paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel

Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel
[ View Photos (17) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 771
Average Rating: 8.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Flatline Barrel System is the first barrel to put back spin on paintballs. It not only increases accuracy and distance, but it also has a flat trajectory.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (78):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
SamuraiSniper Tuesday, December 31st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom with flatline and 20 oz CO2
Recommended
Paintballs:
I used diablo and blaze, but i couldn't really recommend them because they are all i have ever tried
Strengths: Great accuracy. After I got used to shooting without arc, nearly every ball went where i wanted it.

Shocking distance. I could kill people all the way across the field with three shots.

I love the way the paintballs fly. I scared the crap out of a squad of autocockers from across the field because the paint flies like im right in front of them.

This thing shoots around corners if you turn it on its side.

Looks awesome
Weaknesses: Kind of loud, but not bad at all.

Paint curves funny if you accidently tilt your gun.

Paint flies funny if you get paint in it

Large and unwieldy.
Conclusion: I love this thing. My next purchase will probably be a sight.

Im now known as the sniper when i go and play... and the guys with the expensive guns always ask me to shoot it again: "whoa, lemme see that again... Thats cool."

People keep complaining about paint breaking, but I played eleven hours, then eight hours straight and never broke a single ball. I didn't try firing fast (i didnt need to), so i dont know if that would do it.

If you want to shoot fast like the little kids with ER doctors for daddys and autocockers for guns then you wouldnt have bought a Tippmann. This thing is great for accuracy.

I give it a ten because it is everything in promises to be and more... it shoots beautifully.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Marty Sunday, December 3rd, 2000
 
5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: I played my first game with the 98 Flaline today and I was very happy with the distance I got. And I like the cool look of the shroud, I got several comments from players saying how they liked it. The accuracy was also very good that I could shoot all the way accross the woods field. The field I was on was FPO and I bought RPS Premium paint which did well.
Weaknesses: If you break a ball in the barrel and you don't have the right squeegie your S.O.L.
Conclusion: If you have a Tippman 98 and you have some spare cash burning a hole in your pocket I deeply suggest you buy this barrel. It is a definite improvement. The only aftermarket barrel worth a fart for this marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

thesoak Thursday, March 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stock
carbine
J&J ceramiuc
Marker Setup: 98 custom
custom paintjob with clearcoat
12" J&J ceramic
rva
green grips
home made drop
no hopper wobble
quiet gun mods
trigger mods
unsafty
hopper drill
unguarded trigger
empire condom
polished internals
who cares
Recommended
Paintballs:
draxxus rec-sport
Strengths: flat trajectory is unbeatable
Weaknesses: many view body
Review: GOOD:

flat trajectory is so great you can shoot forever
it looks so cool

BAD:
plastic shroud is bent and a sight will never work
cost
couldent get a pinpoint hit if you tryed
if you bump it you have to re ajust
you have to set in your barrel unliek other barrel u screw in
stripping gun takes longer and you have to waste 200 rounds to reset the barrel
if you have old recivers forget aboit it you have to rig it it blows
people say its hard to clean if u get a break not true but yes a lil harder then normal
porting is stone aged
3 piece garbage
Conclusion: get this if you starred in the movie commando or you ahve money to waste other than that get a J&J ceramic i didnt believe anyone then i got it set it perfect it worked great but i got shot with a ball on the tip of barrel and it nocked it out of alignment needless to say i had to spend 15 minutes to reset the gun and wasted half my paintballs

J&J CERAMIC no others

IM me if you got somehtign to say about my review
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

