paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / ANS GX-5 / ANS GX-5 / ANS GX-5 / ANS GX-5

ANS GX-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount ANS

Buy ANS GX-5

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


ANS GX-5
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 16
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $525

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The latest creation from ANS yields the best closed bolt marker on the market today. The GX-5 marker is lighter and faster then it's predecessors of the GX series. The GX-5 marker is the first mechanical marker to come standard with a 90 degree swing frame which is ergonomically designed to allow for easier and faster trigger pulls. The body is lighter and the overall marker is lighter. Everything you need comes with this tournament ready marker. All of today's aftermarket upgrades come standard on the new marker including QEVs ,Clamping Feed Neck, Delrin Venturi Bolt, New Dual Detent System, and every new marker is e-frame ready with no drilling needed.. The Clamping Feed Neck is designed specifically to fit the larger necks on the high end loaders with no sanding required. Each marker comes with 3 different detent strengths to choose from. You can adjust the detent depending on loader strength and paint-barrel match. The IVG has been redesigned with a longer internal spring. You will now find the gauge for the new marker operating pressure on the bottom of the front block and the new In-Line regulator has the same high flow rate as the X-2 as well as a bottom inlet hole for your air source to provide a comfortable fore grip. The new marker also comes with a 15 degree ASA. This marker will perform the best with compressed air and a eVLution or HALO loader.
Product Availability 
The ANS GX-5 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
mcclintock89 Monday, September 8th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
A lot of other autocockers.
Marker Setup: ANS GX-5 Blue, Empire Barrel Kit, Empire B Loader, ANS 68/4500 HPA, Madman Spring Kit.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel Kit
Spring Kit
Strengths: Light
fast
comfortable
accurate
consistent
Weaknesses: Main spring
barrel
Review: 'Pros-

Gun is very light for an autococker, still not as light as any of the high end electros, but it's an autococker, it's supposed to be heavy. For a mechanical marker, if your good at shootin cockers with out short strokin, you can get this one to sling some paint. It's also very accurate. accuracy with stock barrel isn't too bad, but the afterket barrel KIT with inserts, help out a lot. it's everything you expect a cocker to be. but better.

Cons-

the main spring that comes stock is almost too soft, i had mine tightened all the way down and it was still shootin at 265. i got the madman spring kit and it solved all of those problems. the spring kit is only like 6 bucks, and well worth the money. i also highly recommend a barrel kit. a barrel without inserts just. sucks. so get one.

This is a very good marker, especially for those of you who prefer accuracy over speed. and at this price (i got mine for 220 bucks) you really can't beat this gun. It also might say that the delrin bolt does not require lube. don't believe it. always lube your stuff. especially your bolt. i recommend smart parts sl33k. overall gun works great, shoots straight, and i can get it to sling paint pretty good for a non e-bladed cocker. just takes some fancy finger work.
Conclusion: Worth the money. people try to compare this to a tippman a-5? get the gx-5 before even considering an a-5, just make sure u get the barrel kit and spring kit.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

juit Monday, November 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Raptor
Trilogy Taactical
tippmann A5
custom 98
afterburner
sting ray
Marker Setup: ANS GX5
Armson stealth barrel 16
Phat 14 barrel
Centerflag Uprising Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Just an electro trigger
Strengths: prepared for electro
I got a 13 Bps
Light
gauge
Weaknesses: Needs an electro trigger if wanna go pro
Review: Recomend a centerflag and antichopbolt dont need to worry for seloniod because its all in the trigger and the 3 valve is fast enough
if you go to wgp get E2 it works great on this gun
I stick on the uprising because is trouble free and very reliable
this gun is very light and fast out the box but if you instal an electro trigger it lightning fast!
Conclusion: Best mecha gun ever used!
Buy it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jebo120 Saturday, April 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
autococker trilogy, wgp autococker karnivor
Marker Setup: stock ans autococker gx-5
stock smartparts ion
Recommended
Upgrades:
a better ram, and an e2blade, or worrblade if u can find it.
Strengths: lightweight, VERY IMPRESSIVE RATE OF FIRE FOR A MECHANICAL
Weaknesses: timing, out of the box... "What timing?" Also on/off valve didnt work
Review: well, this gun rocks compared to a lower price autococker. it even gave my bros suped up karnivor a run for its money. aside from the problems it came with from ANS (out of the box) i quickly had it up and timed, and played several games, this gun is THE FASTEST mechanical marker i have ever seen. it gets almost 11 bps, i was getting around 10 with the timing job i did. and consistant accuracy and velocity. the only thing i can say is i would save for the gx5-e because if you ever wanted to update to electric, it is sooo hard to find an eblade. however, the x5-e is the same great gun with the blade on it already. gun is fun to shoot, and easy to adjust. once you hit the sweet spot, you can play all week with it, and only have variations of a few fps.

