paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto 1 Piece Barrel / Proto 1 Piece Barrel / Proto 1 Piece Barrel

Proto 1 Piece Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto 1 Piece Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto 1 Piece Barrel
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 71
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $44

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Increasing your gun's performance has always been a must, and having an accurate barrel is number one. Our Proto barrels are made to the highest quality standards and are ultra accurate.
Product Availability 
The Proto 1 Piece Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Mr_Paintball Monday, February 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Piranha R6 8'' barrel (piece o' crap)
Marker Setup: Piranha R6
14'' proto one piece barrel
Smart Parts Delrin Bolt
Recommended
Paintballs:
ZAP (not bad but cheap)
PAG (only in Alberta)
Strengths: Good Looks
Super Accurate
Very Rugged
Weaknesses: None
Review: Well, this is the first aftermarket barrel that i have bought and i must say that it is awesome. Firstly, the price is not too bad at 50 dollars Canadian. I was on a tight budget so this was a perfect choice. Secondly, The barrel is deadly accurate. I was shooting 5 inch groupings at 50 yards(with no wind). If you play bush ball like I do then this barrel is for you. Its a rugged barrel and after numerous crashes and bumps into trees and obstacles alike, the finish has not worn or scratched. If your on a tight budget and are tired of your crappy stock barrel, this one is for you
Conclusion: Very good product. Cudos to Proto
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

snoboarder8232 Monday, July 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Pipe kit
Empire
UL
Stiffi
Random stock barrels
Marker Setup: ICD ProMaster with ups
Recommended
Paintballs:
$35 Shrapnel is all i got to try so far. (they worked great)
Strengths: Insanely accurate
Quiet
Looks
CHEAP
.690 bore
light
Weaknesses: I don't know what to do with the extra money I saved.
Review: I dunno if it was just good paint to barrel match, but this is the most accurate barrel i have ever used, no joke. I was using $35 paint, and i was amazed at how well it did. This barrel cost as much as the box of paint i was using, wow. Didn't get a single break all day! It's nice and quiet (soooo quiet compared to my old pipe). Accuracy was about a 2 in radius from about 50 ft. The people at Dye/Proto picked a great bore size too, it fits allmost all paint. (unless it's oversized crap)

Have an questions, just ask.
Conclusion: Stop reading this review and go buy this!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 24th, 2006 at 2:39 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbfanatic967 Monday, December 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Progressive
Empire Barrel Kit
Marker Setup: Bushmaster B2k PDS Red to Black Fade
Lapco Drop Forward
Check It On/Off
Black Macroline Kit
CP Reg.
Check It Clamping Feedneck
Proto 1 piece 14in. red
Halo B
48/3000 HPA
Recommended
Paintballs:
X Balls, Evil, Even some cheap brands
Strengths: Very light weight, nice anodizing (mathces my red gun!), accurate, nice looks, cheap
Weaknesses: None
Review: Well, i was on a tight budget so i put this barrel in the cart, about 25 dollars. I heard it comes stock with a proto. My first impression was that it looks very sharp, and matches my anodizing. I put it on my bushy and ran about a case through it. No chops, then again, i dont chop with pds. Very accurate for such a cheap barrel, i think it likes more expensive brands of paintball though, however, zap and big ball work just fine. The faster you shoot, the more accurate it seems to get. Very good buy.
Conclusion: Buy this barrel if you're om a tight budget and still want to get an accurate and nice looking barrel. Good deal.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tonner68 Saturday, November 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
J&J ceramic, smart parts progressive, smart parts tear drop, flatline
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom, 14"Proto 1 piece barrel, response trigger kit, 6 stage expansion chamber, double trigger, VL Revolution 12V hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
PMI's, Marballizers, andything really.
Strengths: Looks, accuracy, quiet, perfect.
Weaknesses: None
Review: This barrel is awesome. It looks great on a tippmann. It shoots just like you would want any gun to. It's quiet, accurate, and no picky on paint at all. I shot a tree 9 out of 10 shots from 50 yards away, and the paintballs had paint on them. you decide how acurate it is.
Conclusion: I would recommend thhis barrel to anyone who wants perfection. Trust me, its awesome
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

tobian Monday, June 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrels on my spyder victor and fenix.This barrel is a good barrel compared to these because it is light and very accurate.
Marker Setup: I use the spyder fenix acs and the accessories i have for it is a 14inch proto barrel, and an electric hopper.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any.
Strengths: Light weight, accurate, price, looks.
Weaknesses: It sticks out far so people can see you laugh out loud.
Review: I love this barrel thanks to a friend of mine who is awsome at paintball who helped me find this barrel. This barrel has everything You are looking for in a barrel because this barrel is accurate, and it will help you get out of sticky situations. This barrel is coll because you can hit so many people off the break as long as you aim so i suggest to get this barrel.
Conclusion: Get this barrel because you will not be let down because this barrel will go the extra step with you to get you out of any problems.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ericw95 Sunday, July 26th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Boomstick
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom Platinum Series with ACT
-Proto 16 in 1 pc barrel
-Pure Energy 20 oz Co2 tank
-Barska red dot sight
JT Raptor mask
Recommended
Paintballs:
any higher end balls
Strengths: Great accuracy
Relatively quiet
Lightweight
Very cheap
Looks awesome
Weaknesses: Thread is a little too big and awkwardly twists onto the gun
Review: About a year ago, I went paintballing for the first time. After going a couple times, I decided this was a sport for me and had to get my own marker. I was on a budget, so I picked up a Tippmann 98 Custom for $130, JT Raptor mask for $20, and a Proto 16 in barrel for $35 (even tho I was inexperienced, I knew a stock Tippmann barrel was terrible.) The next week, I got to try out my setup. When I twisted on the Proto barrel, I noticed it took some force to get all the way on. Not a very good barrel, I thought, until I took a few shots. My first few shots were a little erratic, but after maybe 20-30 shots I noticed a huge increase in accuracy. I could effectively hit targets out to about 70 yards and easily led my team in "kills". Pretty good as far as I've seen at resisting scratches, and is relatively quiet. Great barrel considering I got it for only $35.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a great barrel under $50, this is the best you will find.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ALLGROWNUP Sunday, March 29th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP, Lapco, J&J
Marker Setup: SP1, HPA, CP barrel .689
Recommended
Paintballs:
Most paintballs on the market.
Strengths: Good price, quality of build, looks, quiet.
Weaknesses: Cannot buy in multiple sizes like CP allows.
Review: Let me start by saying I'm a CP fan. I really like the fact that CP allows you to buy their barrels in 3 different bore sizes. The Proto is a .690, and my CP is a .689. I compared the 2 side by side. The Proto I have is a 12" and my CP is a 14". They were both just as accurate as the other. The only thing I found different is the CP shot about 7 FPS faster than the proto. I have my own chronograph. I'm guessing the extra porting the Proto has over the CP, plus the CP is 14" made the difference. The Proto is lighter than the CP, but looks better IMO, and is a tad more quiet due to more porting.
Conclusion: As good as a CP, so that makes it one of the best single bore/non kit barrels that is made.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

