paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey HALO TSA LED Frontman / Odyssey HALO TSA LED Frontman / Odyssey HALO TSA LED Frontman

Odyssey HALO TSA LED Frontman Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey HALO TSA LED Frontman

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey HALO TSA LED Frontman
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 64
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Tilt Sensing - the agitator always pulls the balls up towards the feed hole. If you tilt it the right it spins counter-clockwise. If you tilt to the left it spins clockwise. Low frontal profile with 180 ball capacity Sound Activation
Product Availability 
The Odyssey HALO TSA LED Frontman is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
cmandh Sunday, March 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month28 of 30 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Gravity Hoppers- BOOO throw it out if you shoot 6+bps
Halo B- Very nice, but expensive
Empire Reloaders- a good product as well, but lacks some features (tilt sense, manual AND auto off)
Revvys- weak shells, good feeding though, but reloader is better
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
14" Teardrop Barrel
32 Degrees Universal Drop Forward + Macro Line
PMI Pure Energy 68/3000 Nitro
Halo TSA Frontman LED
Rufus Dawg Double Trigger
Response Trigger Coming
Strengths: Rigid
Fast, 13+ bps
Quiet, smoothly working
strong lid (magnet)
Tilt + sound sense
Price
Weaknesses: Feed neck maybe a little too weak, I am gentle with it
Review: wow. this is a great hopper.

I was suprised that it performed very very smoothly. I exppected it to whir and make loud noise, but it didnt happen.

I did a drop test with 100 balls and it emptied most of them within 7 seconds, but at the end it kept pushing about 3 balls around and they wouldnt go in unless you jiggle. thats not bad though cuz u reload when u got like 10% balls left anyway.

The lid is very strong, but the feed neck seems a little brittle (only because it has a slit in the middle to fit smaller elbows.

for a price of ~$65, you can't beat the TSA- I say it is the best non-force fed hopper around.
Conclusion: for a price of ~$65, you can't beat the TSA- I say it is the best non-force fed hopper around. Buy it if you are considering a Revvy or the likes.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

Toby16custom Thursday, April 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months15 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock hopper 200 rd
12v revy-slower but also reliable so
Marker Setup: Stock diablo wrath, crossfire nitro tank and stock barrel(actually nice) halo tsa.


Strengths: Strong
Fast
Realiable
Weaknesses: Two nine volts
no upgrades
Review: When i first got this hopper i tested it on my 98 custom which it kept up with no problem.
Then i got my diablo wrath and set her at 18bps with eyes on no chops very fast
although when the batteries get a little old after like two days of games the feed rate slows down a bit. The hopper is nice the loading speed is perfect for spyders and tippys a little slow for my wrath and anything above 18bps so a little slow fora shocker.
Conclusion: Buy one if u have fingers that are slower than 16-18bps but over all a great hopper very compact too. Buy one now don't like this hopper get a halo b.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

idiotwithrpg Wednesday, January 9th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months13 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Gravity Hopper-obviously cant keep up
Marker Setup: SP Ion w/ Halo Frontman + 48/3000
Scepter Barrel
Locking Feedneck

(Other Gun)
98 Custom
CORE Double Trigger
CORE 4 Piece Barrel System
Pure Energy 12oz CO2 tank
Strengths: (see review)
Faster
Reliable
Simple
Battery Life
Passive agitation
Smaller
Bounces Paint
Looks
Cheaper
Weaknesses: (see review)
Feedneck
Magnets
No eyes
No off (auto turn off)
Review: ---OVERVIEW---
The frontman by halo is a smaller profile hopper that holds up to 180 balls (ideal for front players...frontman for front players, WOW!) The agitator (thing in hopper that moves ball toward feedneck) spins on sound/vibration (such as when your gun shoots) so the motor does not run all the time and that saves you some 9v. If your gun is tilted one way (extremely), the hopper compensates by sending the balls upward and into the feedneck (hope that made sense). The lid is held closed with two powerful magnet pairs (one on hopper, one on lid). The frontman runs on 2 9v or the tray can be removed so 2 AA battery backs can be inserted instead.

note-if you want a larger hopper, the Halo backman holds more balls (stop giggling).

