paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / WDP Angel Air A.I.R. System / WDP Angel Air A.I.R. System / WDP Angel Air A.I.R. System

WDP Angel Air A.I.R. System Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount WDP

Buy WDP Angel Air A.I.R. System

Paintball Air Systems and Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


WDP Angel Air A.I.R. System
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 34
Average Rating: 7.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $499

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The a.i.r. is a 4500-psi electro pneumatic digital regulator. It is supposed to have the best performance, consistency and reliability in a paintball regulator. The a.i.r. uses sensors to constantly monitor the pressure in your tank while a tiny microprocessor calculates the number of shots you have left as well as the output pressure and the gas remaining in your tank. At the touch of a button the a.i.r. will allow you to easily scroll through the regulator's functions. To check on status of your tank pressure, output pressure or shots left. The a.i.r. comes complete with a dual approved D.O.T/HSE ergonomic 68cu.inch composite cylinder including the "Lok-Sok" grip enhancer for maximum control and a universal mounting bracket to fit most markers available today. It also includes a standard ASTM rupture disc; a low-pressure safety vent and a low profile fill nipple with integral nipple cover.Whatever marker you shoot the a.i.r. will give you the opportunity to experience the style, quality and performance of the universes first electro pneumatic paintball regulator.
Product Availability 
The WDP Angel Air A.I.R. System is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
mikesteel Friday, January 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
PURE ENERGY AIR SYSTEM
Marker Setup: STOCK ANGEL LCD & STO COCKER WITH PURE ENERGY REG & ULTRALITE BARREL.
Strengths: Looks are high tech(yet becoming outdated.)
Weaknesses: 1.Way too expensive!! No on/off!!!!!!! 2. Need allen keys. 3. Too complicated!!!
Review: Aalways read instructions. This system looks good yet the style is becoming outdated and not worth the price. There may be a place for this system if the regulation is as good as they say yet how would you test it accurately without a laboratory and a P.H.D.?? How would you test your other air systems or compare them without taking into account your marker, secondary reg, seals, valves etc.
Conclusion: There may be a place for this air system in specific setups, but this system seems overpriced and definently could be more user friendly. i am not very excited about mine.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, May 17th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ACI Bulldog
Marker Setup: Angel 2001 BlueHaze, Angel A.I.R, View Loader 12V, Freak Barrel
Strengths: It looks really cool and it works really well. I like the LCD screen and the digital numbers. And it is made by WDP so you can get it fixed at WDP's stands for free.
Weaknesses: No back light at the LCD screen. Can't turn the air "off". This is my secons A.I.R, the first one hade no broblem but this on I have now is leaking a bit. If I have 2000psi then after a week it is empty.
Conclusion: I like it and I think it's the best tank I have had so far. Instead of WDP making new Angels all the time they could make a new A.I.R.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

OrracleOwner Thursday, August 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
When it works it is in a league of its own
Marker Setup: Black to silver matte fade orracle(AWSOME FINISH!!!), WDP Angel air system, Richochete 2k.
Strengths: Regulates air well, good looking, has a LCD.
Weaknesses: Leaks(explained below), sort of heavy(nothing to cry about)
Review: When I first got this regulator I thought I was set, I thought I would never need a regulator ever again, if your thinking about getting this reg and you are thinking that....THINK AGAIN! Yes, I have to admit when it works it does work very well..but it hardley ever works. I go to tournaments I get all my stuff set up I go to fill this up and it starts leaking out of the fill nipple every single time. So I go back to my staging area I empty the pressure I take the fill nipple off replace the O-rings put it back together and prey to god that it dosnt leak (Most of the time it does leak again but every now and then I get luckey and it works!!!). My friends steel 45 ci 3000 psi PMI tank works a hell of a lot better than this reg does and if you get a good sencondary reg for it then it works just as well as the angel air does when it works.(RECOMENDATION:Get a fixed tank with a secondary reg!)
Conclusion: Dont get it.........Just dont you will spend more time fixing it then playing with it...Thats a garentee
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

