paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel

Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel
[ View Photos (17) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 771
Average Rating: 8.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Flatline Barrel System is the first barrel to put back spin on paintballs. It not only increases accuracy and distance, but it also has a flat trajectory.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (78):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
mandog98 Sunday, December 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None, stock for 98 I giess
Marker Setup: Old-98 pro flatline
Now-Spyder vs2 w/ some ups
Recommended
Paintballs:
High end that fits the barrel perfectley!
Strengths: Range
Looks
Weaknesses: Ball breaks on hot-humid-cold weather
Price!
Length
Loud
Install time
Review: Well, when I first got the Flatline i was exited, when I got home I tried it out. (person who I got it from installed it 4 me :) ) it worked pretty good, long ranges, ect. the next time i went paintballing it rained the previous day so the air was very 'damp.' so every 2-3 shots a ball broke. I got it removed and rented a barrel (they had 98's as rentals... damn like 8-10in barrels! :P). So i only use it in the summer and when it has not just rained.
Conclusion: I would only suggest this barrel for scenario players who live in places where it does not rain alot, and is not too hot or too cold. If you live in that kind of area then i would suggest this barrel and give it a 7... but most places are like what I said...(Rains a bit, Snows, hot and cold days no 'in between' days and so i will give it a 4 for them.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 12th, 2008 at 7:14 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RedDragon1313 Tuesday, July 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
21in Sniper barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom WITHOUT ACT
21in sniper barrel
M-16 foregrip with AK-74 front sight
Red Dot sight
Laser sight
Tactical flashlight
Custom camo
Recommended
Paintballs:
any medium grade
Strengths: Flat shots a close to mid range
Instil fear in the uneducated
Weaknesses: Slows shots down (beyond mid-range)
VERY inacurate
Breaks balls
LOUD
Expensive
Review: I picked one of these up just to test it out.

After less than 200 balls I had already had a ball break (premium paint). With my 21in sniper I have had zero breaks in the last 3000 balls. The barrel HAD to be cleaned IMMEDIATLY, you couldn't hit anything beyond 40 feet after the break.

After cleaning I got it tuned and began full out testing, target shooting, shooting at PEOPLE, at clost range and at distances beyond normal (flatline SHOULD get more distance right?)

Target shooting showed that low grade paint is USLESS!!! I couldn't hit a SHED at 50 feet!!!!!, 4 out of 5 balls shot of in usless directions, only 1 ball even HIT the shed and IT was no where near the target. The GOOD part was that with leathery Brass Eagle Monster Balls their tough skin and small size DID keep them from breaking, couldn't HIT anything with them, but I didn't have to clean the barrel after 100 shots.

Move to premium paint. Not too bad on the aim, but 1 or 2 out of every 5 balls STILL shot off in some wild direction,10 feet, up, left or right, nobody knew where they were going. At CLOSE range, where I would aim straight on with my 21in , heck, under 50 feet I would aim straight on with the 81/2in STOCK barrel and HIT EVERY SHOT, well the flatline was fairly acurate, except for the wild balls. At mid range everything went down hill, more balls off target. Those that DID go straight were VERY straight (nice if you want to shoot through a culvert or tube) but acuracy suffered and I could hit more reliably with ANY other barrel, even the 81/2 in stock one. At long range (this is what the flatline is FOR right?) it was so inacurate that the people being shot at had to actualy move to get in front of the ball, even 2 people standing side by side were too small a target.

Hindreds of rounds were shot at human targets (including ME) and NONE hit the person! By the time they got downrange(150 feet NO obstructions!) they wre moving so slowly that you could just step out of the way, 1 ball or 30, it didn't matter. They were going so slowly I actuall cought several out of the air, I could throw a paintball harder! (280fps out of the muzzel, floating like a butterfly at 150ft) I even jumped in front of several and thost that I MADE hit me DIDN'T BREAK!!!!! What good is a LONG ball if they have no energy? If they don't BREAK you might as well have dumped them on the ground and stomped on them!

With the Flatline you had to move to GET hit, now a switch to the 21in sniper had people jumping OUT OF THE WAY at 150 ft from the first shot, they were MORE acurate AND were moving TWICE as fast, they actualy HURT when they hit you! Not to mention the fact that the flatline is LOUD, almost as loud as the 81/2in stock one!!!!! Almost ANY aftermarket barrel is quieter! You have to take your gun apart to put on the shroud ANd it covers your sight rails AND it only has ONE (dovetail) not the double like the 98 has without the shroud!