---STRENGTHS---
FAIRLY FAST-The frontman is said to do 13+ according to the company but my buddy and I have got it up to around 17/18 bps.

RELIABLE/SIMPLE-The frontman has never let me down on the field (no broken balls, etc.) because its so simple! A chip hooked up to the agitator -that's it! Also, it has one button and one LED light...you can't screw up turning this thing on (if u do...paintball may not be the sport for you, try extreme checkers). The Halo name is in general reliable (in products and customer service)

SMALLER/BOUNCES PAINT- When your up there grinding at an almost point blank range or running with your gun, small/light is what you go for. The frontman has a small, smooth, and rounded shell which bounces paint. I've played countless times and no paintball has every hit my hopper dead on and broke...EVER.

LOOKS/CHEAPER-Halo has always made attractive products and the frontman is no different. It's sexy. The price is too; if you can't afford those 30+bps hoppers that run the bill or just don't feel you need to rock your gun that hot, get this.


---WEAKNESSES---
FEEDNECK-the feedneck feels a little bit thin (not that bad) but just be careful.

MAGNETS-the magnets the keep your lid open/closed can pop out. A bit of glue and then putting the magnets back in fixes that. Halos newer hoppers have the magnets on the other side of the lid so they can't pop out. The magnets also could've been stronger but no big. (This hasn't happened to me, a few people told me about this)

NO EYES-There are no eyes (to "see" the paint in the feedneck) but that adds to the simplicity of the frontman. You also wouldn't need eyes on a passive agitating hopper. Plus there a pain to clean in my opinion.

NO OFF-The button on the front man only turns on and after 30 or so minutes of nonuse, the hopper shuts off. The hopper can turn on by itself if it is set off. That gets a bit annoying when its in storage and you pick it up or something and it turns on but you love it when you're neck and neck with the other team and the hopper turns itself on so you dont have to stop gunfighting to push the button. If you want it off flip BOTH batteries so the + and - are screwed up (don't forget to switch them back...).
Conclusion: Hopper is great, not quite NPPL, PSP quality but good for those recball, even low tourneys. Fast enough (for me), simple, Bounces paint, looks good. Feedneck is a bit thin but nothings perfect and Id think Halo would give you a replacement or something if you broke it. Hope this helped, HAPPY BALLIN'
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Trock55 Tuesday, January 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Gravity Fed only
Marker Setup: Tip 98c with R/T, 12" Teardrop, Halo TSA Frontman laoder
Strengths: Auto sensing works well
Quiet
Easy to take apart and clean
Weaknesses: Concerned about shell durability - mainly neck
Review: Bought this to go on my 98c R/T. I was told buy one guy that it was complete overkill to put it on my 98, another told me that I would need a Halo (at minimum) to effectively use the R/T. Well, I used it today, approx 2000 rounds. No problems at all. I forgot to turn it on at first and broke several balls, then once I turned it on I could not believe how fast the R/T was shooting.

The only thing that concerns me is the feeder neck tube. It, like the entire shell, is made of a plastic that feels like it may break with a small bump. I am an aggressive player (dives, slides, etc) and never once had a problem.

Conclusion: If you can get it for less than 60 bucks I say it's worth it. The auto sensing feature is awesome so no turning on and off and no wasting batteries. Would give it a 10 if the shell seemed a little stronger.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Cool shoes Saturday, May 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months11 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evo w/ Z-board (obviously better, but costs more)
Gravity feed hoppers (STAY AWAY FROM THEM!!!)
Marker Setup: Red 2004 Vision Shocker with...
New Designz Talon Grip and Gauge Adapter
32 Degree Drop Forward
Smart Parts HE Bolt kit
14" All American Barrel .689 back
Full Freak Kit with all 8 inserts, Also two additional freak front 10" black and 14" silver
Evolution with Z- Board
And 88 4500psi Pure Energy Tank w/ Smart Parts Burn tank cover

Backup guns
Spyder TL-X with...
Smart Parts All American 12" barrel
32 Degrees Electric Trigger Frame
Halo TSA Hopper
Shocktech superfly bolt
CIP Sure fit adapter
32 Degrees Spring kit
E-99 Java edition gas grip