freeflowepblue Wednesday, March 6th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pure energy 68/45, Max-flo 88/45... no comparison but the maxflo is almost as consistent
Marker Setup: 2k1 Version 2.1 Silver Warped sportz Dark angel LCD with, 10" ID boomy (.690), new designz delrin bolt, intellifeed, and 45/45 angel air and 68/45 angel air
Strengths: There is no comparison when it comes to consistency... ive never had a spike, and the most drop-off ive had is -3, then i got a gas thru grip, and ive never had more than -1. Its the best bottle if you need to be able to shoot 299 every time, but if you dont need that kind of consistency, then dont get it.
Weaknesses: *Its very tempermental... you have to be careful with your output, because itll leak out the exhaust valve. They say not until 800, but its more like 725-750.
*Theres no on/off... in order to de-gas your gun you have to back the pressure all the way out to zero, then re-adjust it every time you play.
*Its EXTREMELY expensive... $550-$600 bucks most places... and for that kind of money.. you just shouldnt go through the trouble.
Conclusion: Its performance and consistency is unmatched... but i think the bads level out the goods. Dont buy this tank unless you need to be able to shoot 295-299 without any spikes. If it were up to me i would have bought a geddon or a max-flo, but our sponsorship wont allow it. I give it a 9, just because the consistency is unbelieveable. But in order to get the maximum performance, you need to get a gas-thru grip, because all the reg does is interfere
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mike VC Monday, August 12th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
AA Apocalypse 2K
AA Armageddon
Marker Setup: Blue FLY IR3 (Opta-Switch) with Lesbian Kiss 45/45 A.I.R., Dye Volumizers, Cobra Flat IR3 Trigger, Freak System, and a Halo

Blue Dye Ultralite Cocker with ORRacle 3-way, Messiah reg, 45/45 Apocalypse 2K, Dye Drop, Freak System
Strengths: -Consistent
-Matched for my IR3
-WDP's tech service is amazing... At the Diablo IAO last week they not only gave me the A.I.R. for wholsale cost, but swapped my board for the the new Opta-switch which they really aren't supposed to do (Thanks Elizabeth and Owen...see you at World Cup)
-I paid $450 for this air system and didn't have to pay tax
-The Calc feature is cool
-The guys (and girls) at WDP are really cool and will work with you especially at large events.
Weaknesses: -Well the A.I.R. LCD doesn't have a backlight so it doesn't match the gun's LCD. But then again, is this that important??
-Heavier than the Apocalypse 2K (more consistent though)
Conclusion: If you have an Angel, you should own this air system. If you don't have an Angel, you should still own it. I'm one of the only guys on my team that shoots an IR3 (the other guys shoot Race Freeflow cockers) but most of us have the WDP A.I.R. system.

And to the guy below who rated the A.I.R. a 1 based on price, you are an idiot for paying $600 for an air system. Get a sponsorship and don't Flash fill the Angel Air. That is why you are having the O-Ring problems. Another little suggestion would be to learn about pressure theory and air system design before you attack products with your pathetic 2 years of paintball experience.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kwheezy2000 Saturday, January 24th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Center Flag hyper flow
Marker Setup: Red 2k2 vert feed autococker- raced, Orracle tickler reg, Sto ram, SS freak insert set, Halo B dyed to a redish-clear
Strengths: nothing that I could notice
Weaknesses: If you look at it wrong it will break
Review: I got mine new, and when I went to fill it up I told the guy that was doing it to be very careful and fill it slow. I took down the output pressure, and did all the neccesary precautions so that it wouldn't blow, and guess what, i leaked like a pregnant woman, I rebuilt it once, because I thought that that would fix it, but it didn't, so i rebuilt it again, sold it and got me a nice centerflag. Best move I ever made
Conclusion: This thing will break like a Ford, avoid it like the plauge
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, July 3rd, 2001
 
1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Looks great, very good psi release, very consistent flow rate. There are cheaper ones out there that do the same, are lighter and cost less.
Weaknesses: TOO EXPENSIVE for waht it is. Needs to have the digital gauge turn on when the buttom is pushed and stay until it is turned off or the psi stop changing for 5 min. As it is in a game if you want to see the left over PSI you push the buttom then wait 15 sec. and by that time your back playing and when you look down again it is off. Very heavy. WDP sucks for not coming out with a good drop forward cradle. Had to make a custom off set out of a KAPP Drop zone II.
Conclusion: I would not buy one again. To much money, no cradles, heavy, on/off issues with read out. CenterFlag is the way to go.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mrscott Saturday, June 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Crossfire Screw-in (worked good, but had the regulator go bad)
Centerflag Screw-in (Also worked good, but wanted to use tank on the Angel air and this regulator sheared off at the threads, so I didn't get to use it much)
Marker Setup: Custom Built Freeflow Lotus E-blade Cocker
CP Long Regulator
Belsales .44 magnum ram with Q.E.Vs
Macdev Sonic LPR
Eblade 1 with Zero-b
Halo B with S4 drive cone and V35 board and custom LI-ION setup
Evil Pipe Kit
Strengths: Very Consistent, well balanced and rebuildable.
Weaknesses: Price, prone to over pressurization and OOP(out of production)
Review: I picked this regulator up on ebay for 100 dollars, this was not including the tank. I probably wouldn't have paid much more for it, but I have enjoyed it very much to this day.

