paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Spectra Flex-8 Mask / JT Spectra Flex-8 Mask / JT Spectra Flex-8 Mask

JT Spectra Flex-8 Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Spectra Flex-8 Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Spectra Flex-8 Mask
[ View Photos (23) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 68
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Behold! The 2005 JT Spectra Flex-8™, the latest evolutionary step in the JT Flex family. This all-new goggle system uses the most widely used goggle and lens combination in the industry (290 degree Spectra 2). The revolutionary exoskeleton frame is created using JT's exclusive state of the art "Dual-Fusion" technology, which allows the system to be structurally efficient while maintaining the softness, flexibility and ventilation winning players demand.
Product Availability 
The JT Spectra Flex-8 Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
eckoboii17 Monday, February 5th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Jt Elite nvader
Jt Spectra
Marker Setup: vs2 with lucky board and blue eyes
vs red barrel tip and blue body kit
cp drop forward
cp on/off
trinity clamping feedneck
vlocity jr.

Strengths: Comfy
Light
Small
Ear protection
Looks
Foam
No fog
Weaknesses: None
Review:
Vision: Great vision...when playing speedball I didn't feel like I was losing a small spot in my line of vision

semi-flexible protection- I liked this a lot because I can bend the mask with the gun at a certain degree, but unlike the proflexes or flex 7s these probably won't get you bounces. personally, I don't care because I hate getting hit by paintballs in the face because the rubber can't stop the paintballs fully. I got shot two times around the lower part and it provides good protection. If you want bounces and a bit more annoying pain get the proflexes. Protection is a plus in my book

chin straps- wth are these for? seriously these are pointless because if your mask slides down your face the chin straps dont do anything. BUT...this mask has no problem ..its so secure on your face its great
Conclusion: I thnk every one should get one of these masks they are awesome
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 5th, 2007 at 4:16 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ricky_ref Tuesday, September 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
profilers, the dye masks. both of them.
Strengths: Everything
Weaknesses: Ear lobe hangs out
Review: Um i bought this thing like about a while back but yeah. you get the point. this thing is freaking awesome. the mask is so comfortable. you can see everything on the field no matter if your looking in the wrong direction. somehow you can still see with the side of your eye. i cut the top off of mine cause i thought it looked retarted cause there is like a peice of mask that sticks up about an ince where your forehead would be so i made it look like the flex 7s a little bit. the visor works perfectly fine. nothing wrong with that. it is really easy to breath in and it is so easy to talk out of also. the whole team can hear me and i play the back. when i had my profilers it was muffled but now it is super easy to talk. the only problem that i had with it is, that it is labled flex 8 and they really dont flex. it is more like the profiler but way more tucked in. really easy to play in and the lense that it comes in is really antifog proof. like no way in hell is there goin to be fog. super good looking
Conclusion: Buy them!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

STEALTHYTHREAT Thursday, April 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
- VForce Armour - Good entry level (Not comparable)
- JT N-Vader - Not as good as VForce (Not Comparable)
Marker Setup: - 98 Custom
- Cyclone Feed
- Rocket Cock ll
- 12" JJ Ceramic Barrell
- Polished Internals
Strengths: - Low Profile
- Easy Bounces
- Low Fogging
- Extremely Comfortable
- Looks Excellent
Weaknesses: - Exposes a little of the ear lobe
- Difficult to clean
Review: Comfort: 10 - This mask is extremely comfortable. It fits your face like a glove, and doesn't bounce around.

Fogging: 8 - I won't lie this mask will fog up on occasion. When it does, however, it really isn't a big deal though, because once you slow down your breathing, you can literally see the fog dissappear.

Protection: 8 - It does expose a little of your ear lobe, however it does not put you in any physical danger. It offers very good neck protection as well.

Bounce: 9 - If you are shot on the visor or the sides paintballs will bounce off. The only places they will break are the indented front part, and the lenses. This mask is also very low-profile and is very hard to land a good shot on.

Looks: 10 - In my opinion this mask looks really nice.

Conclusion: Overall, this is a great product. If you are willing to pay around $70 for a mask, you will definately get your money's worth.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 13th, 2006 at 2:06 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Domc36 Sunday, January 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
proflex
Dye Invision
V-force morph
Marker Setup: 2k2'd Z-timmy
VLocity
45/45
Strengths: Full face coverage
Adjustable strap
Looks
Doesnt fog (even with stock lense)
Thats about it
Weaknesses: The plastic part on the front.
The un-flexness of it.
thats about it.

