paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Model 98 / Tippmann Model 98 / Tippmann Model 98 / Tippmann Model 98

Tippmann Model 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Model 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Model 98
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 557
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The model 98 is an entry level gun for a good price.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Model 98 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (56):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Amedus Monday, October 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom (virtualy the same but able to take full auto upgrades)
Tippman A-5 (almost the same)
Ben Tippmann Elite(this gun is almost identical ecept for the weight,and it feels cheaper)
Marker Setup: Tippmann Model 98 w/ Empire Twister barrel 14 in.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definitely a new barrel. Also would probably do good with a sight and a stock.
Strengths: Very sturdy, accurate,and highly customizable
Weaknesses: None except for being loud and kind of heavy.
Review: This is the first gun i have bought and it was awsome. I realy like the empire twister barrel. The stock barrel is crap tho. Its also very sturdy and weather resistence. I would highly recomend thismarker to anyone, new or experienced. But if you have the money i would recomend buying a custom pro. It already comes with great upgrades and can take full auto. Its a great gun.
Conclusion: One of the best woodsball guns on the market
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mr. Graham Monday, September 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
a5 comes close, but i don't like the cyclone.
Marker Setup: Tippmann model 98, j&j ceramic barrel, milled gills, polished internals, milled letters.
Ariakon overlord.
Tippmann sl-68
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel (J&J ceramic is by far the best for the price), expansion chamber if you've got the $$$
Strengths: Accuracy (with new barrel)
never breaks balls
insane co2 efficiency
quiet
easy to aim
durable
Weaknesses: ROF but if you are accurate and stealthy that wont matter.
fieldstripping takes too long.
Review: After seeing all the positive reviews of this gun, i went ahead and bought it. i later found that they were all terribly wrong. this gun deserves much better than a 9.3 unless your a commando maniac that needs more than about 5 bps. those guys usually get out first anyway. i would know, i used to be one.
Conclusion: If your new to paintball or experienced, buy this gun. its well worth $130. and anyone who says that you can get a better gun for cheaper than you can get this one is terribly mistaken and should go to h*ll. the only thing bad about it is it takes too long to field strip. but its also extremely easy to do and the easiest i have ever seen to understand. buy it or die.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

IronCorps Saturday, September 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pro-Carbine by Tippmann, PMI Piranah, Icon E
Marker Setup: Icon E, Empire Reloader II, Dead-on X-core 8-stage expansion chamber, 16"J&J Ceramic Barrel, 12oz Co2 , tboard
Recommended
Upgrades:
Anything you could ever want is availible. RT, barrel, bolt, what have you.
Strengths: Light, easy trigger pull, accurate stock.
Weaknesses: Some consider non-vert feed guns bad (not me tho =D
Review: I would say this is Tippmann's 2nd best marker, the Carbine in my opinion is just a little bit better for accuracy and wieght issues.

This marker like most tippmanns is fully customizable. I had mine looking like an Italian military sniper rifle for about 200 bux of upgrades. Basicly anything you could ever want for one of these, you could probobly find it. They are great stock, but you can really put the hurt down with a new barrel.
Conclusion: Its a fine product by Tippmann, but id still reccomend the workhorse of the tippmann fleet, the procarbine, over it.

Great marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

motoxpunk199 Saturday, May 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Syder-The Spyder is a flashy looking gun but breaks frequently.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98
14in. Werks Barrel
Double Trigger
Responce Trigger
20oz Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
It needs a new barrel.The first few times i used the stock I thought it was good but then i got my Werks Barrel and i was missing 3 out of 13 shots!!
Strengths: Durable,Strong,GoodLooking






Weaknesses: None
Review: This is a great gun.Its very durable.It is loud with the stock but with any other barrel its quiet.It may not look as good( i said as good but it looks good) as like a syder but what it lacks in looks it makes up for in accuracy.
Conclusion: Buy this gun !!It is a great gun!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbjoe693 Saturday, April 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom, Spyder E99, Autococker Trilogy pro, Spyder Imagine, Brass Eagle Maraurder.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Flatine barrel
Response Trigger
Viewloader Evlution 2
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Strengths: -Reliable
-Accurate with a new barrel
-Easy to clean
-Durable
-Price
Weaknesses: -Hard to field strip
-Stock barrel sucks
-Front sight spring
-98 customs are more customizable
Review: This is a great paintball gun but I would recomend buying a Tippmann 98 Custom if you are planing to customize your gun because its a lot easier to customize and its the same price. Theres only four things I think are weaknesses in this gun. The stock barrel sucks, every thime you take it apart the front sight spring either flies out and you lose it or it just falls out and you have to put the thing back in which is hard, its hard to field strip and its not as customizable as the 98 custom. The difference between the model 98 and the 98 custom is that the molding for the model 98 is not made to put in response trigger, Ebolt and other upgrades where you have to put them inside the gun. This is the most reliable and durable gun i have ever used. All my friends who have Autocockers and spyder have problems with thier paintball guns all the time. I have never had a problem. Its also accurate but not extreamly accurate. If you want a great paintball gun get this or a 98 custom.
Conclusion: This is a great paintball gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