Custom blowback marker w/ a black E-99 body (too many parts to write)
Strengths: Cheap
Very Durable
Never needed new batteries
Strong neck
No boards for it!
Secure lid
Weaknesses: Hard to clean
Hard to put back together (darn magnets!)
Loud?
Low feed rate
Review: Ever since I started paintball I came to hate those 5 dollar hoppers w/ plastic elbows. I always dry fired every 3 or 4 shots, the necks cracked, I outshot constantly, ugh! So I decided to go ahead and get an electric hopper. I like Halo 2, so I thought, oh cool, a hopper with an awesome name. Luckily my local store currently had purchased a large stock of them so they were on sale for $35 bucks!!! Since then it's gotten a lot of use on my TL-X. I've never broke on semi-auto mode (I use a 32* electro frame). However, I do brake on full-auto at 10 bps or higher. It's no biggie, with a Spyder you don't need a high feed rate. The hopper is loud, and many complain about it's nosie, but I rele don't think it matters. I mean, when I start shooting I NEVER hear the hopper at all. If you've got a gun that won't outshoot a Halo TSA on semi-auto, you obviously have a blowback. Therefore, your gun is loud, or at least loud enough that you can't hear ur TSA. However, I do have one complaint. It's hard to clean. Taking it apart is easy, but when you put it back together it has to be aligned PERFECTLY. This is hard cuz the magnets always attract to each other, which drives me NUTS! The lid used to be very secure when I got it cuz of the magnets that keep it closed, but now the spots that hold the magnets r all messed up from when I've had to take it apart and now the hopper occasionally breaks open (only on like dives and stuff it's rele not a problem). I've never had to replace the batteries before, and I can't remember how many times I've used this thing (10,00 rds i think). Also, the neck has never broken, and it takes A LOT of abuse. I strong neck on your hopper is a necessity cuz it allows you to move around easier hence preform better during a game. It'd be cool if you could put a faster board in it, but then again, Odessy and Viewloader wouldn't make as much money off of their high end hoppers. Overall this hopper has satisfied me the only reason y I use an evo instead of a Halo B for my Shocker is cuz I got it for free lol.
Conclusion: This hopper rele is great. If you have an Impulse or higher then no don't get this but Tippmann and Spyder owners this is a MUST HAVE
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

187killer Sunday, April 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-R, Spyder ESP3.0, a Dye Boomstick Barrel, and a Halo TSA LED Backman.
Strengths: Feeds fast, reliable, strong
Weaknesses: The batteries die fast
Review: This is a good hopper if you are into using a lot of paint. But if you are the type of conservative person that only uses paint when it's needed then this hopper is not for you. I like how based on the way you lean the hopper spins, if you lean to the left it spins counter clockwise, and right clockwise. Also it is pretty inn expensive i got mine for $40
Conclusion: I recoment this hopper for a person who burns paint fast and need to reload and get back into the fight quick and not have to worry about the hopper not working
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

oakmontkilla Monday, February 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Gravity fed
12v Viewloader
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Rocker Trigger
72/3000 air tank
Halo frontman hopper
QEV
Soon to have Freak Jr.
And AIM Shock Reg
Strengths: Very low frontal profile
13+ bps
Tilt sound activated
Good on batteries
Weaknesses: Wish it held more paint
Review: Overall this is a great hopper for any marker, on my ion it keeps up with my rof, It is very small so you wont have hopper hits as much. Since it has TSA when you are leaning out the side of a bunker it will spin the opposite way feeding the paint faster, so its not just spinning around in the hopper. The only problem is I wish that it was a little bigger maybe 200 ball hopper, but if you are a frontman plaer this will work fine.
Conclusion: Buy it unless you shoot through a lot of paint each game, or if your a backman
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

20/20eyeguy Saturday, October 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Gravity feed VL hopper
Marker Setup: Dioblo Mongoose II Reincarnation LED (blue black fade)
CMI True flight barel
Hallo TSA Front man (Smoke)
Strengths: Magnetic lid.
Tilt sensing.
Sound activated.
Feeds fast enough.
Weaknesses: My hopper is screwy and the battery door falls off.
Feed neck is too small.
Review: I have only used this thing a cupple times and every time I do my battery door popped off. When we onctacted Hallo about it they sent us a new battery door and that one still came off, so it must be my hopper. My dads doesn't have that problem so just be perpared that it could happen. If it does just put some duct tape on snap and the problem goes away.