CaptainCanuck Thursday, August 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing like it !
Marker Setup: 98 Custom with RT, two-finger trigger, revy hopper, Lapco folding stock, Smart Pats teardrop barrel, Flatline Barrel, 50ci 3000psi Hpa tank, 12 oz CO2 tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
High end
Strengths: Range is this barrels greatest advantage, it looks cool
Weaknesses: Lenght can be a problem, accuracy with field paint is a problem
Review: I've had good days and bad days with my flatline. I love the range, it enables me to hit targets far off or at least get them to bunker down. With high end paint the accuracy is good, not great but good. If you are useing field paint or other mid to low quality paint accuracy will be a problem. Take some time at the begining of you day to adjust you velocity and barrel. I've found the barrel works best at around 260 fps. I haven't had to many breaks, no more than my 14" barrel so this really isn't a issues. The flatline is a good investment for anyone looking for range and or a cool look. This barrel was made for woodsballers and as such should work well with less than perfect paint this is my only real complaint about it.
Conclusion: It's all about the paint, this barrel has a expensive appitite for premium paint.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Spenny16 Friday, September 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock 98 barrel - garbage
Lapco 14" BigShot - one of my favourites for the 98, much more accurate
Proto 12" 2 piece barrel - my favourite at the moment
Marker Setup: Black Proto M6
Black Empire Reloader B
P.E. 68 ci, 3000
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS Premiums or other high end paintballs. If you use any cheap stuff, it will just shred in the barrel and make a mess.
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: This barrel is alright. It allows you to not have to arc the gun, and that's basically it. I personally despise this barrel. Only 1 out of 10 shots fire like they are supposed to. This is because every paintball has minor imperfections, and every shot fires a little different. When the thing works, its like a dream.

This barrel is extremely loud. This is because it has no porting. It also has a very distinct 'ping' sound. Everyone will know you weild the flatline.

Paint constantly shreds in the barrel if you use cheap stuff. Use paintballs with thicker shells and very little oil. A battle swap is highly recommended.

The barrel is very time consuming to set up. The entire gun must be taken apart to fit the adapter in. Dialing in the barrel takes forever to get just right, then you have to hit it making sure there is no gap between barrel and adapter, or else you will shred paint.

The plastic shroud on the gun is crap. It cracks easily and is warped.
Conclusion: This product is garbage. If you get this because you don't want to arc your shots, suck it up and learn! A straight barrel has a very consistent arc and is way easier to aim.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

He Is Legend Monday, February 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
nothing
Marker Setup: Stock, 20 Oz Co2
Recommended
Paintballs:
Only tested it with two kinds of paint, and I was amazed with both. Just don't get really really bad paint, or really really old paint.
Strengths: See bellow
Weaknesses: See bellow
Review: Ok, my neighbor got this just today,(hence the "only tested" selection) First off, hes a tippmann guy, and i'm a spyder guy, so, theres that natural "my gun is better, yours blows" thing going on all the time. But, he's not very mechanically inclined, so I offered to install it for him. Now, I'm fairly mechanically inclined, I can completely disasemble (I mean, completely, valve body and everything) and it took me nearly an hour to put the thing on.

I don't know if this happens with all flatlines, but the adapter on this one was slightly defective, so I had to take the gun apart four times, to finally figure out that the threads were a little messed up. So I fixed that, put the ting on, and continued, that probably sapped about 20 minutes of time. (seeing as how tippmanns are a pain in the butt to dissasemble) The rest was fairly easy. I had wondered at first how the heck a barrel can be curved, and not break every ball that shoots through it, and I still don't know, but now I know it doesn't break them. Just read the instructions, and your set basically.


Now for the review part.

We then just about ran to my backyard (all 1.6 acres of it) and shot some trees and cacti and stuff. I noticed it was shooting a bit to the left, so I turned the barrel ever so slightly to the right, I got it in two adjustments, in total I probably turned it at the most, a millimeter. And at 100 yards, that was moving the ball had moved about 20 feet, so be very very subtle in your adjustments.

We then shot it at some stones (about 2'X2') from maybe 100 yards, and to my amazment, they were hitting it, and it was windy. Without wind, I'm sure that at a hundred yards (thats 300 feet people) and the balls would hit in a very tight group.

