paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Spectra Flex-8 Mask / JT Spectra Flex-8 Mask / JT Spectra Flex-8 Mask

JT Spectra Flex-8 Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Spectra Flex-8 Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Spectra Flex-8 Mask
[ View Photos (23) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 68
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Behold! The 2005 JT Spectra Flex-8™, the latest evolutionary step in the JT Flex family. This all-new goggle system uses the most widely used goggle and lens combination in the industry (290 degree Spectra 2). The revolutionary exoskeleton frame is created using JT's exclusive state of the art "Dual-Fusion" technology, which allows the system to be structurally efficient while maintaining the softness, flexibility and ventilation winning players demand.
Product Availability 
The JT Spectra Flex-8 Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
A2L Wednesday, September 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month42 of 44 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Scott mask that came with 98c
Extreme Rage Echo 20/20
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98C, J&J Ceramic, Lapco Bigshot, Pen Spring mod, ACI Sub Zero 6 Stage Expansion Chamber, PMI Perfect Drop Forward, Macro Line, Tippmann Vertical Adapter
Strengths: Comfortable
Small
Ventilation
Vision
Light
No Fog
Protection
Foam
Looks
Soft ears
Weaknesses: Shows a little of the ear lobe
Review: Hm. Where to start? Ok, I started off using my Echo 20/20 and thought that the fan was awesome along with the tinted lens. Later i realized that cleaning the lens was a pain as the paint just mostly smeared around and the tint made it hard to see when the sun started going down. Also it has a chipmunk cheek kind of thing going on, not too sleek but was comfy as hell. Left it in my trunk on accident and the ice chest moved over onto it and it warped in the summer heat. Used the scott mask afterwards because i hated how the 20/20 looked afterwards (still useable tho) and didn't have much to complain about that one either, it didn't fog and it protected me... foamed kinda rubbed irritably though sometimes.

Spectra Flex 8. Ok, I loved how this thing looked so I decided to buy it from actionvillage and when it arrived I was amazed at how small it was... thank god i have a somewhat small figure and head. Put it on, and was pretty happy about how comfy it was... it got more and more comfy the more i wore it. Even playing I only felt the backstrap and the foam that go over my eyebrows... the rest of my face felt like there was no mask. So for comfortableness... easily a 9, not a 10 because i'm still aware that i'm wearing a mask..

It's pretty darn small which keeps a low profile which I like sense I've gotten a little better and now try and keep as tight as possible. I don't feel like my mask is as exposed as much as the 20/20 was. It's so small though that the bottom of your ear lobes show. I was worried about this because I removed all my piercings except a vertical industrial that I'm very fond of. The bottom of it is exposed in the back so very frigtened of a hit there... nothing a bandana with some creativity couldn't fix. 7 points.

Ventilation... well, I wore it around the house for a couple of hours and no problems breathing. Played with it and I enjoy moving bunker to bunker, i hate being stuck behind one and just firing... i love flanking so I was a little anxious about how this would hold up (looking at it though, you know it's breathable) and yeah NO problems here. I was breathing hard as hell from constantly moving and it was still fairly cool air around my mouth. 9

Vision is really good. The goggles are very wide... they stop around your temples so your peripheral vision is NOT blocked. You don't have to worry about vision on this thing. It's covered. 9

Light - Not heavy, feels a lot lighter than the darn echo and scott. Not much more to say about that. 9

No fog... ok well I have never had a mask fog up on me except once, the scott mask. We had been playing for like 8 - 10 hours and it started getting dark and the weather dropped drastically... the light was fading so we knew playtime was almost over and by the time it was almost too dark to keep going... it started fogging... so did my friends mask (forgot which one... i'll update this later) so i didn't feel bad. Don't see why the scotts got such bad reviews... anyways, this thing has no, NO, semblance of even starting to fog up on me yet... but I've yet to play from morning to night... I'll update if this changes. 9

Protection... well I don't know what to say... but the ear lobe is the only fault here. I've been hit in the mask and goggles a few times and only felt the impact... didn't eat any paint or anything... just felt something hit the mask. I've had a few bounces off the visor which is pretty good (soft flex) IMO. 8 because of the ear lobe.

Foam - This foam is incredibly comfy. I barely notice it except around the eyebrows once again. Much better than the coarse scott foam and just better than the echo foam (which you may need to clip) so I give this a 9.

Looks, I just love how it looks... all preferance... a 9.

