paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel

Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel
[ View Photos (17) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 771
Average Rating: 8.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Flatline Barrel System is the first barrel to put back spin on paintballs. It not only increases accuracy and distance, but it also has a flat trajectory.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (78):  First  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  Last
        Next Page
Jesus 1st CAD Friday, June 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Barrel
Friends Spyder with Upgrade Barrel (not sure which one)
Friends autococker
Rental guns
Sidearms
Marker Setup: Tippmann Model 98 - Woods/Scenario ball setup
Flatline Barrel
BT Combat Stock (Solid)
Dead On Paintball's Aluminum Powertube and Delrin Front Bolt
Dead On Paintball's Rocket Cock II
War Sensor Remote Line
Sub Zero 6 stage X-chamber
Tiberius Arms Black Hawk sidearm
NXE 4+1 pod and tank belt
Recommended
Paintballs:
Premium paint is best
I normally use bronze level Diablos
Strengths: Extended Range
Accuracy
Look and Feel
Weaknesses: Shroud is made of plastic
Shroud is slightly warped (mine anyways)
Loud!
Review: For starters I've read A LOT of mixed reviews about the flatline and really the best way to understand is to try one out.

The flatline is not a standard barrel, it imparts spin on the ball which can cause it to react abnormally compared to all other paintball barrels (excusing the Apex which is the same concept.) The Flatline is called that because it is the only barrel that actually flattens the trajectory of the paintball. Normally a paintball begins to drop immediately after exiting the barrel, with the Flatline the backspin creates what is called the Magnus Effect.

The Magnus Effects states "that a spinning object creates a sort of whirlpool of rotating air about itself. On the side where the motion of the whirlpool is in the same direction as that of the wind stream to which the object is exposed, the velocity will be enhanced. On the opposite side, where the motions are opposed, the velocity will be decreased. According to Bernoulli's principle, the pressure is lower on the side where the velocity is greater, and consequently there is an unbalanced force at right angles to the wind."

*** Quote http://www.geocities.com/k_achutarao/MAGNUS/magnus.html ***

In case you didn't follow that it means that a ball the is spinning backwards (spinning on the axis parallel to the ground in the direction of movement) will cause a slight lift effect while it travels, thus the Flatline can fire a ball in a straight line and have it travel in a straight line with very little drop over greater distance than straight bore barrels.

With the physics out of the way now I can discuss the bad reviews we have here.

A lot of people are complaining about the poor accuracy of the flatline and it is true when compared to straight bore barrels at the end of their usable trajectory. A normal straight barrel is most effective at ~25 Metres where as the Flatline is most effective at ~40 Metres if you compare the accuracy of a barrel at ~25 Metres to any other barrel at ~40 Metres there will be HUGE discrepancies in the accuracy. Now, if we are to compare the Flatline at ~25 Metres to any other barrel at ~25 Metres you will see that there is no significant accuracy difference. At that range the Flatline is slighty more accurate than a straight barrel of it's same length.

Paintballs are inherently innaccurate, that's why real guns don't use ball ammo anymore. The ball causes turbulence around it's rear which tends to erraticise it's flight path. Real bullets are cone shaped with a flat back, this causes it to slice through the air rather than bulldoze, thus making them more accurate.

Another common complaint is ball bouncing. Yes, at extreme ranges and hitting soft targets the paintballs will tend to bounce, however, if you hit something solid such as a mask, hopper, butt pack, etc the ball is likely to break, unless it is really low grade paint. Flatlines have the advantage of being able to shoot much farther than other barrels, but accuracy and velocity WILL degrade with range, that has alot to do with the shape of the ball, the viscosity of the air and gravity. If you find a way to defeat these, please let me know.

The Flatline is truly suited to the paintball sniper. Don't let anyone tell you there's no such thing, I've been an Axxium Inc. sniper for a year and it is not only real, it's an advantage. Any team with a good sniper can be deadly.

If you play in such a manner where volume is more important than accuracy, the Flatline is not for you. If you play in such a way that demands one shot equals one kill then this is your barrel.

The only real downside to a sniper using the Flatline is that it's report is very loud and will easily give away your position, it is VERY important that you relocate after every couple shots.

