paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / MACDev Sonic Cyborg / MACDev Sonic Cyborg / MACDev Sonic Cyborg / MACDev Sonic Cyborg

MACDev Sonic Cyborg Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount MACDev

Buy MACDev Sonic Cyborg

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


MACDev Sonic Cyborg
[ View Photos (9) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 19
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Mac Devs Super fast , light , accurate , and Quiet Tournament Marker
Frame Machined from solid billet 6K grade aluminum, New Sonic Board w/True 35 BPS, Forced, delay or eyes off modes, 30 Minute Battery Saving auto shutoff if no shots detected in those 30 minutes,
straight down stick with center bump trigger with 3 point adjustment, New Sonic Grips, 200PSI operating and 65 PSI cocking pressure,
dual eyes to eliminate chopping, no tools required rebuildable ram, Sonic self lubricating field strip bolt w/ orings, Sonic Clamping mid rise with o-ring retention system, Matchstick 2 piece barrel cocker threaded, bottom inlet bottom adjustable inline reg, Sonic Finger LPR adjustment, 04 red valve, custom solenoid with superfast energizing coil, 9v power source with low battery alarm, Sonic Teflon anti jam detent, Mac Dev gauge (300psi) operating pressure gauge, built in snatch grip, all stainless screws, push button on/off
Product Availability 
The MACDev Sonic Cyborg is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
koolcocker25 Sunday, December 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
04 timmys, dm4s, vikings, e-cockers, imps, cbyborgs, a4 flys, 03 shockers.
Marker Setup: 04 Viking
pandora board
bp no rider
mitey max
jmj razor trigger
check it uni mount
CP barrel kit
68/4500 worrgas system
Empire reloader b
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Extremely light, fast, efficent, consistant.
Weaknesses: $1250 but for the best gun out there. Not bad.
Review: This is one of the best guns i have ever shot. A guy on my team picked one up just after they came out. I shot it that weekend at the field. I really like the sonic trigger compaired to the regular cyborg trigger. It is way faster and way smoother then the original. The gun is very efficent. Roughly 2000 shots off a 68/4500. Comes with a great barrel. Very accurate, ball on top of ball. Very light. Never chops. Over all a great gun.
Conclusion: Great gun. Mac Dev did good on this one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Angel Boy 4 Saturday, December 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
DM5 ND FREESTYLE EGO nothing else is compatible
Marker Setup: Sonic borg
Match sitck
70/45 lp crossy stubb
Recommended
Upgrades:
matchstick and a sonic rebuild kit
Strengths: Fast light breakers efficency like 5000 of a 114/4500
Weaknesses: None
Review: This gun is absultely amaxing it is so fast so light so efficent and mows muppets all over the field i absolutley love this gun i would't trade it for any other gun except a dm5 you better go out and buy one if u have 1250 and are deciding on a gun it is so dman efficent and i absolutely love it
Conclusion: If u dont have one then ur missing out alot
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

paintballin101 Thursday, August 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
dm4, pm5, shocker, timmys, but nothing compares
Marker Setup: trigger, cp on/off, tadeo m5 chip
Recommended
Upgrades:
not a damn thing
Strengths: Accuracy, Efficiency, Light,
Weaknesses: The trigger at first but easily fixed
Review: This gun is awsome. I have been sporting this for a little over a year now and i don't plan on getting rid of it any time soon. this gun gun is extreamly efficient as you have probably already seen in other reviews. now for accuracy with the matchstick barrel kit this gun is ball on ball accurate it. with a combination of 34bps and how accurate it is... enough said. Im just glad im on the other side of the gun.

Just buy this gun i promise even with it being a little older(2 years not even that long) you won't regret it.
Conclusion: It's two years old and i am still sporting this lovely piece of equipment. and the best part is im owning faces with it to. So buy one ive seen them for around 400 now and it's worth every penny. it was worth it when the cost 1200.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JcKa Thursday, June 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
APE'd Tippmann, Game Face Imp, Nasty Imp, Shocker, Promaster, DM4s, PM6s
Marker Setup: Cobalt to White Sonic Cyborg - Grey Reloader B - 7 Piece Cobalt Matchstick - 72ci/45k PMI Stubby w/ NXe Cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
None needed, unless you feel like you should dump money into this, I'd recommend:

-Snakeskin Bolt
-Low Weight Ram Kit
-07 Red Valve
Strengths: -Weight
-Speed
-Snatch Grip
-Looks
-Stock Barrel
-Stock Reg
Weaknesses: -None, will edit later if problem is found...
Review: Okay, I ordered the last Cobalt to White S-Borg in stock, and the total was $770 + Shipping with a matching 7 piece matchstick from PaintballKingdom.com (Awesome Site + Staff). I opened the box, and there in front of me was last week's newspaper. Pretty cool. After flipping through the Business section, I threw off the rest of the paper, and there in front of me was a sexy carrying case, with a big "CYBORG" written on it with the logo above.

This case is awesome. This is 10x better than your stock case. It has really nice foam and the foam is glued to the frame of the case. It has 2 spots for a front and a back of a barrel. The only problem is is that the gun spot has no spot for your ASA/Rail/Drop. Which is a BUMMER! But o'well.

