paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel

Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel
[ View Photos (17) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 771
Average Rating: 8.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Flatline Barrel System is the first barrel to put back spin on paintballs. It not only increases accuracy and distance, but it also has a flat trajectory.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (78):  First  |  73  |  74  |  75  |  76  |  77  |  78
        Next Page
Splatboy12 Sunday, July 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5 flatline barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with responce trigger and flatline barrel.
Tippmann 98 custom with J&J 16" ceramic barrel
Spyder Aggressor
Recommended
Paintballs:
Dusk- best
there are others but arent great
Strengths: Increses the length of your shot
Weaknesses: Hard to clean, and a pain to take off your gun
Review: I bought this barrel when i started playing and I liked it and all just i think it was too big to lug around, and how you have to take your gun apart to get it off and how its a hassle to clean it, urg! I just couldnt stand it so i bought the A-5 flatline barrel and gun, i think i is a lot better, because it is smaller with the same range as the 98 flatline. I am not dissing the 98 gun , the Tippmann 98 custom is an AWESOME gun, im just saying the flatline isnt the best barrel for the gun.
Conclusion: It is too big and is a hassle to clean and take off your gun, i rate it a 7
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

98woodssniper Saturday, July 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none available.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom with flatline barrel and 20oz CO2 tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Every paintball they don't break in this barrel.
Strengths: Accurate.
Shoots far.
Straight.
Weaknesses: Pricey.
Review: This barrel is the best barrel on the market. There is no other barrel like it. Tippmann makes the best quality products. I like this barrel dosn't break any balls maybe 1 in 10,000. It is the best if play woods ball. If you play speed ball get a tear drop but any things else you play get a flatline.
Conclusion: Get it it is so worth the price. you have long range than stock barrels.

And remember kids stick the barrel through the hole.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Hekrill Tuesday, June 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Most barrels.
Marker Setup: In profile
Recommended
Paintballs:
Small bore. Barrel is very picky.
Strengths: Range
Accurate
Weaknesses: Loud
Little porting
Large
Over rated
Review: Well, i played with one for a while, and if you put this on your gun expect 6 extra feet of length.Man this thing shoots far though- I must admit i had no problems hitting anything.

The bad? This is a large and over rated. Instead of spending 115 bucks on this, get a real barrel. Or better yet, save up for a nice marker. Great barrels to think about before you purchase this:
CP One Peice
CP Two Peice
CP Kit
Despite the fact that this has incredable range, I don't recommend to non-scenario players. It's not practical for speedball or even rec-balling in some cases. It's an impracticalality. But for scenario games, this would be great. It's just...well...

I don't play scenario games.
Conclusion: Scenario players...think before you buy one.
Everyone else...buy a real barrel.
Other comments: excellent range and accuracy.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 19th, 2005 at 6:00 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bigryan814 Saturday, April 24th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
j&j 14 inch ceramic barrel, nytt stick
Marker Setup: 98 custom, flateline,j&j ceramic
Recommended
Paintballs:
tell you in the review body
Strengths: distance and thats it................ya
Weaknesses: not consistant....shots never slow,my friends would catch my balls in there hands!!!!
Review: this barrel is very over rated.....it does have the distance but no accuacy....and cant shoot fast or you'll break the balls and than your really in trouble when you have someone shooting at you...i would only recommend this barrel for DIE HARD SNIPERS who believe in staying back and believe in" ONE SHOT ONE KILL"



oh ya.....paintballs....blaze r ok but will still break and than you have to waste 15 shots to clear it out
Conclusion: not good at all....i use my j&j [35$ barrel] more than my flatline barrel[120$]
ill give it a 4 for the distance thats it.....dont buy it...many better barrels for cheaper
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 24th, 2004 at 8:54 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Duffmaster Monday, January 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
No one makes a thing like it b/c Tippmann has a patent
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom w/ flatline and carbine stock
Recommended
Paintballs:
I used year old $40 a case paint on a cold day with little air and chopped one.
Strengths: Distance, lateral accuracy, looks cool
Weaknesses: If barrell installed too quick and its crokked it will swerve off
Review: The plastic cover was warped on mine but affected nothing.

Hassle at first to put one if you never taken gun apart in a while

Slows ball down 5 fps ( who notices that in a game?)

The effect of it floating is not true because you turn velocity down b/c ur flight path is shorter and makes u think its shooting too fast, so put it up just a tad.

Most tragets in a game will be at a ditance of 50 feet in a woods game. Since the flatline is consistant to how far it shoots all u need to worry about is windage ( side to side movement).

You will get your moneys worth if u install it right and use it right
Conclusion: HOW GOOD U ARE IS BASED ON
55% Players Skill and his ability to sneak up on enemys or evade enemys
25% Risk taking ( can get you killed or get kills)
15% Equipment : gun, hopper, barrell, camo in woods game, paint
05% God's willingness to bless you that day, (Luck)

