paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Piranha USP Pistol / PMI Piranha USP Pistol / PMI Piranha USP Pistol / PMI Piranha USP Pistol

PMI Piranha USP Pistol Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Piranha USP Pistol

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Piranha USP Pistol
[ View Photos (9) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 39
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $120

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
# Semi-automatic
# Uses .68 caliber paintballs
# Powered by 12-gram Co2 cartridges (not included)
# Fast threading Co2 cap for quicker cartridge changing.
#Fixed 9 round spring loaded ammo tube.
#10 shot capacity - 9 in tube + 1 in chamber.
# Capable of shooting 8 balls per second.
# Fixed 5" barrel with threaded tip
# Vertical feed, closed receiver
# Durable space-age polymer grip frame with single trigger and guard
# 13" total length, 7" tall
# Rear velocity adapter.
# Made of corrosion-resistant, aerospace grade aluminum with wear resistant teflon finish on all internal parts
#Extra cupseal, main spring, o-rings and other small parts included.
# Weight without paint or air: 2 pounds
Product Availability 
The PMI Piranha USP Pistol is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
SelfDestruction Wednesday, February 17th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
~Eagle .68
~PGP
~Splatmaster
~Tiberius Arms Tac 8
Marker Setup: Tippmann Pro-Lite ( stock barrel ) with gun sling & 9 oz Co2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
None.
Strengths: ~Accurate in close to medium range
~Fast shooting
~Good on C02
~Full size Piranha internals
Weaknesses: The12 grams can become lodged in the quick change chamber when reloading
Review: The PMI Piranha USP is an outstanding paintball pistol for the money. I purchased mine from ANSgear.com for less then $60. I was in the market for a new side arm and did a lot of reserch on one. I watched videos on the Tippmann TPX, Tiberius Arms Tac 8, and the PMI USP. After watching the one of the USP I was instantly sold on it. It was half the price as other pistols and it has many nice features on it as well.

The first time I used this pistol in combat it more then met my expectations! I got the drop on an a player on the other team and let loose with my Pro-Lite. After a firing half a dozen shots my Pro-Lite sputtered and died. My adversary heard my tank die and I heard him laugh as he mistakenly thought he had an easy kill. A split second later I saw him charge through the brush and sprint twards me firing his Tippmann A-5. Little did he know that it was acually me who was lying in wait for him. Once he was with in 50ft of me I poped out like the bunker like Billy Badass and unloaded 10 well placed shot on him. Needless to say he was taken by surprise.

Since then I have used this marker many many times and it has never let me down. I have even used it as my primary marker on some games when I feel the need to be stealthy, fast, mobile, or just want to conserve paint.
Conclusion: If you are in the market for a side arm and do not want to drop a lot of money on a high end gun consider on of these. In my personal opinion this is a really well made and well functioning marker. I own a Splatmaster, PGP, Tac 8, and one of these & it is my side arm of choice.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JLS6779 Friday, July 10th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
No other pistol but use or have used a VL Triton II, VL High Voltage, Brass Eagle T-Storm, JT Stealth, JT Tac-5 Recon Camo
Marker Setup: VL High Voltage:
stock barrel
VL Force electric hopper
Stryker Carbon Fiber 12" barrel

JT Tac-5 Recon Camo:
Stock barrel
old brass eagle 140 ct hopper
JT bipod
Stryker 12" Carbon fiber barrel

PMI Pirahna USP:
Pistol
Extreme Rage Holster
Recommended
Upgrades:
aybe a barrel front. I also have seen where you are supposed to beable to add a ASA to it.
Strengths: Durable, accurate, easy to use
Weaknesses: Can be hard to reload quickly under fire
Review: I purchased this as a backup for in my games. I love this gun. It is accurate, fairly quiet, gas efficent, and has good distance. I can usually hit my target out to about 80+ feet with no problem. I do have issues with reloading paint into the clip when you need to do it quickly. It is not bad to do but it can be a little time consumming. Does great on air. I can get between 30 to 45 shots off with a 12 gram cartridge 95% of the time. I have never had a issue with it leaking to much when I air it up outside a little air loss. I always drop atleast two drops of oil into the seal area for the 12 gram when ever I change out a cartridge. It is easy to do basic maintenace. I did have the chance to do some what major work on one for a guy that had just got his and messed up the seal around the puncture pin. Was a little time consuming to remove that assembly but was not hard to change anything out. It is alot easier to work on than the PMI Pirahna GTI '07 that my stepson has.
Conclusion: Wonderful pistol to use as a backup in games. Can also use as a primary if you are playing in a enclosed area like a old house or fort area. Accurate and gas friendly for a 12 gram. If you have not used one you might want to ask to see one at a store that carries them or if you see another player with one at your local field to see how it feels and shoots if they let you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

madotter Tuesday, June 23rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
No other pistols...
Marker Setup: Several, not going to bother listing.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Cheap
The respect people give you
Weaknesses: The laughs of the people previously respecting you when it goes sproing
Review: O.k, I had this gun two weeks and used it heavily. Overall, price wise it was great. The accuracy was decent with DXS Bronze Training Paint, and I could hit a 2 by 3 foot square roughly 8 times out of 10. Co2 use was good, about 20 usable shots and 5 not. I bought a pipe barrel system to "extend the accuracy", but it made it worse....

