paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Ricochet 2K Ricochet 2KX / Ricochet 2K Ricochet 2KX / Ricochet 2K Ricochet 2KX

Ricochet 2K Ricochet 2KX Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Ricochet 2K

Buy Ricochet 2K Ricochet 2KX

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Ricochet 2K Ricochet 2KX
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 31
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $100

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
185 ball capacity
9 volts batteries
14-15 balls per second
Product Availability 
The Ricochet 2K Ricochet 2KX is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
ODARKONE Wednesday, January 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
just the usual suspects-VL hoppers(various) and other, older, powered and un powered hoppers.
Marker Setup: AGD TAC-ONE with the Level 10 bolt and ULT Trigger kit , Intelli frame with blade trigger, Gas though stock, 13" Armson Stealth, ricochete 2KX Hopper
Strengths: Compact, efficient, hair thin frontal profile and the redesigned well!!!
Weaknesses: None so far
Review: Just received my 2KX, and have to say, so far I'm joining the pro ricochet band wagon.

One thing that I've learned a lot about is that new hoppers are made of crap plastic.
Thin shells and necks that can and do crack, but upon opening my new loader, found that for a really light hopper , its super thick plastic.Not really too worried that its gonna just snap off on me at all.

I got the LCD version, the window is cool and all, the controls for the functions were easy to push, and the game timer works like a charm, but, no ball counter,aarrrrgggg.
Kinda stupid of me, I just assumed it was in there.Cant really take any points off for my not reading all the info i guess.


Its not too loud when its running, but I'm getting an oldschool hopper cover for it, and then it will be super quiet anyway.

K and heres the finisher, in my delivery box with the hopper , was a nice, thick, hopper swab, that they through in for me, at no charge.

gotta love that kind of customer service.

Conclusion: Nice hopper, cool company, i'll update this as i use the hopper over this upcoming season(2005), but so far its a winner
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 12th, 2005 at 11:13 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

V1nn`/ Thursday, March 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
EGG
Revy (all of them)
Halos
Zap Quantum (dont even both its so bad)
Marker Setup: Dye Proto
Air America Armageddon 68/4500
Strengths: looks cool
steady flow
9volt
LCD screen
Weaknesses: 9volt (12 would be godly)
Lid is even with top
Review: I just recived this product and i decided to put it up against my 12volt revy w/xboard. The 2KX holds about 7 more paintballs than a revy does, and runs on a 9volt. If this hopper came in a 12volt or 18volt, it would just own, but it doesnt and it doesnt have to. i filled them both with the same amount of paint and the 2KX came out ontop by roughly <1second faster than the revy. Since there wasnt really a clear winner that i could see, i did a diffrent test to look at the stream of paint, the revy had gaps in it after about 1-2 seconds while the 2KX had a very steady stream. The LCD screen, timer and other things is pretty cool, and the shape is also cool also. I play front so it should be interesting to see if it really deflects that well.
The only problem I really had with it was that the lid is even with the top, so reloading can be tricky sometimes unlike the revy where its extreamly easy to reload.
Conclusion: This is a very good hopper for the price and for the battery it uses. Id reccommend it to anyone who cant afford a HALO and doesnt like the EGG.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

Killerinstinct Monday, March 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Regular crap gravity hopper. Like 1 ball a second, or however many it chooses until it clogs.
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder Imagine LED 2005
Ricochet 2KX LCD Loader
45cu 4500psi ACI N2 Tank
Custom Products 12" and 16" Barrel
Dye Stick 3 Grip Black
Strengths: -Fast.
-Awesome timer.
-Very light.
-Ricochet really works.
-One 9 volt
Weaknesses: -No ball counter.
-May be too slow for some really fast guns
Review: It has yet to clog or run slower than my gun can shoot. My gun only shoots 13 BPS but that's fast enough for me. The "Ricochet" actually works but not always. So far its 2 for 3. One broke on it and I saw the other 2 bounce off. There may have been more but I didn't see them.
-The timer on it is awesome. It doesn't have a ball counter but I don't really care since I can feel when I'm running low, and the top is clear. It is kind of annoying holding the button down to reset it 10:00. You have to go all the way through 99:00 to get there. Takes about 15 seconds, but yet again, I'm an impatient person so it may not bother you.
- Also it only takes one 9 volt battery rather than two and it's very light. People say they're bad hoppers but personally, I love this thing.
Conclusion: Overall it's an amazing hopper. I don't know if I'd pay $79.95 but if you can get it for $49.95 like I did then get it immediately.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 7th, 2005 at 6:41 pm PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

