paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto 1 Piece Barrel / Proto 1 Piece Barrel / Proto 1 Piece Barrel

Proto 1 Piece Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto 1 Piece Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto 1 Piece Barrel
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 71
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $44

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Increasing your gun's performance has always been a must, and having an accurate barrel is number one. Our Proto barrels are made to the highest quality standards and are ultra accurate.
Product Availability 
The Proto 1 Piece Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
stikyniky383 Thursday, July 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Progressive barrel, Linear barrel, All American barrel
Marker Setup: So ion(black), Q-lock feedneck clamp, Halo tsa led frontman, Pure energy 48ci 3000 psi tank, Proto impulse 14 in
Recommended
Paintballs:
any descent paint
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: I really like this barrel it is accurate and inexpensive. The only real weakness it doesnt clean that well unless u use a sqeegee. I havn't had this problem more than twice though. The barrel is only $40 and comes in one or two piece form( i recommend one piece). This barrel comes in different colors to suite your needs. i really like this barrel
Conclusion: I recommend this to any person with a smart parts marker
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mxmtl Tuesday, June 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
14" Eclipse Shaft
14" Lucky Un1tec
14" CP Classic One Piece
Marker Setup: Eclipse ETek EGO
+ Myth Regulator on CP 68/4500 Tank
+ Viewloader VLocity
+ 14" .690 Proto One Piece Barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
WPN Weapons Grade or whatever will fit .690 or smaller.
Strengths: Made by a Reputable Company
One Piece
Light Weight
Simple
Durable
Easy to Clean
Weaknesses: I found none.
Review: I bought a 14" Gloss Silver barrel for my PM7. On a digital postal scale, I found it just as light as the 12" stock barrel on the PM7. I only used it on the PM7 for a day, then the barrel went on my ETek after that.

Out in the field, I had no problems and no breaks with WPN Weapons Grade paint, which runs .688 to .689 in fair San Diego weather. The bore of this barrel is .690. The paint to barrel match with my ETek brought consistency down to +/- 1 fps, with occasional spikes of +/- 5. With the ETek stock barrel with .693 bore, consistency was +/- 5, with occasional spikes to +/- 7.

This barrel has a solid feel to it. It cleans easily with water. It threads smoothly into my PM7 and ETek.
Conclusion: For the price and quality you get from a Dye/Proto product, I recommend this barrel if you are shooting .688 to .689 size paint.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 12th, 2007 at 9:32 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

IronCorps Monday, May 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Most every barrel out there
Marker Setup: 2004 PhychoBallistics Superbolt body, Proto 1-piece barrel, PlanetEclipse Eblade1, Palmers Rock LPR, PE ram, Chipley Machine HPR, shocktech superfly bolt, some random back block, some random front block, shocktech #1 drop, and shocktech on/off.

And i have a Wrath LTD.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Large bore
Strengths: Lightweight, quiet, stylish.
Weaknesses: Doesn't self clean like J&J barrels.
Review: I've been using this on my cocker for the past few weeks now, and for a 1 piece barrel, it's pretty awesome. It looks pretty good on my cocker, and quieted it down to a degree. As far as accuracy goes, it's what you'd expect: very good. You'll hit people from across the field, enough said. It wont clean out breaks like a J&J will, so carry a swab with you. And it's only like $30. =] sweet deal.
Conclusion: As far as 1 pieces go, this one's pretty darn good. I was impressed. I'd rank it with the better 1 pieces out there.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NEO001 Monday, May 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Ion
Egg 3
20 oz Smart Parts anti-siphon
Proto Black 1 piece 14in
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any paintball will do
Strengths: CHEEP!!!!
Looks great
Good quality
Weaknesses: Dose not self clean well.
Review: You cant beet this product when it comes to the price. It shoots strait and looks great. The only problem I see with the barrel is the strait porting. With strait porting in your barrel I found that your barrel will not clear out paint as well as a All American barrel with twisted porting.
Conclusion: For the price this is a great product. The self cleaning thin is not a big deal considering the great looks, price, and accuracy.

I recommend the 14 inch.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tomandjenb Sunday, May 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
SP ion stock barrel
Freak barrel (only tested)
Marker Setup: SP ion
Worrior bolt v2
Proto one piece barrel
Thor ASA/Drop forward
SP QEV
CP slingblade trigger
VL evo 2 loader
Pure Energy 48ci 3000 psi
Virtue easy on/off switch
Recommended
Paintballs:
I have only used Draxxus midnight, and DXS bronze
they both worked well, DXS seemed a little better,
but, it is a higher grade of paint.
Strengths: Very, Very, light. very good price!!
Weaknesses: none that I can tell.....yet
Review: I just got this barrel. I have only used it a couple times. I do really like this barrel. It is much better than the stock barrel. The price is great too!!! $30. I used my friends freak barrel one game. And obviously it was awesome. But, that barrel system is super expensive. My proto barrel is fine for me until I can afford a freak. Don't think that just because it's cheep it's not worth it. It is defiantly worth it if you are on a budget. I had great ball on ball accuracy . I was told by a paintball pro. that the proto barrels are made with the same set-up and molds as the dye ultra-lights. Whether that's true or not I don't know, but the barrel did do great
Conclusion: This is definitely not the "get what you pay for" philosophy. The price is great, and you can really tell the difference over the stock barrel. Until you can get a high end barrel system, this is the way to go!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

totalp8ntfreak Friday, May 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion stock barrel
Marker Setup: Black sp ion
72/30 PMI pure energy tank
Dust Blue Proto one piece barrel
Blue New Designz clamping feedneck
silver Dye drop forward with red on/off
Blue Halo b with rip drive
speedfeed v2
UFD roller trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything high quality but seconds will work
Strengths: Accuracy
Light
Price