I had it rebuilt by PB Sports in FT Wayne Indiana since I've noticed them to be the best Angel Techs in the surrounding area. The only fault I've really noticed is that sometimes if you don't turn the output to 0 PSI before filling it has a tendency to blow the main seal. This can be a detriment at tourneys when the fill stations are sometimes far from your gear and you don't bring tools with you on the field.

Actually using it is a cinch, just hit the button and the first readout shows you how much PSI is remaining in the tank. The second option is a next to worthless shots left counter. I say it is worthless because of the amount of shots it actually takes to calibrate it. The third option is your actual output, it displays LO-P until you start to feed air until the marker. It goes up in very smooth increments as to be able to fine tune your marker. I find this very helpful for my cocker, but for other markers may not be as big of an issue. I've never had an issue with shoot down or not being able to keep up with my marker(s) otherwise. My brother in law also owned one and has never had a problem either.

This is a heavier regulator than most, but I'm a bigger guy and appreciate the balance it gives my marker.
Conclusion: All in all I would recommend this regulator if you want something unique and eye catching. As someone else stated, unfortunately you cannot adjust the regulator electronically. I also would like to have had the option for a guage, because it sometimes takes 2 seconds for the tank readout to come up and in a firefight you can't take that long.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

snypamonkey Tuesday, August 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
aci bulldogg 3 ----slightly heavy, leaked
crossfire --- only tested
Marker Setup: gen-e 2k3 trix
cp trigger
dm4 grips
red bolt kit
trinity lpr
ndz breech knob
boomstick
toredo reg
angel air
Strengths: Lcd display
Efficiency
Weaknesses: Kinda heavy
On/off
Price
Review: Well the angel air system is pretty good and stuff, has a nice lcd display and is efficient, but it is kind of heavy and damn expensive, (I got mine used for a great price though), and the on/off is done with an allen key so its not as great as say, a push bvutton or switch.
Conclusion: Overall great product, but pretty expensive.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

negativeimpact Sunday, July 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none really
Marker Setup: WGP Trilogy Comp. autococker, 88ci 4500 psi WDP compressed air, empire dropforward, everything else is stock(for now)
Strengths: never run out of air
LCD display is pretty helpful
Weaknesses: Can be a little heavy (build up some muscle)
none really
Review: I bought this from a close friend for about $200 this is very good considering it was only slightly used and for me to go buy one even offline it would be almost $600. So anyway, when I first got this on my cocker it looked frikin awsome and I was so excited so I started shooting in my backyeard. It was pretty cool, way more powerful than before. So I use it for about 3 more months and have no problem but then I go to a field with some friends and its time to start to I turn the air flow on and gas the gun up. We didnt have a ref that game so we just called the game. 3....2....1....go go go go go! I take off to my first bunker and fire about 3 or 4 shots all of a sudden BA!!!! my tank just starts leaking air like nothing else. I get out of the game and find out that no place around my area could fix the tank cuz they werent certified angel air techs. So after a little web surfing I find a site that will give my tank a full servicing (o-rings changed, seals cleaned, etc etc) so I end up paying $70(not bad) and get my tank back good as new. The point of the story was to show that if something happens to the tank there might not be a good chance of going to your local shop or field tech and just having it fixed on the spot. You might have to send it in like I did. So this tank isnt bad, I like it a lot, It can be a little heavy but I have a nice drop forward the makes it way closer to the gun and balances the weight really well.
Conclusion: Not a bad tank but keep in mind you may end up sending it in sooner or later if you need it serviced, inless you live near a certified angel air tech. So i give it a 8, maybe an 8.5 for the trouble I had to go through to fix it and for the weight but I guess the weight is an expected thing when your tank is 88ci and 4500 psi.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media