paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey HALO TSA LED Frontman / Odyssey HALO TSA LED Frontman / Odyssey HALO TSA LED Frontman

Odyssey HALO TSA LED Frontman Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey HALO TSA LED Frontman

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey HALO TSA LED Frontman
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 64
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Tilt Sensing - the agitator always pulls the balls up towards the feed hole. If you tilt it the right it spins counter-clockwise. If you tilt to the left it spins clockwise. Low frontal profile with 180 ball capacity Sound Activation
Product Availability 
The Odyssey HALO TSA LED Frontman is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
IrishPipe87 Friday, February 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Grav fed hoppers, shot an ANS GX-E autococker that had a Halo B on it.
Marker Setup: sold my t.e.s., getting a shocker w/ vision b4 May 05`

currently using my old spyder shutter
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: Push a button to turn it on, push and hold same button to turn it off. Green for Good to Go, Red for "Im turning off". So simple, and easy to use. Feeds a decent rate of 14bps, never chopped with it, never jammed on me before. Only thing I don't like about it, is the instruction guide is for the LCD version of it. PBReview's description is wrong, its not 190, it has 180 ball capasity. Also, it doesn't like those velcro target practice balls. Battery panel tends to be fussy.

Speaking of batteries, If yours isn't working, Check to make sure that the - and + are in the correct spots, I had them put in wrong, I never really used a 9v battery before.
Conclusion: Great hopper, its cheap ($55), doesn't crack nor break when being tossed around. Not over kill feed, but it will hold its own for front players that burst 8-12bps like myself. You don't need a screen telling you information on your hopper, maybe on your marker, but it's a better buy than the LCD version. Its a beast, Buy It.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, February 25th, 2005 at 12:14 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jjgoforward Saturday, August 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Gravity feed VL hopper, Extreme Rage ehopper, Vforce ehopper
Marker Setup: '07 Fusion
Halo TSA Frontman E'hopper
Carlton/Crossfire
Strengths: Cost effective
Tilt sensing
Low profile
Weaknesses: Feedneck is TOO small for the feedneck of the 'Goose. Great with the Fusion.
Review: For the sake of this review I would like to divide e'hoppers into three categories:
entry level, intermediate level, and advanced level. The Halo TSA Frontman I would consider an entry level e'hopper. It is rated at appoximately 15 bps. This is plenty fast enough for my Mongoose , my Fusion and most other entry level markers and even some intermedtiate level markers.. Since PSP, and NPPL are now capped at or around 13-15 bps maybe it is fast enough for just about anything.? The sound activation is sweet. It seems to save on battery life. The tilt sensing for the feed is great too. I tend to tilt my marker when I am behind a bunker and the tilt sensing keeps paintballs coming at a normal rate. My gravity feed hopper was a problems here. I usually use rec quality paintball. The feed mechanism is certainly gentle enough for this quality of paint. The only time I have ever had any break in the hopper was on a very cold day (it was snowing) and I wasn't using paintballs made for the cold conditions. I have had the hopper jam once during play. However, one of the paintballs that was jammed up was badly dimpled. So maybe it was the paint and not the hopper.The shell is made of polycarbanate. This is a very light weight buy shatter resistant material-the same material that safety eyeglass lenses are made of. I dropped mine in the rocks of a parking lot from about 4 feet and there was no visible effect. Yes the Halo sticker on the hopper is cheesy-so what it doesn't effect the performance. I really don't care if everyone knows I have a Halo. The feedneck is a little too small for my Mongoose, but other reviews I had read had suggested this. So no surprise. The best thing about my TSA Frontman though is it's low profile. It doesn't stick up nearly as high as the other two hoppers I have used
Conclusion: For an entry level e'hopper, this is a great deal! No it doesn't compete with the Empire Magna drive etc-but it is not supposed to.
If you are just getting started I would highly recommend this hopper. It will serve you very well until your skills or your pocket book can justify a premium hopper.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, October 17th, 2009 at 6:02 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

matt-l Monday, December 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
halo b(only tested)
eggy 2(also tested)
Marker Setup: pirhana ext pro e-force
j&j 14 inch ceramic barrel
smoke halo tsa frontman led
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: STRENGHTS!<B/>
fast
reliable
strong
magnetic lid
tilt/sound activation