Finally, the guns consistency is also a very important consideration. CO2 is, by nature, inconsistent and without an x-chamber you will not be shooting accurately for long. CO2 is my preferred propellant and I find that it works well with the Flatline and an X-chamber, although it can be difficult in some Canadian winters.
Conclusion: This product does do exactly what it says on the box. From my experience it will increase your range, accuracy at medium to long ranges, flatten your trajectory, and increase the volume of your guns report.

It gets a 9 because nothing is perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

GUTHRIE Friday, June 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing really compares to the Flatline system.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Flatline
Tapco T6 Adjustable CAR Stock
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything that is round without dimples.
Big Balls work fine if they're not old.
Strengths: Adds a crapload of range (>100 feet)
Weaknesses: Accuracy leaves much to be desired.
Review: The first game I played with this, I tagged most of the other team. I actually hit where I aimed (nothing like the stock barrel which is shorter than any other barrel I have ever seen). I was ecstatic. One game after that, I was shooting all over the place, not straight at all. I was angry.
How can anyone appreciate this peice of crap barrel that looks like a banana?
Well, I was wrong.
I've won at least five times more games with the Flatline than with any other barrel. I do shoot straight when the barrel is clean and on right. The only problems I can really bring forward is that when the Flatline isn't on straight, it shoots all over the place. It also shoots all over the place when you're using balls that have dimples in them (old balls).
When you take out the barrel to clean it, make sure you put it back in completely straight, or the balls will always shoot curved.
Conclusion: Overall, if you're thinking of this barrel, only get it if you're willing to spend at least 50% more money on quality paintballs, not the cheap old stuff that the store has on clearance.
I'm rating this a 7 because it's so temperamental. I love it, but when it's not used exactly according to what the directions say, it's a total nuisance.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

r4pt0r Monday, February 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock 98c barrel
14" Smart Parts progressive barrel
stock Ion barrel (on my bro's gun)
some other 15" barrel

none can compare
Marker Setup: Flatline (duh)
Adjustable CAR stock with RVA
Pure Energy remote
Q-Loader
48/3000 PE tank
red-dot sight
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marballizers
haven't wasted my time with anything else. The Marbs work great and I've had no reason to try anthing else.
Strengths: Accuracy
Trajectory (easily shoots through bushes and branches )
Range
mil-sim style looks cool
installation
Weaknesses: kinda Loud
Speedballer brothers think it looks lame
price (you get what you pay for)
Review: I was worried about getting this barrel because I had read mixed reviews about it. (from this very site) Fortunately, my fears were founded in n00bish trash-talking. This barrel is amazing. Most rumors/myths have been debunked already, but I have something I'd like to add.

Special Ops Paintball, on their site, claims that the flatline is not a good "sniper" barrel because each paintball is slightly different and therefore, each shot will be slightly different. This is true for any barrel. They go on to claim, however, that the difference between shots is more pronounced in this barrel due to the spinning of the paintball. This is not true. With a good, consistant air source and good paintballs, this barrel is amazingly accurate. It's even OK with CO2, but you'll get bad shots due to velocity spikes.

Another myth involves installation. I had this thing installed within 5 minutes, and that's without instructions. (As guys, we aren't supposed to use them anyways. What if someone had caught me?) Anyways, there is a barrel adapter that you have to screw in. On some older guns (like mine), the threads won't go in all the way.

All you have to do is:
1) loosen the 2 screws closest to the barrel (1 in the front handle, and 1 by the front sight).
2)insert a large allen wrench into the NON-THREADED SIDE of the adapter and screw it in the rest of the way.
3)re-tighten the screws
4)put the shroud on and insert the barrel
5)put screw into the barrel adapter and test-out the gun. If it's shooting crooked, twist the barrel until it shoots straight.
6)re-tighten barrel adapter screw

SERIOUSLY, IT'S THAT EASY!!!
Conclusion: This barrel, when set-up right and fed Marballizers, is extremely accurate and consistant. I would recommend it to most woods-style players, although speedballers could benefit from it too. (thus the flatline autococker, which is unfortunately no longer made) However, due to the relatively slow shooting rate of the 98c (compared to electros), I would not recommend it for speedballing.

Anyways, unless you're a total n00b, you should be able to get this thing set-up right. Just make sure to hold the gun vertical and it'll shoot straight. Eventually, you can learn to shoot "around" bunkers (to a certain extent) by tilting the gun. I would recommend this barrel to almost anyone. It is the best upgrade I have ever gotten for my marker, and the only other barrels I would even remotely consider using, other than the flatline, are the stiffi and the hammerhead.

