paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Model 98 / Tippmann Model 98 / Tippmann Model 98 / Tippmann Model 98

Tippmann Model 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Model 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Model 98
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 557
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The model 98 is an entry level gun for a good price.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Model 98 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (56):  First  |  53  |  54  |  55  |  56
                            
Unregistered User Thursday, October 5th, 2000
 
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: The trigger is excellent for a gun in this range. The only one that outdoes it would be the G2 Piranha's. It's quite light and you can pull it fast enough to outshoot a hopper with ease. The gun is also rugged to the point where you could probably beat someone with it, or beat up a tree while your at it. The elbow for the loader's built in, that saves you about $5.
Weaknesses: The size of the gun is uncomfortably large, for me. It's too much of a rifle and feels cumbersome in speedball play. The built-in elbow can get worn down and pretty unreliable.
Conclusion: It's a great performer out of the box, but definately needs a barrel upgrade, and wouldn't hurt from a 9V Revolution. It's a pretty good deal for what it costs. Comparing it to the other best gun in the range, in my opinion the G2 Piranhas, it's a tossup. While the Piranha's don't have the "tank" durability, they do have the agility and increased trigger speed that the Model 98 doesn't have. I say try both to see what fits your style most comfortably - and don't be sold on the M98's foregrip, as you can easily add a foregrip to most any gun.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cowpox89 Monday, July 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
About everything out there from talon's to dm6's
Marker Setup: Hott shocker,lucid carbon fiber trigger,dark frame, nerve board, palmer lpr, hybrid hedlock, 68/45 crossfire, halo b
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, internals, about everything if you want to play speedball
its ok for woodsball stock
Strengths: Good for woodsball
Reliability
Weaknesses: Mechanical blowback
Speed
Loud
chops
Review: This gun is ok for woodsball but if you want to play anything else get another gun,they are very inaccurate, and loud they chop paint but are like tanks, they will never break ever. it needs a new barrel because the stock 8" sux , i would personally just get an ion it will work so much better
Conclusion: Ok for woodsball but sux for speedball
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, June 4th, 2006 at 3:14 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Chipper625 Saturday, November 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None really.
Marker Setup: I can't afford anything yet, but I will soon.
Recommended
Upgrades:
- new barrel
Strengths: - not to expensive
- easy to mod
- Tippman is an excellent company
Weaknesses: - not accurate
- chews threw Co2
- heavy
- looks horrible
Review: Overall the m98 is alright. You can modify it fairly easily, unless thats the c98 I'm thinking of. It's a liitle to heavy for me, but hey, people call me weak. I think it looks horrible, with only 2 colors and no easy way to fire. I tried to bunker this one guy and I had a totally clear shot and fired 5 times dead on but he spun around and got me becuase my paint went wide to his right. That ticked me off.
Conclusion: If you have the money and are looking for a gun to modify to get just right, your better off getting a c98 and using that.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pupper_2005 Sunday, October 13th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Shutter
Marker Setup: Tippmann Model 98 w/ Lapco Bigshot 11.5" barrel also w/ Kameleon paint job.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Very big drop forward or remote kit
New Barrel
Strengths: -Very Durable
-Cheap
-Many Upgrades for it
-Very little plastic
-Short trigger pull
Weaknesses: -Heavy
-Long, about 3 feet with my Lapco and 20oz.
-Not very accurate, even with upgraded barrel
-Fairly loud
-Can not be field stripped, me and my friend spent about 2 hours taking his gun apart and putting it back together. Mainly because we lost a tiny spring for the front sight.
-Horrible Grips
Conclusion: I think this is a fairly good gun for the price, but it is not as great as a lot of think it is. At about $125 you get what you pay for. I very heavy and long innacurate gun. The only reason i would recommend this product is if you're looking for a gun that will last you for a very long time.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rolloutjake Sunday, December 22nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: dye utlra autococker
dye boomstick
rickacket AK
bottomline w/ n2
Strengths: good at long range great for woodsball
good for big fat people
can shoot down newbies with it
Weaknesses: upgrades cost a ton of money
big and ugly
huge and heavy
hard to handle in speedball
not a toury gun
not fast
chops ALOT
dont buy it if its over
$150
Conclusion: you cant do much with it not a speed ball gun but can do ok in the woods
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RatImp9 Thursday, July 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders/clones
Pirhanas
Marker Setup: 2k2 Rat Impulse
RIP Valve
Rat Hole hammer
ND Slick Shaft
Delrin Bolt
ANS LPR Jackhammer II
Blade Magnetic Trigger
Psychoballistics drop
68/3000 Compressed Air
Egg
Recommended
Upgrades:
Diff. gun
Strengths: Reliable...doesn't break often
....
good beginner gun
cheap
you could do some upgrades
Weaknesses: not very accurate
slow
Tippmann
plastic hotness
Review: I used this a couple of times at a field where I didn't want to use my rat. They had sand all over the ground since it was indoor and I didn't want to hurt my imp. The tippmanns are reliable, but are horribly innaccurate and slow. I never did like the plasticness of tippmanns either, and when something breaks, its usually something that may not be very easy to fix (not like an o-ring or something). Its ok if you're renting it, but if youre gonna buy a gun, don't get this....at least get an A5 or custom 98....which are stilll...bleh
Conclusion: I'd reccomend getting something else because the plastic hotness of tippmanns are just too cool.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Punisher88bt Wednesday, March 31st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder AMG, Spyder SE, Spyder victor, Spyder Fenix, Pro carbine, Silver bullet, black Dragun, Icon, Icon Z, Mongoose
Marker Setup: 2003 Impulse: Vertical Max-Flo, W.A.S. Board, New Designs Ram assembly and hammer, Disaster products custom angled bolt and trigger, Strange LPR, Psycho Balistics Bullet Drop, 10"-12"-14" Freak system, 12" Dye Ultra-Lite, Halo B w/ victory board, and a Pure energy 88/45.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Response kit or the E-Grip, expansion chamber, obviously a new x board revy, Drop forward, and a new barrel, (anythings better than stock)!
Strengths: They are tough and not a bad way to start out in the game.
Weaknesses: They are slow, un-accurate, a pain to disassemble and find good parts for!
Review: These markers are not a bad way to start out in the game but the thing I find so often is that little newbies get Tippmanns and think their invincible and that they have the baddest gun around. This is by far not the case. They also tell all their little newbie friends the same and it is a domino effect from there. I worked in a pro shop for several years and if I had a dime for every time I encountered this I would be paying someone to type this out for me. Some wood ball players also do the same with Tippmanns. They think because they may have had good luck with them that they are the baddest gun on the market. Also, not the case. Don't get me wrong, they are decent guns for beginners but they are by far not the best. I have shot every gun from a Intimidator to an Angel all the way down to a Raptor and Im here to say that they ardent the best preforming.

Conclusion: And just for all you little newbies that read APG, P8nt, and Pb2x, those adds that say that the A5 is the fastest gun on the market, IT IS COMPLETELY A LIE!!!!!!!!!!!!! A decked electronic A5 shoots about 8-10 shots a sec MAX! A completely stock Impulse will do 15, a stock Intimidator or Angel will do damn near 20! There fore it is NOT EVEN CLOSE!!! ( Sorry for preaching but if I had to hear another little newbie say that again I would just lose it! )
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Friday, October 15th, 2004 at 7:13 am PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (56):  First  |  53  |  54  |  55  |  56
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media