Review: Well I went to my local shop to pick up this mask. I also bought a tinted lense and a cash money strap. I took it to the field and I got alot of compliments on it. I also put a MAXS SPORTS stickers on it and a hkarmy.com sticker. There is to things I dislike about the mask. One is the plastic frontal peice, I cut it off. Also the un-flexness of it. The proflex was extremely flexable and I count many bouses off it. But with this mask balls broke on the mouth part and on the ears. Its a great mask hough
Conclusion: All in all this is on awesome mask. I highly recommend it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

shot-on-sight Saturday, November 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Previous flex models, Vforce, Dye masks
Marker Setup: Dye Reflex autococker
Matching 12 in Dye Titanium boomstick
Ricochet Apache (LCD) hopper
Centerflag Mini Inline regulator
WGP front end pneumatics kit
CP dropforward and ASA
70 ci 4500 psi crossfire stubby nitrogen tank

WGP Orracle Autococker (black to cobalt fade)
E1 E-blade
WGP twistlock feedneck
Halo-b w/ rip drive (smoke)
Crossfire 70 ci 4500 psi LP output stubby tank
Dye ultralite (black), or Evil pipe kit
Palmers Fatty stabilizer
CP unimont
Strengths: Looks (IMO)
Size
Weight
Comfort
Weaknesses: None that i have noticed so far
Review: I was looking to upgrade to a new mask when i gave my friend my old Dye invision. While i did love the invision i wanted something that sat a little closer and tighter to my face and was a little smaller. I found what i wanted in the new Flex 8 mask.

---First Impressions---

At first sight the first thing that came to mind was that it reminded me in sorts of a grinning skull (grey model) while some may not like its looks i was imediantly hooked. It looked to be a well designed mask hopefully better than previous flex models (not too much to improve upon)


---Performance---

After removing the visor of the mask (i do this to any mask i own) i noticed that it now looked considerably smaller than when it was still atatched. I tried it on and i was imediantly struck by the wide range of peripheral vision available and the comfort of the foam around the face. The elastic silicone injected head strap kept the mask on comtorably without any sliding. The lense never fogged even in drastic changes in temperature (55 in the morn 90 in the afternoon), humidity or rain. The design of the mask is sort of a dual layer system with the black skelleton over the gray part of the mask that has all the design/detail, suposedly it promotes bounces and flex's well thus the reason for its name. While the front of the mask did not promote any bounces the ones to the side did seem to bounce more than usual, not as good as a vforce morph but still decent enough. The spectra lense was nice and clear, easy to clean and remove and i had no complaints there. This mask defiantly does not move around for example in a particularly close range speedball game i was playing snake and after removing the opposition from the bunker in front of me i got up to run to the bunker he was just in, big mistake, a guy i was playing with was also on his way to that same bumker and before i could dive back into the snake i got drilled 6 times directly in the mask. 1 bounced off the side but the rest exploded all green over my lense. Even adter being hit that much at 25 feet in rapid sucession the mask hardlly budged. The mask also allows for good voive projection and covered every neccasary part of my head well (ears, upper neck, chin, etc)


---Conclusion---

Overall a fantastic mask that offers pretty much the same performance as the invision or other high end goggle systems but for slighlty less, i picked up my Flex 8 for only 65.00, when i payed 84 for my invision. Great value

Overall i loved this mask and
Conclusion: If your looking for a good mask that wont cost more than your gun than this is for you, great overall performance with hardly and hassles at all, the only problem i had was cleaning paint out of the grooves and venting on the ffront and sides but thats not something i really hold against the mask as it only takes about 30 extra seconds to clean them out, just run water through it and wipe it dry. In this category of goggle's the Flex 8 gets a 10 out of 10, great value and performance.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PBplayer1202 Friday, March 21st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flex7s proflex invisions vents spectra line goggles
Marker Setup: * I did have *
SP ion
evy 2
trinity qev
trinity ion body
ND roller wave trigger
trinity slim reg sleve
extreme rage LCD timer grips
SP Q lock
SP max flo _2nd reg before stock ion reg and after tank reg
proggressive barrel

spyder electra (ughh spyders) [bad trade]

custom a5 almost no stock parts

vl orion

stingray II ice

*do have*: 98 custom, one of my oldest guns i kept with, in the attic somewhere

*Just Ordered* red pmr 68ci 3000psi and a halo b with rip
Strengths: Light, comfy, good vision, thermal lens, not to expensive, stylish, good venting, small
Weaknesses: Less ear protection then i want, low fore head
Review: I just picked these goggles up from sports authority for 44 bucks on sale, i went home and tried em on and i have to say these are one of the most comfortable goggles i have ever tried on, the vision is great, very clear, light weight, the only thing i could feel was the back strap and the foam, i tried them on with my raven do-rag and they felt even better, my dad who wears glasses always has a hard time finding decent goggles that fit well over his glasses, he tried them on and they fit him just find right over his glasses. i love these goggles and am very glad i bought them
Conclusion: If you have 60 bucks and are looking for awesome goggles i would highly recomend these to you
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DECIM8 Wednesday, February 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Rental masks
Profiler
Marker Setup: VS2
48/3000 Aluminum N2 tank
Egg 3
16" barrel
Strengths: - Field of view
- Protection
- Comfortable
- Price
- Fits glasses well
- Doesn't fog
Weaknesses: - Could be softer
- Lens removal <--- Big time
Review: I have the woodland camo full "head guard" version of these. I wanted to cover my bald head which it does quite well.