Now, after I threw the gun case on the floor (B/c who cares about the gun anyway), I found another sexy case, labeled MATCHSTICK. The same dealy as the other case, but this housed one of the most beautfill barrel kits I've ever seen. Say goodbuy to this crappy Freak cases and those fugly Pipe Kit cases, and say hello to Matchstick. All four backs, (.685, .687, .689, and .693) had their own spaces, along with the three fronts (yes I said three), a 12", 14", and 16". Now, some of you may see the pictures of the Matchstick and think it is heavy...well you're dead wrong. This barrel is anything BUT heavy. I screwed the .693 and the 16" together, and this thing was 10x lighter than my 12" freak.

Okay, I opened the gun case, and wow. I couldn't stop smiling. The gun glows, and the fade is done perfectly! It is the pinnacle of beauty in my mind, and everything from the jewels of the logos to the eye cover designs were looking perfect. I screwed the 16" barrel onto it and picked it up, and it was super light. Three of these would weigh less than my old imps.

Okay, I turned the gun on, screwed in my tank, and twisted in my halo. The feedneck is amazing, and holds VERY well. After I put everything in and made sure everything was secure, I turned on the ASA and the gun to dryfire. Now, with the board, you must first turn it on. This is in eye mode. Then you must hold it in for a good 3 seconds, until it beeps - Green - Red/Red - Green - Red/Red/Red - Green, and then you're good to go. I started shooting and wow, it was super fast. It could be even faster if I adjusted the trigger.

I went to my friend's house today and shot it, and it was amazing. It roped like crazy, and I went through a 120 balls in under 7 seconds. All I can say is, OMGWTFHAXBBGROFLOBSTER. This thing made me so happy, I couldn't believe it.


EDIT: Played with it for the first time at practice today. All I can say is, NO KICK! I tuned it at the chrono, and there was absolutely zero kick. I was surrounded by pms and dms, and all of the owners were commenting how little kick there was.
Conclusion: Buy this gun. If you're stepping up, or stepping over those other crap guns, get this gun. MacDev makes superior products, they have amazing customer support (free 12 month warranty, whereas SP charges $100), awesome barrel and REG included, and super sexy and fast gun.

Buy it. Please.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, June 17th, 2006 at 5:46 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

halodrainmaker Thursday, April 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Intimidators, Impulses, Ego 6, Angels, Proto Matrix (PM5&PM6), DM5
Marker Setup: Sonic Cyborg with Sonic short rail and Sonic Venting ASA. Best Barrel for the gun is the included Matchstick barrel system. Have installed a Tadao Musashi 5 board. 45/4500 Mac Dev Legionair.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None needed. If you like the modes and configuration of the stock board, fine. I am running the Musashi 5 board out of preference.
Strengths: Consistency
Efficiency
Accuracy
Speed
Weaknesses: A little kick/barrel lift when firing.
Review: I picked it up used to try out the MacDev hardware. I was amazed by the consistency and accuracy of this marker. After several cases of paint, I found that the performance was not a fluke, and this was normal operation for a gun. When running various fire modes, I was able to shoot some dangerously high rates of fire with ease. This marker is scary-fast...

The Mac Dev Cyborg marker is built with the same quality and precision of the Regulators and mod parts that Mac Dev produces. Additonally, the Sonic Cyborg comes with a complete Matchstick barrel system, which is one of the best barrel sets available in paintball.
Conclusion: I have spend thousands of dollars over the years trying to achieve consistency, accuracy, and efficiency like that found in a STOCK Cyborg. The Sonic has all the enhancements that sweeten the deal even more. All the hours of tuning and shopping for mod parts are over! This gun is a true gas-up and go killing machine...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

IwAnNaShOoTyOu Saturday, January 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ego, Fully Upped Impulse, DM4, 2k2 Timmy, Cockers, Dm5, Angels, XSV Ego, Alias Style Timmies
Marker Setup: Blue-Silver Sonic Cyborg w/Full MatchStick Kit and Virtue Board
Fully Upped Impulse
Recommended
Upgrades:
Virtue, NOX, or Tadao Board is a must, pretty much, and trigger, grips, and feedneck are preference.
Strengths: Light
Accurate
Super Efficient
Fast
Sexy Anno + Milling
Easy maintenance
Price
Weaknesses: The board's lack of modes.
Review: This gun is amazing. I have shot or used most high end guns out there and the cyborg has all of them beat.
It has:
The efficency of a VIking w/ 1500+ shots off of a 45/45 tank
The weight of a shocker, and ego.
The accuracy of pretty much any high end gun, but I guess like a DM.
The size of an ego ((height and width are the same, but the ego is longer)
The speed is pretty much of any other high end gun, but it can cycle at 35bps, not that you will ever need it. I have gotten it to 25 bps with a reloader b.
The anno, atleast mine, is like a mirror, trully a beautiful marker, and the milling is not bad either.