yoda1061 Monday, February 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann-98 Custom, Spyder-Xtra, Spyder-Heat, ect.
Marker Setup: Tippmann model 98 with response trigger, 32 degrees concepts drop forward/w trigger guard, Low pressure system, 32 degrees expansion chamber, anti chop bolt, dye grip, Lapco Sight rail, ect…..
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline Barrel system
Response trigger
Low pressure system
Kinda what u see in my gun description
Strengths: 11 bps right out of the box
Light weight
Cost effective
Weaknesses: Bad stock barrel
other than that...None
Review: I have used this product almost since I started paintball. I use this marker in the woods near me along with my pb team. I used it when it was stock and it still kicked ass! I have over $700 in mods on my gun and found that when I compare it to a stock, they are not different enough to make it worth the $700. My point is, I would recommend this gun to players of all levels because of it being (A.) easy the take apart. (B.)Very Durable (for all you newbs who like to drop your guns =D) and (C.) For the amount of possible upgrades it could have
Conclusion: Awesome gun for all ages and playing levels
up to 11 bps(balls per second) str8 out of the box
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

laosman Monday, December 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none my first gun till i sold it. :(
Marker Setup: psycho ballistics silver bullet w/ taso stone cold 2 or 32 degrees whisper barrel 20 oz. cO2 and a halo tsa loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
Strengths: Durability, cosistency, doesnt feel cheap
Weaknesses: Stock barrel and hard to take apart
Review: Ah my first gun. i loved it from the first time i got it. i was amazed at the fire rate i got and i never chopped a ball the entire 2 years i had the gun. stock barrel is a little off but is still fairly consistant i didnt like that fact that you had to disassemble the entire gun just to oil it or whatever you needed to do.
Conclusion: A GREAT gun and fairly cheap perfect for a noob starting out id reccommend it to anyone who wanted to start into the great world of paintball.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TippmannFreak98 Sunday, October 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Maurder from brass eagle, no comparison at all.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom 14'' tru flight barrel drop forward uh...yea
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel and maybe double trigger.
Strengths: very durable! A truck ran over mind and it was fine.
Weaknesses: Long heavy.
Review: i simply love this gun! it is very durable and it will last you forver if u lube it and take care of it. Tippmann is a very reliable company to choose for starter guns and or advanced. BUY THIS GUN! But it broke down on my once only because of sheir stupidty, i put the ball latch in backwards!
Conclusion: I give it a 10 due to the durablity, and the way it treats me and how it has lasted me.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

panitballrules Saturday, August 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom/ E99/ Impulse/ it would take me forever to write them all
Marker Setup: Impulse with Vision eye 16" Ultralite barrle and Empire reloader B for a hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrle is a MUST like all guns DUH!!
Add the Response trigger trust me it will help
Strengths: Very durable Very Relliable
Nice and Quiet
good for newbies
Weaknesses: I dont think htere are any
Review: U iwyks suggest this gun for all bigginers, Its a very good gun to start learning how to play hte game. This gun is a gin that you know u can trust not to breeak on you during a game. clean up is nice and easy. At times this gun may chop balls but u thik about it what gun doesnt do it from time to time. CHANGE THE BARRLE a must do. So for short this gun is good and any of u newbies out there i sugest this gun for you i use it for two years and it did me good
Conclusion: This gun is a good gun for you newbies its duarble and wont give you any problems I thnk you would like it
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Meyers1 Tuesday, May 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none compared to tippmann
Marker Setup: 2001Angel led
Recommended
Upgrades:
I would get a dye excell barrel for this gun, since the gun is heavy that will take some weight off of it. Also an expansion chamber and drop forward(long one)
Strengths: Extraordinarliy reliable, almost never brakes paint
Weaknesses: I know its a beginner gun and all but its slow...sorry.
Review: The tippmann model 98 is a great gun. I would reccomend it to anyone getting into paintball. The gun is awesomely reliable, mine survived more slides and rocks and dirt than any gun should be exposed to. Thick anno job makes it hard to scratch also. after all the abuse i put to mine it still looke new the day i sold it....almost. have fun shooting :)
Conclusion: Definately buy this product if you want to get into the sport of paintball.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (56):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media