If it was under $50 AND you could swap it out without taking your gun apart, well maybe I'd get one to put in my pack for that "odd" shot.

BUT as it is, I would NEVER use one on MY gun.

Conclusion: I would NOT recomment a flatline barrle for any but SPECIFFIC applications.

The Flatline RUINS your acuracy at anything over 50ft no matter what paint you use, it breaks balls, it slows them down making them easy to dodge at over 50-75ft, it is LOUD, and it is expensive. A good sniper barrel will shoot harder at long range and will hit more often! Add that to the fact that you must take your gun apart to put the shroud on (no swapping barrels) AND the shroud covers your sight rails, is it a DEFFINATE NO for MY gun.

Now it DOES have it's uses, is scares noobs when you say you have a flatline (any GOOD player will be HAPPY to hear you are using one AGAINST them). It is GREAT on a grinder set in the bunker to keep the other team's heads down at a longer distance. (So the players WITHOUT one can sneak up and SHOOT them) And yesm in the RARE occasion that you have a close shot that must shoot under an overhang, it MAY help, if the ball doesn't fly wild giving away your position!
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

TCYFudge Thursday, June 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
empire twister 16"
Marker Setup: basic tippman 98c w/ flatline and pen spring mod
Recommended
Paintballs:
marballizer
Strengths: Awesome accuracy, better weight with gun. looks
Weaknesses: You have to adjust your velocity to get it to go straight. price
Review: DON'T TAKE THE FRONT SIGHT OFF. big mistake. i did. i had to tie my hopper around my gun with string. i then decided too use crazy glue and play-do to fix it. it worked but then i realized i had to clean it. so it had to muscle it off. anyway, get this and u won't be disappointed
Conclusion: If ur into woods ball get it. You can take anyone out. Remember to adjust the velocity.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 2nd, 2005 at 10:32 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dpc Sunday, April 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
dye barrels
Marker Setup: 98c
flatline barrel w/ metal shroud
rear velocity adjuster
maddman spirng kit
dark horizon lite titanium hammer
double trigger
pro seal power tube
response trigger

hopper:
ricochet apache
Recommended
Paintballs:
marbs
Strengths: Flat trajectory
Shoots farther/straighter
Weaknesses: Cost quite a bit
Takes forever to install
Review: When this barrel came in the mail i had no idea how to install it so then I decided to read the instrustions because thats what they are there for. And about 45 minutes later I had it installed and I went out to test it and it veered off to the side so I adjusted the barrel to line up and it shot awsome 9 out of 10 shots were dead on at like 75 feet away. So bacically I'm saying that this is the best barrel that you can get for the tippmann 98.


Note: it shoots bets when your velocity is around 280-290
Conclusion: Get it if you have the money if you dont get it anyway.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 10th, 2005 at 10:47 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbjoe693 Sunday, March 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Theres nothing like it
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Flatine barrel
Response Trigger
Viewloader Evlution 2
Recommended
Paintballs:
PMI Big Balls
Strengths: Adds 100 feet
looks cool
Accurate
only 14"
Weaknesses: Its $100
Review: The flatline barrel is definately worth it. It does make the gun a little heavy, its $100 and its annoying to take it off and put it back on to clean it but its accurate, adds 100 feet, looks cool and its only 14". Its also kind of hard to put on the gun.
Conclusion: This barrel is awesome. Its worth the $100 and If you like to snipe people in battles you should definately get this barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Deer Friday, December 31st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing, the flatline is a unique barrel design. The hop-up barrel is the only othe barrel I know of that produces backspins.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom, Flatline
Recommended
Paintballs:
I've been fixed one type of paintball for a while so as of yet have not used anything besides PMI Stingers
Strengths: Very accurate,
Long flat range,
Weaknesses: You need to hold your gun level,
Can't shoot through ball breaks
Review: This is the best barrel I have seen. It worked very well for me. I use PMI Stingers that I buy for $30 american a case and I did not have one ball break. The accuracy was better than a could have ever hoped to get out of my J&J Ceramic. The front grip over the barrel was very comfortable. I loved this barrel and have not seen better. Though there is somewhat of a learning curve, but this should only take about a day to get used to. The only thing you really have to get used to is the fact that you need to hold the gun up straight. You don't have to get it perfect just good. The only other thing you might have a problem with is dissassmbly of your marker. With this barrel it is slightly more difficult.
Conclusion: I know nothing is perfect but this is the best barrel I have seen so I'm rating it a 10 if I find better then I'll lower it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