Soft ears... VERY good for me because of my remaining piercing. Just worried in the beginning about the ear lobe.
Conclusion: All in all, this is a very good buy. I think i over paid for it at actionvillage for $59 but I think it's worth every dollar. I don't plan on neglecting this thing like my first mask (echo) which I would sometimes not clean for days at a time... this thing I clean the second I get home and worry about my 98c later. It's not that it looks or feels fragile (far from it, feel the jaw for the echo then feel the spectra... feels MUCH more safer for you) I just want this thing to last a very long time for me. A solid mask that deserves a 9. It's not perfect but nothign is... but it still comes pretty close.

*man i had to go through my post like 9 times to find all the times I swore in it... bleh.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

vurk Saturday, February 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
V-Force Armor - better IMO
Marker Setup: Ion... but thats irrelevant
Strengths: It looks pretty damn cool
Good clear view
Weaknesses: It doesnt do what a mask should
Review: Ok well I'll tell you up front I like this mask. It looks tight in white, and its very, VERY clear lense.


It just doesn't do what a mask is supposed to do. It doesn't cover the ears.

On my second time playing with this mask (SECOND TIME!) I was making a dash for a bunker about 10ft away. Only problem was, I got shot. In the ear lobe. (granted i was shot from 10-15ft away) Not a SINGLE IOTA of paint on the outside of the mask. It was, however, all in my ear and on the inside of the mask. Trust me, it hurts like a.. well I guess you can imagine. Or you will know if you're unlucky as hell. Needless to say, I've been bunkered several times, gotten shot right between the should blades where your spine stick out POINT BLANK, and that pain was nothing compared to this. I was seriously considering going to the hospital after I saw red mixed in with orange and green on the q-tip. (red blood + orange paint + green shell). You will probably not want to play the rest of the day. (i didnt, and thank God i was at a friends house so i could go wash it out in the sink).




Conclusion: Well all in all I'd say if you're not the unlucky type, go ahead and get it. Its $50ish from actionvillage.com, and its pretty sleek looking. Just please, PLEASE consider your ears as targets and make sure not to move laterally across the field.

I'd give it lower because of the ear problem, but everything else is sweet.


... maybe thats why 'pros' always run with their hands up....
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

paintjunkie123 Monday, August 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
about every mask that cost less then $50.
Marker Setup: E-MR1
VL Revolution Eye Force
Java 48/3000 psi Tank
Strengths: Clear
Breaths
Looks
wouldn't take it off if i could get chicks in it.
Weaknesses: Hard to take lenses out.
Review: I broke my review into four part (Looks, Safety, Comfort and Maintenance)

Looks

As far as paintball masks look it seems to vary alot from person to person but for me this mask looks great and since it comes in so many colors you can find what color defines you as a person. i bought the camo one and it looks great and i have had a few people onthe paintball field tell me they likes my mask and asked me where i got it.

So for looks id personaly give it a (10)

Safety

Safety is the biggest thing for me when i go get a mask if i dont feel safe behind it im not going to buy it. i felt realy good about this one when i tryed it on in the store it fit nicely
and it felt like the grill could stops paintballs but still had abit of flex to it so they could bounce off. the only thinkg i found was my ear lobes stick out alittle bit.

So for safety i give it a (9)

Comfort

i cand realy review comfort too much since it vary person to person but i can say the the foam feels very nice... i cant think of much else if it fits you great if not dont buy it?

But for comfort for me (10) all the way

Maintenance

For mask maintenance players only realy worry about two thing cleaning the mask and replacing the lense. for cleaning forget about it easy and can be done with minimum effort. But changin lenses *ouch... that toke forever and i couldn't manage to get it out or in at first but with abit of practice i got better at it.

so all in all maintenance (8) for alittle trouble with the lense set up.
Conclusion: So in conclusion i would recommend this to any player of any skill level. And i hope to see a few more Flex-8's at my local fields soon.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

conch Friday, August 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Jt Spectra, Jt X FIRE, JT Wiper snapper, Scott Badass
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion, SP 14 inch Teardrop barrel, Dye Drop Forward, 32 degrees on/off, Apache Ricochet Loader

PMI Trracer , bottom lined, 12 inch Taso Eliminator barrel
Strengths: Very good looking. Thermal Lenses can be used from Spectra, Proteus masks.
Weaknesses: Small in the ear section. Changing lenses are a PAIN as they use to be.
Review: I have owned my Spectra mask since 1997 so this is a great replacement. It gets the job done and is of good quality. It appears to have holes in it to accept the full head cover if you desire to do that. Its basically an evolved Flex 7 which is evolved from the Spectra mask.
Conclusion: I defiantly recommend this product. It has everything you need to protect your FACE while playing paintball. With the THERMAL lens you will not FOG EVER!!! I have used THERMAL lens in ALL of my JT masks and never had a fog issue. I give it an 8 because JT hasnt really changed it all that much. But its still great quality.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