One ball broke out of about a hundred, but the paint we were using was atleast two months old, most likely four, knowing him. So that is understandable. Once it broke though, accuracy was down the drain, it would not shoot straight farther than 20 feet.

This is easily fixed by using the included squegee, five seconds later, you have a good-as-new barrel.

The really weird thing is, when you shoot it and (try) to watch the ball, it looks like its flying up, its going dead flat, but still, when you shoot a paintball gun and trace the ball, you always expect it to go down. And it flew flat for atleast 150 yards, even then, it only dropped slightly. I would say, as far as accuracy, its the closest you are going to get to a real gun. This barrel truely makes a 98C a sniper gun, add a stock, and maybe a red dot sight, and you'll be the only guy that never gets shot.



ok, to the meat.

---PROS---
Insane distance
Insane accuracy
Insanely cool looking (looks like an AR-15, even more so with the stock)
Insanely black

---CONS---
Insanely expensive
Insanely inaccurate after a ball breaks
Plastic shroud seems a little cheap
Makes the gun a tad long, not so great for speed ball or when your in tiny bunkers. But hey, our military does it with guns that are even bigger and heavy-er (more heavy?), totally not a deal breaker though.
Conclusion: Buy it, you will not be displeased. Infact, I even want a tippmann now. Maybe they'll make a flatline for the C3 (hopefully when they make the C3 semi-auto)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Desertfox582 Sunday, April 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
14" SP Progressive Barrel (Not even in the same catergory)
Marker Setup: Tippmann M98 C, Flatline, Quatum Viewloader Hopper, REDZ pod harness, 3 Fatboy pods, and a partidge in a pear tree
Recommended
Paintballs:
TC Drakula Pro, X-Ball Gold, and Great American Paintballs all work extremely well.
Strengths: ACCURATE, Range, Ability to "control" large areas, and frankly, it scares the **** out of people.
Weaknesses: Somewhat Loud, Can be tempermental
Review: I purchased the vaunted Flatline at my neighborhood paintball store 2 years ago, and have not turned back. This barrel is amazing. However, my first 3 months with this barrel were hellish. Well, I believed that I could install the barrel myself, and said F*** You to the $30 installation fee. It turns that I was wrong. Because of my very poor mechanical skills, the damned thing could not shoot staight at 20 ft (!) and it used up all my gas in my 12oz CO2 tank in 500 rounds. I was understandably pissed, so I began to research to see if I was the only one. I found many other angry customers online, and resigned myself to having bought a piece of crap. Then, one day, I was fiddling with the Flatline, and found that I had installed it incorrectly. There was space between the receiver and the barrel, which allowed precious gas to escape. I fixed the problem and have been in paintball nirvana ever since. It can, in good hands, hit players as far as 175 ft away, while most barrels only send balls as far as 75 ft. This is an immense advantage. The barrel is also accurate at shorter ranges too. Then there is the fear factor. This gun will get you picked first when teams are being organized. The gun's noise is also sure to keep any attacking paintballer's head down. A very effective weapon.
Conclusion: I recommend it for players who like to shoot at the enemy at long distances, and those that would like to use it as a "high-power assault rifle", but not for those who can't aim for **** and just spray. It can't shoot very fast, and if it does, the aim declines. You also have to buy good paint, no cheap stuff here.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 24th, 2005 at 3:20 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

