paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey HALO TSA LCD Backman / Odyssey HALO TSA LCD Backman / Odyssey HALO TSA LCD Backman

Odyssey HALO TSA LCD Backman Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey HALO TSA LCD Backman

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey HALO TSA LCD Backman
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 51
Average Rating: 7.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $66

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Sound Activation Tilt Sensing - the agitator always pulls the balls up towards the feed hole. If you tilt it the right it spins counter-clockwise. If you tilt to the left it spins clockwise. Low frontal profile with 210+ ball capacity
Product Availability 
The Odyssey HALO TSA LCD Backman is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
drum_head_70 Sunday, May 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Spyder Fenix Halo TSA hopper pure energy compressed air and 32 degrees 14'' whisper
Strengths: Keeps up with the gun
Weaknesses: Not Durable
Review: The hopper held up great the 1st 4 times i played with it and last weekend ( the 5th time ive played with it ) i noticed that it is starting to crack in about 10 different spots from normal use of the gun. I have been seeing this happen more and more in these types of hoppers.
Conclusion: Fast hopper but can't hold up from cracking and is weak.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

jleav Sunday, January 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
vl 200
the egg
Marker Setup: piranha gti
14'' barrel
pure energy 20oz co2/ nitro tank
halo tsa lcd backman
Strengths: Sound activation
Tilt sensing
Options
220 balls
Weaknesses: Difficult to empty compared to an egg after a game
2 9 volt batteries
Review: Tilt sensing (balls are always directed towards the feed hole)
Options (closed bolt/open, sensetivity, motor speed, motor duriation etc.)
Not always running like others good battery life, limits your choped balls, it holds 220 balls, perfect for ball hogs like me. Some say its too big but i find that it is an even trade off for the capacity. It really sits balanced, feed tube is wider than an egg.
Conclusion: If you have an electronic marker and shoot fast I would recomend a halo tsa
this product gets a nine out of ten b/c nothing is perfect and it tough to empty after a game

please feel free to post a comment about this review
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 31st, 2007 at 2:16 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ion Warrior Monday, January 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Just my A-5 Cyclone
Marker Setup: Stock Spyder Imagine or Smart Parts Ion
Strengths: Cheap
Pretty Fast
Weaknesses: Bulky
Heavy
Review: It is fast enough for its price. If you own a high-end this probably isn't going to keep up, but it works fine for me. It is pretty heavy, though. I've heard that these break a lot, but I haven't had any problems yet. I like the sound activation and how the paddle rotates the opposite direction so it's always feeding the balls the right way.
Conclusion: If you don't have much money and you'll be shooting 10-13 bps, this is good for the price.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shimboodo Monday, August 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
EVLution 2-Much faster, eyes.
VL200- Grav. Feed
Marker Setup: 2000 VF Autococker
ANS Quickpull Venturi Bolt
Eclipse Nexus Ram
J&J Barrel
32* Flame Drop Forward
KAPP On/Off ASA
Dye Sticky Grips



Ion
Red Body Kit
Trinity Quick Trigger
Trinity Clamping Feedneck
CP Direct-Mount
68/45 HP Crossfire
JT Tournament Cover
Strengths: It's a hopper!
Sound Activated
LCD
Tilt sensor
Holds ~ 220 paintballs
Weaknesses: Sound activated (Read review)
Not force feed
Review: This was my first electric hopper. I bought a Tippy 98 with R/T, soI needed to get one, and this held more paint, so I decided to get it.

The sound activation works fine on my Tippmann and various low-end guns. But I used it with my Ion and 'Cocker, and they were too quiet! So half the time the paddle wouldn't agitate, and that screwed me over quite a few times at a scenario game before I got an Eggy.

I didnh't care about the LCD screen, and it didn't really seem to do any good. The sensor option worked a little, but not noticably.

