paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Piranha USP Pistol / PMI Piranha USP Pistol / PMI Piranha USP Pistol / PMI Piranha USP Pistol

PMI Piranha USP Pistol Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Piranha USP Pistol

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Piranha USP Pistol
[ View Photos (9) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 39
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $120

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
# Semi-automatic
# Uses .68 caliber paintballs
# Powered by 12-gram Co2 cartridges (not included)
# Fast threading Co2 cap for quicker cartridge changing.
#Fixed 9 round spring loaded ammo tube.
#10 shot capacity - 9 in tube + 1 in chamber.
# Capable of shooting 8 balls per second.
# Fixed 5" barrel with threaded tip
# Vertical feed, closed receiver
# Durable space-age polymer grip frame with single trigger and guard
# 13" total length, 7" tall
# Rear velocity adapter.
# Made of corrosion-resistant, aerospace grade aluminum with wear resistant teflon finish on all internal parts
#Extra cupseal, main spring, o-rings and other small parts included.
# Weight without paint or air: 2 pounds
Product Availability 
The PMI Piranha USP Pistol is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
whiterasta80 Sunday, March 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tiberius-8. Shoots about the same, but much more solid, and with clips
Marker Setup: APrimary:
2K5 Black Magic Autococker (Black/Red)
Torque Hopper
Pure Energy 68/3000 Tank
Evil Pipe Kit

Backup:
Proto SLG (Olive)
CP 2 Piece Barrel (black)
PE 48/3000 Tank
VL Evolution II
Empire nano On/Off

Loaner/Backup's Backup:
2K5 Trilogy Competition
Shocktech Superfly Bolt
Shocktech Cocking Rod
Dye Sticky 3 Grips
WGP Cam Adjuster
Evil Pipe Kit
16 Oz CO2 with A/S
VL Revvy with Empire Sound Board
CP On/Off

And a pair of Piranha USP pistols
Recommended
Upgrades:
Holster I guess
Strengths: Simple design (just a Piranha), Decent accuracy for a pistol, light.
Weaknesses: Reloading, doesn't work well with Brass Eagle containers
Review: Great little pistol for fun. Simple, lightweight, and functional. Stick with the Crossman 12 grams. I tried Brass Eagle once or twice and all it does is leak.

I get about 20-22 good shots, plus 4 bad ones out of a single tank.

I use it as a backup, so the re-loading issue isn't a big deal. But re-loading in combat is just a BAD IDEA. It probably takes me 30-45 seconds to reload.

Update: I've had it for a year now and the only thing I've ever had to fix is the o-ring on the bolt.
Conclusion: If you have the money, get a Tac-8. But this gun is still quite fun and does its job.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 1st, 2008 at 12:43 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

alliedcommando Wednesday, November 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo w/ 14" Whisper barrel
PMI Piranha USP
Recommended
Upgrades:
none, this gun is good to go stock
Strengths: Trigger pull is very light
Lightweight
Uses 12 gram cartridges
Durable
Weaknesses: No expansion chamber for Co2
Review: I got this gun from a friend of mine who could not get it fixed, so I sent it in to PMI and I had it fixed. This is one of the very few guns you can actually have as a primary, especially in woodsball (I have eliminated people using Tipmanns and Autocockers with this gun,but that is because I play good and shoot good in paintball.) As a side-arm this gun is all the firepower you will ever need (and it is light too!) If you want to get the full potential of this gun lube it with some graphite lubricant (which you can find at any auto store) and you will be able to shoot 20 rounds on a mild day (or more during the hotter summer days!) Accuracy is insane with this gun, if you can chrono it for 290 fps (like I did) you can rack some heads up rather quickly, just remember that 2nd to last shot the velocity will decrease. The power of this gun is awesome, with a ten round capacity (that is assuming you pull the slide back and put a round in the the chamber and 9 in the tube.)
-Edit-12/26/06
Almost a year since I got since this gun, and I dropped it on the floor by accident, some of the front body was bent but that was easily fixed. I gassed the gun up and fired some rounds and it still does what it was built to do and eliminate people (or in my case a plastic penguin in my back yard!) This gun really deserves to be palmerized and have a nice dura-coat paint job by now. Buy this gun under the USP label, maybe someday it will be as scarce as a Tippmann SMG 60.
Conclusion: An excellent side-arm for the average paintball player, very cost-effective (compared to other paintball pistols.) I reccomend this gun for anyone playing woodsball and paintball veterans that want to go rambo style on the field.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 26th, 2006 at 6:39 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintguy1 Sunday, January 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
No Pistols!
Marker Setup: Viewloader Orion (main)
Stock Barrell --> Self Ported
9 oz. Co2 Tank

