paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Spectra Flex-8 Full Headshield / JT Spectra Flex-8 Full Headshield / JT Spectra Flex-8 Full Headshield

JT Spectra Flex-8 Full Headshield Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Spectra Flex-8 Full Headshield

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Spectra Flex-8 Full Headshield
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 23
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The JT Spectra Flex-8 Full Coverage completes the next evolutionary step in the JT flex 8 family. This coverage addition to the flex-8 comes directly from extensive focus groups from the field owners and mid-level players. The latest evolutionary step in the JT Flex family. This all new goggle system uses the most widely used goggle and lens combination in the industry (290 Degree Spectra 2). The revolutionary exoskeleton frame is created using JT's exclusive state of the are "dual-fusion" technology, which is allows the system to be structurally efficient, while maintaining the softness, flexibility and the ventilation winning players demand.

The integrated soft ear protection and increased venting, for better communication, makes the insert-molded vents the ultimate in color and protection; their rotated placement is directly related to the maximum deflection angle. With the JT Spectra Flex-8 offering a "smaller target" to your opponent than previous spectra systems and maintaining the ability to accept the vortex ii fan and other popular JT accessories, this latest JT goggle system is destined to take its place in the JT hall of fame!
Product Availability 
The JT Spectra Flex-8 Full Headshield is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
camowoodsman Friday, August 27th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Scott
Vforce
Rentals
Marker Setup: BT 4 w/Rebound Trigger and BT Rip Clip
Alpha Black
Strengths: Stylish
Comfortable
Great Field of Vision
Great Coverage
Doesn't Appear to Fog
Good Camouflage
Weaknesses: Haven't Found Anything Yet. Could Be Tough to Clean
Review: This mask is very comfortable, fits very nicely and I wear 7 5/8 for a hat size. I think it is as close to wearing no mask as you can get, which is strange because it covers more of your head than any other mask. I haven't actually played in it, but I wore it around the house for four hours while I did ever day stuff like cleaning, playing COD, and even working out. I play tomorrow so I will update then.
Conclusion: Very impressed so far with my purchase and I can't wait to use it in a real paint ball situation.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lilmatt26 Saturday, April 11th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT flex 8
Marker Setup: Getting an ION
Strengths: Full, durable, easy to clean and take apart , anti fog lenses are great ,easy takeoff
Weaknesses: Nothing really execpt that it is really hot after a long use and really sweaty
Review: Great mask especially for the price which is decreasing , though one mistake if u dont play woodsball dont get the camo it looks bad in speedball, though u can spray paint it silver like i did it looks crazy.The greatest thing about this is probably the protection especially if u dont want paintballs on ur head like i do its not as fun as the body.
Conclusion: I think anyone who doesnt play speedball especially outdoor should get this and the camo version is great for woodsball.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Merc4Hire Saturday, December 6th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
About all of the spectra masks, Scott masks, Dye I3, Proto masks...

I own a bunch of proflexes, a couple of proshields and a flex 7 or 2. I often exuip a bunch of people and help run events, so I have had experiences with most of the stuff out there, except the vents masks.
Marker Setup: Orracle with belsales ram and qev's, E2 (and 420 trigger mod sometimes for messing around) slik bolt (I love this), ccm aluminum pump arm, etc.

I think I own 13 or 14 cockers most of which are pretty much maxed out, so that pretty much covers it.
Strengths: It's full head for those that like it. pretty comfortable, spectra.
Weaknesses: Heavier, a big pain to clean, mine had a defective lens.
Review: I like this mask, because sometimes I get headaches from my mask strap. Even with very low tension. I can wear this with the strap way looser and it stays in place. Also, occasionally the extra coverage is nice. The first time I wore this, it was handy because I took a string of maybe 18 shots to the ear area at about 10'. People winced when I walked by. If I had been wearing any other mask about six more of those would have hit bare skin. (six did) and having the other six hit on top of each other over the foam earpiece would hurt somewhat.

I mostly bought this mask to loan out, and it is nice to have a mask for girly-girls and guys who are afraid of being shot. I often supply equipment to 10 or more newbies when I play.