The feedneck is small. It is too small for a Tippy 98's feedneck, so if you have one and are going to use it on a tippy, then you need electrical tape, duct tape, whatever tape.
Conclusion: It's a good first hopper, but it dosen't work with the higher end/quiet guns. So only get if you have something loud, like a Tippmann or Spyder.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

bunkerboydrew Thursday, April 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Revy ande reloader
Halo and empire B's
Egg
Quantum
Marker Setup: 04 vert(prostock) cocker E2
sto kaner barrel kit
70ci crossfire
Empire reloader b
Super fly bolt
Pursuit custom shop quicker ram with QEV's and micro rock lpr
CP shorty
Dye attack pack
Lock lid pods
Profiler

Shocker black 05
Stiffi 14 in .689
NDZ stinger bolt
NDZ roller blade trigger
Q-lock
CIP unimount

senario gun
A-5
RT
flatline
full stock (so it looks like and MP5 or SP89)
remote
6+1 black
CP pods
Strengths: capacity
sound activation
tilts the right way
price
LCD
more in review
Weaknesses: Speed 12bps fast for some slow to others
Big
Heavy
Review: Great for backman with the large capacity of over 200 so you feel like you shoot forever.
sound board- no eyes to mis read paint and spins the way you need it to so it feeds even when tilted to the side.
This thing has a pretty nice price tag of $50 for what your getting. It has an LCD and game timer and a the sound board which is not paint sensitive and a speed of up to 12bps It feed constanly unlike the revvy makeing itvery superior in speed for its class. If you dont need the extra speed get this instead of a egg because the egg isn't very durable with the weak feed neck and batterie door problems and it is about $15 cheaper. These are more reliable and faster than revys and reloader as well as having space for 15-20 extra balls. The revys cant feed very well when packed full but the TSA can partially because of the better purpler blades. Being about the same size as all of those hoppers and still has all the upgrades makes it a much better buy but if your playing back the size doesn't matter and this was make for a back man with all the things in mined that they will need in a game. It has more initial weight than the others and with it having the ability to hold more balls it could be a problem with the weight for some.
Conclusion: If it is used for a back man hopper it is the best in its class it is perfect for what it is meant to do but dont expect it to put out 17-19 bps and to be super light with little 10/10 for backman 8/10 for everyone else
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, October 13th, 2005 at 8:16 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ksdoc18 Sunday, May 21st, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Zap mach 404, gravity hoppers, tested an egg.
Marker Setup: Sp ion with pink kit and 47/3k tank, halo tsa backman and a cp micro drop, back up is Spyder xtra with acs delrin bolt 16 in SP progressive barrel 12 oz and 20 oz co2 tanks...
Strengths: Tilt sensing
Fast
Sound activated
Quiet
Shot counter
Game timer
shape
Weaknesses: Dual 9v batteries
shave feed neck on ion
Review: I needed a new hopper since my zap was falling apart. It litterally was held together with electrical tape. so i went to my shop, and saw a halo b and the eggs, and then there was the tsa. i wasn't sure weather i should go for the egg or the tsa since they're only $10 in difference so i went with the tsa for the reasons that 1) the screen was a bonus, and 2) others that i've played with had eggs and i wanted to be different. so i got the tsa. the only downside was that clear was all they had but i've seen others dye their own hoppers at home and smoke them. So i got it. And i'm impresed. It has a game timer and a shot counter so i can tell how much paint i use. it's pretty awesome. and it keeps up with my ion. so yeah. the only thing i had against it is that it uses 2 9v batteries, which meant i had to get some more, and i'm not sure how long they'll last. the other was that i had to shave my feed neck for my ion, but i'm getting a q-loc for it on friday. also, it's shape kind of deflects balls from the front unlss you hit it right on the nose or from the side.
Conclusion: so a hopper for under $100 that can keep up with an ion? It's good. Get one, i promise you'll like it. 9 because it isn't force feed and the sanding.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Tom_D Monday, December 5th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Revy
Marker Setup: M98 with palmers stabalizer, 16 inch night stick, 32 degrees large drop with on/off
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: Poor Design / Manufacturing
Poor customer support
Review: I recieved this as a gift from my wife as an aniversary gift. I specificly asked for it so I have no one to blame but myself. I realy liked the looks of the thing and I thought that the hopper holding 220 balls would come in handy. So far I have been verry disapointed.

When I got the thing together and took it out on the porch to see how great it worked I found that it tends to turn itself off and on after you shoot. This is not all that bad beacuse when it turns on the paddles spin automaticly. This tends to keep the loader feeding.

Sooo. After this small disapointment I returned to the manual wich I had already read to see if I could find a 1-800 number to call and see if they had a simple remedy to the problem. Oooops. No 1-800 number in the book. No trouble-shooting section. Just a web site.

Sooo. I go to the web site and all they have there is a FAQ about the Halo B. So I shot them an E-mail. To this day they have never awnsered my E-mail.

