paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey HALO TSA LCD Backman / Odyssey HALO TSA LCD Backman / Odyssey HALO TSA LCD Backman

Odyssey HALO TSA LCD Backman Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey HALO TSA LCD Backman

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey HALO TSA LCD Backman
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 51
Average Rating: 7.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $66

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Sound Activation Tilt Sensing - the agitator always pulls the balls up towards the feed hole. If you tilt it the right it spins counter-clockwise. If you tilt to the left it spins clockwise. Low frontal profile with 210+ ball capacity
Product Availability 
The Odyssey HALO TSA LCD Backman is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
robh757 Thursday, March 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
loader with the x board.
Marker Setup: automag
Dye ultralite
double trigger
halo tsa backman
custom products gas through grip
Dye drop forward
Strengths: Tilt rotation
Weaknesses: Don't really see any
Review: Why buy a loader that can load 25 balls per second when you can only shoot 10 to 15. I have had a while to get good at making the automag spit out paint and i have to say that it's rare to have a ball chop because of the loader. I don't have the lvl 10 or anything, it's just that i have never had a problem with the loaders. Now i will say that if you have a gun that can shoot faster then 15 balls per second you shouldn't even be looking at this review because you need to just spend the money for the best.
Conclusion: I would definitely recommend the product to anyone with any sense and doesn't want to just go to the field to waste paint. 15 balls per second is fast enough, considering it only takes one to do the job. If you have to make up for your inaccuracies by throwing paint then it will cost you in both paint and equipment. Of course this doesn't apply to speedball players, but i only like woods ball.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Duave Tuesday, February 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Gravity hopper, Revolution
Marker Setup: I have a Tippmann 98 Custom with a Response trigger, Palmers Stablilizer (High Pressure), 12 inch dye boomstick, DOP drop forward with on/off, and a Halo TSA Backman LCD, 98 custom pro-seal, Dark Horizion Titanium Hammer (Model 1000)
Strengths: Ease of use, magnetic door, deflects some shots
Weaknesses: Heavy when loaded
Review: This hopper is a well designed hopper. It is easy to clean, feeds fast, and has a nice magnetic door. The door will actually close if you get it close, which is a good thing (I snapped it close to closing a few times while reloading in combat and it just closed). The sound activation does have one benefits. When your reloading, if you close the door and open it the paddle will activate. This can usually allow me to squeeze in a few extra shots. It is heavy when loaded, but it does hold an extra 10% more balls, so its kind of a trade off. The body does deflect shots, its been hit quite a few times and so far its deflected them, and shows no signs of wear.
Conclusion: I would highly recommend it. I never rate a 10, so this gets a solid 9. Great hopper, great price.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Peter31193 Sunday, October 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Evlution 2 w/ y board (much better)
Revolution (little worse)
Marker Setup: Spyder tl-r
20 oz co2
Diablo tsa backman lcd
Strengths: Fairly fast
Looks pretty cool
Holds ALOT
Magnetic lid
Weaknesses: Loud
Kind of big
Screen a little confusing
Shuts off acasionaly
Review: I only used this hopper for one game for the timer (my friends hopper) and it was all right. It can't really compare with my evlution 2 but it isn't bad. When we were playing, the screen wouldshut off after about 5 mins but the hopper would still work. It's also kind of loud. It does hold alot of paint wich means it's big and i'm a frontman so i didn't like that so don't get this just for the amount of paint it holds. All in all i would say it is a pretty good hoper for it's type.
Conclusion: I would recomend this for beginer to intermediate players.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

-[PH]- ronnie c Tuesday, August 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
a5 cyclone feed hopper- draws paint like a magnet
halo b- used on my 'cocker
Marker Setup: 2k5 prostock cocker with 68/4500 carbonwrapped and halo b
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: well my freind got a new spyder electra for christmas and asked me what a good fast hopper would be b/c he planned to rip. i told him empire reloaders and halos were good. i meant the halo b but 2 days after christmas he shows up at the field with this thing. my first thought was that it was some kind of richochet b/c of the shape but i saw the halo sticker and was instantly curious. the first day it worked great. 2 weeks later when we go to play again the thing wont turn on. we switch the 9volts. nothing. i replaced it with 6 AAAs like the manual says and nothing. i turned the batteries around and nothing. i smacked it with the back of my hand. it turned on. i dont know wtf was wrong but it worked when i hit it. it worked for the rest of the day. 2 weeks later we go out again, and the same problem occurs and the same solution works. this time i switched my halo b for this back man. it fed about the same(i have a mech cocker so i cant get fast enough to outshoot a halo anyway) except it uses a rotating bar unlike the halo b's feeder. the way the hopper is shaped also makes it look like it will deflect a shot the way richochets are supposed to but i never got hit in the hopper so i couldnt tell. i didnt much like the lcd screen though. sure it has cool features like the shot counter and the feed rate and the sound activated feed but i dont think i ever once looked at it during a game. in my opinion if they got rid of the lcd screen and put a little button and a flashing light like the halo b has itd be much better.
Conclusion: Its a good hopper and works just as well as my halo b, although i still prefer the b over this. if they replaced the lcd screen with a setup like the b has then i might want one. until then ill stick with the b. ill give it a 8 b/c of the problems i had with it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

