paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Model 98 / Tippmann Model 98 / Tippmann Model 98 / Tippmann Model 98

Tippmann Model 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Model 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Model 98
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 557
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The model 98 is an entry level gun for a good price.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Model 98 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (56):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Toad Saturday, April 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Shutter, Spyder E-99, WGP AutoCocker.
Marker Setup: J & J Ceramic Barel, Expansion Chamber.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel and Expansion Chamber
Strengths: *Durable
*Never Breaks balls
*Good beginner gun
*Cheap
*Alot of Mods for it.
Weaknesses: *Ugly
*Heavy
*Really hard to take apart
Review: The 98 was my first gun. I got it and put a new barrel on it and then a expansion chamber. It is very durable I have been using it for a long time and only broke a few balls because they were old. But I have tested my friends spyder's and there guns are so much lighter. Also they are easy to take apart. I tried to oil up my tippman and open it up and pieces came flying everywhere and I had to take it to the shop but they spyder is easy to clean and keep in good shape. All and all I think it is a good gun for beginners and people who dont play paintball alot.
Conclusion: All and all I think it is a good gun for beginners and people who dont play paintball alot.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, September 17th, 2000
 
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: The 98 gives you alot for your hard earned money. Durable and easy to use. The breakdown is simple and maintenece can be completed easily. The marker is easy to point and aim, plus the foregrip allows you to steady your aim while assaulting. The built in elbow and front sight release allow for quick cleaning of your barrel. The 98 has a nice trigger pull that won't tire your digit out and I have been able to fire a variety of paint thru it and have yet to encounter any problem outside of inaccurate paint. You get what you pay for folks.
Weaknesses: The adjustable sights are a bit large and you have to be sure that your hopper is tightened properly, if not, you will lose it when you hit the deck. Also watch out for the small brown plastic piece that attaches underneath your barrel. It will get lost. As for the front sight post, the little spring is another piece that will get lost easy. Also, if you are used to pulling your parts out the back of your marker, you may not like this one. It splits in half.
Conclusion: If you were the type that carried a rifle in the military, this marker will be perfect. Good heft and length that make aiming easy. Once you put in your personal touches, you have a good marker that will bring you a lot of use. This marker is my first and it has what I wanted right out of the box. A no nonsense marker for a no nonsense player. Try it. By the way, Tippmann Ordanace makes a M203 style grenade launcher that just may be the perfect addition. One can dream.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

IconE-man Wednesday, April 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippmann Model 98 with 14" J&J Ceramic Barrel and a 32 Degrees Icon E (stock)
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Strengths: Powerful
reliable
indestructable
looks cool
Weaknesses: accuracy stinks
Review: This gun is awesome. It is very powerful. It also has an assault rifle feel which doesn't make it perform better but makes it look really cool. It is not very expensive. this gun is great for beginners and more advanced players alike. This is a great gun. dont hesitate to buy it.
Conclusion: this is a good gun for beginners and advanced players. If you are looking for a great gun but aren't in looking to spend a lot of money buy this gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Xtrmpaintballer Sunday, July 14th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann mode 98 custom
Marker Setup: Boomstick, expansion chamber
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel!!!!
Strengths: The gun was a good gun to start with. The gun was pretty cheap at the time that i found it.
Weaknesses: you have to take the gun apart to clean it, which can be a pain in the ass, and you will likely lose some parts, which I did alot!!! after I got the boomstick on the gun, the gun was really HUGE!!! i had trouble gettting out of my bunker because the gun was aboult 5 feet long! and even witht the boomstick, the gun wasnt that accurate.
Conclusion: It was a good gun to start with, but soon or a later, I gave up the gun because it was driving me crazy!! If I had to use the tippmann for the rest of my life, i thnk i would have gave up on paintball
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

woodsballer24 Saturday, June 12th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Custom 98 which i don't like as much.
Marker Setup: M98 and 14" JJ Ceramic Barrel. I use Co2.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Upgrades are worthless, just get 14" barrel. Get 16" if you want but I don't see much difference.
Strengths: -STRONG. Mine is 11 years old.
-Light.
-Sufficent on Co2.
Weaknesses: -Be VERY careful when cleaning. Don't lose small parts
Review: This gun is a TANK. I love the grips on it. Make sure you take apart slowly and carefully. Easy to clean by the way. Youi just need good paint and you're good to go. The body is light and looks pretty cool. Tighten your screws tight or else they get loose easily. Especially on the bottom where you put in the Co2/air.
Conclusion: Get this gun. It will NOT break and is an easy clean which you want because you should clean after every game. You just need a good barrel for accuracy. Make sure you buy good balls.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

