paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Pro/Carbine / Tippmann Pro/Carbine / Tippmann Pro/Carbine / Tippmann Pro/Carbine

Tippmann Pro/Carbine Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Pro/Carbine

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Pro/Carbine
[ View Photos (23) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 449
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $249

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Tippmann has taken two of its most popular guns, the Pro-Lite and the 68-Carbine, and combined them into one. The Pro/Carbine features the CVX valve to allow for a change in the weather without changing the gun's performance. It uses a stainless steel braided gas line which will allow for the use of both compressed air and Co2. Also features a 10.5" micro-honed ported barrel and a quick release rear sight.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Pro/Carbine is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (45):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
buzzboy Monday, September 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
I've only test shot a spyder imagine and an A-5
Marker Setup: Pro/Carbine
CMI 16" TruFlight
Homemade Bipod
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel is nice but not necessary.
Strengths: Accurate, loud, built like a tank, shoots all paint and it looks cool.
Weaknesses: There are no weaknesses so far that I have found.
Review: I have played about 20 games and this gun hasn't failed once. I am a newb but I can pick off people from 30-50". The stock barrel wasn't as bad as people make it sound. I can hit a 1'x6" target from 50" without resting the gun on anything.

Out of the about 3500 paintballs I have shot I broke one. Some of these were even bluestreak.
Conclusion: This is a great gun for beginners like me. It is my favorite of the entire Tippmann line of guns eccept for the SMG-60 and the SL68II.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ghostcom Thursday, June 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Pro-lite
Tippmann A-5
Marker Setup: 1988 PRO-AM with Dasiy DOT scope, twin Slight Enhancers, and PMI Tac-Light
Recommended
Upgrades:
none...the Marker is fine shock
Strengths: Rugged like an AK-47 and reliable like a Honda
Weaknesses: Weight (PRO-AM)
Noisey
Review: The first Marker that I ever used was a Pro-Lite. I fell in love with that gun...
When it came time to buy my gun, I checked around for a used Pro-lite (did not have the money for a new one), and soon I found a used old field PRO-AM. When I found out that the PRO-AM was the grandfather to the modern Procarbine, I bought that day. My '88 PROAM is a wonderful weapon....easy on air and paint, looks kewl modified, and it is accurate. the Marker does not rapid fire and this allows the baller to not bleed off paint and air. I have used the small 9oz bottle for three games! I have been using the old girl for six months now, and never had a problem with it...just clean ever game and oil every once awhile. I will be replacing the old girl with an A-5 sniper package at the first of the year...but my PROAM will continue to remain mine and my first.
Hey, you never forget your first!
Conclusion: A Wonderful marker for the newbie or the seaoned vet.
Easy on Paint and Air
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NARCT Friday, April 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I owned the pro/carbine for two years "I regret trading it and Iv already ordered a new one"...
Marker Setup: Genesis, 12 gram adapter, 50 round hopper - (pro/carbine on its way)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Madman trigger springs, terminator 14" ported barrel, tippmann exp chamber
Strengths: Durability
Dependability
Consistency
Reliability
Easy maintenance
Weaknesses: Everybody has one
Upgrades are scarce
Review: Ranged with a multitude of task performing traditions and tippmann reliability the Tippmann pro/carbine has stood the test by laying in my hands for two years. TWO YEARS! The pro/carbine has a respectable look that makes bread. Rightfully so with an estimated $10 like I paid anyone that owns this piece of art will shoot with the breath of a light hair trigger wannabe. The pro/carbine has a one year warranty and better than that will last "And I guarantee it two years". The things flat out bulletproof and will stand up even to weather with ease. The stock barrel looks to be upgraded but for its value does the trick. The pro/carbine stands to weather but with an expansion chamber makes rainy seasons sound like fun. The pro/carbine is at home in the woods, deserts, and even the swamps of my home in Missouri. I lived in Wyoming deserts and the pro/carbine handled dusts wile being used even. Make the pro/carbine an offer in the pines and it will still continue effortlessly through its rounds. Whether its the backup marker of choice or a primary driver this marker delivers with value unmatched in a marker. Simple upgrades make this marker the most solid piece to touch glove.
Conclusion: What are you willing to pay for invincibility in a marker? The pro/carbine is that marker...
Durability, light, simple, sleek, sensual, accurate, cheap, consistent, reliable, no wonder everybody has one. Perfect marker for, new, intermediate, and even progressive players for the old and knu skool.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xjnation Saturday, December 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 68 carbine, spyder tl, ACI F4, model 98c, model 98
Marker Setup: P/C with, sub zero x chanber, remote, all american barrel, pro lite venturi bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
xchamber, and barrel, the stock barrel is bad
Strengths: ONE TOUGH MARKER
only 4 o-rings
plenty of upgrades
good distance
Weaknesses: some find the trigger pull hard, but that can be fixed with a .50 spring
Review: I cant see how anyone would not like this marker