PMI Piranha USP (secondary)
Extreme Rage Holster
Recommended
Upgrades:
Holster (there's a kit that comes with one)
Tube/Cartridge belt or vest
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: I got the USP for Christmas and unlike most of the other reviews there is no problem with the Co2 seal! It worked amazingly strait out of the box..like it should!

The USP is larger than some other pistols because it uses full-sized internals and comes across as somewhat heavy. Has a standard 45-grip and is very solid when you hold it. Feels tough and is built nicely. Stripping the marker to clean is easy, with a small pin at the end. Loading the gun whether paint or co2 is somewhat difficult. The Lever to tighten the Co2 cartridge into place helps a bunch, but has a magnet on it so that the cartridge won't fall out. Believe me..it won't fall out. Because the cartridge is loaded into such a small space, it is not easy to pull it out with your hands. To fix this? Take a key and lightly pry at the back of the cartridge by the magnet until it falls out. Watch that you don't scratch the side of the gun. Problem fixed. You load the paint at the front of the magazine. Since loading is slow, I find that when you place the tip of your finger in the grove by the feed-neck and tilt the marker and the paint tube back the paint slides in a lot easier. The last ball is tricky to put in, also don't forget to release the sight screw/spring back so that it pushes the paint into the chamber and push the door back into place to keep the paint form falling out of the magazine. Since the USP has a longer reloading time, I wouldn't use it as a main marker..sucks getting shot out when your helpless, and trying to duck from fire while reloading.

Gas efficiency is alright, but not as amazing as it could be. When deciding what 12 grams to buy, go with the Crossmans. Don't buy the Brass Eagle 12 grams. There is a very noticeable difference in gas efficiency when going with Crossman. I loaded a BE cartridge in and got around 15 shots off in cold weather. The first 10 shots were pretty good, then the other 5 started to drop off. When using a Crossman, I was able to get about 20 shots off in cold weather. All 20 shots had almost equal kick and I could put the ball wherever I wanted it to go within about 70-85 feet. During shooting I was using the red high-tension spring and I had the velocity adjusted to 250-265 fps, in cold weather of about -1 degrees Celsius.

The kit I got came with a Extreme Rage Holster and is good quality, which I'm surprised with. If you get the holster with the package, I would not recommend upgrading it. It's awesome, fits the marker well and has ten slots around the belt to fit cartridges and tubes in. They won't fall out because the bands have a good tight squeeze. You need to tie the sting that holds the holster in place tight to your leg or else it won't support the weight of the marker and the holster will start to fall lower. Also be sure to tighten the belt for the same reason.
Conclusion: I wouldn't recommend upgrading the gun any..it's a pistol, that's what it's ment for! You could put an e-grip and pipe barrels on it, but again what for? Funny to aim after I've been playing with a semi-auto for two years, takes a day or two of getting used to. Good quality, built tough, looks alright, goes for around $172.20 Canadian (taxes included) @ FlagRiaders in Cambridge, Ontario. If your looking for a status quo marker that delivers when expected, be sure to pick one up!
Sidenote---> Read the manual (has some pointless stuff in it) and don't forget to cock the marker before you air it up!!