magic8225 Wednesday, March 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None as good as this amazing barrel.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom w/ Flatline Barrel, Car Stock, Riccochet AK, and remote line.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any
Strengths: -Shoots farther than any other barrel in the world.
-Amazing Accuracy
-Looks Cool
-200ft Shot
Weaknesses: -Too pricy
-Requires good paint
Review: This barrel is the most amazing gun I have ever tried. When I paintball I can pick off peolpe at about 150ft and i laugh because they cant even shoot that far. Also this gun shoots straight for about 150 to 200 ft. The only problem is the price and high demand for good paintballs.
Conclusion: I think everyone with Tippmanns should get this barrel because it is by far the longest shooting barrel on earth and is amazing if u like to snipe.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spaz7676 Monday, July 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 stock barrel, other stock tippmann barrels, freak kit on an autococker.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 w/ Red dot sight and flatline barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
I used afterburners
Strengths: flat trajectory and range
Weaknesses: not idiot proof
Review: I bought this and put it on myself last week. Went on fairly easy for me atleast. I'm pretty good with mechanical things and I can see how the directions would confuse some people. I think there is one step that some people don't quite complete and that causes problems for them. You're suposed to pound the barrel into the adapter with a rubber mallet. I actually slammed the thing barrel down into the table (worked for me but I no responcible for what happens if you try it.) If you don't pound in the barrel all the way there is an edge of the barrel that can slice balls. I got mine in all the way and it does not chop.

Aligning the barrel wasn't nearly as hard as i thought it would be. I eye balled it to line it up right and it seemed to shoot fine. One thing that people may have a problem with is you have to hold it level to get it to shoot straight. I don't have this problem so I don't mind it at all.

Another thing is the barrel doesn't make up for inconsistant velocity all that much. No barrel does. So using a 9 ounce CO2 bottle (which I use) will not yield the "super acuracy" you hear about. I recomend atleast a 20 oz. I'm looking at getting a palmer reg, but that's going a bit above and beyond.

The reason I say it was the CO2 and not the barrel was becuase when I shot at a rate of about 1 ball per second my shots we in about a 3 inch grouping at 65 ft. (That's pretty fricken awsome). But when I stepped it up and shot as fast I could (8-10 balls per second) the spread was about 2 feet. Again, this was with a 9 ounce CO2, which is about as incosistant as you can get.

As for the barrel being a 'chipper shreader' when it comes to balls, I have yet to see any truth to this. I have not broken a ball in my barrel, let alone in my gun. I use afterburner paint. It's not premium, but it's also not budget paint either. I'm ok with not being able to use crappy cheap paint because I think it's worth the extra $5 a case to have zero breaks. Anyways, 90% of fields in my area require you to use field paint and their field paint is priemium quality. Currently, shooting medium quality paint, I have shot 2000 balls out of my gun without a single break. 300 of those were with my new flatline.
Conclusion: If range and flat flight are important enough to you this barrel is worth the money. Don't listen to the rumors, they are just made by people who can't follow directions.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

PB_Brad Wednesday, August 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing like the Flatline
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom 98 (factory camo)
J+J 14" ceramic barrel
Cyclone Feeder
Dark Horizon Titanium Hammer
Palmer Stabilizer (mounted below handle)
Tapco Stock
ACI High Pressure Remote coil
9, 12, and 16 oz CO2 tanks
Recommended
Paintballs:
XBall Bronze worked well, even in the extreme heat.
Draxxus Frostbite did NOT work at all (stay away)
RPS Stingers seemed to work well. (only put a few through however)
Strengths: -Longer Range
-Better Accuracy
-Ability to control a portion of the field
Weaknesses: -Modification required for Cyclone
-Breaks in barrel severely effect performance
-Installation and breakdown take time
Review: I read just about all of the reviews, and clearly two camps on the Flatline, either you love it or hate it. I decided it was worth investing in one. I went in fully understanding the shortcomings of the product, but also the potential. For the record, after a couple of uses, I LOVE IT. Let me tell you why and what you need to know before you dive in.

Two different examples of play where the flatline helped my team win the round:

On a split field, where half was a hill with lots of places to find cover, and the other half was more of a "no mans" land. We sent all but three of us into the hills to do close up battle and the rest of us "guarded" no mans land. The opposing force sent 5 into our part of the field, but they never got very far. As soon as I could see them, even in the far cover I could reach out and touch them. No one wanted to venture out into lesser cover knowing I could get them out from that range. We took the round, partially because we were able to commit more resources to the actual fight, rather then having equal numbers defending the other side of the open field.