S/C Splinter Monday, September 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT X-Fire (Elite lense)
Proto Switch (version1)
Marker Setup: KP2SC Pistol Stock
CCI VSC45 Phantom
PGP2k's
Tib8
Strengths: 260* lense (sold everywhere)
Comfortable frame & foam
Low profile top, ears & chin
Accepts JT fans
Weaknesses: Poor quality strap
Lacks the Flex in "Flex8"
Lense change (its love/hate)
Review: I used a rental mask one time...one time and only one time.

From the start I knew I needed a good mask, but like many people I went a little cheep. I started with a JT X-Fire and thought it was pretty nice. The fit was there but the lense change was a pain in the butt. After 3 years of woodsball, speedball, leagues & 6 replacement lenses I decided to step up to the 21st century...So I thought.
I cursed that Proto from day one!!
The only thing I liked about it was the quick change lense.
I used that proto switch for 2 years, never changing the lense since I hated the fit. Time to toss this junk and start over.

The JT Flex8
After ditching JT over 2 years ago I wanted back in, this time I wanted to do it right. I decided on the Flex8 and was very happy with the fit. On my old proto I had to cut foam to keep it from pinching my nose, cut the mouth guard to be able to play tight & pin my strap to keep it tight... The JT fixed the first two problems right out of the box.

Fit: For my face nothing fits better then JT, Just enough foam in just the right spots.
The strap left a lot to be desired, and when compared to my old X-Fire strap felt very thin.
I decided to add my old strap to the mask, I will never go back to a single strap again!
Two straps give more contact area with less pressure, the ultimate in custom fit.

Weight: By far the lightest mask I have ever worn, night and day differance to the proto. Less weight means a better fit (no pressure points) Less slip (I wear glasses) & the kind of comfort that makes me feel like I am wearing ski goggles.

Vision: 260* lense is likened to the proto switch, great vision with glasses. JT thermal lenses work well as long as you use Plexus to clean them & high quality anti fog treatment to keep them fresh. Swapping lenses is a job for the experienced, in a controlled enviorment, with time to do it right. Also since JT lenses are avaliable at many sports stores, hunting stores & pro shops (unlike proto) I know that I can pick up new lenses quickly.

Lowers: There is not really any "flex", at least not yet. Hopefully in time it will break in and soften up a little. The grill consists of a soft base with little "mini blind" shaped vents made out of a stiffer material. Unlike my old X-Fire I can not roll up the grill.


[EDIT 6/12/07]
It has been close to a year and I have found issues with my JT.
I have had to cut out some of the venting to increase breathing, while I do not reccomend it to anyone it has helped. (I mostly play pump games so overshooting is not a worrie for me) The comfort is still there, but I find myself having to bring a 2nd mask to every game I attend. Because of the time and supplies needed to properly remove and clean the lense (I always seem to get paint on the inside) I end up switching to my Proto 1/2 way through the day. I recently picked up a Vents Grilz and so far I am happy with the fit. I plan to have a 2nd strap sewn onto the 1st to mimic the JT feel.




Conclusion: Always try on masks before you buy if you can.
For me JT trumps everything in the fit department & allows for the double strap mod.
Good looks, good fit, great vision, featherweight, avaliable fan (glasses users) & easy access to replacemant lenses all add up to a mask that I would reccomend highly.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 12th, 2007 at 10:46 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ChuckDMac Tuesday, November 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
V-Force Shield
Marker Setup: PMI Piranha
Strengths: Great field of vision
Thermal lens - no fog
Narrow profile
Lightweight
Weaknesses: Incomplete ear coverage
Pinches nose slightly
Difficult to remove lens for cleaning
Review: I play only occasionally, going out a couple of times a year for the past few years. I finally got tired of playing with the low-quality field rental goggles that have tunnel vision and fog up, so I decided to buy my own mask, with field of vision and anti-fog being my primary criteria. I bought the V-Force Shield ($45) and my brother bought the JT Spectra Flex-8 ($60). We traded masks halfway through our game this past weekend to compare and I was pretty impressed with the Flex-8 until I tried to clean it.

Field of Vision: Great field of vision - you lose almost no peripheral vision.

Fogging: The Flex-8 has a dual-pane thermal lens and had no fog whatsoever. We were playing in pretty ideal conditions - about 65 degrees and low humidity in the woods.

