paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Model 98 / Tippmann Model 98 / Tippmann Model 98 / Tippmann Model 98

Tippmann Model 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Model 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Model 98
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 557
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The model 98 is an entry level gun for a good price.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Model 98 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (56):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Tippmann Luver Sunday, October 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years13 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
N/A
Marker Setup: Model 98 with expansion chamber. Revy Hopper (X board) Stainless Steal Kit. and Stainless Freak.
Recommended
Upgrades:
The first upgrade I would get is a new Barrel. Though the stock does perform well in speed ball, In wooded or backyard ball I would suggest either the Flatline or the Freak, maybe a Teardrop.
Strengths: The Tippmann is well known for its durability.
Weaknesses: Hard to field strip. Gas hog.
Review: In my two years experience, Tippmann is a great gun. Its performance is barely out done by its strength. Though it may take an extra couple of seconds to field strip I think its worth it. Tippmann with expansion chamber cuts down on the Co2 use. I would recommend even getting a regulator. All in all Tippmanns are awesome
Conclusion: My final recommendation on Tippmann 98 Model or custom is (listed in order of importance). First new barrel, second expansion chamber, third either a drop forward or remote, and last nitro
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Mat-The-Hunter Tuesday, July 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Extra
Marker Setup: Model 98, 2002 16" All American Barrel, 9 Oz C02 w/ Buttplate, 4x Hunting Scope, Custom Made Barrel Grips, Hyper Starr Bolt, Psycho Ballistics Double Trigger and Guard. (-Soon to come- Low Pressure Kit, Lapco Drop Forward, 3A Tank-)
Recommended
Upgrades:
-A barrel is a good idea
-A bit long so a drop forwards good, though I like the length.
Strengths: -Durability
-Good trigger pull
-Inexpensive
-Availability
-Name
-Looks
-Runs very efficiently off C02
Weaknesses: -Screws strip easily with given allen wrenches. Field strip with care!
-Loud
Review: I've been using the gun for a short time now and I made a HUGE mistake by stripping one of the screws. DON'T MAKE THIS MISTAKE! BE CAREFUL!!! However the screws being stripped was my own personal negligence. he screws are very low quality as well as the allen keys. If you have access to new screws jump on it and I recommend you purchase some good allen wrench's with the gun if you are serious about the gun and your commitment.

Other than this the gun performs phenomenally. I'm a woods baller and I kind of consider myself a "sniper"/ hunter and I really like the accuracy I can achieve with my current set-up. The noise made from the gun is made mainly from the bolt and even the quietest barrel can not truly silence the gun to acceptable levels. However when 1 shot (ahem or 1 burst) is one kill it doesn't matter that much. Make sure you thoroughly clean your gun when you first purchase it as it comes with a very horrible oil job and their are some metal fragments within the clam shell occasionally. I can obtain a good range (though that often matters as I play in thick natural brush) and excellent accuracy with my set up though I believe my barrel does it all. I don't feel I have to stress even more (as other posts have done that well enough) how much you need to replace the stock barrel.
Conclusion: This was a warning about the screws! BE CAREFUL WITH THEM FOR GOODNESS SAKE!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, August 2nd, 2003 at 2:13 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

DrDaPoo Monday, September 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Cocker, Mags
Marker Setup: Tipp98, 12 vt hopper, 14 inch ceramic barrel, 7 inch drop forward, 24 oz co2 tank, palmer stabalizer, custom trigger valve and frame job.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, all you need is a good barrel
Strengths: Very sterdy
Very reliable
Great in all weathers
Weaknesses: Heavy
Long
Review: Ive been playing with a tippmann sence it came out (in 1998). Ive keep this gun ever sence and I will never give it up. Ive had my gun ran over by a f-150 truck, picked it up gased it up and it shot just as well. With a little work you can actualy outshoot a 12v hopper .Its the best gun Ive ever bought. It is heavy, it is ugly but its fool proof and it wont brake no matter if you bash it on a rock, not oil it for 4 mothes, run it threw mud. I can tell it it will work.
Conclusion: This gun is great, it will take a licking and keep on ticking. When you shoot someone with a $1000 with your $130 gun just smile. Playable in torneys (Tippmann effects just proved that with a 1 place win in the IAO 5 and 7 man team). Dont underestimate this gun. Its simplicity and effectiveness overcomes its weight and length.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, July 3rd, 2004 at 8:11 am PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