justin_pber Sunday, December 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock, 12" teardrop-doesn't even come close 2 shot range
Marker Setup: 98custom
flatline
tippmann expansion chamber
drop forward
Recommended
Paintballs:
pmi premiums
Strengths: How far it shoots
Balances out gun if u have a 20oz co2 tank
Weaknesses: Price
Installing
Review: i just got to say its a great woodsball barrel. The price is a little high but its worth it. If your wanting to make the back players nervous this is the barrel for you. Because it can shoot out and other barrel. The only really hard this about it is getting it installed correctly.
Conclusion: Buy the barrel its great but does have some bad points
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jrmints22 Wednesday, August 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: 98 custom
flatline barrel
double trigger
expansion chamber
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marballizers
Strengths: Distance
Decent accuracy
Looks
Weaknesses: not 100 percet accurate
Loud
Need good paint
Review: I was a little skeptical when i first boght the flatline, but now I am glad I did. This thing is sweet, the distance is incredible and it will hit its target. When I was playin with it I made sure i could use my distance to my advantage, so don't buy this if u want to run in shooting rapid fire. Anyways, I was takin down people and they didnt even stand a chance, I culd even stand back with no cover layin down a constant stream of paintballs and keepin them from advancing, it was sweet. Some say its not that great becuz u need the best paint, which is true, but this isnt for rapid fire shooting like I said. Becuz I outranged my oponents tho I didnt need that much paint so I actually spend less on paint now even tho its more expensive.
Conclusion: I definetly recomend this product to anyone who wants too outrange there oponent. Its a little bit of a pain to set up, but its worth it. I say buy it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, September 16th, 2004 at 1:25 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Stalin223 Saturday, May 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Barrel only, it sucks, enough said.
Boomstick, cool looking, moderate cost, accurate enough.
Whatever that guy's cocker barrel was, shiney splash anodized. I'm sure it was expensive, but it shot very straight. It better for a 1500 dollar gun.
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom 98
Low Pressure Kit
Sucky Pure Energy regulator
Flatline (duh)
38cu, 3000PSI solid steel HPA tank.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any High quality paint. A lot of time, the balls will vary by processor batch, and with humidity/temp. I use a set of dial calipers on one of the bags of balls to test for size.
Anything from Draxxus seems to work great, you're looking for a round that will roll freely though the barrel from muzzle to ball detent.
I currently use Blaze, it works wonders.
Strengths: Very long range
It's made out of aluminum, nice and light.
Weaknesses: Since the barrel must be bent, defects can be found.
The rough surface collects everything.
Review: Stengths...continued
Funny watching retards try to 'matrix' arround your paint and get nailed.
Freakish range.
The optical illusion of slowness works to your advantage when shooting at people out in the open.
Flat trajectory, no more Kentucky Windage for me.
Flip the gun upside down and you have your very own mortar tube for paintballs.
Turn the gun at an angle to hook shots arround stuff. Acts just like a curve ball, dives steeply once it slows down to about 200 FPS.
Fairly simple to install. I fail to see what the huge problem is with installing this. A crecent wrench, allen wrench set, and a Room temperature IQ are all that is really required.
The looks and heckling you get when you leave off the shroud, and have a low pressure kit. 'OMG ur barrel is broken! u r lame!' I just love goggling them 20 seconds into a game.

Weaknesses...continued
It's made out of aluminum, easily scratched by dirt in the barrel.
You have to use hot soapy water to get rid of gun oil slicks in the barrel.
A moderate pain to setup when you do not have access to a chronograph
Small sweet spot speed where it works very well, everywhere else sucks.
Difficult to setup with a low pressure kit due to the 5-6 variables affecting the flight of your paint. But this was only an issue with my gun.
You cannot shoot this gun clean, the rough surface will collect and hold anything you put in it.

