paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Piranha USP Pistol / PMI Piranha USP Pistol / PMI Piranha USP Pistol / PMI Piranha USP Pistol

PMI Piranha USP Pistol Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Piranha USP Pistol

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Piranha USP Pistol
[ View Photos (9) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 39
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $120

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
# Semi-automatic
# Uses .68 caliber paintballs
# Powered by 12-gram Co2 cartridges (not included)
# Fast threading Co2 cap for quicker cartridge changing.
#Fixed 9 round spring loaded ammo tube.
#10 shot capacity - 9 in tube + 1 in chamber.
# Capable of shooting 8 balls per second.
# Fixed 5" barrel with threaded tip
# Vertical feed, closed receiver
# Durable space-age polymer grip frame with single trigger and guard
# 13" total length, 7" tall
# Rear velocity adapter.
# Made of corrosion-resistant, aerospace grade aluminum with wear resistant teflon finish on all internal parts
#Extra cupseal, main spring, o-rings and other small parts included.
# Weight without paint or air: 2 pounds
Product Availability 
The PMI Piranha USP Pistol is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
                            
hudson974 Tuesday, October 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Recommended
Upgrades:
Constant air but that would take from its lightness and wieldability
Strengths: Shoots straight
Easy reload
Light
Easy field stripping
Looks nice
Weaknesses: CO2 cartridges
Occasional leak
Holster
Review: While playing one weekend I was in a tower covering a flag runner. I heard a loud clunk noise and as I turned around I saw my USP go over the edge, it clunked before it land with another clunk on the ground. It fell a good 12 feet onto the ground, hitting part of the towers lower bunker on the way down. A teammate threw it back up to me and no visible signs of damage, so I reholstered it.

After the game I noticed a small nick on it from the fall, I stripped it to be sure things were ok. I then fired it on the crono range, nothing was wrong. Later that day i played two round with just it and not my primary. Nothing was wrong with it.

I have the silver model and found I can easily put it in my jacket while on the field when i play with just it. I now have a modified pistol holster to hold it in when i use it for backup.

I've also had many new and old players gawk over it and how good it shoots.
Conclusion: From my experience, it is very durable and easy to wield to cover yourself if you make a flag run with just it in your hand.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, October 3rd, 2006 at 10:46 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

themonkeyman Saturday, May 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
since this is the only paint pistol i have yet used i cannot compare to anything
Marker Setup: all stock with a 25 loop shell belt
Recommended
Upgrades:
just a few custom modifications so it can be loaded witha 10 round tube
Strengths: accurate for a pistol
affordable
durrable
FUN
Weaknesses: Cant be 10 round tube fed
difficult to learn with
Review: This thin is incredibly fun and the price is right. At first i was intentionally using it as a secondary, this was only until i found out how much fun it was to use. Once you get the feel of it, you will be turned into a lightwieght low profile fast moving pistol wielding god. I did a custom modification(removing a screw from the feed slot so it can be removed)after this i could reload in about 8 seconds flat. It gets about 20 rounds to the 12 gram(this isnt very efficient but should not detour you from the product) this forced me to make my shots count which i was against at first but now would never go back to accuracy by volume again. Not to mention getting 4 eliminations to 4 shots is a major ego booster.
Conclusion: This is a must buy for pistol collectors for all reason stated above
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kainexile Wednesday, May 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PGP, PGP II, Zeus (various models), Overlord, PT Extreme, and others.
Marker Setup: Carter Buzzard

SP Ion
-Ricochet Apache
-SP 14"All American Rifled
-Check It Drop Forward
-Dye Throttle 91/4500
-Dye Throttle 48/4500
-Critical S-trigger

2000 Spyder Compact
-SP 14"All American Rifled
-Java Drop Forward
-Pure Energy 20oz Co2
-32Degrees Expansion Chamber

PMI USP (2X)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Stronger Magazine spring
Dye Sticky Grips or 45 wood grips
Evil Pipe tip
Strengths: Light weight
Accurate
Reliable
Weaknesses: Weak Magazine Spring
Difficulty to reload paint
Review: I've shot many paint pistols, and I am very impressed with this one. With a few simple upgrades this will be a great marker on the field. I usually play stock class and occassionally wind up in situations where I would like to have a back up to get myself out of trouble without having to call for covering fire from my teammates. Having a couple of light weight semi pistols on my hips give me that option. I really like these guns. They are light and don't hinder the movement and speed that I've gotten used to in stock class play. They are as accurate as they need to be, but I do like PMI's foresight of being able to add Pipe tips.

I would like to have a stronger spring in the magazine to feed these pistols faster, but as long as I alternate fire between these guns it hasn't been a problem.
Conclusion: This is a great, light, and reliable marker. Especially if you sometimes like using pistols as a main.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kioti Tuesday, April 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PT Xtreme
Marker Setup: Custom 98 Prolite Piranha USP
*Cyclone feeder * Polished bolt
*GTA R/T Trigger *16" J&J ceramic barrel
*Armason Riffled barrel *Bi-pod
*Raider Mag Kit *Raised Sight rail
*Raider Raised sight rail *9X32 Scope
*M4 hand guard *Carbine collapsible stock
*Gas Thru Saw Stock *10 rnd clip
*remote line
Recommended
Upgrades:
Holster, 10 rnd pods
Strengths: Durability, cool looking, pretty accurate, will compete with primary weapons
Weaknesses: Hard to reload, clip dosn't come off.
Review: Well the first thing i did out of the package is dremel the right front side of the clip so the end of it would come out So you could load it fast with a pod. the original way you have to hold your finger in the right place, push one ball in the chamber and then giggle it around to get the rest down. Now I can just hold the gun straight up and tip in the pod all fall, ready to go!
Conclusion: Other than that this is a great gun just the only thing i seen wrong. would still buy this gun
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