It has to be one of the most durable markers on the planet! 9 out of 10 fields use this thing

I owned a carbine prior to this marker and really enjoyed it, with the few mods listed above it will kick about any marker on the field, and be deadly accurate to around 120'

The stock barrel can be made to shoot predictably just by polishing the inside with colgate toothpast on a metal rod witha rag wrapped on it, placed into a drill and run back and forth with water, it takes about 3 minutes to polish in this fashion. both distance and accuracy will be enhanced

The marker has only 4 o-rings in the gun and avery simple adn servicacle design, once familuar with it you can completely go through the marker in less than 5 minutes. Did I mention durable, Ive ran over mine witha truck, dropped it into a mud puddle, smacked it on many trees, and yet it has never let me down in all these years, NOT ONCE!

I cant understand why others are having problems and as you can see in a couple of the reviews seem to be made by the same unregistered individual with very low scores

Several other of the low erviews are buy people who have rented the gun oce and found problems, not a very accurate representation

Believe the reviews by guys who have used the gun for awhile

I can compare this marker to the spyder, and both model 98's and I will take this gun over those anyday of teh week, with a few mods you can make this an awsome gun and more reliable than anything out there.
Conclusion: Otheres may say dont buy this marker, I say its one of the best values in Paintball today, and you cant go wrong with this one, it is longer than most which some dont like and a bit heavier, but thats quality!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Snake54 Sunday, November 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tipmann 98 custom with 14" CMI truflight Barrel
Marker Setup: Tipmann Pro/Carbine stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel !!!!!!!!!!!!
Dot sight would be nice
Strengths: Durable
easy to use and clean
dosen't break paint
Weaknesses: not acurate with stock
linkage arm is held in by sight
few upgrades
Review: This gun is excelent for a beginner! The trigger pull is heaver and longer then the 98 custom but that makes almost no difference in the rate of fire. I have dropped the gun and already and it is very durable the only problem is that the linkage arm asn slip out of the front bolt if not put back together correctly but that has only happened once and not during a game. The gun is very easy to take apart and claen which is a big difference over the 98. the only real problem is finding upgrades for the gun but they are out there they just take some time to find and they are usually good upgrades. I have fired almost a thousand ball in all kinds of weather out of this gun and it has never broken the paint . the stock barrel on the gun is garbage and i would definitly get an after market barrel with this gun because the stock has terrible drop and can acuratly shoot around trees:)
Conclusion: This is an excelent gun and a good alternate to the 98 because they are basically the same except that the Pro/Carbine looks cooler. I can't give the gun a perfect rating because the linkage arm and bolt are expose on top and though i havent had any problems yet the look like they could happen.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ProCarbSniper Tuesday, June 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98, Raptor, Tigershark, (not much comparison)
Marker Setup: Tippmann Pro Carbine
14'' Lapco Bigshot Barrel
Tippmann Expansion Chamber
Paintball Sniper Supplies' Barrel Extension
Custom Ghillie
Recommended
Upgrades:
14'' Lapco Bigshot Barrel ( size depends on what you want to do with the marker)
Tippmann Expansion Chamber (pain to to install, but worth it)
Strengths: -Durable
- Accurate
-Handles like real gun
-No allen wrenches to adjust velocity.
- Never chops balls
Weaknesses: -Pain to take apart
-Not much upgrades
-Loud but easily fixed
-Not a speedball gun
Review: Bascily if your willing to put some time and effort into it, this marker can do pretty much what you want it to do. The only real limits are the slow rate of fire and the short range of upgrades. But if you love the wood and especially play the role of sniper or flanker, this gun is great. The adjustable velocity is so nice. No allen wrenches at all. The rifle like feel makes it easier to aim and move with. The strap is great for strapping it to your back and army crawling. No problem with chopping balls, the accuracy isn't 100% but hey, its a paintball gun, the ammo is a round ball, not as aerodynamic as a bullet.
Conclusion: Over all this marker is up there but not in the range of Angels or Cockers. I hate it when people put the Pro Carbine up to them. This marker is pretty damn good for what it does. I think nothing deserves a perfect score because something will always go wrong but if they had a 9.99 id give it that, but Ill bend my own rules a little.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, March 23rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TL+, Autococker
Marker Setup: Tipp Pro/Carbine, 20oz CO2, SmartParts All American barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrell - stock barrel is less accurate then an aftermarket one, and also loud. Once I've flanked the other team, the All American lets me pick them off one by one - without announcing my presence like the stock barrel does.
Strengths: 1. Tough as nails, reliable - shoot this gun all day in crappy conditions (I've used it all winter with snow, damp and mud)
2. It has a rifle stock - I grew up shooting rifles, and I find a rifle stock almost a necessity for me to play paintball well (I don't care for the tommy-gun approach). Besides the stock, the stock placement of the CO2 bottle allows it to be used as a rifle butt. This is good for me, but I'm 6' tall.
3. Not that expensive. I got mine for $142 (just the gun, add 20oz - $3, All American - $84) off the web.
4. If you break paint (I haven't in the one I purchased), this marker shoots itself clean.
Weaknesses: 1. Setup as I have it, it's a long gun - great for woods though
2. Only somewhat consistent fps - I measured between 340 and 302 across five test balls. This can effect your accuracy (duh). I'm sure a regulator would help (again, duh).
3. Many people complain about the trigger pull. It is heavier then many other guns I've shot - but I think it feels like a real firearm (this can be modified anyhow).
4. Few upgrades.
Conclusion: I've played paintball for a number of years - but I took a hiatus until recently. About 20 guys from my office decided to start going out every other week. In playing with them, I was shocked by the changes in marker technology since I last played.