The only marker one should consider over this is the new 06 borg! The DM6 and 06 Timmies are nice as well, but they do not have the quality and efficency of the 06 borg.
Conclusion: The only marker one should consider over this is the new 06 borg! The DM6 and 06 Timmies are nice as well, but they do not have the quality and efficency of the 06 borg.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Drift or die86 Sunday, October 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Cyborg, viking, timmy's, angels, FSV7, matrices, NME, you name it, i have shot it
Marker Setup: Blue/silver Sonic cyborg, Tadao M5, 7pc matching matchstik kit, ND 45 45 ADJ, halo b
2004 Bonebrake Viking, tadao M5, frothblade, CCM lowrise, scm, sidewinder, ND 45 45 ADJ, halo b
JR ninja cyborg with lava parts, NOX, sonic claw, sonic bolt, sonic grips, sonic eye covers, sonic trigger, check-it uni mount, ND 45 45 adj, 14inch matchstik, halo b
Recommended
Upgrades:
tadao/NOX
Strengths: Weight, effecientcy, speed, reliability, ease of use, maintaince
Weaknesses: Sonic claw feedneck is not the best clamp
Review: I love this cyborg even more then my regular borg. The color on this is great and it comes stock with everything i upgraded on my last cyborg. I am from north jersey, and we have a high concentration of cyborgs, many unique and rare anno cyborgs like the JR lava borgs, and the camo and ocean borgs of kai. The match stik kit can be matched to your vyborg via PBK and for 120, you get a 7 pc barrel kit that is rivaled by none. This gun is fast, reliable, and effecient. The gun is so easy to set up with the sonic lpr. This is a great gun and you can easily find them on pbn or pbr for 800, a steal since they were 1300 new a few months ago. This marker gets a 10
Conclusion: by this gun while you still can! pbk HAS a few left. the colors are great and you will defineately stand out in a crowd of dm's and timmys with it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sho32 Thursday, September 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
DM4, 05 Angel Speed, Zero B'd Evolution autoococker
Marker Setup: Solid Black MacDev Sonic Cyborg # 0279
NoX
Kila Detents
FBM Original delrin trigger
12" .693 Stiffi Barrel
04 Macdev Conquest 45/45 with 05 Dye rhino cover
Smoke Halo B w/ Victory Board, Rip Drive, Critical drive cone and Shocktech spring
Recommended
Upgrades:
NoX Board
FBM Original trigger
Kila Detents
Cyborg Tool Kit with Ram Gauge
Strengths: Light
Low Kick
Ball on Ball Accurate
Air Efficient
Easy to maintain
Rare
Weaknesses: There is now a totally new 06 cyborg coming out in October
Review: The Sonic Cyborg is THE BEST GUN ON THE MARKET. It amazes me how it shoots better than any DM4, Timmy, or anything. I was at the field yesterday with a friend who has three markers: Dynasty Shocker, DM4, and Karnivor. After his Shocker broke down (haha, typical), he started using the two other guns. He offered to trade guns with me for a game, but I soon realized that the DM4 was less accurate, way heavier, and had more kick. Yes, the marker that is supposed to have no kick has more than a Cyborg. This dude who had three guns would have rather used mine. When maintained correctly, a Borg will have incredibly low kick and ball on ball accuracy. Not to mention that it is the lightest gun I have ever held (lighter than a shocker). They are also very simple and intuitive to maintain, and very easy to tune for maximum performance. Every time I paintball I have crowds of people asking me about my gun. Cyborgs are very rare, and most people have never seen one. Once they hold and shoot it, they love it. I personally am not buying another marker for a long time. I would rather have my borg than a $1700 Nexus Ego. Buy NoX and an FBM trigger, and once it breaks in it will be incredible.

I got mine for $800 from Paintball Kingdom, which makes a Sonic Cyborg one of the best deals on the market for the performance. However, the completely new 06 Cyborg is coming out in October for $1100, so you may want to wait for that. There will probably be a new Sonic in a year or so. Maybe after the 06 Cyborgs come out the prices on the old models will drop, and then you could get it for even cheaper. Regardless of the new model, I am extremely happy with my Sonic and will be keeping it for a long time. Everyone that shoots, or even holds, my gun is extremely impressed, no matter what marker they own.
Conclusion: So, in summary, a well maintained Borg is an incredibly reliable and rewarding gun. Not to mention the excellent pricing! Buy one!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, September 8th, 2005 at 5:45 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

buzzcut33 Monday, September 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse autococker
Marker Setup: MacDev Sonic Cyborg "sunset" #157, MacDev Matchstick 7 piece kit, Empire reloader-b red, MacDev Legion air 68/4500, Tadao Mushashi 5 Board, PBK Delrin Trigger with Magnetic Return
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe Tadao or NOX, A fast hopper, and if you upgrade the board maybe a new trigger with spring or magnet.
Strengths: Accuracy, Efficacy, it is lite, it is small, and easy to clean.
Weaknesses: None
Review: I love this gun I have been useing it all of this season. I have shot many high end guns but like this one the best. I like how it shoots great out of the box. It has many upgrades for it. It shoots ropes. The only time i broke paint in it was when he weather was freezing like below zero and i was useing 3 month old pait that had been opened.
Conclusion: I recomend you go out and by this gun. MacDev knows what they are doing.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media