paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel

Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel
[ View Photos (17) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 771
Average Rating: 8.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Flatline Barrel System is the first barrel to put back spin on paintballs. It not only increases accuracy and distance, but it also has a flat trajectory.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (78):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Bpie03 Monday, November 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrel
Marker Setup: 04 Prostock
E2
Crossfire 68/3000
Egg2

Tippmann 98 with a lot on it
Recommended
Paintballs:
marballizer, dusk, inferno are ok
Strengths: Shoots very far
Shoots flat and straight
Looks cool
Weaknesses: Expensive
Review: well I am adding to what I said before. I realized that I had done something wrong so when I shot the ball would sometimes curve but I fixed it. Anyway this is a great barrel I wouldnt have gotten any other one. I knew that it would help me but not this much. I have gotten way better accuracy hitting 2 liter soda bottles from 80-100 feet away.

I just did a test about 10 minutes ago between the stock barrel because I forgot how it shot after so long. So I clamped my gun in a vice and shot 30 rounds at a 1 1/2x 1 ft target and the flatline hit it 26/30 ( I was about 30 yds away) Then the stock barrel oh my gosh what a diference the stock barrel couldnt even shoot that far! It would start dropping so soon. So i decided i'd give the stock barrel a handicap and move it up to about 50feet away and when I shot it would hit the target about 10/30 times!. People have said theres no diference between a flatline and the stock barrel man they couldnt be more wrong.
Conclusion: This barrel is great for anybody that likes to shoot long distances.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 30th, 2006 at 5:01 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbghost Wednesday, November 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none, this is one of a kind
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 coustom,
flatline,
car stock,
lazer sight,
camo painted,
remote coil.
Recommended
Paintballs:
any that dont break really easy
Strengths: Shoots straight, far, and accurate. Great for medium/long range players
Weaknesses: Dosent shoot if you break a ball, takes time to figure it out, exspencive
Review: This is one of the best barrels for the tippmann. This can be used as a sniper or medium range player. because it shoots so straight, it dose also shoot far but accurace woulnt be perfect. it dose take some time to figure out. when i first got it i had it installed but the person did it wrong so it was shooting paint in curves. i took it apart fixed it and now i can shoot a bottle from 100 feet away. but be sure to have some other back up gun, or rental money because if its windy the wind catches the balls and throws them in any direction. be sure to carry the squeege also, if a ball breakes the balls will have no accuracy.
i hear rumor that the balls go slow, this is true, after about 200 feet they start to lose speed, but there is no diffrance, i bet if u could get a regular gun to shoot that far it would lose twice the speed. And how many times do you shoot that far? and even then its still going about 190fps so it wouldent matter. but at regular distances they will never see it comeing!
ive heard that its a gass hog, its not
the one thing i recomend if u get this get a motterized hopper to take care of balls breaking.
Conclusion: I reccomend this barrel. this is one of the upgrades that make the 98 coustom from a medium class pb gun to a high class. there are some problems but the over all outcome of how far and how accurate this shoots is definantly worth the investment.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 24th, 2004 at 11:20 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

divergoff Monday, June 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
used a 14" Teardrop
Marker Setup: 98c w/ Flatline
Recommended
Paintballs:
32 degrees
Strengths: Range
Weaknesses: it is hard to get to shoot perfectly
Review: First of all don't install the way the instructions say. Put the adapter on then the barrel. This makes it easier to get the barrel straight. Yes you will have to take the shroud apart but only a couple of screws hold it on. IT IS WORTH THE EXTRA TIME. Once you get the gun shooting around 280 you will probably need to adjust the the barrel so you can get it shooting good.
Conclusion: You have to be expecting to be taking a few minutes at the begging of the day to get the barrel shooting how you want. All in all I love it. The range is CRAZY. At the start of one game I shot to see how far it would go. The ball went at least 100 YARDS. I lost it behind a bunker, so it went farther even than that. If you never want to work on your gun then don't get this barrel. You will need to adjust and readjust. But once you get it right I suggest putting witness marks on the adapter and barrel. THIS BARREL DOES NOT CHOP PAINT. I used some paint(forget what it was) but it was crap. It shot like a champ. Make-sure you put the adapter shrew in the correct side!! I give it a nine b/c it is difficult to get shooting good. But well worth it once you do.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