Now, im off to finish Watching Napoleon Dynamite..see you in the field!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 1st, 2006 at 1:11 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

culley91 Friday, August 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: tippmann A-5
flatlinebarrel
collapsable stock
Dead On Paintball Pro Style Drop Forward
e-grip
jcs double trigger
BSA Optics 30mm Red Dot Scope
dye sticky grip
nitro duck 68ci 4500psi
32 degree star fire bolt
ricochet R-5 sniper hopper
dead on lapco A-5 milsim fore grip
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Durablility ,reloading, co2 cartridge loader, balanced, light, made from alminium, not long accurate
Weaknesses: None
Review: Nice not what expected from pmi nicely balanced and its not as long as your main gun loads really easy and its accurate made from alminum not like any other of co2 cartridge loaders its easy put in so no struggling to put in co2 yep its a nice gun so get it
Conclusion: Get it you wont be sorry very nice
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

5cent Thursday, May 21st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PGP, AGP Sydarm, Tac8.
Marker Setup: Stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Upgraded trigger frame.
Strengths: Efficiency.
Simplicity.
Ease of disassembly.
Sear release.
Weaknesses: Badly functioning safety. reload is awkward,
Ball feed plunger is very loose tolerances.
Review: I purchased my USP shortly after the line was introduced, and I've had it with me since then.

Right out of the box I discovered a rather unfortunate problem with the marker. When you engage the safety, you can actually disengage it by pulling the trigger. If its just a light pull, it might keep it on one or two trigger pulls worth, but if you really give it a squeeze it will disengage on the first pull. And to me, that seemed a bit strange. A proper safety should completely disable the trigger and firing mechanisms no matter how many times you actually pull the trigger.

The fix was pretty easy though. After doing a bit of research I found that the USP was capable of accepting most grip frames from the Pirahna line of pistols, so we simply salvaged a PMI e-trigger off a junked marker, and set it to locked in tourney mode (semi only) and that was problem solved. As it turns out the double trigger and extended trigger guard actually made the pistol much more comfortable to use with gloves on. We did, for the fun of it, try the pistol out with 3 round burst and full auto, suffice to say we ended up with paint soup. So while I do recommend trading the stock grip frame, having an E-trigger only looks cool, and isnt very functional in anything else other than semi.
Conclusion: Nice pistol, could use some design refinement in several areas, but it gets the job done. It fires every time I need it to, and it does so with reasonable accuracy. I give it a seven simply because of the safety issue. Being that the safety is such an important issue on markers, it seems like a glaring oversight to me in the quality assurance process.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PistolPete93 Sunday, November 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tac 8
Marker Setup: Tippmann X7 w/ response trigger and trinity wire stock
front rail grip
rail sight
remote line
Recommended
Upgrades:
flatline
anything you can do to customize it
Strengths: Very accurate, good range, was strong, and lightweight.
Weaknesses: Bg, 15 shots per co2, problems with puncture knob.

Review: for the the 3 weeks i hadthis pistol, it was great.i bought it for a scenerio and it worked fine. it was very accurate for a pistol, i even think it was more accurate than some primary guns (cough, cough,98C). couple weeks later, when you punctured the co2 12 gram, it would all leak out,WTF! so i took itback to bad boyz toyz and they said i couldnt get my money back because "They didnt know if i was the one who broke it!!!" anyway, they sent it back 2 the factory and the puncture knob was broken so they got it fixed. i jut got my mney bac from the owner b/c i was fed up with them.