It gets a 10 because while it's a little louder than I'd like, nothing's perfect. This is as close to being the perfect barrel as I can imagine.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, February 14th, 2006 at 12:10 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pballer#16 Wednesday, February 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Flatline Barrel
R/ Dawg Double Trigger
Response Trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything but wildstreak
scorch,zap,monsterballs
Strengths: Shoots as far as u can see
Very accurate
Weaknesses: Hard to install
Chops more than it should
Review: When i first bought the flatline i knew it would be hard to install. I took the plastic part off, it looks like crap but shoots far and accurate.Hard to but if u know how to put it on, u wont have any trouble. I would recommend it to anyone who has the money.
Conclusion: Overall its a good barrel. Little expensive but worth it. I give a 10-10.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 1st, 2006 at 11:33 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

AngryInsurgent Saturday, January 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
8.5" tippmann 98 stock barrel
11" werks custom pro stock barrel
14" Smart Parts Linear Barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
Flatline Barrel
Tapco T6 adjustable CAR stock
Recommended
Paintballs:
scorch, premiums, marbalizers
Strengths: -Distance
-Accuracy (not amazing though)
-better trajectory for shooting through brush
-looks cool
Weaknesses: -Takes more time to remove and attach than a standard barrel
-Requires thick shelled paint
Review: This barrel does as advertised but you sacrifice the simplicity of being able to simply screw off your barrel quickly. The accuracy isn't perfect but the range of this barrel is unmatched. As long as you are not simple, you should be able to install it relatively easily and find a velocity that will cause your balls to appear to "float" towards their target.

Many people say that the 98 flatline is inferior to the a-5 flatline, but I've found they both work similarly well. The people who say that usually were just turned off by the slightly more time consuming installation of the 98 flatline- but performance wise this flatline works as well as the A-5 flatline.
Conclusion: It is good but has its disadvantages.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 5th, 2006 at 12:37 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Spade0405 Monday, January 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
car-stock
14" 32 degrees whisper
20" sp tactical sniper
remote
cyclone feed
bipod
Recommended
Paintballs:
Draxxus
Strengths: Distance
Looks
Weaknesses: Speed
Accuracy
Review: POS up front if you ask me. If you are in back, make sure to fire in three round birsts. Windy days are not the best times to use it, and in woods ball it will not hold up to its purpose because you cant shoot around trees, and through vines. If you buy this make sure to have nitro because it eats up co2 fast.
Conclusion: If you buy this make sure to be in back, because if you arent, its not worth the money.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Buffinator Friday, December 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
i have used a 16 inch armson stealth barrel and i have used many other barrels on other markers, such as freak, stiffi, cp, all american, A5 flatline, tippman sniper barrel, J&J, stock 98 and stock A5 and stock imagine and stock xtra and stock ion and others im not sure of
Marker Setup: Spyder Fenix - J&J ceramic barrel 12 inch, egg2
Tippmann 98 custom - flatline, car stock, egg2 and response trigger
soon to own a promaster
Recommended
Paintballs:
i recomend non rec balls, any higher end paint.
Strengths: Read review
Weaknesses: Read review
Review: weaknesses
big-hard to get around stuff
loud-not good for my sniping habits
chops-its paint picky

strengths
accuracy-shoots fairly well
distance-i could shoot straight over the whole field
intimidation-scares the hell out of my friends


i have used this barrel on my 98 for a long time, and it had served me well for the first while i had it but later on its come loose and now its chopping allot. i could lay on the top of the British tower at paintball usa and hit the guy in the other tower by aiming about an inch above his head instead of a foot or so. its not that quiet and the response trigger doesn't work so well on it, it can if you use the right paint but i don't buy that good of paint. it shoots fairly straight, it had about a 9 inch spread at about 60 ft using full auto with the response trigger, it was much better in semi, about a 1 inch spread or so. so ya
Conclusion: I say that you should get this if your a serious woods-ball player or a new guy that wants a long shot so he can be a good sniper. Its a good sniper barrel i recommend it as long as you have good paint.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 27th, 2006 at 8:38 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BiersDasGut Friday, September 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5 w/ flatline
2005 Spyder Electra
Tippmann Pro Carbine
Spyder Victor
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
Flatline system
Metal shroud for flatline
Pro-team rifle stock
Vertical adapter
Allen expansion chamber
6 inch hose
Ricochet 2K hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any tournament grade paintballs
Strengths: Addes significantly range and accuracy.
Weaknesses: Plastic shroud bends when put under stress.
Review: I have been using the flatline for over a year and it is incredible. With it you are able to really reach out and touch someone. They claim it adds 100 feet guaranteed but it seems like it adds like 200 feet.