98customcrazy Saturday, March 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
thats the great thing, nothing like it
Marker Setup: 98c w/ flatline, remote, saving up for E-bolt
Recommended
Paintballs:
I use dusk diablos they never fail me
Strengths: 1. its looks are that of a true marker (looks cool)
2. no other barrel has this gun's range, you can mark anybody with this
3. No matter what anybody says, the accuracy is great, right on.
4. Even though the shroud is plastic it is very hard and durable.
5. Nothing knocks off its aim, even if the barrel itself is hit
6. Finally, it never breaks any balls, you just have to make sure the barrel is all the way in the adaptor. They never even broke when I was shooting as fast as possible.
Weaknesses: There shouldn't even be a bad column
Conclusion: Overall, I have come to the conclusion that this is the best thing to ever happen to paintball. If you have questions go to the forum tippmann then the thread called flatline on this site. Definitly get this barrel, even if you dont like it now, you will when you get it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Umgar Friday, September 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
A5 Flatline - essentially the same
Marker Setup: M98 and A5 with Flatline with lots of various upgrades for gas efficiency, looks, and ROF.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Generally the smallest you can get, but see the review for more details.
Strengths: Range, the wow factor of the first time you shoot it.
Weaknesses: Accuracy, maintenance, and most of all CONSISTENCY - read my review!
Review: I was an early adopter of the Flatline barrel when it first appeared on the market for the Model 98 years ago. At that time I had not yet graduated to an electric marker running on HPA and was using a tricked out M98. I play a lot of scenario games and liked to play sniper so the Flatline seemed like a great choice, man was I wrong.

6 months later I was so frustrated with my M98 + Flatline I not only stopped using the barrel but I SOLD my M98 and all related accessories! I have since tried the A5 with flatline to see if it has improved and found it to be essentially the same. I have 6 months of play experience with this barrel - PLEASE if you are considering a Flatline purchase keep reading and think carefully.

There are a lot of 10/10 reviews posted on this page. They all say things like "Wow! Amazing range!" and "Great Accuracy!" but if you read carefully you will see the word "if" used an usually high number of times - and that, in a nutshell, is the basic problem with the Flatline barrel. The Flatline seems great when you are shooting it in your backyard under perfect conditions. The Flatline will shoot an acceptably accurate shot at slightly longer ranges than traditional barrels IF:

- You can keep your velocity at a consistent 280 FPS +/- 5 FPS at all times.
- You never break a ball in the barrel (God help you if you do)
- You have the exact right paint for your barrel (which can vary from barrel to barrel and can even change depending on the temperature outside!)

But these are just too many "if's" for a day of actual paintball. Good luck keeping a consistent 280 FPS all day long, especially if you are on CO2. Play somewhere where it gets hot in the afternoon? I hope you like frequent trips to the chrony. Is the field you play at or the scenario your are attending "Field Paint Only"? If so and if that is not the exact right size for you flatline you are in for an afternoon of comically inaccurate shots, or worse - spraying liquid paint out the front of your barrel most of the time. Did you just experience a barrel break? Hope you brought a sidearm! Have fun taking your gun apart after the game to clean it out while your friends kick back with a can of Coke.