Most of the guys I play with bought Spyders. Two guys have Autocockers - these are beautiful, consistent markers. But. I noticed they had to service them quite regularly (not after every game, but quite a bit). If they broke paint in the barrel - forget about it. Sometimes their guns crapped out on the field.

Based on this experience, when I decided to get a marker, I looked for a highly reliable, fairly inexpensive one. The Pro/Carb has met my expectations in this regard. It is also suitable for my style of play - I play an aggressive game. I am about laying enough covering fire to get the other team to duck, and then movement and shot placement to eliminate someone.

As you've read - I play with chumps, simple tactics and basic shooting skills can win the day. The Pro/Carb is perfect here - cost/benefit.

If/When I get into tourneys - I'm pretty sure this gun will not as appropriate. From what I've read, almost every gun modification is designed to increase ball accuracy or gun consistency. If you can anticipate exactly where a paintball will go when you pull the trigger - you probably have an advantage over the other team.

While there are some modifications for the Pro/Card, there are many more for most other markers - which means you should be able to setup other markers to be more consistent. On this note however, I should mention that I can regularly hit a 1'x1' box on a tree that is 55 yards away from my house (using JT Maxim paint). Not the most impressive stat, but pretty damn good.

Bottomline: If you want a marker for rec and fun - this is a great choice. It has exceeded my humble expectations - hence the 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, February 25th, 2001
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: It is fairly accurate, has good range, and is very durable. Mine is stock and I didn't break any balls with powerball (1000 rds). The sight works well, and you don't have to take off the barrel to squeegee it (Tippmann cable squeegee). The shoulder strap helps when carrying it around. Also, I have heard it is N2 ready, but I don't know. It doesn't need an expansion chamber as long as the CO2 is still a gas or liquid, because the gun can shoot liquid. I would also like to say that YOU DO NOT HAVE TO TAKE OFF THE FOREGRIP TO REMOVE THE BARREL!!!!! Yust loosen the barrel pinch nut and unscrew the barrel.
Weaknesses: When I said it was accurate stock I ment compared to other similar priced guns with stock barrels, but stock barrels usually aren't that good anyway. The trigger pull is heavy (9 lbs.) and the r.o.f. is a little slower than some (7 b.p.s.), but it doesnt bother me. Its also a little big. Upgrades are hard (NOT IMPOSSIBLE) to find.
Conclusion: Overall it preforms pretty well stock and is worth what it costs if you get it for a good price ($150). A longer barrel could improve your range and accuracy a lot. I've heard an expansion chamber will also improve range. You can get a siphon tank that will draw liquid and its supposed to keep the velocity up in cold weather. If you are a newbie you may wan't an M98 Custom, because of flatline barrel, electro. upgrade, Response trigger upgrade, and all the other really good upgrades you can get for the M98 Custom. Please note that I am comparing this gun to other guns in its price range (Spyder, Piranha, M98, etc.)