WEAKNESSES
spins if you yell
hard on some batteries(i suggest duracell)
EDIT!....my feedneck broke.....-1 for a thin feed neck

other then this i think it is a great hopper, i need to make 50 words here so i will talk random for a bit, lalalala la la la la la so merry christmas and happy new year!

matt.
Conclusion: I recommend this to every one, just be care full of the feed neck. I give it a 8 because nothing in the world is perfect
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 3rd, 2007 at 10:15 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mikeD00789 Tuesday, December 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader gravity feed- it breaks after being shot
Marker Setup: ion
Strengths: Cheap, ok looks, magnetic lid is cool
Weaknesses: None that i know of
Review: I was surprised by the difference it makes having an electronix hopper. A problem i did have was when i slid the battery cap came off but a little tape and it was fixed. Other than that it is great for beginners. Also the turn left spins right, turn right spins left thing is cool.

I take my weaknessess back. My feed neck broke and is very weak!!!!!
Conclusion: Not a bad product
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 5th, 2007 at 3:25 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

kek Thursday, July 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Gravity Hopper - not comparable
Cyclone System - better for Tippmann
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
21" CMI Thunder Pig Barrel
Halo TSA LED Frontman
M98 Adjustable Sightrail
Remote
Gas-thru stock
48/3000 Pure Energy HP
Strengths: - Profile
- Speed
- Capacity
- Sound Activated
- Sturdy
- Magnet Lid
- Quiet
- Price
Weaknesses: - Small Feedneck
- Needs Two 9V Batteries
- Hard To Clean
Review: i picked up this hopper at a local store for around 40 bucks, which is absolutely no money for this great hopper

PRO's:
PROFILE: This hopper has very less profile (made for frontman, remember?)

SPEED: this baby will feed around 13-14 bps, which is more tha enough for my tippy with RT coming

CAPACITY: it holds 190 balls, you're just not able to put two pods in it at a time, which is more tha enough for me

SOUND ACTIVATED: great, but a little sensitive, it will go of if I make a little sound. This is no problem however

STURDY: this thing is pretty though, except for the feedneck (see CON's)

MAGNET LID: This thing is great, you will never be surprised by the lid of your hopper suddenly opening just when you'll go bunker someone.

QUIET: it's really quiet, you can hardly hear this when testing, and not al all during shooting

PRICE: For 40$, this is an absolute bargain

CON's:
SMALL FEEDNECK: I had to put some tape around it, because otherwide it would fall out of my feedneck, elthough that was screwed in all the way. Also, it seems to be showing some minor cracks.

NEEDS 2 BATTERIES: It needs two 9v batteries, but they will last pretty long. I've had mine for 5 months now, and shot about 8 cases with them. And I still haven't had to change batteries yet

HARD TO CLEAN: this thing really is a pain in the a*se to clean, because of the paint coming in all the seams and stuff. Just get a cover for it (if you can find one, i just used a black ankle-sock)

Conclusion: Very good hopper, just be gentle with the feedneck. Can't be beaten for this price, but because of the feedneck I give it a 9
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sally_Paintball Sunday, April 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Regular 200rd hopper, Ghetto Viewloader ones (forget which crap one, oh and they suck compared to this)
Marker Setup: Evil Pimp Black... Dye Sticky Grips...WAS equalizer board for Pimp...Scion Air System 88cu in/5000psi...Evlution2 egg...New barell soon
Strengths: -Magnetic catch(no ball spillage)
-Decent battery life
-Sturdy (took a few drops already)
Weaknesses: -Doesn't always "activate" when turned on
-Hard to turn off!!
-Battery door, ergh!
Review: This is a decent hopper for the price and the performance is about what you pay for. As far as functionality is concerned it works fine and as long as you wont die over the occasional irratation it's the way to go. I hooked it up to mutiple guns and it could keep up with most all the Ions & other mid range E markers... so long as you don't go too triggar happy.

