paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Model 98 / Tippmann Model 98 / Tippmann Model 98 / Tippmann Model 98

Tippmann Model 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Model 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Model 98
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 557
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The model 98 is an entry level gun for a good price.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Model 98 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (56):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
syphonsnipe Saturday, December 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: i use m98c silver with a flatline, proteam sniper f/x stock, silver polished compression chamber, remote, 20 oz co2, some mask i finded in the dumpster, and a 15x scope
Strengths: everything except....
Weaknesses: STUPID FEILD STRIPPING!!! almost impossible
Review: it good, but my valve broke when i was about to have a 6 hour fun time of playing paintball. :(((((( I shot a target from like 200 ft away, it was the size of an apple, i shot a spectar three times (hey i thought he was playing!), i shot a ref in the groin the blameded it on my friend. ITS ACURRATE!!!. and its cheap as heck.
Conclusion: IT OWNZORS BUY IT NOW OR THE TIPPMAN FAERIE WILL KILL YOU!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

tippmannkid98 Saturday, November 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
brass eagle eradicator-not in the same catagory(OBVIOSLY, ITS A BRASS EAGLE)
Marker Setup: Tippmann Model 98
Flatline Barrel System
Tasco 4x15 rile scope
Laser pointer duct taped to gun
PMI 9v hopper
PMI 20oz CO2
PMI butt plate
Recommended
Upgrades:
flatline barrel system $115
rifle scope $15-$75
stock $60
drop forward $20-$75
Strengths: durable
simplicity
Weaknesses: not very consistant velocity
Review: Model "Tippmann Model 98"
Caliber .68
Action SEMI Automatic (Open bolt blow-back)
Power CO2-standard 9 oz. cylinder
Magazine Capacity 150+
CO2 Capacity 500+ shots per (standard) 9 oz. cylinder
Cycle Rate 11BPS
Standard Barrel Length 8.5"
Sniper Model Barrel Length --
Length - Overall (with Standard Barrel & no tank) 19.625"
Weight (without tank) 2.9 lbs
Effective Range 150+
Effective Range with Flatline 250+

As you can see, this is an awesome gun! I personally think its the best on the market. You should get a flatline to increase your distance first. the next thing you need is a scope. I have a Tasco 4x15 rifle scope and it works great. Any scope is fine if it has cross-hairs and can zoom. Next, you need a stock. you shield get either a car stock, or a sniper stock, any one is fine, just get one to increase your stability. Next, you might want a drop forward or a remote to balance your gun. The last upgrade I think you might look into is a bi-pod, this is the thing that mounts on your barrel, it has two legs protruding from it that fold up. this will also give you added stability, and you can mount you gun on something easier. These upgrades are for the sniping woods ball type. If you are more of an arena player, you might want to think about getting a response trigger or an e-bolt. Don't get the flatline, stock, bi-pod, or scope if you are all speedball, personally i hate speedball. get the sniper set up i said above and start playing woodsball!!!!
Conclusion: over all this is a great gun and i think you'll like it!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JTfreak88 Monday, April 28th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
4 years2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none to compare with
Marker Setup: tippmann 98,smart parts progressive barrel,20 oz
Recommended
Upgrades:
buy a new barrel
Strengths: has never broken
powerful
great for all skill level
Weaknesses: cant field strip
Review: This gun was my first semi-auto gun. i got this gun about 4 years ago and it hasnt broke on me yet. i do recomend you buy a new barrel because the stock barrel shoots like crap. This gun is very powerful and accurate with my smart parts progressive barrel. One problem i have found with this gun however is that you need to buy good paint because the gun will bust the balls if you dont. this can be a problem because you spend a lot of money on paint. also if you dont know what you are doing it can be hard to clean. but overall this gun works great
Conclusion: This is by far my most favorite gun i own because it is so durable. it has never broke on me. i totally recomend this gun to people who are looking for a non expensive gun but still works great. i rate this gun a 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, April 29th, 2001
 