On a more traditional field with classic bunkers, we were moving up the left side which was a bit more dense and better suited for up close engagements. I was actually wishing for my standard non-flatline A-5 at that moment, until I saw one of their players make a fast dash flank at the opposite side of the field. I let go a hail of balls right into his path, and because I didn't have to "arc" them, I was actually able to lead him not unlike the way a duck e hunter leads with a shotgun. He called himself out, and I didn't really know I got him out until after the round when (covered in my orange paint) he said "who got me out and where the h*ll were you?!?!?!"

OK so here is what you need to know with the Custom 98 flatline.

Installation

The installation is somewhat time consuming and has to be done correctly. The adapter has to put in so it is completely flush. The manual says "crack the case" No. You put the adapter in with the two halves open to make sure its flush. Like anything else worthwhile, its a pain and takes some practice and understanding to fit it properly. If you don't have patience, you won't succeed. When you close up your clam shells, its going to be tight. Yea, the front site spring is now even harder to keep in place when your re-assembling it. The plasitc shroud goes over pretty easily, however Cyclone users will need to grind plasitic to make that fit correctly. That was a bit of a pain. At this point the barrel goes in. Be aware, THE BARREL WILL NEED ADJUSTMENT LATER ON!!!! Do be sure to give a tap with a soft mallet to be sure it seats properly. No your ready to tune.....

Tuning (yes you have to do this)

Take your marker out somewhere you can gage the flight path of the ball. I shot mine from a field into a stand of trees that wasn't too dense. Shoot some rounds into the trees, to gage the path. If they tend to curve off, loosen the adapter and twist the barrel left and / or right to straighten out the path. When you get close smaller adjustments will be required. If you can't find the sweet spot make sure you aren't tilting the marker, that will affect the trajectory. This takes about 30 mins to 45 mins, so don't get frustrated! Once you have your sweet spot, indicate on the barrel where it is, so when you disassemble it, you know how to put it back. Chrono the marker to somewhere between 265 and 280. I shoot at 265 to 270 and it works fine.

Paint

Wall Mart cheap paint has no place in a Flatline. The trick is thick shelled balls with very smooth seams. I used XBall Bronze and didn't have one break. Because the flatline is hard on paintballs, fresh(er) paint is a must!!! Also if you play in winter, even fresh paint gets brittle. A guy I know uses "Arctic Ice" in his flatline and that works well when its cold.

Edit: Arctic Ice is becoming hard to find. Do NOT put Draxxus Frostbite through this barrel!!!! Your shots will curve off to never never land. The pattern I am starting to see is any paintballs with a shiny coating seem to have trouble in this barrel. As mentioned above, I tried some RPS Stingers for winter play and they seemed to fly pretty well.

Other and general comments

You have to play with marker completely level. Tilting the marker will make the balls do weird things. Sometimes you can use that to your advantage. Breaks are bad, and really affect the way the ball flies. (Thus why good paint is a must...) Always carry the squeegee, just in case. If you get a break and have the opportunity, try to wash it out before playing again. It does matter.... This thing is LOUD. Its not a stealthy thing.... But you can use that as an intimidation factor when the other team knows you can get them. Even the best paint will give you an occasional zinger to the left or right. Just know it happens and learn to live with it. Because all balls have seams it can't be completely avoided.


Conclusion: I recommend this to anyone why wants an advantage on their long game, and is willing to work and take the time to get it right. Anyone who needs instant gratification will not like this upgrade. The accuracy is NOT perfect, and it does NOT shoot as straight as a rifle on every shot. It does however give you the ability to slip a couple into a bunker that a traditional barrel would have trouble with, (note: arc) and gives you a significant distance advantage. Also good for defending areas with limited resources.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, November 22nd, 2007 at 8:15 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (78):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media