Another plus is that you can permanently remove the full head part and then you have a normal flex 8. I got mine about $20 cheaper than the normal style flex 8 right when they came out. (I think I payed $40 and since they were new to the market flex 8's were $60+ everywhere at the time.)

If you want extra protection then this is nice because it has a spectra lense. most other full head masks are for newbies and come with small single pane lenses. Also this mask fits a pretty large range of head sizes.

If you want a light mask and think a full head mask is too wussy, why are you even reading a this review. Get what you like. I normally wear a proflex which has soft earpieces, and have no problems with that.

Cons, heavier. the angled vents are a real pain to clean. I have to go at this thing for 8 or 10 minutes with a dish brush, and there are still places I miss. That gets kind of old. and if you have to take the lens out, it is a huge hassle. Spectra is a really good lenses, but I have seen about 3 fail due to gunk getting though the gasket between the thermal layers. If you get a shot to the face that puts a lot of goo into the soft channel that holds the lens, you better take the whole !@#$%^& apart and clean it or you will probably be getting a new lens. Once crud gets past that gasket, it's done.

also, while this thing is flexible, don't count on getting bounces. it maybe will do a little better than an invision, but it isn't anything like a proflex or a flex7 (or flex7 IZE)

Specific cons. to my mask mine had a defective spectra lens. the Gasketing between the layers of lens was messed up from factory, which caused fogging and eventually, the inner layer came loose. I have had lots of good luck with spectra thermal lenses and this is the only one that has ever had a fogging problem. at first I thought it was caused by the mask not directing breath out, but I didn't notice the lens problem until I had owned it for a while.
Conclusion: I give it an 8 the mask is comfortable and does what it is supposed to. The flex adds comfort and pseudo Dye style. I am not taking points away for the defective lens, because I think it's a fluke. I have had lots of good luck with my spectra masks and own about 10 of them.

If you want a full head mask I would recommend you get the new QLS Carnivore headshield, because it has a bigger thermal lens that can be easily released to be cleaned. It is about the same price when I looked online

I would choose this over any Elite Headshield masks, especially single lens. they are much smaller in size, and lens, and feel cheap and plasticy. I would only buy one of those for a kid with a small head, and then only the thermal version.

I don't know of any other full head masks to compare.

Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

F1R3STORM Tuesday, February 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Rental masks
Marker Setup: Spyder MR2
Qloader
Apex Barrel
Special Ops Commando Stock
Remote Co2
Strengths: -Full head coverage
-Comes in camo
-Fog reduction
Weaknesses: -Limited Colors
-Small
-Don't know when you're hit
Review: After getting shot in the head about 9 consecutive times resulting in an instant severe headache at ION, I decided I would need something that protected my head. After a little searching I found this helmet and fell in love and ordered it. I have a relatively big head so it barely fits but is still comfortable, if you do have a big head I can't see having much hair and still having this fit. I've only played a day with this but it's very nice to not have your mask shift around when you're running and diving.
Conclusion: All in all it's a very nice mask, I think it's advantages overrule it's few weaknesses also I wish it went a little lower in the chin and ear areas, but I'd still recommend it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Foofighterr Friday, November 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Traditional front coverage only masks
Marker Setup: -Tippmann A5
-BT-M16 Apex Barrel
-BT-Adjustable Stock
-Tippmann-X7 Hopper
-Ops Gear-Remote Line
-Ops Gear-Tac Vest
-Pure Energy-48CU HPA Tank
Strengths: -Full Head Coverage
-Can't slip off of your face
-Intimidating Look
Weaknesses: -Can be hard to clean all areas of the mask
-Hot in the summer
Review: This was my first paintball mask and I chose to buy it instead of the rest because of it's unique full head protection. I was not disappointed with what I got.

The mask fit me perfectly and since it covers your whole head it fits much better than most other paintball masks will. It can't slip down when your running or diving for cover. People will start to know that you are the guy or girl with the cool looking mask.