overall, great gun, the ion is a better buy for a midrange marker, but then again, cockers take devotion, and love of the gun to own. if you are a cocker fan, this is an avid choice that competes with the WGP superstock. which is only a little better in my books. for the money, you cant go wrong. i got mine for only 230, and u can find them cheaper online than the msrp.

Conclusion: overall, great gun, the ion is a better buy for a midrange marker, but then again, cockers take devotion, and love of the gun to own. if you are a cocker fan, this is an avid choice that competes with the WGP superstock. which is only a little better in my books. for the money, you cant go wrong. i got mine for only 230, and u can find them cheaper online than the msrp.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mattdoc Thursday, March 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock 99 cocker - not as good.
Custom cocker - best cocker I've ever owned, sad I sold it. I can only hope this X5 compares.
Marker Setup: ANS X5
Dye Boomstick, Powerlyte Scepter
PMI Pure Energy 88/4500
VL Revolution
Strengths: Lightness
Good R.O.F. for mechanical gun.
Looks good
Weaknesses: Stock timing
Review: The stock timing was off, and had to be fixed before the gun was usable.

Once I adjusted the back block, cocking rod length, and sear lug length, it shoots very well. I can shoot much faster than previous cockers I have owned. I also removed the safety and smoothed out the 3-way actuator loop in the trigger plate to make the pull smoother.

I also received eye covers that were the wrong color - at least, according to the pictures on the manufacturer's website. I asked them about this, and they said that all X5s are coming with black now, whether your gun is black or not. The stock drop-forward is adjustable, but you will need to buy new macroline and possibly angled fittings if you want to move it from the stock configuration, since it only comes with the shortest length possible (drop-forward set all the way forward).

The feed neck tightens onto hoppers by screwing down a collar over some vertical tabs. It is impossible to tighten it down on my hopper, I have to set it at a certain point and see if my hopper will go in and stay tight, then try another turn in/out to get the right fit. A clamping feed neck would have been better, but this is better than a fixed one.

This gun shoots fast, and it would have been perfect had I not been blowing balls up in the barrel. I'm not sure if it was the paint or the gun, but either way, I'd rather it hadn't happened.
Conclusion: If you know what's what with a cocker, and are looking for a value mechanical, this gun appears to be a good way to go.

8 for its bad first impression (bad timing, high reg setting) and ball breaks, though it is accurate and hasn't broken down.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 15th, 2007 at 3:56 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbmaster23 Wednesday, January 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann, trigloy pro,triligy,pm5.
Marker Setup: ans gx-5 clear to blue fade
72/30 alumiunium tank
evolution3 hopper

soon have....
e-frame
sp freak
new bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
some sort of eframe for faster speed
a barrel with inserts
Strengths: Short trigger pull, no straininng to walk the trigger.
Looks awesome.
Light.
Weaknesses: Cant walk the trigger to fast or it will chop since it isn't electric.
Review: Well, i got this gun for christmas, and right when i picked it up i noticed something, it was light (compared to my last gun, a tippmann).
Next weekend i took it out to my feild to play and it worked great. Even with the stock barrel it shot pretty straight. There was only one problem though, one of the orings in the 3way had a very small whole in it and was leaking,but i could still play i just needed to refil every other game.
Conclusion: Great gun for intermedent players just slap an e-frame on it an bam it rips.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

psychoticlevels Monday, September 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
2-Worr autococks
3-Spyders
2-Angels
Strengths: This gun is light and pretty accurate.
Weaknesses: The safe pin for the trigger is useless.
Review: Body Rocks.like i said before it will stand out. it has a nice paint job, plus you don't have to do upgrades like some of the other brands.

I will keep yall inform' about any thing new with this gun, i will keep using it and abusing it. if anything goes bad i will keep YALL updated.
Conclusion: so far I LIKE IT. it is worth it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, September 28th, 2006 at 5:37 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media