Strengths and weaknesses sum up most of it. I wear glasses on the field so I needed something that would be comfortable with them on. These fit the bill just fine. The lenses only fogged a little when it was cold and humid. I live in the greater Seattle area so "cold" is about 40° F and "humid" is it just rained but isn't raining. A buddy with profilers was fogging to a point he could no longer play but he was sweating like a pig so take that with a grain of salt. My glasses are a fogging problem with these and every other mask I have ever used so I ended up getting the JT Vortex II fan which works well and installs easily. The switch is accessible through a hole that is already in the visor so upgrading to a fan is insanely easy. Not many masks out there in woodland camo so props to JT for making a great woodsball mask. Coverage is great for me, my ear lobes do not stick out as others have complained of and my chin is covered. This mask is very comfortable, I can wear it all day no problem. It could be definitely be softer to promote more bounces but I am a recreational player and this isn't huge for me. My boddy's profilers are much softer and he gets bounces where I can't think of ever having one bounce.

My one real complaint is that the lens removal is an absolute pain in the posterior with this mask. Other masks on the market are much more easily taken apart and hold just as securely. In the life of mask you are going to have to take out the lens at the very least once or twice. More than likely a lot more if you switch out lenses for different conditions. If you do or plan to switch out lenses often I would look elsewhere for a mask. It is that big of a deal, especially when compared to other masks and the only reason I gave this mask the score I did.

Conclusion: Buy it if you are going to stick with a lens till it wears out. Buy something else if you are going to be switching out lenses. You might be able to get used to doing it but why when there are better solutions available to you at a similar cost.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fucasmau Friday, January 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Proflex
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
SP feedneck
Dye On/Off
Qev 360º
Lucky Unitech 14' barrel
Vlocity
Strengths: Small
Comfortable
Light
Pretty Awesome
It DOES what a mask's supposed to do
Breathable
Weaknesses: Nothing yet
Review: Well a friend let me used his flex 8 and i loved it. it's really light, very breathable, and has a killer look. I bought one for me, and tryed it. Exactly like my friend's, it fitted perfectly, wich is a big deal for me, since I wear glasses. I've read other reviews that says that this mask doesn't protect your ears, i don't think so. Last week I was playing at my local field, and I was bunkered, the guy shot me 5-6 times in the ear and neck, the mask protected my ear like it was supposed to. My neck stills hurt tho. If u are getting shot in the ears, maybe u have big ears, or u are using it wrong. The only thing that I think I would change in this mask is the lense. I don't like clear lenses, with the glasses looks weird. I will get a chrome one soon.
Conclusion: If u want an inexpensive mask, tough yet comfy, i advise you to get this one, trust me, you will not get disappointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

stangdude22 Sunday, January 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Bottom line JT
Marker Setup: MINI
ANS 68/4500
EVO3
Strengths: Very comforable, far better than any I have tried. Lens' have yet to fog up.
Weaknesses: Needs more ear protection
Review: I got this because I hated the one I had with a passion. I love the flex8! feels like your wearing a set of googles and thats it, doesnt muffler the sound, very good range of vision, VERY comfortable.
Everyone says their ears stick out... Mine stick out about 1/4in. Nothing Im going to worry about.
EDIT: got shoot in the ear lobe... That hurts a bit...
Conclusion: I recommend this to everyone I play with who hates their mask. Best 60$ I have spent on paintballing so far.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 28th, 2008 at 7:48 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

A5 for life :D Saturday, January 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
nvader, crappy jt that i got for free
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5:egrip,j&j edge barrell kit,remote, jt flex 8
Strengths: comfortable
looks sexy :D
sturdy
great vision
affordable
Weaknesses: Flex?
Review: I got this mask from sports authority for $50 and i am very impressed with it. it fits as comfortable as a proto switch mask and i love the soft foam that is very comfortable. it is also very secure on your head and there is no need to us the little clip strap i recomend this mask for people who dont want to spend $90 for a e-vent even though this mask is almost as good as mask twice its price.
Conclusion: Great mask
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media