edit. 2008

i got another one of these because i didnt want to give up on the usp, just bad boyz toyz. i bought it off of ebay for 60 bucks, nice, no problem with the puncture knob, i get about 30 shots from a 12 gram, i take it the 15 shots per 12 gram in my previous pistol was because of leaking while screwing the 12 gram in. this has very good range accuracy, the only thing is that know i like to carry pistols on my leg, so its a little big , 13 inches long, so i tend to carry my golden pgp on my leg instead, not because the pgp is outperforming it, because its one if not the most small pistol. i definnently carry this as a backip though if im using my pgp as a primary
Conclusion: this is a great pistol!!! accurate,cheap and one ofthe only guns you can hold like a gangsta(LOL) totally worth the +- $100
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 6th, 2008 at 12:55 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nick19196 Thursday, July 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: R-6 with E-force razzor barrel exp chamber
pirahna USP as sidearm
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Easy co2 change and easy maintence and 25 shots per co2
Weaknesses: Hard to reload can be fixed with customizing
Review: I got this a few days ago and it leaked co2 right out of the package so I wasted a couple co2s tryin to get it to work and i finaly got it it just needs to be allighned right. next it may look a little bulky but its abeast its powerful and so accurate its unbelievable. loading it may be hard but you can fix that with a little self customizing. and the shots i got out of a co2 are good 25 out of one co2.
Conclusion: This is a great gun its a beast and its accurate the only bad thing is co2 leaks and loading
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballjames Monday, April 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
other pistols
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine
J&J ceramic
Richochet Apache
some kind of drop i forget which
72/3000 HPA
Recommended
Upgrades:
none needed
Strengths: -Light
-Fast firing
-Durabilty
-Accuracy
Weaknesses: -Limited mag
Review: Yesterday i used the USP as my main(stupid idea...right??). Actually it performed very well against two 98 customs and an a-5. For a pistol it was very accurate. It was like i had my custompro. The only problem i noticed was the limited mag. I was constantly getting bunkered while reloading Co2 and paint. For a pistol, once you practice, doesnt take too long. its manurverability was a major bonus. without the Co2 tank or long barrel on it i could move much easier. The Co2 usage is pretty average. I got 25-35 shots per 12 gram. I put about 800 shots through it yesterday and i think only one broke. but thats because i had a gun shot and it got all sticky in the feed mouth so the ball didnt feed all the way.
Conclusion: other than the limited magazine which all pistols have this is a great gun. It has saved me many times in woodsball games. I give it a 9 for its accuracy and manurverability
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 3rd, 2007 at 7:57 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Squirlly Monday, August 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing. This is my first Paint Pistol
Marker Setup: Woodsball: Tippmann Pro-Carbine with 14" Tippmann Sniper Barrel
Speedball: JT Excellerator 5.0 with a Smart Parts 14" Barrel
Both: 20 Oz CO2 tank and nothing else real special
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing. It's a pistol I don't think there are many upgrades anyway
Strengths: SIMPLE, Easy to Use and Lightweight
Weaknesses: Loading Paint could be easier.
Review: This is a very nice marker. It shot well, I have put about 500 balls thru it and didn't break a one. It fits very well in the provided holster and since I bought it as a backup for when my main marker runs out of air or jams up beyond a field repair this is a very big plus. CO2 lasts about 30 shots but I was shooting a metal target and could hear the last 2 or 3 were very weak so lets say you get 27-28 quality shots from one 12 gram co2. Accuracy is less then with my smart part barrel but it was still very acceptable. I hit a 4" x 4" post in my yard from 60 feet away about 1/3 of the time.
Conclusion: Do not buy this marker for your main marker. Do buy this marker if you have been wanting a pistol for scenario play or as a backup. This marker only cost me $89.50 online and is worth every penny!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

joelewicki Wednesday, August 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
68
Marker Setup: BT-16 Tatical w sling o yeah and a bipod
USp holstered back
Delta holstered left side
Recommended
Upgrades:
???
Strengths: Accuracy
Weaknesses: It looks like garbage
Review: I purchased ths gun 4 weeks ago and it so far is performing much better than the 68. It may look terrible but I think its a better system. The way you put the tank into the air intake on the delta was to rough. You cant just shove it in you have to ease it in! (pun intend) This gun has some power but it doesnt make sense to me why they would extend the clip and make it like 14 shots. Idk whatever.
If you want a pistol that works get this one.
Conclusion: If you getting a new delta make sure you have a back up for your backup a USp
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media