Overall, I was semi happy, and then my oring in the piercing valve went. So I took the screw out, and low and behold! The locktite was stronger than the cheap metal threads.... Yep, I stripped it taking it out. Out, not in, out. Sent it to the factory and hopefully will be back someday.

Conclusion: Cheap. You get what you payed for. I would give it average, but average markers dont strip when your taking screws out. I gave it a 4 though for the decent accuracy, and semi good gas use.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mgs114 Thursday, April 30th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: A-5 completely customized not even gonna try to talk about it.
Ion (no customizations)
GTI eforce (none)
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe a holster
Strengths: Accurate, charging handle, nice grip
Weaknesses: Size, gas, holster, loading.
Review: Overall I love this pistol. Its a little big but its worth it. Mine came with an extreme rage holster. When you enter the co2 cartridge in you can't hear it pierce therefore i didnt know the gun was ready to fire. I got mine for pretty cheap so its worth the money. Loading this thing is not something you can due too quickly but for $60 with a holster its not bad at all. Once I play with it I'll edit the review.
Conclusion: I would get it for the price. If anyoen finds a way to make this thing load quickly I'd like to hear about it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

king-camper Friday, November 7th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tiberius 8
Marker Setup: tippmann a5
RT
ez-sabre kit
20" smart parts barrel
tac cap
red dot sight
remote line
Recommended
Upgrades:
a better holster
ten round tubes
Strengths: Tight accuracy
30 shots to 12 gram c02 tank
really durable
Weaknesses: Tough to reload at first
rather large bore size.
Review: Well first thing you will find out about this gun is that there is only one ball detent on the side of the chamber and thats on the left side.
if you keep this marker in the holster that use paintballs that will fit a large bore size because I usually find about 4-6 balls at the bottom of my holster because they all slide down the barrel. other than that ther is no flaws that i can find. actually it says it ahs a 10 rd feed tube, well thats 9 in the tube and one in the chamber. no biggy though.
this marker can take one @*&^ of a beating, i accidently droped it out of a 2 story building and i ran down, picked it up and it was all good. I use it sometimes in speed ball practices cause it just adds more fun to the game. I actually own 2 piranhas now but still recomend shooting with two hand. all and all its one beast of a marker.
Conclusion: Awsome pistol for the price, if u like to run and are good at snap shooting give it a try and improve your game. pistols are always fun and intiminating
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nootz Wednesday, October 8th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Zeus G2, Tac8
Marker Setup: BT-4 SWAT:
-BT-16 Barrel kit
-BT Bi-pod
-Tippmann Verticle Grip
-BT e-Grip
-Extreme Rage Overdrive hopper
-BT 45 degree picatinny/weaver rail (on top of foregrip)
-Walther 2x30 RD scope (mounted on BT rail)

Tippmann A-5:
-A5 Flatline barrel
-A5 Response Trigger
-OpsGear sight riser
-OpsGear Gas-Thru UMP magazine
-OpsGear folding G36 stock
-SoftAir 1x28 RD reticle
-Tippmann Cyclone LP hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel extension.
Strengths: Accurate, durable, easy to use.
Weaknesses: very slow reloads, hassle to change CO2 cartridges, doesn't field strip very easily.
Review: This was the first pistol I ever bought, it was pretty good considering I got it new for $45. I liked how it was very accurate for a PMI marker.
Unfortunately the CO2 kept leaking and I didn't want to keep paying to fix the leak, therefore I had to sell it off. Also, the reload time was crazy, you would have to get someone to cover you so you could load 10rds into the fixed mag (this usually took around 30s-1min). And on top of that, it took another minute to eject the CO2 cartridge and replace it with another.
Conclusion: Good pistol to start out with, it's inexpensive, accurate and easy to use.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paint balla 666 Sunday, March 9th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Overlords
Recommended
Upgrades:
A softer grip...that's about it
Strengths: Good range, accuracy,a little lighter than other pistols, and easy to clean
Weaknesses: Bulkey, can't fit in most regular holsters, really loud
Review: This marker takes time to reload, but after you have had it for a while it gets easier. For the piriod of time Iv'e had this marker, it has never choped paint. The pircing screw doesn't always work, so i sent it in for a longer and sharper one. You get 20-25 shots from 1 Co2.
Conclusion: Allin all, this is a great gun for a great price. It's very reliable, almosts never chops, and has served my very well.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