Weaknesses: Wiggles loose every now and then
Review: This barrel is great. I got it online for about 27 dollars. I got it in the mail and slapped it on my ion. It shot like a champ.But if u fire really consitent ropes, which you will, it may wiggle loose but no biggie. This is a great barrel and it will have you shooting consitantently from way far away.
Conclusion: This is fabulous
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pilot13954 Wednesday, May 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
JJ S2 Ceramic
Stock Pilot barrel
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot ACS 05 Black to Blue fade
Dye Sticky Grip 3
Trinity T Lock Feedneck
Proto One piece barrel Black
Eggy 3 Black
68/4500 Carbon Wrap HPA Tank
Empire Tank Glove (Blue)
JJ Ceramic S2 14" Barrel-backup/let others borrow
Viewloader Tripod-backup/let others borrow
Recommended
Paintballs:
ANY paint, the bore is .690 i mostly use GameFace Impacts because they break on contact. I did use Karnage from the brown box. Shot pretty good too
Strengths: Looks, accurate, bore size, quiet, comes in a case for storage.
Weaknesses: Scratches easy
Review: I got this barrel at first as a backup to my JJ S2. but after firing the S2 for awhile, i noticed that the balls would knuckle every few shots. that got me fustrated. so i read up on this barrel and gave it a try. my god it shoots straight!! the porting and length is absolute perfect. between the S2 and Proto, both are fairly decent barrels for the price, 30 some odd dollars depending where you get it. i have not broken a single paint with this barrel so im not sure about cleaning, only running water through it when im done. with the bore size being .690, you can shoot anything without worrying too much about ball size.

Though the barrel itself is shiny and might give away position, its not that glaring. Also , the barrel is light since its made out of aluminum. compared to the S2, both FEEL the same, could be off by a few ounces.

Shooting wise, this barrel shots ropes. well straight ropes but at least a good grouping.
20 feet, a grouping about 4 inches
40 feet, a grouping about 6-8 inches
60 feet, a grouping about 1 feet
Shooting at a 4x4x8 wood pole from 35 feet, hit one out of 4 shots, though the 3 were VERY close.
Conclusion: In conclusion-Get this barrel if you are low on $$ or just cheap. you can't go wrong with this. i would give this a 9 because again like my other reviews, nothing is perfect but it is there for its price
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jacob Searle Tuesday, May 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Stock Barrel, Evil Driver, Evil Pipe.
Marker Setup: Spyder Fenix ACS Green, Viewloader Revvy, 14 inch Proto One Piece, Dye Sticky 3 grips
Recommended
Paintballs:
Don't Know, Origin worked fine.
Strengths: Accurate, quiet, looks.
Weaknesses: None
Review: Great Barrel, i shot about 300 paintballs through it in my Fenix, and didn't chop one. Of course, with a rental barrel I shot several thousand and havn't chopped one, but it doesn't make my gun chop at least. Extremely accurate even with CO2, and quiets my loud spyder quiete a bit. I got this from actionvillage for 27 dolla's and for this quality performance, I have to recomend it to everyone. Great barrel for the money!
Conclusion: Get it, it's the best barrel you'll ever find for under 30 dollars, I gurantee that.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 12th, 2006 at 11:32 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

noob101 Thursday, March 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Teardrop, Progessive
Marker Setup: Mongoose 2 w/ BBS, Proto 14" barrel, halo b
Recommended
Paintballs:
Well, worr practice paint always works great
Strengths: Cheap
Accurate
Quieter
Weaknesses: No bore choices
Review: All I can say is WOW ! I mine this barrel can compete with just about any out there. And for only $28! I mean the classic Smart Part Progessive and Teardrop have dominated one piece barrels, but now they got some new competition ! The barrel works great. Its easily the most accurate for the price. Also, it has an excellilent amount of porting. This means it decrease the volume of your gun when firing. Once again this is an excellent barrel for $28.
Conclusion: I say buy it, you cant go wrong, its 28 dollars and an excellent barrel !
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Darkslide4565 Wednesday, November 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Barrels of all kinds, Teardrop, All-American, Progressive, Tiller
Marker Setup: Evil Omen
Revy Hopper
Pure Energy 68cu 3000psi
15 Degree Reg
Proto 1 Piece Barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
High quality paint tends to help (like always)
Strengths: Cheap barrel
Accurate
Quiet
Looks
Weaknesses: Doesn't like barrel breaks
Review: This is a very affordable barrel with great performance. I got mine for $20 on ebay and I use it on my evil omen. It looks great and has been quite accurate. I believe it fires just as well or better then Smart Parts barrels (unless you got the freak).
Conclusion: It's a killer barrel with a low pricetag. What are you waiting for, GO GET IT.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 2nd, 2005 at 9:46 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media