Even IF all the stars line up for you - you have PERFECT paint match for your particular flatline, your velocity stays extremely consistent all the time (maybe you are on good HPA and have an awesome reg installed... why you would pay for that kind of hardware on an A5 or M98 is beyond me... but some people do...) AND you never have a barrel break ALL DAY, your ball-to-ball accuracy will still not be any more consistent (probably a lot less) than a traditional barrel - and consistency is ultimately the most important thing in paintball accuracy. I do not care if you can hit a coke can 25 yards away dead-on with flat trajectory 4 out of 5 times. A good player with a good marker will be able to do that 5 out of 5 times with an arced trajectory. Flat trajectory does not automatically translate into "accurate." Sure it looks cool, but is it consistent and reliable? No it is not.
Conclusion: If you buy the flatline you will probably be impressed with it when you set it up, chrony it to the right velocity, get the right paint, and play with it in your back yard. But when you take it to the field - you are in for a day of frustration. The concept of the Flatline barrel is insteresting and I commend Tippmann for coming up with a novel approach to delivering paint to a target, but there are just too many variables in paint quality, gun velocity, and field conditions to achieve CONSISTENCY on the flatline. Want to be a paintball snipre? Do yourself a huge favor and just buy a nice long high-quality traditional barrel and PRACTICE. Paint does not care if it was "floated" to the target or "lobbed", it will break either way. Marksmanship is about knowing where your shot is going to hit before you pull the trigger and not having to cross your fingers and hope for the best! YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED! ;)
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Silent Hunter Wednesday, March 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
8.5" Standard Barrel for 98 Custom
J J Performance Ceramic Barrel Spyder 14 inch
Marker Setup: 98 Custom with Flatline Barrel system
Strengths: Very good Range and OK accuracy
Weaknesses: Not great for CQB.
Review: Great range and accuracy
It can hit a non moving man size target which is 160 feet away in 3 shots.
PERFECTfor snipers.

It makes the 98 Custom looks like a rifle, which is awesome. But a 3 feet gun is not very good for speed ball or CQB

You need to hold the gun perfectly straight and still for good accuracy.

It doesn't work good in windy or rain weather.

It needs good paintballs to get the job done.




Conclusion: I love my Flatline. It's little expensive but it's worth the money. If you are a sniper, go get one. You will love it. But make sure you install it right, otherwise funny things will happen.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 24th, 2003 at 12:28 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

iconballer Monday, April 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
02 all american,teardrop,nyte stick
Marker Setup: silver 98c
standard 4.99 hopper
16 oz. pure energy tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
well if you get it working i would suggest marbs since thats what the mr.smart tippmann pro shop man said to use
Strengths: it does have distance
Weaknesses: distance is worthless because balls dont break on target
balls curves up extremely at 70yrds
Review: ok i bought the flatline as my first upgrade to my new 98c thinking it would make a world of improvement...which it did not. I and a few friends have tested this thing extensively and have called tippmann which was to no help at all just made me want to take it back even more. While shooting RPS all stars we shot about 100 rounds which were all to the right of the target and yes we were holding the gun perfectly straight....we even had it on a stand. So after that we took it apart and read the side note of the instructions telling us how to fix the right/left curve paintballs....so we lined up the barrel perfectly straight...no exaggeration. We took it out the next day it shot straight for about 30 yards then died.We then raised the velocity and took more shot...we fixed the problem by doing that. Then we shot some more rounds and they would get to about 70-75 yards and just fly 25 feet up into the air making it virtually impossible to hit any target over that range.then we sent 3 people back to the back of the target range while i shot the flatline towards them (they did have masks on) and they caught about 10 out of 35 paintballs and the other 25 either raised before them or when i aimed extremely low hit them and bounced off...they didn't even know that one had hit them when it fell in front of them.Then for the first test of the flatline in battle. I didn't get one guy out, the one kid said he even ducked probably the only shot that would of hit him,it was basically useless of me to shoot since i was not going to hit anyone unless they stood and let me take more then 10 shots at them.Now after that extremely disappointing game we decided to make a call to tippmann...closed....the next day we took the flatline out again just for one more test....and to our surprise...it did nothing again.Called tippmann,the answers we got were worthless and made me want to take back my flatline all together.Hello customer service.'hi i bought a flatline this Friday and i seem to be having problems with it,it curves up extremely after only a somewhat normal paintball distance,Tippmann service man ' yea its supposed to do that',me-'go straight up?'Tippmann' yes'.Then with his infinite genius he told us how marbs are the best and to run our velocity at 280-295 for best results....well thanks mr.tippmann just what i wanted $140 barrel that raises the ball up 25 feet after barely passing normal paintball range. Thank You Tippmann. and wow what a technical marvel the flatline is
Conclusion: you want to waste your money so you feel big? then do it
you want to get shot out of paintball game because the guy your shooting at got into 'normal paintball range' before the flatline could even get close? then you definitely want this barrel. and all you people who are gonna flame me for this review. dont blame me for the product i got blame Tippmann for it
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 19th, 2004 at 3:57 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

