (While being shot at. Not fun!) Hell, I'd bet I could bash down trees and construct a fortified position with the thing! As well as dig a trench around the outside, kill wild animals for food, and use it as a club to fend off attacks after you've run out of ammo!
Seriously though, the Pro/Carbine (or any Tipmann) is the kind of marker you want when you're playing woodsball.

Maneuverability-
-The thing is heavy, don't get me wrong. By the end of the day you'll feel like you've been carrying a dead guy that shoots paintballs.
But that's where the handy shoulder strap comes in... uh... handy!! So if you complain about how heavy it is, stop being a n00b and suck it up, or go out and get the strap!

EVERYTHING ELSE-
-Be warned, the velocity gauge falls out the bottom very easily if it is unscrewed too much. My friend had it happen to him and he couldn't even put a new one in!
Alas, the same thing happened to me! But luckily I still had the screw and figured out how to rotate the whole bolt so it screwed back in the bottom. If this has happened to you, the trick is to stick a screwdriver down the front, so you can turn the thing inside the bolt freely. Then, just watch the hole at the bottom and turn until it lines up to where you want it! easy fix but easy to lose!

Oh yeah, bla bla bla, rate of fire. Who needs to shoot more than 2 balls per second in wodsball, honestly! Its a waste!

And bla bla bla heavy trigger pull! Stop being four year olds and get stronger trigger fingers! Damn I mean its only a 7 pound pull! (Feels like less so I don't believe it!)

This review has gone nowhere and came out crappier than I expected. (Thanks High School English.)
Conclusion: BUY IT if you play every-so-often. GREAT for woodsball but not fun for speedball. (And not great for little idjots who complain about things being heavy!) In its price range, (under $200) this thing deserves a 10. But hey, theres always something better, so It gets a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

moo moo face Thursday, December 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyders
98
A5
My drallion
Other draguns
Marker Setup: Drallion
New back block
Evil detonator reg
System x beavertail
J and j edge barrel
Endo drop/ cradle thing
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger(ive only seen them from lapco)
Barrel
Whatever else you feel like puttin on it
Strengths: Reliable
Fairly accurate
Very light for its size
Weaknesses: Looks funny
I had to cut the spring to lower velocity to under 300
Review: This gun is pretty good. its really not a tourney gun so its not that good but for just playin around its ok. Well actully i did use it in a tourney and came in second. It was kindof a spedball feild. If you dont belive me go to this site and look at the 3 man torney pics

www.groups.yahoo.com/columbusgapaintball

The stock barrel isnt as bad as they say. its better than the stock a5 barrel (although thats not really saying a whole lot). Its not a speed demon but it is easily fast enogh for the begginer. I had an egg 2 with z board on mine lol. No i seriosly did but it was for may drallion i just put it on there. That gun was rippin it up at nine bps. O yea you heard right the increadible speed of 9 bps lol!!!!!

I like the j and j ceramic barrel for this gun it is very good.
Conclusion: Get it if your just startin out. it is a good gun just not extremely fast.
I like it alot but my drallion is just better suited for speedball
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (45):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media