Durability--10
ROF--9
Upgrades--7
Ball Breakage--9
Accuracy--9
Range--10
Stock Performance--9
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, February 16th, 2001
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: I have to disagree with the other two posters who said this gun has no upgrade path.
Here is a list of some Upgrades listed in order of effectiveness

1. SL-68 trigger spring (Will reduce trigger pull from 9lbs to 3lbs or less. Cost $1.00 from Tippman.
2. Lapco bigshot barrel or J&J Ceramic barrel $50.00
3. AirTipps Custom Hammer (Increases Rate of Fire) $60.00
4. APP Double trigger and 45 frame (Increase Rate of fire more) $75.00
5. Airtipps RVA (Rear velocity adjuster) looks cool $20.00
6. Motorized hopper, needed to keep up with the new fast fire rate of the gun. $50.00
7. Dropforward to shorten the gun. $25.00
7. See WWW.TIPPMANN.COM go to the Forum for more details.
**I now get a burst rate of fire around 12 Rounds per second
**I also get a continual fire rate of 9 RPS, this limiting speed of the motorized hopper, not the gun!
Weaknesses: 1. Super heavy trigger pull, Buy a new SL-68 trigger spring from Tippmann cost is $1.00 (gives you a 3lb trigger pull)
2. Stock barrel is terrible; this is the case with most stock barrels, thatís why high-end guns usually do not supply them.
The Lapco or J&J will fix this. $50.00
3.This gun is long; get a drop forward, and a 12" barrel to shorten it. If you like a long gun, then get a bipod and red dot site, Car15 stock. (looks like a M16/AR15, cool factor)
Conclusion: ***Before you buy this gun, check out the tippmann forum. There are over 10,000 posts, all categorized to help you

http://www.tippmann.com/forum/default.asp

I have owned a Pro/Carbine for 2 years now; it takes a punishing and keeps working in all weather conditions. At our field I often see Spiders/Kingman Paintball guns in the repair shop during games. With 2 quick and low-cost fixes (spring & barrel @ $51.00), this is an excellent gun, particularly for new players who would rather be playing paintball, instead of fixing their guns during game time.

My 2-Cents
Michael
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Zoolou Monday, March 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
4 years2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Tippmann 98C
-Tippmann A-5
-Tippmann A5-A2

Marker Setup: -Tippmann Pro-Carbine, with 14" Thunder Pig Barrel
-Special Ops Commander Vest
-PMI USP pistol, with holster
-Tippmann A5-A2
Recommended
Upgrades:
14" (A-5) Thunder Pig Barrel, Yes you can put a barrel on it, but you must first go into the foregrip and sand a little of the inside down. Makes the gun alot more quiet,and alot more accurate
Strengths: -Durable
-Very light
-Accurate(with thunder pig barrel)
-low profile
Weaknesses: -None upgradeable
-loud with stock barrel
Review: This gun i would recommend to anyone who doesn't care about spending all that money on up grades. To the father, who's son wants to play paintball, but doesn't want to get his son that super fast marker or that cheap $20 gun.

Being that the gun is so light you can travel around the field pulling those fast little pot-shots on the enemy. In my 4 years of having this gun i have NEVER had to clean the insides or oil it! It has never broken down on me, not once! Even though i know i really should oil it, im to lazy.
Conclusion: I would buy this gun if you don't care about those dern upgrades, there over rated anyway! This gun is low profile, and can take a beating. Why do you think the military and law enforcement use it for training purposes?
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (45):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media