Cliffy Miracle Monday, March 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL motorized
Marker Setup: Pilot ACS and TLX custom
32 Degrees Ice Cold 14" Chrome Barrel
Ricochet 2KX
Strengths: Price $45.00
Flawless performance
Not big, not loud
Weaknesses: Fits only 185 balls but you give and take with anything.
Review: As stated above, $45.00 bucks for a motorized hopper is an awesome deal. Although I do not believe in the theory of the "ricochet " design, the shape is far less visually intrusive when trying to aim at a target. As stated by others, you can make this hopper less noisy by covering it up with a cloth based cover. Ricochet's warranty service is OUTSTANDING to say the least, no questions asked.
Conclusion: This is a highly recommended hopper in my opinion just for the price and value. IT SERVES THE PURPOSE WELL.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 3rd, 2005 at 12:54 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Argelmcgee Friday, September 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: AGD Tac-1 Automag
Hammerhead 5-fin Battlestikxx Kit
Ricochet 2kx LCD

Backup/Loaner:
Tippmann A-5 with Response Trigger
Palmer 12 inch Brass Barrel
Lapco Snapshot Barrel .687
Pure Energy 68cu 4500 psi HPA
Palmer's Stabilizer
TechT Vortex Mod
JCS Redhot Powertube/ Hexadecagonal bolt

Backup/Loaner:
BT-4 Combat
Strengths: Reliable, simple, durable
Weaknesses: Not quite as many features as would be preferred, jams once in a while.
Review: I got this for my Tac-1 because it was going for $47.99 at actionvillage.com. With it I got an Extreme Rage camouflage neoprene hopper cover, which fits quite well.

I put 10-15 pods of paint through it, and tested the free falling rate and with me sticking my finger and stopping the flow every 2-3 balls. For the free fall, the stream was completely steady and took about 10 seconds to empty (140 balls per test). I got 1 stuck ball during the second stage of testing, when I was sticking my finger in the way every 2-3 balls to simulate burst firing, but with a single, tiny shake, the flow resumed. I also pushed up rather hard when I got the stuck ball, so that might have been the cause.

The setting are easy to use, it turns on and off with a single press of the button, you can turn the audio beeps (from the timer) off, and by pressing the Minute button when the timer is running, you can manually turn the agitator.

Replacing the battery was extremely simple. The battery compartment is reached with no screws, just a hard tug will slide the hatch off, and you put a single 9-volt in, replace the hatch and play.

The plastic seemed REALLY durable, it reminded me of a Nalgene water bottle (I've had one Nalgene for 7 straight years now, I've never broken a Nalgene, and I use them heavily in the wilderness for extended periods of time).

For the price, this is a great electronic hopper, and I can't wait to test it in the field.

Edit: Tested, it worked very well, jammed up once or twice though, which was probably the paint, but I'm going to get a Revy impeller to fix that.

Edit: This is what I said about my 2kx on www.automags.org:

I have the Ricochet 2kx on my Tac-1. I had the option to get the Ricochet Apache for the same price, but i didn't do it. I also decided not to get a VLocity, Halo, Reloader, and all the others for some of the same reasons.

1) Batteries. If you go through 5000 shots and have to replace 2 9 volts every time, that equals money. The 2kx uses only a SINGLE 9-Volt battery, and gets a reliable 6000 shots out of it.

2) Weight. The 2kx is much, much lighter than a Halo or Reloader. I don't know about a VLocity, but I think the 2kx is around the same weight.

3) Strength. Unlike many, many other loaders, the 2kx's feedneck won't break on you. Thick, heavy duty polycarbonate.

4) Can function without batteries. You heard me. Unlike most of the other electronic hoppers, the 2kx will work flawlessly without batteries. In fact, I played half of the first day of USANA's Russian Front scenario, and all of Sunday (which was the final battle, a major paint waster) without turning on the loader. If your battery goes down, you have a fine second option. Feeds quite fast without batteries, and unless you just blaze away, you won't outshoot the gravity.