aslan Sunday, April 4th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder One, Raptor Silver Eagle, Rebel LE, Tippmann Pro-Lite
Marker Setup: Model 98 w/vertical adaptor, 6-stage ACI Sub-Zero X-chamber, quick disconnects, extreme rage timer grip.
Recommended
Upgrades:
mechanical hopper
Strengths: Accuracy, Durability, Product support
Weaknesses: Speed, Difficulty to field strip
Review: I rebuilt one of these and added some upgrades. The gun was very accurate and easy to use, but slow. Product support from Tippmann was very good. Field stripping of this gun is not as easy as other guns in it's class. Unlike the Custom 98s that followed, this gun doesn't have the e-grip options that would make it more competitive.
Conclusion: Would make a great beginner gun, but needs serious upgrades to be more competitive.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tippmann98paint Wednesday, February 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: I use a 14" Smart Parts Tear Drop on my Tippmann model 98. I recently added a custom made drop forward.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel...if you're really into speedball i'd get a electric hopper and a drop forward...
Strengths: Accuracy, easy maintenance, decent price,doesn't chop,durable
Weaknesses: Stock barrel
Review: I got this gun for Christmas two years ago and I didn't ask about or say anything about wanting one...i have always loved paintball though...This gun is awesome...I haven't had a single problem...stock barrel sucks...I'm thinking about getting a Truimph electric hopper for it...but the stock hopper loads fine...I don't like vertical feed so i really like this gun. It shoots nice. It can be a little loud but that doesn't really bother me...mine seems a lot quieter with the Smart Parts barrel. This gun is a must for woods ball! This is a very upgradable gun. I play woods ball probably 75% of the time and it rarely fails me with my SP Teardrop barrel. I don't like how people spend so much money on a gun and use the "spray and Pray" method. My neighbor put a lot of money in his Ion and I can still take him in the woods and on the speedball field. He's a got a Halo B hopper, 16" SP Progressive barrel, remote and other mods and It still doesn't make him a better player. Guns don't make the game unless you're just spraying paint like a chain gun on the speedball field.
Conclusion: Buy it... I recommend this gun to anyone...from beginners to pro's in the sport. The model 98 can either be a woodsball or a speedball gun...depending on how much money you're willing to spend.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 6th, 2009 at 4:38 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Paintball_Ninja Wednesday, February 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
a-5 w/ Response and flatline = better
ion (one day) = way better
Spyder Xtra = horrible
Marker Setup: Model 98 16" Progressive barrel 47ci 3000psi compressed air

For Now That Is.....
Recommended
Upgrades:
BARREL!!!!!
Strengths: Tough
Short/Light Trigger Pull
Pretty Accurate
Weaknesses: Stock barrel both ugly and useless
Inhales gas
Review: This is the first gun ive owned, and the second ive used, and i really like it. it is tough, ive run it through some extreme games and is has yet to break anything major, and now that i have my progressive barrel on it, it is insanely accurate.

HOWEVER, the stock barrel is useless, axtending a mere 8.5" from the gun. i like to be able to hit a target from a good range, and i could not do so with this. also, unlike the 98 custom, a new barrel is about the only performance upgrade available, besides air upgrades. Also, it flies through CO2, making backyard paintball more expensive than a day at the field.

Conclusion: All in all, an excellent starter gun, but it quickly becomes a hinderance when you start to get serious about paintball. good for woodsball, do not consider for speedball or other serious play.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Saghapo Thursday, January 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, expansion chamber
Strengths: Durable, like a Sherman tank. Highly upgradeable.
Weaknesses: Too many stinking moving parts
Review: I love this gun. Been using one for years. I have one of the first ones that came out and besides replacing a few o-rings (expected) this thing has always fired for me. The factory trigger has a pretty heavy pull on it, but since I started with a pump gun, I'm slow to fire anyway. I have seen (an done) some pretty massive abuse to these things, pick 'em up, pull the trigger, and a ball comes out the end.
My biggest beef is the amount of parts in it. If you open up the body, theres like a million little tiny parts that you could potentially lose. It still takes me forever to get it back together after stripping it.
Conclusion: I recommend this gun to any starter for a first gun because it will grow with you. You wanna shoot faster? They've got the upgrades. Better barrels? All over the place. I have never seen a more upgradeable gun on the market. Only giving a 9 because of all the moving internal parts.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

yoyomandan Saturday, December 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Sonix Pro.
Marker Setup: Everything that comes with the sonix pro.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None...
Strengths: Made to last! Everyone uses it.
Weaknesses: Loud!
Review: I like this gun! Most places use this gun for rentals... It blends you in with the crowd, because like, everyone uses it. It's very LOUD!! The Sonix Pro is better... But a lot of people like this "Marker(:P)". And I can see why! It will get you far, and it will last for like, 10 years!!!!
Conclusion: Buy it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (56):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media