K-Red Friday, April 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
PT Enforcer, PT extreme, late period Wolf.
Marker Setup: Stock gun right out of package. Nothing added, nothing subtracted.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a bolt upgrade, but only if you are going to use this as a primary marker in games, seeing as it's ok as-is for a sidearm. You can feasibly put an E-Force trigger on it if you want to emulate a Glock 19 or something, but I wouldn't recommend that considering the magazine capacity.
Strengths: Fairly light
Fast-Feeling
Decent recoil control
Easy to field-strip
Weaknesses: Inconsistent CO2 use
Ammo capacity (this shouldn't be a problem for it's use.)
Review: i would like to stress the fact that you should keep the seals and O-Rings well lubricated on this marker. If not it tends to leak. Aside from that, it's fairly light and deceptively accurate for it's barrel length. It makes a nice sidearm, but unless you're good it should be only that.
Conclusion: I would suggest this to anyone who would like a sidearm to accompany them in woodsball, it takes a little getting used to but it's nice. I would like to give a few warnings and considerations...
1 Keep it lubricated, especially the seals.
2 You're better off at lower velocity, seeing as the higher speeds tend to chew through air too quickly and give you a crap trade-off.
3 Practice reloading it for at least fifteen minutes before using it in a game. You'll never regret it.
4 If you feel the need to upgrade this, then you probably never needed it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PB4Christ Monday, November 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PGP
Marker Setup: PGP w/custom holster

USP
Recommended
Upgrades:
Constant air
Strengths: LIGHT!
Full sized internals
Weaknesses: The "quick change" isn't all that quick, takes longer than with my PGP.
Review: Ok, I've been playing stockclass for a little while now and I love the small profile and difficulty level, but I keapt getting outgunned with my PGP. I decided I needed a semi but a full sized rig was out of the question so I wnet searching on ebay. For the most part it was a good buy for $80 (shipped)

Pros:
-It is light wieght (much less than the PGP
-Spring feed is easier than rock 'n cock
-High ROF for a pistol (8bps)
-Easy to breakdown and clean

Cons:
-A little bigger than I would have liked
-Gas hog (20 shots per 12gram)
-Picky about 12 grams (Don't use Crossman)

All in all this is a nice little marker, I use it as my main and get alot of respect for it (some ppl will call you crazy until you outrun they're whole squad.) You really are made a smaller target, you save ALOT on paint (500 rnds for a whole day) the only thing it really needs is a small constantair air setup unless you use it as a back up.
Conclusion: recomended as a main (too big for a sidearm) It is a gas hog so that will cost it some points. I suggest you try and get one off Ebay for a few bucks and give it a try, if nothing else you'll scare the noobs "HE HAS A PISTOL AND A RIFLE!" (Yes it's been said.)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spaz66777 Thursday, October 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
PGP (pump though)
Marker Setup: I run a phantom with; frantom II 8" with full frak kit, 13/3000 HPA tank, 45* trigger frame, 12 round feed, smart parts drop and bottom line with on/off, and trigger gaurd.

I also use a splatmaster and this USP.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bolt, Pipe front, E-grip, Valve, Canstant air (if you think it would be fun), spring kit, a regulator if you use HPA with constant air, a new hammer for LP possibility, and maybe a velocity adjuster you can use by hand.

(EDIT) I would remove the sight pin, go to your local hardware and get a little .3 screw i think it was. It makes it easier to holster.
Strengths: ROF
Size
Price
Effiecentcy
upgradablility
Weaknesses: No bulk feed option
changing 12 grams
loading paintballs
Review: I bought this marker for $35 (yeah I know) it was super clearance at one of my local "mega marts" it was like 80% the original price. It came with the holster which I think is kind of a joke. (It doesn't stay where it should) This gun can be fast having a high ROF but is pretty accurate. This marker is a great back up. I wouldn't use it for a main unless you’re into that type of stuff (I am). Loading paintballs requires learning the marker and how to load it right and quick. Changing 12 grams does take some time. At least 10 seconds so it can is a bit of an adrenaline rush so being ready! The bulk feed could be an option if you have a machine shop could make an adapter since the 10 round feed can come off. They would have to look at the gun and then they should be able to make something to fit this. I will be looking into this shortly. I have high hopes of making this marker into a "spimmy" putting Timmy parts into this marker to have a higher ROF and just have fun with it.
Conclusion: Over all I would pay full price for this marker($100) but luckily I didn't have to. This gun will great to use during any type of play. I would recomend this marker to anyone looking for a pistol style. (I give it a 9 due to the fact it does have some weaknesses that are going to have to be overcomed)
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, November 7th, 2006 at 9:57 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media