This barrel, when properly machined, alligned, serviced, with the proper paint, and at the sweet spot speed that seems to be unique for everyone, you can't find a better barrel for the 98 custom. Unfortunately, that is very difficult for a non-tweaker to get right. I can get a +-24" grouping out at 150 feet, which is more than enough to screw with people. And they break consistently, because the round is still traveling fairly fast. The rotational energy in the ball adds impact impulse to the round, and impulse is what breaks the ball on the body.
Ever shot at a pillow? The ball decellerates over a much longer time than if it hit a tree. The breakage of a ball is all about decelleration over time.

With good paint, and a squeaky clean gun, you will have almost no ball wander, and on any open area, you can sit out in the open and take pot shots at people.

I can shoot 6 BPS through my barrel with my LP kit, and I have yet to break a ball after 1000 rounds.


Conclusion: If you want to be the best at anything in the medium to long range area, such as a back player, sniper, lookout, or all arround, this is the gun for you. You should ONLY use higher quality paint, if the paint has any crease you can catch on your fingernail, it's no good.

You must PRACTICE to be able to use this barrel effectively, since the way you hold it while crouching WILL affect the way it curves downrange, you must be able to counter it. You must know intamately the flight characteristics of the balls comming out of your gun.

This barrel is NOT for you IF you want to screw it on and notice a massive improvement. You have to tweak and retweak the gun in order to realize its capabilities.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bmace247 Wednesday, July 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
14 in Angel DYE Xcel Barrel
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 Custom w/flatline barrel and 12oz CO2
Recommended
Paintballs:
any good quality, I like PMI Premium paintballs
Strengths: accuracy
range - wow shoots forever
lightweight
looks doesnt mean much but it scares people
Weaknesses: plastic - will break easy
loud - compared with Xcel barrel
curves up when shooting downhill
price
Review: ive read reviews, good and bad, and decided to test this barrel out. I thought this barrel was going to be awesome, have great accuracy and distance, well, it was. I was testing it out and was using a peice of plastic a little smaller than a peice of paper and nailed it from about 125 ft away. The distance was the same - I shot a random paintball straight out and it started to fall about 200 ft away, not hit the ground, just fall. But at that distance the ball curves greatly, but so would most other barrels (if it could shoot that far)
Some reviews say that the ball floats and wont expload at great distances. They are correct, I shot a cement road from about 150 feet away and half of the balls bounced off. Now, if you were shooting somone at that far you have a 50/50 chance of the ball exploading on them compared to a regular barrel that wont even go this distance with accuracy enough to hit their target, so their chanced are probably 0. Now decide for yourself, do you want a 50% chance of a ball breaking or no chance at all at even hitting them, at the least you'll peg them and let them know that their in trouble.
many people said it was hard to install and clean, I honesty dont know what they meant by that. yes it was harder to install than just screwing in a barrel, but it wasnt like rebuilding a car engine. Im guessing that these people didnt read the directions, I read the directions and installed it in less than 5 or 10 min. this barrel MUST be installed correctly or it WILL NOT shoot coorectly. Since the barrel is curved to give it backspin, if you put the barrel in a little crooked it will shoot left or right, it does say this will happen in the directions too.
it is a little hard to clean but if you open the removable elbow and move your squeegy through you can clean it just fine, it's a little hard to get through the first part of the barrel though.
I'm not the richest man in the world so I dont have money to buy thousands of different paintballs and test them out. I did shoot about 300 PMI Premium Paintballs when I first got the barrel to test it. Out of those 300 not one paintball broke. I wasnt shooting rapidly though but if you are sniping with this barrel (which you should be) you shouldn't be firing 4 balls a second. The reason theres more of a chance to chop a ball is because the balls are hitting the barrels top to give it backspin and the barrel is rugged so the ball will actually spin. But if you are using high grade paint you will have no problem at all.
This barrel isnt very consistant in accuracy at far ranges. I did have straight on shots from about 175 ft but I also had curved shots, to the left and right and somtimes up or down, BUT, these shots that varried were about 2 feet off at the MOST, this is the same accuracy a normal barrel would get at 105 ft. You have about 70 feet over most barrels.
Conclusion: You may read many reviews and you will see both good and bad reviews on this barrel, the people who gave it a 6 or less probably didnt install the barrel correctly, used low quality paint or dropped it. You may listen to me or you may not, this IS the BEST upgrade your your Tippman 98 Custom or Model 98 you can buy. i know realize its about $100 but IF you can get that money I HIGHLY recomend you buy this barrel. This barrel should have an average rating of about 9.5 but a few people had a little trouble with their barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 16th, 2003 at 10:22 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (78):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media