5) Price. $48 from www.actionvillage.com.
Conclusion: Great hopper, I would even hazard the claim that it's the best hopper there is, for the price.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, October 23rd, 2007 at 8:21 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintball1390 Thursday, January 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
g2k
Marker Setup: 2kx imagine 20 oz soon getting a autococker I'm so happy
Strengths: Fast, pretty consistent, good looks light.
Weaknesses: None yet.
Review: It is over all geat it can most likely keep up with the 100 dollar hoppers also i love this hopper becuz of the design it has saved me countless times this hopper is pretty cheap too i got mine new for 70 bucks and at 15 balls a second that is really good
Conclusion: Cheers.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

BAZOOKA_Boy Monday, May 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
revies, empire reloader
Marker Setup: Psycoballistics Lightning Deluxe
System X reg
Macro and a Shocktech drop
68/4500 PMI tank
Strengths: Looks
Ease of use
One 9volt
Battery life
Weaknesses: Not fast enough
Review: The Bad:
This hopper is being used on my mech cocker, which I have adjusted to shoot extremely fast, and have a very short pull 2mm, I must say this hopper just isn't fast enough. After I got done adjusting my gun after a cleaning, I fired 5 balls and the 6th ball was choped right in half. They claim it is about 14-15 BPS loader, It is more like a 8-10. When you can do about 13 on a mach cocker problems can arise.

The Good:
This hopper is extremly nice looking, it fits the lines of my gun. As for the ricocheting qualities, I do infact know that they work, never had a hopper hit sence I bought it. I have the LED verson because I want as much juice to go to the motor as possible, for taht reason, the LED version is actually faster by a ball or so. I like the fact that you do not need too many 9volts to run it, but a 12volt would obviously be nicer. The life of the batteries on this gun are tramendous, i Have not changed the batteries, and I have palyed almost every weekend scence I bought it.
Conclusion: The claim that this is the fastest 9volt loader in the world is true, but it is not so hard to beat a 6-8Bps loader that is the VL Quantum. Good for a trilogy cocker, but a faster mech cocker such as mine, an apachie would be nicer. Great hopper for any low end mech gun or trilogy.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

SmartIONparts85 Tuesday, July 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98
spyder xtra
smart parts ION
Marker Setup: smart parts ION with richochet 2KX with blade trigger
Strengths: Holds alot of balls and feeds them pretty fast
Weaknesses: Cant think of any so none right now
Review: the richochet 2KX is has a unique design and is really fast. spins everytime a ball drop threw the neck. i recomend this hopper. it straps to the neck of the gun really tight so once its on its difficult to get off so just twist the neck off of the gun. i play at master blasters in Virginia and its nothing but speed ball and this hoppen never let me down.
Conclusion: Its very good the price is probably just right for a hopper like this its worth it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

prestonw Sunday, May 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Just gravity hoppers
Marker Setup: odyssey torid x with the 2kx LED and tactical sling
Strengths: Pretty slick lookin
lid on top
low battery warning
isn't detected by radar
Weaknesses: Dont think it keeps up with 15bps--though i put a USED battery in it
Review: Like i said above there was a used battery which i may have screwed up in the past in it when i went full auto, so dont take my word on it until i rewrite my review later i also think all hoppers need that lid mounted on the top back when i used an xtra, i had a gravity hopper and that SOB would occasionally just open up and pour my paint everywhere so this kind of thing impresses me

-----i figured out how to improve agitation on this hopper and it should only cost you like 7 bucks, if you'd like to know how just e mail me or something.

basically from what i can tell the hopper does 14-15 bps, but only for about 1-2 seconds because the agitators don't move balls in the upper part of the hopper
Conclusion: Well i like this hopper so i suppose it deserves a solid 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, July 2nd, 2005 at 10:57 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

spyderphycho Thursday, March 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
regular gravity hoppers -ok if you dont have an electro gun
vl revy -alright, ricochet is better
vl egg2 -sweet,but to many people have them
Marker Setup: "old school" spyder imagine with check-it feedneck, cp flame drop4ward, cp 14'' classic barrel, ricochet 2kx
Strengths: this thing is tough!! ,feeds really fast ONLY NEEDS ONE 9VOLT!!!
Weaknesses: There really is none this is an awesome hopper
Review: ok, i've tried alot of the hoppers out there, this one is my favorite.Its tough, looks wicked awesome its glossly black color fits right in with my imagine. they say the msrp for this thing is like $100? i got mine brand new off of ebay shippin and everything for about $50 if you have a low-end electronic like me and are thinkin about gittin an electro hopper stick with ricochet, you wont be dissappointed
Conclusion: If you want a cheap and sturdy e-hopper buy one of these
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, March 11th, 2005 at 12:04 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media