This gun will make you 10 % better atleast
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tippysniper98 Thursday, November 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom with Flatline Barrel, Pro Team FX Stock, and remote line
Recommended
Paintballs:
Good, fresh paint nothing old or cheap (like brasseagle)
Strengths: Accurate
Shoots Far
Looks Good
Weaknesses: You can't shoot fast.Others say it's hard to install.
Review: I don't know about it being hard to install thats what other reviews say. It came installed on my gun. I do know that it shoots far and is very accurate. The barrel looks nice (not important). I think its a good barrel for sniping and scenario games. Other than those features if you like sniping its great and you might want to consider it . It is a bit expensive.
Conclusion: Great for range and accuracy. Like I said before,its not for speedball of fast shooting. If you shoot fast it will break paintballs( I made that mistake quiet a few times).
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, January 13th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Cocker, Spyder, F-4 Illustrator...
Marker Setup: 98 custom with expansion, double trigger, and flatline
Recommended
Paintballs:
1proball, 2 marbs
Strengths: very cool distance and accuracy. I consistantly smoke cockers via small holes through bushes at a very long distances that they could only dream about (200-300 ft.)
Weaknesses: Can't drop balls over bushes. they just have a 'flat' trajectory which is good though. mine was easy to set up.
Conclusion: Awesome! Worth every penny for playin' out in the stix. Get a snyper barrel or boomstick for speedball
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, December 20th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: flatline, expansion, rear velocity adjuster, double trigger...
Recommended
Paintballs:
proball, marbelizers, 32 Degree team colors
Strengths: For starters with the flatline it makes the ball go a lot farther. It is truly more accurate, the ball flight is straighter. And it is a much better barrel.
Weaknesses: The only bad thing is that if you fire it too fast it sometimes jams, clogs, or ball may break, but it is still all good.
Conclusion: It is a good product if you are looking for distance on your shots or you just wanna be a sniper.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DeathRecon Sunday, July 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Apex barrel system (on a Spyder MR3). I recommend not buying an Apex system, unless you're just an incredibly horrible shot. Apex defeats a main idea of paintball: skillful shooting.
Marker Setup: -Tippmann 98 Custom ACT
-Viewloader Revolution Loader
-Tippmann 98C Flatline
-Tippmann 98K Commando Stock (fixed)
-Coiled Remote (don't know the brand)
-Daisy Electronic Holo Sight

-PCS USP Pistol
Recommended
Paintballs:
The Flatline was designed with Marblizers in mind, but Stinger seems to work just as well. I tested 200 Stinger, 100 rapid-fire, 100 slow, not a single break.
Strengths: Incredible range and accuracy, flat trajectory. (see review)
Weaknesses: Cost. Assembly was easy. Just remember to keep the notch pointed upwards.
Review: If you are a military person (ex or still enlisted), law enforcement, hunter, sport shooter, etc, that plays woodsball or scenario paintball, the Flatline is really the only viable choice; no other barrel emulates the trajectory, range, or accuracy of an actual rifle as closely as the Flatline. Personally, I quickly grew weary of the shortcomings of standard smoothbore barrels--stock or aftermarket--, ie. the arc, inconsistant accuracy, and pathetic range.

I am more of a ranged player on the woodsball field, but I also like going commando on everybody. But... being a sharpshooter, my capability was severly limited by the limitations of regular smoothbore barrels.

Perhaps you're wondering how the Flatline can be more accurate and have greater range than a regular barrel? Well, here's a little physics lesson, courtesy of an 18-year old:

The bore of the Flatline is textured, which gives the paintball a backspin, allowing it to "drift", giving it greater range and a flatter trajectory. As far as increased accuracy: there are essentially two components of accuracy: horizontal and vertical. The backspin solves both these problems; with a flatter trajectory, there is less guess-work when it comes to range. The backspin also counter-acts the horizontal component; it works along the same principle as a spinning bicycle wheel: the centrifugal force created by the spinning wheel balances out the perpendicular component of motion. If the wheel is spinning while being held strait up and down, it will resist yaw (that is, it will resist side-to-side motion, at right angles to its path of motion) This is how a Flatline Barrel System operates.
Conclusion: Absolutely essential for anyone wanting to either get an edge over the competition, increase the Mil-Sim factor, or are experienced riflemen wanting something a little more realistic-shooting.

The system is costly; I got mine for about $100. But trust me, if you're serious about woodsball, this is the SINGLE BEST purchase you can make after purchasing your Tippmann and the other essentials (tank, hopper.).
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 29th, 2007 at 1:23 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dariunas Friday, June 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrel
Marker Setup: -Tippman 98 C
-Flatline Barrel System
-32 Degress Hyperstar Bolt
-BT Folding Stock (hollow)
-Poished internals
-Silicone lubricant (trust me on this!)
Strengths: Excellent looks, excellent range
Weaknesses: Requires tuning and adjustment, shroud can pose problems in future
Review: Ok, first off, I haven't done any real tests apart from simply playing in games at my local field... They run HPA there which dispels most of the spiking issues...

As you probably know the flatline barrel curves up and forward, so as the ball leaves the marker, it spins backwards as it rises up through...

The trajectory is a LOT more even than a stock barrel and the extra range is great. I've broken very, VERY few balls in this, but that's probably because I've maintained the marker well... I wouldn't say it adds 150feet at all, but it does will give you a clear advantage...

Where I'm at now with my marker is tuning... As other reviewers have stated, you need to line the barrel up perfectly and find the optimum velocity for this barrel to perform it's best or you'll find your balls swinging from side to side (also your paint will be curving off course ; ) heheheheh... oh... :\
This requires some tuning to keep it accurate beyond 50ft, so be prepared to fine tune it a litte :)

Looks wise, this is SO SWEET!!!! Coupled with the stock and a rifle sling, the reactions I got at my field was worth the price alone! :D

"F^£ing hell!! That guy's got a f£"!ing rifle"
"He better not playing against us :| "

heheh - excellent!

Marker looks awesome with the shroud, very MP5ish, but... there's a little problem - the flatline shroud makes some other aftermarket customisations difficult - namely closed bolt systems and feeder systems... also, you don't get the standard sight rail (I think...)
Conclusion: Excellent barrel! Highly recommended, be willing to invest a little time in optimising and testing the setup for best performance and you'll never look back!

Having said that, the only other barrel that comes close to this is the Apex. Check it out too. But the 98C looks WAY better and the Apex has almost cheating functions! :(
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (78):  First  |  73  |  74  |  75  |  76  |  77  |  78
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media