IMaSYKO Saturday, July 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
piranha gs exp-good gun
spyders-all kinds
Marker Setup: Tippmann model 98- expansion chamber, 98 custom proseal front bolt and tube, rocket cock sealer, and a 14 inch smartparts tear-drop barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
expansion chamber & internals, stock barrel sucks
Strengths: accurate*powerful*easy to maintain*
Weaknesses: takes time to strip but rarely happens
Review: this is the best gun for a beginner and good all year round. I would recomend this gun for begginers and intermedit players(add a few upgrades) my gun broke 1 time because of a stupid seal but once in 3 years thats pretty good. the people i play with are some of the craziest people i play paintball with.


who ever says its too heavy is a pansie!!!!!!
Conclusion: this gun is sweet its the best gun for my type of game - all year paint ball every two weeks
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

GIZMO8Z Wednesday, October 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
4 years4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've used pretty much any high or low end paintball marker you could think of.
Marker Setup: Custom Built, Dust Blue WGP Orr-accle Bodied 'Cocker W/ Chrome E-Blade, Chrome WGP Black Magic Reg, Chrome Grip Feed Neck, Red Shocktech Pneumatics/ KAPP Cosmetics ,14" DYE boomstick & 45/45 Nitro Duck Tuff Skin HPA Tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
~Aftermarket Barrel.
~Drop Forward.
Strengths: ~BUILT LIKE A TANK.
~Easy to take care of/clean.
~Good performance.
~Many upgrades.
Weaknesses: ~Stock Barrel is terrible.
~W/O dropforward, this marker is long.
Review: The Tippmann M98 is by far the best entry level marker on the market today. It's built tough to handle anything an inexperianced player could throw at it. Because of this, many paintball fields today use this marker as its rental model. For example, I work at Rush Paintball in Poughkeepsie, NY (shameless plug) and we use tippmann 98s as our rental. One day the sliding door on our supply van wouldn't close, so we used a tippmann m98 to hammer it closed. THE MARKER WORKED GOOD AS NEW AFTERWARDS! In addition to its sheer duribility, the M98 is easy to take care of and clean (just lube it up and hose it off), its line of upgrades is unending, and it has the ability to keep up with markers 5X its cost.

However, the M98 does have its drawbacks. It's stock barrel is terrible, and with out a drop forward, its really long.
Conclusion: If your new to paintball and want a reliable marker to get you started, or your a veteran whose looking for a rock solid backup, the Tippmann M98 is for you!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

yhate845 Monday, October 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing
Marker Setup: i have a Tippmann 98 cutom/RT, Halo B hopper, Rear bolt Volocity adjuster, Red flame drop forward, Double trigger w/guard, 14 inch nite stikk barrel and 20oz co2 w/on and off switch.
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel cause the marker barrel makes the paintballs swurve off course and isnt really accurate. Also a double trigger cause its lighter and its easier to press.
Strengths: It's a great gun for pros and beginers and it has ALOT of power!!!
Weaknesses: it's kinda heavy but strengthens your muscles
Review: I have to say this is the best gun for beginners because u can add upgrades as you progress and get better at being a paintballer. All the upgades i bought were exspensive but really worth it in the long run cause it helped me if i was trapped behind a bunker or was being rushed by other players.
Conclusion: Overall i recommend this gun to all beginners because as you get better at paintballing you can buy more upgrades like the response trigger and a electronic hopper. good shopping places are paintballgear and firstcallpaintball
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

sk8punk3d288 Wednesday, June 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Eradicator (A Little Worse)
Zap Amp (Equal)
Viewloader Triad (A Little Worse)
Viewloader Orion (A Little Worse)
Marker Setup: Zap Amp w/ a 9 oz. Co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
No absoloutely necessary upgrades but if you got the $ get the M16 kit.
Strengths: Co2 Efficient
Accurate
Good Range
Easy To Clean
Customizable
Cheap
Weaknesses: Common
Review: This is a really good gun for most all players. I personally wouldn't like it because everyone else has one and I don't want to be like everyone else. If you don't want to customize it, it is kind of pointless to buy it. The gun is good but it does kind of feel like you are paying $50 for just the Tippmann name. As far as the gun, it fires well and is good for paintballers from newbs to experts.
Conclusion: I would buy this gun if you want but I would buy something like a Zap Amp for cheaper and it is the same quality gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 29th, 2004 at 11:00 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Autocker2 Tuesday, January 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Most Spyders / any other low end semis
Marker Setup: Dusted Silver System X Type-X, Eblade, Empire Reloader, Full 12" freak w/ stainless steel inserts and stiffi front, worrblade bolt, evo ram, Palmer Micro Rock, Chrome Flame Drop(32 degrees), and Crossfire tank

