paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Model 98 / Tippmann Model 98 / Tippmann Model 98 / Tippmann Model 98

Tippmann Model 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Model 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Model 98
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 557
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The model 98 is an entry level gun for a good price.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Model 98 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (56):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
talitubby Monday, May 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
all spyder clones
a-5
Marker Setup: tippmann model 98 (silver)
teardrop barrel
more upgrades to come
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel (no rush)
electronic hopper
Strengths: never chops
no problem with velocity
its a tippmann what else do you need
Weaknesses: really loud (kind of kool though it scares the sh*t out of your enemy)
Review: this gun is awsome. out of 4 or 5 casis of paint not one ball chopped. one time i was playing at a local field where these newb kids were playing. When i strapped on my tank and checked my velocity, the kids just stared in amazement plugging there ears begging to be on my team. excluding the noise level of this gun, it looks very intimidating. with a few scenario parts, you could have this gun looking like a real m-16 or m-4 assault rifle!!! let me tell you right now there is nothing more scary then going in to play and seeing one of those scenario guns on the other team.
Conclusion: GREAT GUN!!! GET IT NOW!!! DO NOT HESSITATE!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rrrrrrrrr Thursday, May 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom with 14"J&J ceramic barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
Double trigger(only if you play speedball)
Strengths: DURABILITY
accuracy
upgradable
inexpensive.
good outdoor marker
no vertical feed(they just suck)
Weaknesses: no double trigger
stock sucks
a little bulky
Review: when my freinds introduced me to paintballing I really liked it so i deciede to get a gun. One of my friends got a 98 custom, the other an imagine. So i decided to get the 98. Anyway on my first game I go in and get a few people out(which i wasnt able to do with the piece of crap rental). So i keep playing and when its all said and done I got about 3-4 people out per game. This gun really increased my performance, I have no real complaints except that it is long so it is hard to manuver it around. Yet I still love it .
Conclusion: This is a good gun for newbies, or someone with some money and wants to custamize it. BUY IT.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

A.I-Tippman[98] Sunday, April 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing, best gun ever
Marker Setup: Tippman 98, scope, laser sight, loger barrel,
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, electric hopper
Strengths: ACCURATE
LONG RANGE
BUILT LIKE A TANK
and anything else u can think of
Weaknesses: None, probly wont find none
Review: Just bout this gun 2 weeks ago, and its the best and my favorite gun i ever had or i can think of.When i paly p-ball, i'm always a Sniper, i think this is the best gun to by if u r a sniper or not.the only fault is the stock barrel, its good but not the best.....i recamend the 32 deegree whisper barrel.
Conclusion: *BUY IT
*IT ROCKS
*BEST GUN EVER
*TIPPMANS RULE
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Trent Wednesday, April 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine,16oz Tank,EvLution2 hopper,Barrel Condom,Jt Nvader mask...
Recommended
Upgrades:
Electro Tigger
Strengths: very accurate with stock barrel
affordable
Weaknesses: the trigger pull isa tiny bit stiff
Review: The 98 is a very nice gun. its an affordable gun. Its an accurate gun just with the stock barrel. The trigger pull is a little stiff but thats not a big problem for rec ball. If you want a little more something get an e-grip for it. Im not a big fan of mechanical guns but for a mechanical the model 98 is very good. Its a bang for your buck
Conclusion: I would reccommend this gun to any begginner or intermediate player. An e-grip could do for a 98 it will make it alot better.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gabelt Tuesday, April 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom
Tippmann Procarbine
Marker Setup: tippmann model 98 right out of the pack
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel if you so desire to
electronic hopper
Strengths: -built like a tank
-accurate and very powerful
-cheap
Weaknesses: -dont buy the Blue Streak paintballs because they get stuck in the barrel and break
Review: I bought this gun from Wal-Mart ina power pack, and has been the best investment that i have gone into so far. This gun is the strongest thing that i have ever owned before. It is pretty long and kinda heavy, but that works for me since i am 6'2. It will eat your co2 up a little more than other guns, but that just puts mure power behind the paintball. It is also very customizable and easy to find any part that you might need for it. I love this gun very much and i dont think i will ever give it up.
Conclusion: This is the best gun that i have ever used before. I would recommend it to an expert just as quick as a beginner. If u need a gun that will last you forever, go to Wal-Mart and buy the power pack
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 27th, 2004 at 9:28 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