2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: The Tippmann M98 was the first PB gun I used. I believe it to be a great entry level gun. The M98 is rugged and reliable, it is easy to maintain and clean. The M98 lags behind some other guns in areas like Rate of Fire, breakage, and weight; but you have to remember, this is a gun is designed to for rugged use and entry level play. I often compare my M98 to the Ak47 of paintball, reliable, distinct, rugged, accurate (w/Flatline), heavy, and definitely not beautiful. Great Gun.
Weaknesses: My M98 worked fine the first year I got it, afterwards it became completely unreliable. My M98 chops 1 ball out of evey 3 with the flatline, it has become a gas hog, and lost its accuracy. This may be an isolated incident, but M98 can become very frustrating if you break it. (To all those PB veterans out there, yes, I have cleaned my gun, and yes I have let the people at the shop try and fix it. If you experience what I'm Experiencing, can you help me out?)
Conclusion: If you're considering buying the M98 for an entry level gun, you've made the right choice. However, if you are a dedicated PB player, try out the new electro guns for a change, you might be suprised by their superior performance. Also, the M98 can be a major pain if you are used to lighter guns (i.e. Spyders).
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RichieCzop Sunday, October 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None this gun is the best on the market for the price
Marker Setup: Tippman Model 98, double trigger, wisper barrel, Drop Foward,
Recommended
Upgrades:
Everything i put up for my marker setup
Strengths: Shoots Strong far accurate. durable CHEAP!!!
Weaknesses: Heavy bulky but that's it
Review: the paintball gun is the very durable (my friend is selling his gun cheap with everything upgraded Instant message him on First To fall 7 for info) There are many upgrades for this gun to suit your needs . if u dont like a single trigger u can buy one and have it installed overall u can get a pro gun for a cheap price. thank You for reading this review and please let me urge you to BUY THIS GUN my friend is selling
Conclusion: Great Gun BuY It it is the best on the market
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kjbkjb9 Sunday, December 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
icon E
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98
talon ghost
Recommended
Upgrades:
black auto hopper and new barrel
Strengths: It does not break and is easy to oil and clean
Weaknesses: The short barrel
Review: I just got my tippmann 98 and i knew it was going to be good to me. The day i got it i went paint balling and i shot about 1k paintballs that day and non of the balls choped in the barrel. I know that's a lot of paintballs for 1 day but i could'nt resist shooting my new gun. While it shot straight and kinda slow so i made the volicety higher and it worked awesom. It shot as fast as i could pull the trigger. And to tell you the truth the gun is NOT bulky at all. It's light and is easy to turn the safety off. I'm thinking of getting a auto hopper because the stock hopper is hard to close.
Conclusion: It's an aweson gun and i had no problems with it. I'm thinking of an auto hopper and maybe a new barrel for my birthday. WHAT EVER YOU DO CLEAN IT AS SOON AS YOU GET IT if want instructions on how to clean it go to a paintball dealer ship or ask a friend.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Tippmann Masta Wednesday, November 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
4 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
brass eagle avenger2 (which is not the greatest!)

Marker Setup: Tippmann Model 98
14" Custom Products Barrel
Lapco Drop
Brass Eagle Lazer Scope
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel!

Strengths: The key strengths of the model 98 are speed, accuracy, great for woods play!
Weaknesses: The 8" barrel!!
Review: This is one of the best guns i've used! This gun is great for beginners and experienced players! I suggest a new barrel for this gun (but it is not a must need). I am a woods type of guy, so i prefer the model 98! I am a very satisfied customer with my model 98!
Conclusion: This gun is the best gun I have ever used so far. If you like to dominate in the woods, this is your best choice!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 23rd, 2005 at 4:08 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pullethmyfinger Friday, September 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
A-5
Black Max
Marker Setup: Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
J&J barrel

Strengths: Great entry level gun
reliable
upgradable
Weaknesses: Not very many
Review: This was my first gun opon entering paintball and I love it. Its inexpensive for the quality
I would have gotten a barrel to improve the accuracy but I am switching to a mini orracle with nitro. I would go nitro with this gun unless you really have it suped up and CO2 has been fine for me.
Conclusion: Great entry level gun
and very customisable
many guns 70 bucks more
arent as good

definatly buy this gun!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kevbureau Tuesday, September 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder xtra, paradox.
Marker Setup: tippmann model 98,9 oz co2 botle
Recommended
Upgrades:
The barel, the grips(electronics), the double trigger
Strengths: Tippmann fiability,good aim
Weaknesses: He not very fast ... not much upgrade
Review: The Model 98 is the predecessor to the 98 Custom. It features all the core technology of the 98 Custom such as the CVX Valve, Clamshell design, and a True .45 Grip. The Model 98 can accept the Flatline Barrel System and the Comp-Air System with no complicated modifications. The E-bolt Electric System and The Response Trigger System can be retro-fitted to the Model 98 by the Tippmann Proshop, However, due to custom milling of the receiver, the marker must be sent in to the Tippmann Proshop.
Conclusion: This good for is first gun
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

tppmmlvr!!! Wednesday, August 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
-Pro-Carbine
-A-5
-Impulse
Marker Setup: -J&J Ceramic 12" barrel
-Empire Loader
-16 oz. tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, stock sux!!!
RT trigger
Strengths: Cheap!
Durable.
Good for beginners.
Weaknesses: Doesn't fire very fast &
hard to fieldstrip.
Review: If you are thinking of starting to paintball, the first gun you should get is this. It is very easy to maintain. It is a very good buy, standing at less than 200! It can take any sort of beating you give it. It is upgradable. And if you upgrade it right, it can waste away opposition in speed-ball and wood-ball(for the price =P).
Conclusion: If you are looking for a cheap, upgradable, reliable and accurate gun, the model 98 is for you.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, August 26th, 2004 at 9:35 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (56):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media