Update:
I did end up sending the thing back to National Paintball Supply to have a new board put in it under waranty. But after taking it out to play agian it had the same problems. Actualy I have my doubts weather they realy put a new board in it at all, and if they did and I am still having the EXACT same problems. Than this loader must just be flawed, and they should recall them.
Conclusion: Look elsewhere for you loader needs. You would be far better off with a gravity fed hopper. So far this is the worst agitated loader I have ever seen.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 18th, 2006 at 10:37 pm PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

HC/DC Paintball Wednesday, February 2nd, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Gravity feed hoppers
Marker Setup: Spyder Electra ACS '05
Halo TSA LCD
EXALT speed feed
20oz Co2 (Soon to be 50ci 4500psi Ninja HPA)
Strengths: Shot Count
Durability
Weaknesses: Low Feed Rate
Not good for faster shooter
Inconsistent
Review: I'm going to be honest, I want to like this hopper more than I do, It could be so much better though. The feed rate isn't consistent, and it's not exactly "upgradeable."

I use this with my spyder electra, and it works fine for the full auto mode, (13bps) and I've never chopped a ball in full auto mode. however, in semi auto, when I'm hitting 20 bps, it just doesn't cut it. someday when I'm finished upgrading my gun, I'll get a DYE Rotor, because I'm extremely impressed with it, but until then, I'll continue to use this. Don't get me wrong it's a great hopper, but not for speedball and faster shooters.
Conclusion: It's a great hopper, and it would be wonderful for woodsball, but don't get it for speedball, save up and get a used DYE rotor or HALO B.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

triggerhappy411 Thursday, May 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
halo b
eggy 2
gavity?
quantium
Marker Setup: Ion
360 QEV
freak jr
adjustable feedneck
on/off
nitro duck compressed air tank
halo b

Strengths: Sound activation( adjustable!)
Holds a fair amount of balls
15 bps
Weaknesses: Easily tostable motor
Sucks batterys
Review: OK, so i picked up one of these for my ion out of pure necessity. I don't know if you have ever tried to shoot a fast gun with pds with a gravity hopper, But ill tell you its not fun. After the day was over, i did a drop test( fill it with paint, turn her on, and start knocking on it, with out gun) just to see what the bps was, after hitting about 16 i believe, i was satisfied for only considering it was only $60.
Next time i played with it i learned i needed new batteries, so i picked them up and threw them in there. Here's where things to a turn for the worse. The motor got toasted and my paint balling day was over. After returning it to the shop owner who offered to get it fixed by the warranty, it was back in action.

So its not a bad hopper at all, just the small part that would fix the whole battery mix and match problem is only a fraction of a cent, and would save the company big $$$, but hey i don't own Odyssey.
Conclusion: If you need a quick and cheap hopper go for it, just dont mix batterys
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 31st, 2007 at 3:31 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

DrEmmerich Tuesday, March 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Revvy
Marker Setup: EBladed 03 Prostock

Stock class Phantom, backbottle, 45 grip.
Strengths: Price
Capacity
Looks
Tilt sensor
Screen
Weaknesses: Shell is brittle
Review: For a bit more detail

Strengths:
Price, I bought mine used but they are quite cheap these days.
Capacity, at 220 rounds it can carry enough balls to get me through a couple games and that's all I ask.
Looks, even being as large as it is it doesn't present that big of a profile from the front and it looks very nice to my tastes.
Tilt sensor, I like this. Even when I was leaning my marker almost sideways with only a couple balls left it managed to scoop those balls up and feed them regardless which way I leaned. Small thing but it does work well.
Screen, I personnally think every electronic marker should have a screen so having one on my hopper too is nice. Not something I use often but if you like keeping track of time/shots etc it's handy. It really comes in use for settings such as whether you're using an open or closed bolt marker, motor speed, duration, sensitivity, etc.


Weakness: Shell. Doesn't feel anywhere near as thick as my HaloB. My Backman was used and has a couple cracks but still hold together, and a friend who has the same hopper needs a new shell. Not too bad but maybe more fragile than others.
Conclusion: All in all I think it's a great hopper. It's obviously not as fast as a force fed hopper like a HaloB or Vlocity but it's also less than half the price. It'll keep up in semi fine unless you have some pretty quick fingers.

I'm going to give it a 9 as a thicker shell would be nice. I think it's the best in it's price range though.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media