paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Model 98 / Tippmann Model 98 / Tippmann Model 98 / Tippmann Model 98

Tippmann Model 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Model 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Model 98
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 557
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The model 98 is an entry level gun for a good price.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Model 98 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (56):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
ionballa Tuesday, August 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder electra
SP ion
just paintball guns
Marker Setup: Tippy 98
-Linear 16 in rifled barrel
-20 oz. Co2
-Response trigger
-cyclone feed

SP ion
-68/4500 pmi carbon wrapped tank
-68 ci empire tank cover
-halo tsa
-evil pipe kit
-titanium silver body kit
-dye invision 13 thermal goggles
Recommended
Upgrades:
cyclone feed
apex barrel
Strengths: This thing takes abuse
Weaknesses: Response trigger screws up the gun.
Review: I've had mine for only 3 months, and I'm already trying to sell this thing. I do think that it's a decent gun, but only for a first gun for someone. If you intend on owning it for an extended period of time, get cyclone feed system, and get the a.c.t. version of it, cuz it eliminates all chops, (even tho mine chops still) also, get ne upgrade u can besides the response trigger its good for a while, then it starts to mess up, and if any dirt, dust, or uneeded stuff gets in to the trigger, the gun stops working, and u have to send it to tippmann to get it fixed, and there's an unneeded 40 bux spent

Conclusion: This is a good gun for the beginners, after a few months of using this gun, and gainning experience, upgrade, I would recommend an ion, I love mine
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

elite pballer Tuesday, August 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
BT4 assault - almost same body and internals
Marker Setup: -Main-2005 Ben Tippmann BT-4 Assault
Accesories
Black Halo B
Flaslight on barrel
Remote 20 oz Co2
(it comes pretty tricked out already, barrel, stock, etc.)
-Backup- 2003 Tippmann 98
Accesories
14 in. 32 Degrees Terminator Barrel
Ricochet G2K
Tapco Folding Stock
Rocket Cock 2
Remote 12 oz Co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
BARREL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
stock and/or hopper
rocket cock
expansion chamber
then whatever you want
in that order
Strengths: cheap
VERY easy to maintain
easily upgradeable
RELIABLE
Weaknesses: Everyone and their uncle has it or the custom version
cant fully remove foregrip
Review: Got this in a package deal in walmart for ~120 dollars
upgraded barrel quickly. very good beginner gun. reliable. i havnt oiled my gun the entire time i've had it, but i will soon. but it works fine, that goes to show you about tippmann's reliability. uh yeah to make this 50 words i got the 32 degrees terminator barrel 14 in and it works great... the rocket cock is nice....the tapco folding stock is perfect and was only 30 bucks
Conclusion: Very good beginner gun
easy to upgrade
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

j05hu41990 Wednesday, August 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom
Brass Eagle Eradicator
Spyder Classic
Piranha R6
Marker Setup: Spyder imagine 04
12v revy with x board
shocktech feedneck
customparts flame sypder drop
smartparts progressive barrel 14'
Pure Air Nitro
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Electric hopper
New Expanison Chamber
Drop forward
Strengths: Reliable
Relatively accurate
Weaknesses: Long
Review: My friend has got this for 40 bucks from some kid after his spyder classic broke. It's just like my other friends and my dads 98 custom. Its just on older version of the 98 custom so get the 98 custom. I'm to lazy to type anymore so look at the 98 custom review.
Conclusion: If you find it for 50 bucks get otherwise go get the 98 custom
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Snipeo101 Saturday, July 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann a5a2,
spyders, all were horable note they were cheap spyders
ion, just shot in through on game
Marker Setup: tippmann model 98
dye xcel 12"
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel,

go crazy
Strengths: strong,
durable,
Dons't freeze
easy release hopper for breaks
built like a ROCK!!!!!!!!!!!
Weaknesses: None
Never take all what way apart pain to put back together
Review: A amazing gun, it even works with my friends shoving it in mud piles- i killed him for that.
ya even if there is a problem just re cock it and shot, just a self fixing gun, love it

It will do a sweet 2 shot thing when it loaded with a 2 minut old co2 tank

A good note a lot of guns freeze when liquid co2 goes in to the gun, not this monster! i've seen flacks of dry ice falling out of my barrel what i just filled up-dose not happen a lot but its cool what it dose.
the barrel i gout isnt
i've shot over 12000 rounds through this gun with out a single problem. and it was used what i got it.