Fit: This mask has a narrow profile and is very lightweight, which is good, but it also pinched the end of my nose slightly, which made it slightly harder to breathe and was irritating. Also, it does not have full ear coverage. My entire earlobe was sticking out underneath the mask.

Cleaning: The lens is very securely anchored in the frame. Very securely. A little too securely, if you ask me. There are 7 different tabs on the lens that go through much smaller slots in the frame to hold it in place. Taking them off is a pain and putting them back is even more of a pain.
Conclusion: This is a good mask, but not great. The fit and cleaning shortcomings really affected my review negatively. In my opinion, the V-Force Shield is a better mask for less money. Same great field of vision and no fog, but better fit and easier to clean.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

T69_Slayer Sunday, January 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
JT Proflexs, Vforce Profilers
Strengths: Light weight, looks good, comfortable
Weaknesses: Ventilation
Review: My friend raves about this mask, so I borrowed one weekend and it was doing great until I started sprinting everywhere. It had no fog at all, it covered all of my face and most of my head, so I wasn't worried about catching one right on the jawline, but once we got off the break and I started breathing hard is when I started disliking it. I was breathing and it would disperse all the hot air right back onto my face. Compared to the Profiler of Proflex it sucked. When I ref, I lay down on the field and then it was horrible because the hot air couldn't escape from the bottom.
Conclusion: All around good mask, except for the breathing part, I give it a 7 because it has poor ventilation.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ego-man Tuesday, January 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
v-force
Marker Setup: black planet eclipse ego with silver accents, blue halo with rip drive and Z CODE, redz pepper stiks, and hp dye throttle air
Strengths: Good Looking
Weaknesses: Lenses are hard to change
Lower part of mask is not flexible
Review: well i played with this mask last weekend and ive got to say its a good looking mask. The mask was very comfortable and had a good profile. it did although leave my earlobes exposed even though i have a pretty small head, but no big deal. But what i really disliked about this mask was the difficulty to change the lenses, my thumbs were sore after doing it. I must say i expected it to be easier.
Conclusion: I will have to drop this masks rating down to a seven because the lenses wee so hrd do change but otherwise a good mask.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

TrueBaller Tuesday, July 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Jt flex 7, jt proflec
Marker Setup: 05' realtree camo 45 angel G7, freak barrel kit, 02' E2 cocker, 05' karnivor, 05' blackmagic, 05' angel speed, proto matrix, dye dmc
Strengths: Comfortable, flex, foam is very soft.
Weaknesses: Not as flexible as the proflex, and not as comfortable either.
Review: i tested this product with jt for about a year, i liked it very much, looks are nice, very comfortable, but it is heavier than a proflex, and there is a lot of plastic. *note* Jt is is the works of making a proflex 8 that will have the soft ears. this is the equivalent to a flex 7 the proflex 8 will be an equivalent to a current proflex
Conclusion: Very comfortable, looks mean, breathes very well, made well, they will be available this summer.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

VEX Tuesday, August 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
FLEX 7, INVISIONS, PROTO SWITCH, PROFILERS
Strengths: very breathable, (Didn't pinch my nose shut like my protos), light. . protect fairly well
Weaknesses: They leave a little bit of ear lobe showing.
Review: I'll be honest i don't think these goggles are for everyone. If you got a big head look for something a little bigger like some invisionsor whatever. They remind me of invisions. If you are a flex 7 type of person I think you should probaly look at these when you wanna get a new pair of goggles. People don't like the little bit of space between where the nose is and where it connects to the goggle, Just look inside the mask of the goggle, and you'll see that not much of anything is coming through there.
But again minus the bit of the ear lobe sitcking out they protext pretty well. You also got a good range of vision almost identical to the profiliers. They also vent pretty well compared to other goggles so it doesn't rain insid your mask. Also good thermals to.
You won't take as many bounces as a flex 7 or whatever but i've taken bounces of my invisions and they are more flexible than that.
I'm kinda short and have small ears so it really ain't a problem but they do kinda leave the ear lobe hanging. But if you wear a beanie or a sandana you'll be fine.
Conclusion: Honestly i think you either love them or hate them. I would tell everyone to atleast go check them out especially fronmen, bigger back guys might wanna think twice. I think once you look at them up close you'll like them. But if you are a frontman looking for a good light goggle that protects well i think these are for you. I've been pelted in the face plenty already you know your hit but it doesn't hurt at all.
I gave it a ten cause i just all around like them.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media