iSuryoyo Monday, January 5th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Spyder VS1
14 inch Proto barrel
Evolution 3 hopper
Remote coil
20oz C02
Recommended
Paintballs:
Impact, Beast, Premium.
Strengths: Accurate
Cool Looking
Light
Weaknesses: Scratches easy
Shiny
Review: When I got this barrel, I thought it was really cool because it's a Proto and it looked awesome. I tested it out on Impact balls on a sunny day and was really accurate. Then I waited for a cold day and when it came i tested it out (Impact balls). It was accurate, but not as much as when it was sunny. The balls curved once in awhile on that cold day.

Maybe it was the balls that made it curve.

* 1/12/09 *

I got new balls called Premium, and they still curved, so I'm guessing it is just the weather.
Conclusion: Good barrel if your looking to spend a decent amout of money on it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 10th, 2009 at 12:33 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

purelycanadian Monday, September 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: TIPPMANN 98 CUSTOM

-- BE Folding Stock
-- BT Adjustable Rail
-- BSA 30mm Red-Dot
-- PMI Remote Coil
-- Smart Parts 14" Progressive Barrel
-- Tippmann Double Trigger
-- Tippmann Camouflage Graphic Kit (98 Custom)
-- Pure Energy 20oz. CO2

TIPPMANN A-5 CAMOUFLAGE

-- PMI Remote Coil
-- 14" Proto 1- Piece Barrel
-- Pure Energy 20oz. CO2
Recommended
Paintballs:
Doesn't really matter, I played today and used whitebox paint as well as Zap Spank and Cryptic and Monster Balls a friend had. They all worked fine.
Strengths: Price
Accuracy
Volume
Cleans Itself Fairly Well
Colour Variety
Looks
Weaknesses: Not any that come to mind actually..
Review: The Key Strengths pretty much speak for themselves. They're listed in the order of greatest importance as far as I'm concerned.

The price was the main reason I got this barrel. I was actually looking for an A-5 Progressive barrel, but they were sold out so I got this instead as it was the same price. Generally it performs much like my Progressive on my 98 Custom does.

The accuracy is middle-of-the-road. It's pretty good, but not the best. This might be due to the fact that my bore size isn't matched up perfectly, but I really don't care. It still isn't too bad.

The barrel does a decent job of suppressing some sound, again, middle-of-the-road. It's certainly better than the stock barrel, but it isn't whisper quiet or anything.

I tripped and got some dirt and pine needles in the end of the barrel. Two shots and it was all cleared out and I didn't brake a ball doing it. Pretty good, doubt it has much to do with the barrel but I thought I'd add this on.

Although I always buy black because I play woodsball and a shiny red wouldn't really work for me, there is a good selection of colours to choose from. Also the barrel looks sleek.
Conclusion: I recommend that you try this barrel out. It basically performs the same as my Progressive did on my 98 Custom, but that's not a bad thing. It's a good quality product for an affordable price. Give it a try. From what I hear the 1 Piece is a lot better than the 2 Piece. The 1 Piece works great for me anyway, so why fumble around trying to get a perfect size. Give this a shot.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

coolmanmatt Tuesday, January 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
J&J Ceramic - better
View Loader -crap
Marker Setup: spyder imagine
j&j ceramic
shocktech lpc
chipply no rise heli clamp
chipply trigger
dye sticky grip
spin loader
CO2 tank

Brass Egale avenger
new springs
regulator
quantum electronic loader
proto on piece
CO2 tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Zap works fine with it but I think there is a better paint out there for this barrel
Strengths: Price
accurate
stylish
Weaknesses: A lot of ports to clean if you get a ball break
Review: Well I bought this barrel because it got great reviews, looks great, accurate and it came in the color red. So my Brass Egale set up looks pimp with this barrel. Tried this barrel on my bro's spyder imagine before I got mine and it works great. Not as accurate as his J&J but it is 2 inches shorter then his. I would recommend this barrel to anyone playing paintball it's just that good. I mean I love my J&J barrel but I love this one just as much just have to carry and squeegee in case of a break or someone shots you through your barrel. It happened to me once so don't thing it's that rare.
Conclusion: For $30 bucks online or at sports chalet you can't beat it. Comes in black, blue, red or silver and looks great. There is always something better out on the market and nothing is perfect so I won't be giving this a 10.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media