takes abuse like a ROCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ya seriously though i've broken rocks with this thing.
Conclusion: Great gun-i would get the newer version - although the same parts just easier to upgrade.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

madprops77 Wednesday, June 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5
Marker Setup: Chameleon Blue Tippmann 98
-Dead On Products Pro Drop
-Macro Line Kit
-14" Smart Parts Progressive Barrel
-Tippman Cyclone Feed
Recommended
Upgrades:
A good barrel
Strengths: Durable, versatile, accurate with a good barrel.
Weaknesses: None.
Review: I should start out by saying that hands down, this gun is built like a tank, it is truly the AK-47 of the paintball world. I've never had a problem with this gun in the two years that I've shot it and there are plenty of upgrades out there to keep you happy. The only annoyance that I have found is that in order to run a cyclone feed you have to drill a small hole in the right receiver half ,but this gun was never meant to be able to use the cyclone feed as it came out BEFORE the upgrade was ever available. Actually, the fact that all that I had to do to modify the gun for a cyclone feed was to dill a hole is quite impressive. Don't expect a massive rate of fire out of this gun but that is more than made up for in accuracy and shot consistency.
Conclusion: Tippmann makes a quality product that can take a serious beating and keep on going, If your just getting into paintball this gun is perfect. You can buy a good used 98 off of eBay for about $50.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jon_tippmannM98 Saturday, May 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
N/A
Marker Setup: M98, 14-inch barrel, stock, remote coil, stock hopper, 20 oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
BARREL, the stock barrel SU*KS, its 8 inches long
Strengths: Very durable, has never failed me.
Weaknesses: Small Barrel, commonly seen as cheap, but you get twice ur moneys worth.
Review: I love my setup, this gun is great out of the box but you need to mod it to your likings to get its full potential. It is reliable and durable, it is hard to field strip but you never need to because nothing gos wrong! its a cool gun to have, it looks cool. The ROF is only like 11 bps but a double trigger, and a response trigger(if you got the $) would easily fix that.
Conclusion: This is a great gun for a beginner players, it was my first gun, but now im trying to get a better ROF from a Spyder Pilot ACS. But for all Woodsballers and beginners this is the gun to go with. This or the 98 Custom, There's almost no difference. Except a M98 is less $$$.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

forestballer Friday, May 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Smart Parts 20" barrel thats it. oh and a remote.
Recommended
Upgrades:
expansion chamber
electric hopper/double/RT trigger
Barrel
Strengths: Very,very durable.
doesn't chop much.
easy to maintain.
not too pricy.
Weaknesses: not easy to upgrade or find parts. Its not heavy but bulky
Ugly as sin.
Review: I've used this gun 2 years part of 04 all of 05 and part of 06 adding up to about 2 or more. I can't complain, I out performed all of these markers in the hand of very capable players 1- A-5 with flatline 2-Spyder Fenix with upped barrel 3- Icon X 4- Spyder TL-X 5- Eradicator 6- 98 Customs 7- milsim markers two of these guys with the spyders have electro hoppers Halo and Richocet Apache. Errgh I did not always win and that was human error on mine or my team's fault because the mechanical factor always gave 100% I did win usaully the majority of the time but most won't admit they got owned by a gun half the price of theirs. Also I was the only guy at the games who wasnt fiddling around with fancy BROKEN equipment in their guns. I have not had any errors.ever.period. Now even though I know it could survive being run over I won't try it. I only regret I''m selling it and replacing it with its newer nemisis the spyder mr-1 and later an A-5 not so bad. I also always ran on a 9oz and had as many or more shots than most people, also also GA has usually moderate even weatther in fall and winter and spring but mostly hot as heck during the summer still good conditiond for using CO2 I reccomend living in Georgia.
Conclusion: If your a begginer and you cant afford an mr-1,Tac-5, or Custom 98 kit pick up a used one of these. She will last you a lifetime. No joke.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gdog_2012@yahoo Wednesday, April 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
32degrees bottom line- good beginner gun
avengers-ok
brass eagle-crappy
Marker Setup: i have a tippmann model 98 with a pmi razor barrel and a tippmann [ GTA ] inline expansion chamber.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel the stock one is ok for speedball but i recommend a new barrel for woods and that kind of wars.
Strengths: power
accuracy
distance
GREAT GUN AND VERY UPGRADEABLE
Weaknesses: The barrel, it could be better. Buy a new barrel. simple as that.
Review: Model 98s are about the best guns on the market for all stages of paintballers. take my word for it. This is the best gun ive used so far.Speedball,woodsball,any kind of way you play this gun is great for all games. Best thing out there and for the price.One more thing, it wont break. Run it over with your truck-im not recommending you do this- it will still work like it was brand new.
Conclusion: Best gun ive used and people that dont have one and want one should get it because it wont break or bust. You will have it for years. sometimes the gun can outlive the owner. Great Gun!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 12th, 2006 at 8:26 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mikedizzle40 Saturday, March 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 custom, practically the same gun
Marker Setup: Tipmmann model 98, j&j barrel, 20 and 9 ounce co2, OpsGear M4 Handle, OpsGear M4 Mag kit, Rocket Cock 2, halo tsa frontman, adco imp red dot sight.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel is a MUST. This should definately be the first after market thing you get. This gun is the old version of the 98 custom so it can be modified a ton.
Strengths: Very accurate w/ new barrel, extremely upgradable, very very very durable.
Weaknesses: Old, very difficult to take apart.
Review: This is my baby. This gun is super reliable and will NEVER break (unless you do something really stupid). Since this is the older brother of the 98 custom, many mods for the custom also work on this gun (the internals are exactly the same). I got mine refurbished for 90 bucks and yet I can consistently compete with my friends that have ions and mr2s. After some upgrades, this gun can become a dominant force.
Conclusion: A great gun and since its old you can get it for cheap, even though it's not easy to find.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jesus 1st CAD Saturday, January 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Rental guns
A few of my friends guns
Marker Setup: Tippmann Model 98 - Woods/Scenario ball setup
Flatline Barrel
BT Combat Stock (Solid)
Dead On Paintball's Aluminum Powertube and Delrin Front Bolt
Dead On Paintball's Rocket Cock II
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline Barrel - For range and accuracy
Expansion Chamber - For shot consistency and to prevent liquid CO2 damage to internals
BT Combat Stock - For Sniping, allows for a more precise shot
DOP's Powertube and Bolt - Improves shot consistency, decreases ball chop, durable as all hell
DOP's Rocket Cock II - Keeps crap out of your bolt assembly and quiets the gun a bit
Strengths: Durability
Ease of Maintenance
Customizability
Price Tag
Looks
Weaknesses: Stock Barrel
Stock Front Bolt
Open Bolt/Cocking Bar
Review: The Model 98 is an extremely solid gun. It can be used and abused and still maintain it's effectiveness above and beyond what most guns will put up with. A friend of mine dropped his Spyder from 4 feet and caused nearly 100 bucks in damage, I've dived behind, slipped and crashed into bunkers/trees with the gun and it's no worse for the wear.