fathom Friday, January 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: BT-16 Tactical, Mokal Fokus, Piranha USP. ACP Coiled Remote, Mokal 3000 psi HPA tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None that I know of.
Strengths: Compact, lightweight and comfortable grip.
Weaknesses: 12 gram Co2 can leak.
Review: I got this pistol second hand from a guy at a local field. It's in mint condition and I've had to do nothing other than routine maintenance. Though I've never used any other pistols, I find this one to be a great value. It's accuracy is surprisingly good over a reasonable distance. The loader is a bit cumbersome at first, but after awhile I got the hang of tilting the pistol while I put in the paint. It fires plenty fast for me and I haven't had it chop or mis-fire on me yet. The only other thing that I had to work on was loading the Co2. At first I would have about half the cartridge leak out before I got it tightened down. After some practice I've gotten to where I have no problem getting the cartridge in without it leaking.
Conclusion: I love it. Good price point, very accurate for a pistol, very reliable and it's great to have something to haul out when your main axe runs out of air.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Snyper Dude Wednesday, December 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Tiger shark
Marker Setup: -Tippmann 98
-Halo Hopper backman led
-Response Trigger
-16 ounce CO2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recommend that you get the extended barrel even thought this gun is already pretty accurate. I have also heard about putting on a E-Force trigger but then that would more or less take away from the fact of it being a PISTOL! The adapter for this gun to use tanks is also too exspensive considering it cost about as much as the gun.
Strengths: This pistol is very accurate and it also feels great.
Weaknesses: Upgrades are too exspensive
Cold weather extremely effects air efficiency
Slow loading
Review: This pistol is extremely accurate, however do not depend on it in cold weather because the 12gram CO2 will only get about 5 shots off. I did notice though that for a pistol i could suprisingly hit what i was aiming at. The hopper is not removable for quick mag exchange like on other pistols. It does have a solid feel and look. If you plan on using this in cold weather though i would recommend that you wait to screw in the CO2 until you are going to use it.
Conclusion: This is an ok pistol, granted i have never used any other paintball pistol before. The air efficiency is quite terrible in the cold though making it a liability for survival. I do not recommend this for those people out there who want a pistol to use as a primary. The loading speed is far to slow to use as a primary. If you do decide to use this as a primary especially in colder weather make sure that you load a new CO2 in before every game unless you didnt shoot at all and only depend on getting about 10 balls out of it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 2nd, 2006 at 11:47 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

azncowboy Thursday, September 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
WarSensor Zeus G2+
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98C
ProTeam 98C M4 f/x Stock
Crosman Red-Dot Sight
Lapco Big-Shot 14"
WarSensor Zeus G2+
PMI USP
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing really out there.
Strengths: Light, simple design.
Weaknesses: Long reloading times (awkward), CO2 takes a while to change. Leaks.
Review: It's a nice pistol for starters. Quite a good price tag and there's a kit out there that has the holster as well. The only problems I had with this is the long reloading times when you run out of paint. The balls will get stuck after one enters the chamber and then the rest of them get caught on the feeding port.
The other problem is the CO2 seal. I've had to change it twice and it still leaks after a few cartridges. Quite annoying.
A quick fix for this is to make sure you use the Brass Eagle co2. I've had the best results with these.
The best i've gotten from the gun is about 20+ shots with the high tension spring.
Conclusion: If you want to get a sidearm this would be a good start. If you're willing to save up some more money then I'd go with the Zeus G2+.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

juju Monday, January 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
this is my first paintball pistol.(but i have an autococker and a vexor)
Marker Setup: stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
harness
Strengths: Accurate
Looks very cool
Light and easy to run with
Weaknesses: Back up gun(holds only 10 balls)
Runs on 12gram co2
Silver shiny
Review: so my cousin comes out of nowhere asking if i play paintball and hands me the usp pistol.I was happy to get a gun out of the blue.Took it back home and shot a few rounds and was happy with the results.Most of my paint(7 out of 10 shots)hit my target that i placed on a tree.My first game i played was in my friends backyard.One of my other friends didn't have a gun so i let him borrow this gun.(i was using my autococker trilogy comp.I also have a review of that gun)Me and my friend chris were searching for the pistol user(his name is nelson)we saw the glare of the gun(mine is silver)but missed all of the shots.We lost him.we knew his gun was smaller and because of that can run faster.We heard a shot and it almost got me.When we turned around he was on the other side of the field!(which is about 8 achers)Me and chris caught him off guard.Nelson was puting in another tank, i felt bad he didnt have a bigger gun.But for a back up gun this gun works well.
Conclusion: This gun is good a back up not a primary
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pooly Wednesday, August 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
D68
Marker Setup: pmi df,SP14" barrel,remote line,custom stick feeder.
pmi usp side arm, tac thigh holster
Recommended
Upgrades:
no up's needed
Strengths: Easy loading (paint /co2 ), accurate, durable aluminum body, easy upgrades from spyder as well.
Weaknesses: Weakness i've found is when the seals are done... not able to find anymore :-(
Review: this is my 3rd marker/1st pistol. i'm very impressed on the accuracy,and handling.
I'm a bush baller/limited ammo.so the reloading is awesome..more realistic.
All parts, except for the barrel, from my primary marker are interchangeable.
Out of the box it's an awesome performer.
Conclusion: There is no problem with this marker other than co2 seal replacements.
I can't seem to find them here in Canada.
When i got to the last one i turned it over and still using it. wish i knew that in the beginning!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media