This mask saved the back, and side of my head from plenty of what would have been pain full hits. I am sure everyone has been hit on the top of the head before and know what that felt like. With this mask that is a thing of the past.
Conclusion: I strongly recommend this mask for any woods ball players. It not only fits better than traditional masks, it also provides the most protection. Wont be going back to traditional masks any time soon!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jedi mike0 Friday, November 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
V-Force Profiler. If it's a good mask you're looking for, I recommend you get a V-Force Profiler and get a hat/some kind of head covering.
Strengths: Head protection
Great field of view
Weaknesses: Fogs like there's no tomorrow
Extremely hard to get lens in/out
Review: I got this mask last year in November. When I first got it, I admired the way it looked. When I tried it on I noticed that it was a bit uncomfortable on the ears, and it didn't cover my whole ear. There were some soft spots showing just below my ear and let me tell you, it SUCKS to get hit right there (trust me, I know). When I first tried it, it fogged like crazy. I've played a bunch of times with it and almost every single time, it fogs. It's great for protection on the top of your head. You just can't feel it when it hits you there. It's also a bugger to take out the lens and clean the crevices where your lens goes in at the end of the day.
Conclusion: Overall, I recommend getting a V-Force Profiler or Vantage, and just wearing a hat backwards underneath, or a bandanna or some kind of head covering.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Friday, November 2nd, 2007 at 1:22 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

flec Monday, October 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: BT-4 Banshee + Halo tsa lcd Frontman hopper + 20 oz co2 + remote line + apex
Strengths: Very Comfortable
No fog
full head protection
looks (personal optinion)
Weaknesses: Haven't found one yet
Review: Just a quick review, bought this, extremely happy with it. Not fogged, but have had lots of beads of sweat run down the visor a few times. Not fealt a thing when been shot in the head. Its true that it has limited ear protection and your jaw will pop out while shouting, simple, dont shout, and never been shot near the ear so not a problem
Conclusion: Definitely, if you want protection, go out and buy this now, worth every penny i spent
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Terminator 2 Monday, September 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Jt headshield, Jt proteus, z loader, Jt elite, another Jt green on top black flexiable bottom (sorry I can't remember the name)
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5, e-grip WAS, Saw stock JCS trigger, Qloader, Werks and Qloader barrel, remote disconnect.
Strengths: Small target, comfortable, looks good,
Weaknesses: Small for some people. Doesn't cover much if any neck like some others.
Review: I was looking at the Jt headshield my friend told me it was very uncomfortable. So in looking around at the time the only other full coverage I found was this one. I bought the camo and I will also be buying the black/grey in the future for speedball. I agree with other reviewers about the size. In the pictures it looks considerably bigger but fine for me. The foam is comfortable for me way softer than a used headshield I tried and a smaller target for others to hit. I think this mask looks rather aggressive. On the downside: the size leaves your neck really exposed. I'm still looking for an adequate neck guard to fill the gap. This thing fogged up on me really bad only once but others at the same game were having the same issue. I also do not have the proper lens cleaner. Hopefully a good fog solution will help.
Conclusion: I recommend this mask to someone who's looking for a full coverage and doesn't have an xlarge head.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pntmadman554 Saturday, May 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
A rental
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot ACS
Halo Hopper
Redz Pepper Stick
Strengths: It has good coverage. It's also bouncy so almost nothing breaks on it.
Weaknesses: It fogs and dosen't cover back of the head well.
Review: This is a great mask. I bought it online and have been very impressed. It looks scary too. It is so comfortable I wore it around my house because I forgot i was wearing it. If I were you I would buy this mask right now. It is incredible. It was only $50 too.
Conclusion: This is sick nasty mask. I play mostly XBall and it hold up well.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 19th, 2007 at 3:34 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

spydertrooper Sunday, May 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
The lower model headshield from JT and other JT Goggles.
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-R
Stiffi 16" Barrel
Orange Bolt
Custom Trigger
Motionless Hopper
Speed Valve
Strengths: No Fog
No hot hats
Weaknesses: Its Not FREE
Review: Its great I reccomend them for anyone playing paintball that needs more head coverage. I think you can hear better with the full helmet than you can with just a mask because of the way it sits on your head. Its very flexible!!!! I reccomend the yellow tinted lenses for any type of outdoor play. I have been kicking butt in woods ball with this color.



As long as it fits you correctly, this, in my opinion is one of the best setups for under 60 bucks. Some people said that it didnt cover your neck very well? It is a headsheild right? Not a neck sheild?
Conclusion: BUY IT! No point in getting shot in the back of the head if you dont have to..... right?
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media