I purchased the metal shroud for the flatline. Its aluminum so its light and more durable than the plastic one. I had a problem with the plastic shroud after I put on my pro-team stock on it. It caused the shroud to bend to the right. The metal shroud prevents this and the barrel lines up making the gun more accurate.

The metal shroud is good but it does not have any sights on it but you can use the sights on the plastic shroud w/ a mask on anyways. The thing that is really weird about the metal shroud is it has no button to realse the hopper elbow. I have to use an allen wrench to press the foward sight down to release the elbow.

The metal shroud is a must buy for the flatline
Conclusion: Significantly adds range were other guns can reach you. The metal shroud for the flatline is a must buy.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, September 9th, 2005 at 10:09 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pattons3rd Saturday, September 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None that compare. The new Apex is similar but havnt used it.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c Response
Flatline barrel
remote line
72ci 3000psi Pure energy nitro tank

Spyder Shutter stock
remote line
72ci 3000psi Pure energy nitro tank

Zap ZXS 200/Winchester Laredo 80 Pump
Recommended
Paintballs:
PMI Stingers worked surpriseingly well. no breaks. the rec /recyeled draxxus (not sure, came in white box) broke often
Strengths: Range....MAJOR range
Accuracy
look
Weaknesses: Accuracy
look
installation
Review: I got this barrel used for $75 which was a good price. i tested it in my yard and saw major range increases. the first time i shot i noticed the "second wind" given the ball (dips then backspin carries it back up). but after that, i didnt even notice it (eyes playin tricks maybe).

I put accuracy as a pro and con because it is more accurate than my other barrel but at longer ranges it's accuracy decreases (curves to the sides sometimes but tahts far out. maybe 235 ft)

I also put the look as pro and con because i like its look. more of a rifle feel but others might not like that.

Installation requires more work and tuning than other barrels (not just screw in and shoot.) It requires the barrel adaptor-like part screwed in so the clamp screw is on the bottom. then the shroud is put on the gun, requiring the rear sight to be removed, and the shroud screwed in. then the barrel is pushed in through the shround and into the clamp. now here is the tricky part, the small porting indentation on the muzzlebreak should be lined up with the front sight (if off, the balls will curve).
Conclusion: Flatlines are a little picky and not for the newbie...well, maybe an experienced newbie...but all in all is an amazing barrel. With that said, i give it a 9 because it isnt perfect and not for the newbie. plus, there is another barrel out there sort of like it (BT Apex)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

GlobalFanatic Friday, June 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippmann Model 98 with flatline barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marbleizer (not as good as I expected)
Gameface (draxxas) scorch really worked well, also cheap
Strengths: Range and accuracy increased as promised
Weaknesses: Flimsy plastic shroud
Review: I bought this for $95 (US) at a local paintball shop and am glad that I did. The Range and accuracy of my marker increased just as promised. If I can see it, I can shoot it. At longer ranges it helps to aim for mor solid targets (like packs/harnesses, marker/hopper, or mask) to avoid bounces.

Still no breaks after a couple thousand balls, so I haven't had to field clean it yet (knocking on wood).

Setup was easy. (just take your time) I took the reciever body completely apart and just set the barrel adapter in position rather than trying to screw it into the reciever.

As reported, the plastic shroud is cheap plastic and thus FLIMSY. Tightening the screws that hold the two halves together helped firm it up a bit. Just be careful not to tighten them too much, the soft plastic will strip easily.
Conclusion: Installed correctly, this is an awesome upgrade.

shop around and find it for less then $100.

Flimsy plastic shroud is disapointing and is why it only gets a 9. Seriously, couldn't it be as strong as the cheapest hopper or tube?
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (78):  First  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media