Conclusion: I would buy this hopper again if i had the chance. But if you have anything faster then an Ion go buy an Evo II there only 20-30 more expensive and you can get a z-board for them... nuff said.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

painter 26 Wednesday, March 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Gravity feed
Marker Setup: BKO 2K4
47/3000
HALO frontman
Strengths: Halo
15bps
cheap
reliable
battery life
Weaknesses: WEAK PLASTIC
magnets are brutes
Review: This is a great hopper i think.. it is my first electronic hopper and its great. i got it for only 80$. it doesn't break when it gets shot then a couple times more with bonus balls... the only problem i had was my friend used it and the magnet fell out ( easy fix with some super glue ) feedneck is weak but i wrapped it around with masking tape fits perfect and protecs it kinda.
Conclusion: Great hopper go and buy it
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, June 9th, 2006 at 7:57 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

paintballagt13 Friday, September 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
the only electric one
Marker Setup: Pirhana SRT
20oz. Co2
Progressive 14inch Smart Parts Barrel
Halo TSA LED
CP Micro Drop
Strengths: SOUND ACTIVATED
probably can get up to 20 bps
$50 thats pretty cheap !
Weaknesses: I dont think there are any
Review: Hey i love this its awesome its sound activated which means every time it hears the

gun shoot, it rotates, and also it is has the thing, when you tilt your gun to the right the

motor spins it left, when it tilts to the left it spins right.

~after i got this a ball has never broke inside the hopper, my gun has only chop like

once since ive got this, and do not, never ever buy a little gravity pulled hopper they are

horrible atleast bye like an egg or a revy, but this is great you'll hav fun with this hopper

and you will fall in love with it.

~it also looks pretty cool!!!!!!
Conclusion: Just buy this hopper its awesome try it out once you buy one!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

St. Spyder Saturday, July 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Gravity fed
Marker Setup: Spyder imagine 04, cp one peice 14'', 50/3000 worrgas, macrokit, WGP Ergo reg, moded bolt, and VA.
Strengths: Fast- 14bps
Sound activated- Doesn't waste batteries
Tilt sensing
Weaknesses: The plasic it is made of seems like it will break easily, seems brittle.
Review: this is a very good hopper for the price. It is sound activated, so it only agitates when you fire. It does actually spin different ways when you tilt it too. It is very fast. I've never chopped with it. I chopped on full auto with gravity, because I didn't know better back then. It is also very light. Now I can do full auto on my imagine - 13bps, and never chop. I've been using it for a while and haven't had to change the batteries thanks to sound activation. Just push the button on back to turn it on, then push and hold button to turn it off.
Conclusion: very good hopper for about $60 or less. It is fast, sound activated, and tilt sensoring. It is a good buy in my opinion. I only took one point off for the very thin feeling of the plastic. It is light though becuase of it probably.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, June 25th, 2006 at 7:48 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MATTLOYA Saturday, May 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader eVLution II hopper, Viewloader Revolution 12v with X Board Paintball Loader
Marker Setup: Spyder E-99vant,14"CMI barrel,Java 12oz co2 tank,Check it sweet spot trigger
Strengths: Sound activation works great Feeds fast, reliable, strong
Weaknesses: None
Review: The sound of you firing activates the hopper ever time. no misfire or chops because there is always a ball ready to go. The hopper also has tilt sensing so if you lean left it pulls the balls up toward the hole. For the same price as a Viewloader Revolution 12v.
You can get a halo tsa frontman that works better.
Conclusion: I recommend a halo tsa frontman. The halo tsa backman is to big for me at lest.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 28th, 2005 at 11:49 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media