Also when I would fire the the hopper would come out of the marker. Just put more duct tape on the feed neck and that problem also goes away.

I don't know if this hooper would feed fast enough for every one but I have never out fired it.

I do like the smoke because you can see your paint but other people cant really see your hopper.
Conclusion: Good hopper just a few slight problems that can easaly be fixed. Best hopper in the price range though.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

trayeater Thursday, September 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
revvy - better
haloB - way better
quantum - doesn't compare
gravvy - same as quantum
Marker Setup: ICD promaster
WGP on/off w/ empire mini rail
Halo with rip
AA barrel
evil detonator regulator
68/4500 PMI glass tank
Strengths: Looks sweet
Pretty light
The tilt and sound activation is good
Weaknesses: Weak shells
Extremely unbalanced
Not as fast as advertised
Review: Ok, i had a quantum for a while and it was terrible. So I decided to get a new hopper. I originally looked for a new hopper that would not feed so slow. My friend had a revvy but i wanted something different. I came across the Halo TSA Frontman hopper and I instantly wanted it. So i bought it and was instantly amazed when I opened the package. It looked awesome. I had the all black and it was a really shiny black, almost mirror like. So I throw a couple of 9volts in it and turn it on. It spun once one way and then back the other way. When I put a pod of paint in i had to tap the back plate to get it to spin (sound activation, duh). It emptied in a reasonable time. Maybe about 7 seconds. So then I slapped it on my modded tippy 98c (walkable mech) and tried to rip. it feed for like a second then all hell broke loose. it chopped every other ball after that. Knowing that i should have put in a heavier spring in the sear of the 98c I went ahead a switched it back to the stock form (heavy pull, not walkable by any form imaginable) and shot as fast as i could. It kept up well at about 12bps. With the Mods though I bet the Tippy could shoot about 17-18bps. So that explains the chopping. So i made a mental note not to shoot so fast. In between the time I got it and the first game it saw the feed neck broke! I was doing slides in my basement and did a little bit of a botched slide and my hopper came flying off. I was very unhappy because I thought the shells were pretty strong. So after that incident I rigged up a support feed neck out of a piece of piping and a piece of metal bolted to the side of the hopper going down to the part when the bolt is on the clamping feedneck of the 98c. It felt sturdy after that but i couldn't take the hopper off without unbolting it from the feedneck. Fist game it feed pretty good but i noticed it was a little slow. So I put some 9volts in it and tried again. It wouldn't feed if it was more than half full. I took it apart to see what was wrong and I find that the impeller has cracked right in the middle so it couldn't spin if it was more than half full. I cursed it to hell and went on with the day making sure to only fill it half way. In the last game of the day I took a hopper hit to the front and the nose cracked and left a huge hole in the front. I finally got fed up and tossed it out. I went out and bought a revvy which still hasn't broke two years later. I had a terrible experience with the TSA. It probably had the shortest life span out of all of the hoppers I've had.
Conclusion: It didn't last past its first day of play and broke on me with in a period of 3 weeks. Save yourself sometime and buy a revvy or if you have the cash a HaloB.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dead Lemonz Sunday, April 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
12 volt Revolution
Halo B
Egg 2
Marker Setup: Black Ion, Halo B, Spyder thread Tiller 16 inch Barrel,48/3000 Nitro
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: Easy to smudge the black TSA
FEELS breakable
Review: This hopper is perfect for my back up gun(it is a little slow for some high end markers but it is only 50$) It can crank out about 14 bps which is pretty fast for such a cheap hopper. not only that but it is high quality and though it feels weak...it is really quite durable (I accidentally slammed the thing against a metal bunker at Master Blasters and all it did was scratch a bit) also the thing is really quiet, so if you are woods balling and people hear you...you know it is not your hopper's fault.

The only thing im not so sure about is how durable the hopper really is. I know i got Lucky at Master Blasters that it did not break. If you are violent with your paintball equipment then I suggest that you buy a second shell (about 10$-20$?) so if it does break you can keep on playing
Conclusion: I LOVE THIS HOPPER. If you have a gun that is between 50$ and 175$ you should get this hopper. If you need a hopper and you have about 50$ to 70$ to spend, get a Halo TSA.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media