AGD ReTro Valve
AGD LEVEL 10 AGD Flatline 68ci/3000 tank black AGD powerfeed right body
black AGD Intelliframe w/blade trigger linked to 12v Revy
black 12v Revy
black DYE stickies
full 12" freak stainless steel inserts stiffi front
black KAPP non-gas through foregrip
System X On/off drop

Tippman:
Nitro kit, response kit, boom stick, system x on/off drop, Rear Cocking, Ak rickochet
Recommended
Upgrades:
I dunno what ever floats your boat you can pretty much do anything to this gun, OH BUT DEF GET A BETTER BARREL
Strengths: IMPOSSIBLE TO BREAK, Accurate when you get a longer / better barrel, easy to field strip
Weaknesses: havnt found any so far, sept maybe the stock barrel
Review: This gun is amazing for newbies to start w/. this gun can have almost anything put on it and it has some outstanding Upgrades and its a good scenerio gun if you play a lot of them. Its also made by TIPPMAN which is a very good company and knows what they are doing.
Conclusion: Buy this gun if you are just starting out its only 100-120$ and its great for the price / if your looking to deck a gun out this is the gun for you
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cyber_jesus Thursday, April 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
vl orion, smart parts shocker
Marker Setup: m98 with smart parts rifled barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
a flateline barrel if u need one
Strengths: Light, accurate, durability, fast and its durability + the feel of the hand grips rock.
Weaknesses: Its a little loud.
Review: My m98 is now almost 9 years old and its still goin hard! this gun will never die!
It is super light and accurate. Its probably the most drurable gun in the world, and has never ever chopped a ball either.
Its super gas sufficient too, i get i get 350 shots off of my 9 ounce!!!!!!
Its not tourny fast but perfect for bush ball. The over all feel of the gun is also nice as.
The m98 also has very little kick aswell.rel fixes that.
It is a little loud though, but a new barrel fixes that easy.
I see no reson to pay $50-$100 more for a 98 custom when they are exactly the same.
If your into bush ball and dont wont to pay heaps i recommend you get one.

I hope this helps.
Conclusion: If you wont a gun that will never let you down in any way get a model 98.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 13th, 2007 at 9:01 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

-=|V|av12iK=- Monday, March 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder E-99, Sypder TL
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custome with: low pressure kit, expansion chamber, flatline barrel, response trigger, double trigger, psycho b. drop forward, rear cocking kit, revy 12v hopper and PMI CO2 =(
Recommended
Upgrades:
FLATLINE, EXPANSION CHAMBER, RESPONSE TRIGGER, Drop Forward, Double TRIGGER, Electronic Hopper
Strengths: RELIABLE! DURABLE, GREAT ALL AROUND, NO PROBLEMS!
Weaknesses: little heavy after low pressure kit (drop forward balances).Field stripping tough
Review: Tippmann 98 custom is a $130-140 dollar marker. WHAT A DEAL!
This gun is so reliable I haven't had any problems in 6months of use. If your new to the sport its a great gun to get started with or if your looking to upgrade its great when u customize it.
the Flatline barrel you can upgrade to is the best barrel on the market in my opinion. It adds more distance and shoots farther without any loss in velocity than any other barrel.
WIth a response trigger and D. Trigger, you can get your m98 shooting like an auto.
This gun isn't flashy, its simple construction and paint may seem boring, but if your a serious shopper looking for a good marker but cant decide, this is the gun that you will truly be happy with.

And It is also the most customizable gun you could get. Its like a car, you can fix this gun up to top of the line status for fractions of the cost of more expensive guns and its more fun in doing so.
A++++ marker
Conclusion: GET ONE! ITS CHEAPLY PRICED, DURABLE, RELIABLE, CUSTOMIZABLE!!!
AWESOME AWESOME AWESOME
I couldn't be happier with it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (56):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media