sumassembly Sunday, March 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye boomstick, stock 98c barrel
Marker Setup: 98 Custom, 18" dye boomstick, r/t, ricochet ak, co2
A-5, 14" progressive, co2
Strengths: Adds some distance
Weaknesses: Horrible accuracy if not aligned perfectly.
No holes.
Loud.
Price.
Plastic shell.
Review: It was alright when i first put it on pretty much like the stock barrel but more distance. I used it for about 1 maybe 2 months but almost once every week mostly just practice
First time i used it it was alright not worth 50$.This was before i got my r/t installed i had this barrel. anyway first time i played at first it was like a normal barrel then i noticed the balls curving off i was like whats going on i couldn't hit anyone further then 20 feet away because the balls curved to much. I put my stock barrel on and it shot fine the rest of that game. Put the flatline back on again. Big hassle to take it on and off. So i put it on i had to re-align it once again. And next time i played same thing happened my balls started curving off on random sides. I used diablos, velocity, marblizers, and some brass eagle kind that sucked really bad. I was extremely disappointed after it screwing up many times. If you people think this is a good barrel you need to try a boomstick or a jj ceramic barrel, they are way better quieter, have holes to let out extra co2, extremely easy to take on and off compared to flatline, and don't screw up if you tap anything slightly. This barrel isn't as good as everyone makes it out to be
Conclusion: I recommend not to get this barrel, there is way better barrels cheaper and more accuate then this, and with a lot less hassle. The best barrel in my opinion is the dye boomstick. Im giving this a 1 because the price and it wont stay aligned
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

aznstylexxx Saturday, October 2nd, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Strengths: Range
Looks
Weaknesses: ACCURACY!!!!!
Picky on Paint
Price
Review: I don't care what anyone says... this barrel was just plain horrible. I read some reviews on here and gave it the benifit of the doubt for 3 months. I mean... sure it goes really far, but what good does that do you if you can't hit anything? =\. I tried shooting a tree and 2 out of 20 shots actually hit the tree and NOT in the same spot. It is totally innacurate and no matter how many times I tried adjusting it, it would not shoot well at all. I am warning you not to buy this product.
Conclusion: Horrible barrel and there is no point of buying it unless you find the need to throw money away. Seriously.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Jmaster87 Tuesday, July 16th, 2002
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 28 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP One Piece Stock for 98
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom w/ Adco Hot Shot, rear velocity adjuster Nitro, Double Trigger, XBoard Revy.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Nothing
Strengths: Nothing..... It shot good the first day I guess.... Other than that absolutely nothing this barrel is as bad as they get avoid it like the plague. IT WILL RUIN YOUR 98
Weaknesses: Everything It destroyed my CVX valve and my power tube it will ruin anything. Even when it is not destroying my gun it did not shoot good. 50%% of the time the ball drops two feet in front of you. The velocity is never consistent. Always jumping 100 fps.. it can be dangerous take somebody's head right off. Never ever even consider buying it.
Conclusion: Do not buy this barrel the stock barrel is better use that instead... Get a CP barrel they own.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
17 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (78):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media