UKS-Barchetta Friday, April 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
brass eagle stingray(didn't play much till i bought this gun) the stingray was good till friends bought 98c's(and it started leaking), then i had to upgrade.
Marker Setup: Tippmann M98
16" CMI Tru-flight-14"J&J Ceramic
psycho drop forward
expansion chamber(nice grip)
3A-47/3000 ca
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, stock is junk, expansion chamber to increase consistancy and improve co2 usage.
Strengths: Indestructable, very reliable, never chopped a ball.
Weaknesses: kinda heavy, not that noticable.
Careful with screws, will strip if not.
Review: i absolutely love this gun. very verisitile, and customizable, even if it isn't a 98custom. expansion chamber and barrel are a must if you play more that once a month.
IF YOU TAKE CARE OF IT, it will never give you trouble, i reccomend cleaning it(yes, taking it apart) after every day of play to make sure it is clean. if you abuse it, it will still work and perform good. if you never clean it, it will still work and perform good,
if you take care of it, it will work and perform PERFECTLY.
(just make sure you keep all screws, and don't strip the threads and have to drill)
i will use this gun till i need a new one, or it breaks, or maybe i will never get rid of it.
great to start out with, and can be customized for higher level of play.
i love it!
Conclusion: Great gun, perfect for starters, easily customized. buy it if you have never played and could see yourself playing a lot in the future. then get a new barrel and an expansion chamber(worth it)
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, August 19th, 2004 at 7:55 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PBhitman636 Tuesday, April 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Stock
Strengths: Durability
Weaknesses: Heavy, Co2 Stcks out.
Review: Well the 98 is a all round good gun but it may be heavy for some people because its metal and that is what makes it Durable. Makes a good rental gun. Sometimes jams a lot because of weather. Accuracy could be a little better but it doesnt matter that much with the 98.
Conclusion: Good Gun for begginning players.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

smithman Wednesday, March 31st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Pilot
Tippmann A5
Marker Setup: I have a tippmann model 98 and i have a sweet flatline barrel on it.
Recommended
Upgrades:
You need a better barrel like the flatline because stock sucks.
Strengths: Powerful
Easy Aiming
Second handle
Weaknesses: needs different balls to work better because the barrel size is different
Review: I have played paintball for 3 years and uses the tippmann model 98 for 3 months. I have also used the Spyder Pilot and the Tippmann A5. I still use a Tippmann Model 98 and i have a flatline barrel on it. I recommend that you have a flatline barrel because the stock barrel sucks. The gun overall is powerful, easy to aim, and has that second handle for support. Its weaknesses is its barrel because once again stock barrels suck.
Conclusion: that this gun rocks if you have good accessories on it
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

METAL MILITIA Monday, March 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Pump, M3 Black Dragun
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder Imagine w/ 12 oz. Tank, Ricochet G2K Loader
Tippmann Model 98 w/ 9 oz. Tank, E-Grip, Trigger Response System
PT Xtreme w/ Ronin Gear holster
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Flatline Barrel System
-Response Trigger System
-E - Grip
Strengths: -Powerful
-Accurate
-Easy to field-strip/maintain
Weaknesses: -Very Loud
-Barrel too short
Review: I used this gun to start out with, and still have it as a backup! I recommend this gun to anyone, whether you are a newb or pro. Great gun that doensn't have alot of problems, and easy to clean, mantain. You can't beat it for $120. Great Semi-auto marker that gets the job done, without going broke!
Conclusion: Buy this gun. One of the best guns to start out with. Only $100-150..unless you buy a package.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bushmasterpb Friday, March 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder shutter, spyder sonix
Marker Setup: RAT Impulse
LPR
Revvy
Freak Barrel
Nitro
Also:
Bushmaster B2k4
Revvy
Nitro
Recommended
Upgrades:
A better gun
Strengths: Made out of durable cheap plastic that breaks easy when you pull the trigger.
Weaknesses: It is sold. I bought it. ANd it is a tippman.
Review: I bought this gun at walmart. I cant believe how bad it worked. I took it out of the plastic package and it fell in half! Some screws had fallen out and my friend took a look at it and laughed at me for getting a tippman. The trigger also broke in half after I shot it a couple of times. I put the hopper on and it just exploded with paint everywhere. My nitro tank barely worked on my tippman and it just kept leaking.
Conclusion: Kick it hard.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (56):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media