stonyzims Saturday, July 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: 98 custom w/ response trigger, halo tsa backman loader, 14 in Smart Parts progressive barrel
Strengths: Sound activated
Tilt sensor
Holds a lot of balls
Magnetic lid
Weaknesses: Big target
Review: I needed to get an electronic loader because i kept chopping balls with my stock hopper(usually at least once a game). i looked at a number of of different agitated loaders including the empire reloader 2 and the VL revolution. After researching i finally decided on the TSA. im so glad i did. Since i bought it i haven't chopped a single ball. My paint is always ready to go. I love the magnetic lid. I don't have it popping open in games cause i didn't get it shut tight anymore. While it is rather large it does hold a ton of balls. I also enjoy the shot counter function.
Conclusion: I would definitely recommend this hopper for all the reasons mentioned above.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

iPoon Friday, July 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Egg
Gravity
Revy
Marker Setup: Spyder Fenix ACS with J&J Ceramic 14'' Barrel, SPPS Dragon's Tail Magno Trigger, T-Switch, Halo TSA LCD Backman Hopper, Dye Sticky 3 Grips, Pure Engery 20oz Co2 Tank with On/Off Valve, & 32 Degrees Spring Kit
Strengths: Shell is pretty strong. Feeds fast.
Weaknesses: Feedneck part is weak.
Review: This feeds fast. You would need a loud marker. It's a bit big, but i like it. It holds a lot of paintballs. It's big so it gets shot a lot. My shell is still intact. I never chopped a ball with this yet. I think the newer ones have stronger shell, because everyone says their shell is really weak, but mine isnt. Revolution is a good beginner's hopper, this is too, if you can find it for a good price. I got mines off a friend for $25 and these go for $55 new.
Conclusion: I recommend it if u have a loud marker, but if you dont, dont get it. Good luck.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sharkbait11 Monday, July 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL200
Marker Setup: Whisper barrel, diablo mongoose 2, halo backman hopper
Strengths: Fast loading, nice screen
Weaknesses: Breakable
Review: Overall its a great hopper, the LCD makes it easy to calibrate your hopper so it can be set to a setting that you like. I use this hopper for many differant task's. Scenario, hyperball. I love this hopper it hasent broke for me yet, and i like all the features it comes with. Now all they have to da is make it a color screen and it will be perfect.
Conclusion: Great hopper, buy it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rocker33 Thursday, June 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
viewloader evo 2
empire b
halo b
Marker Setup: Smart parts Ion-
halo b,
tech T L6 bolt ,
Virtue green eyes,
Virtue QEV,
Virtue board,
Freak ss back,
aa front,
ss inserts,
cp slingblade trigger,
cp shorty reg,
freak grips,
max flow,
Strengths: strong
LCD giving info on ur game
tilt technology
Weaknesses: None
Review: This hopper is a great one for woods ball. It feeds to slow for x ball games. i figured it feeds 8-10 bps it was way to slow for me and my ion so i had to upgrade to a halo b. if ur looking for another hopper i would say the viewloader evo 2. it has a great price for 60 bucks and is force fed. this forces the balls not just cycling them. BIG DIFFERENCE. the evo also can feed 19 bps. spending an extra 10 dollars would definitly be worth it IF ur looking for speed. The backman is definitly a good size for woods ball, for it's large ball compasity of over 220 balls it would give u a goood advantage if ur playing with ppl without packs on.
Conclusion: I would recommend this hopper for woods ball only. it is too slow for airball. the next step up is the veiwloader evo 2 for only 10 dollars more and almost 9 bps faster.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 29th, 2006 at 7:49 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pika198 Tuesday, May 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo B w/rip
Empire b2
eggy 2
Marker Setup: spyder imagine and ion
Strengths: nice for 60 bucks and holds TON of paint
Weaknesses: LCD screen is weak and shell broke and board broke
Review: I was playing last saturday at a tourney and i was testing my fps and i shot and bam the battery shell broke off and cracked the board....i was deeply mad but now i have a halo b so it is fine! it fell once and it broke the front but ya just go with a halo b its wayyyyyy better
Conclusion: Buy it for weaker markers and dont get if u have an ion or better because it loads slow and breaks easily
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

twistedframe Friday, March 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evolution II
Marker Setup: WGP Pro Stock, Crossfire 68/3000 tank, Halo tsa lcd backman
Spyder Shutter- Stock
Strengths: Totally adjustable, shot counter, duration settings. NEVER jams!
Weaknesses: Vulnerable LCD screen, Not as fast as others
Review: This is a great hopper and I would recommend it to anyone just getting into paintball and wanting an electronic hopper. It will keep up with any mechanical gun. I have loaned this thing out to a ton of people with mechanical markers and never heard a complaint about it not keeping up. This thing will hold a ton of paint.
I did have a little trouble getting set at first but I blame most of the trouble on the fact that I lost the owners manual as soon as I got it (nobody's perfect). This hopper is sound activated so that every time it hears the marker fire it feeds. You can set the spin duration to keep spinning and feeding paint depending on you play style. You can even set the sensitivity on the ear.
I love to use it in woods ball because of the tilt feature. The paddle will spin in the opposite direction that the hopper is tilted. This will ensure that the hopper will always feed paint (perfect for all those odd positions you find yourself in woods ball). I have turned my marker almost completely sideways and still had the hopper feed paint.
Just remember to be careful when you take this thing apart and put it back together, you could strip the shell if you over tighten the screws
Conclusion: I would recommend this hopper to anyone. Strong and consistent performance, quiet operation, and a decent price, not to mention a name you can trust for quality. Not the fastest hopper you can buy but speed isn't everything. Or is it?
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media