For a starter marker this gun IS the best gun to buy. You will take this marker with you from the first woods ball field you enter to the last scenario game you play and it will keep on performing like a champ. If you play Speed ball this gun is not for you, only serious woods/scenario ball players should buy this. If you play speed ball get an autococker, but if you play serious paintball then hook up with an M98!

With the addition of a few upgrades, the M98 can surpass most other paintball guns on the field. I will Explain these below. If you aren't interested in the upgrades and want more of my opinion just skip this section.

Flatline Barrel - The Flatline Barrel will increase your range by 10 Metres (100ft) Guaranteed. This extra range will give you an edge on the field versus standard barrels. Combine that with it's Badass looks and it's an excellent upgrade.

Expansion Chamber - Extremely useful little add on! This little guy will fill up with CO2, like a reservoir after the tank, it'll hold a few shots worth of CO2 so that before you fire, the CO2 has had a chance to expand and reach it's full propellant potential. This improves consistency and increases CO2 efficiency. It also has the added side effect of not letting any liquid CO2 touch your internals which can cause some serious havoc, especially with 'O' rings.

Dead On Paintball's Powertube and Delrin Bolt - DOP improved on the stock M98 bolt by making their own and casting it out of lightweight aluminum. They couple this with their custom Delrin bolt that has a teflon insert to ensure extremely smooth and slick operation with as little gas wasting and ball chop as possible. Overall it's a little better than the stock bolt, however, if you play paintball in cold weather (like us Canadians) you may find that in the cold the ABS plastic (which the the stock bolt is made of) becomes brittle and sooner or later you might see some little bits of plastic coming out of your barrel. That would be your powertube after it shattered.

Dead On Paintball's Rocket Cock II - The stock M98 cocking system is a bar that is poking out of a slot in one of the receiver halves. There't nothing wrong with it in and of itself, however, if you take a shot into that opening you will be cleaning that crap out of your gun for a good 15 minutes. The Rocket Cock II prevents that unnecessary maintenance by covering the entire bolt slot with a shield. It attaches to the stock cocking bar and leaves a ring out it's back. Pull the ring to cock it and then it will never move after that, leaving a completely closed bolt. Extremely handy.

Those ones I'd say are the best available upgrades for the M98, of course there are dozens more like drop forwards, vertical mounts, venturi bolts, etc, etc, but these are the ones that I think make the most impact on the M98's performance.

There are alot of very good looking accessories from different manufacturers available that improve the over all look of the M98 as well as some optics systems but really those are just up to taste and budget.


Now here are the downsides, every gun has them, some just more than others.

The M98 is not a particularly light gun, on the other hand it also feels tough. Most light guns feel like cheap toys, the M98 feels like a serious weapon of war. If you can't take the weight, play a new sport.

The maintenance can be tricky the first time. Most people say that the M98 is hard to repair and maintain, that's not actually true. The M98 has a few small parts, that, without due care and attention can get dropped or lost. Cleaning the M98 consists of removing the 6 receiver screws and opening the clam shell. Lube up the front bolt, rear bolt and all 'O' rings. Line up the two receiver halves and screw it back together. That's it, after that it's just your basic calibration to make sure she still shoots perfect and your off to the games.

With the closed bolt system you only need to clean your gun before/after the game and if you chop a ball. If you break a ball in the chamber during a long game you can simply fold the hopper down, feed in your pull squeegee through the chamber and barrel and then yank any crap out. Presto, good as new!

That's pretty much it for the downsides. From that I think you can form your own opinion.
Conclusion: I would very seriously recommend the M98 to any person who is interested in playing Woods ball or Scenario Games. It's a rock solid product with superb company backing, if you have a problem Tippmann has the answer. The whole host of upgrades that can be purchased for this gun make it the easiest gun to customize, personalize and truly make your own. Even stock this gun performs well above it's price range competitors.

In value, workmanship, and customizability the M98 is THE paintball gun to which all other paintball guns should be compared.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (56):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media