paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel

Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel
[ View Photos (17) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 771
Average Rating: 8.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Flatline Barrel System is the first barrel to put back spin on paintballs. It not only increases accuracy and distance, but it also has a flat trajectory.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (78):  First  |  74  |  75  |  76  |  77  |  78
        Next Page
RogueCanuck Monday, April 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock 8" barrel from Tippmann
12" barrel, unknown make
Marker Setup: Tippmann M98 Custom
- Flatline Barrel
- 6 position adjustable CAR-style stock
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything that doesn't pop right apart in your hands. I have used some cheap six month old paint with no breakage, as well as some higher end paint at my field. No in-barrel breakage was found.
Strengths: - Extreme improvement in effective range over other barrels tried
- Simple to maintain
Weaknesses: - Very sensitive to fouling
- May be tough first install
Review: The flatline barrel for the Model 98 Custom is a must-have accessory for any serious or even weekend warrior who owns this marker. I found that I was able to direct my fire with decent accuracy for a pneumatic weapon at almost any target I could see in the woods.

The first thing any new user should remember is that keeping this barrel clean between rounds will dramatically improve performance. This is easily done - as many have noted - by simply running the cord of your squeegee through the ball feed hole after removing the hopper.

One small issue I did note when first installing this barrel was the slight difficulty getting the adapter into place fully. Even with the suggested bolts backed almost out of their holes, the final rotation was slightly taxing for me. To offer some perspective with that, I work with my hands fairly regularly and am far from weak. People with smaller hands will likely want something akin to a strap-wrench to aid in that final turn with your brand-new adapter. Subsequent removal and replacement gets easier as the part gets worn in.

Anyone with familiarity with the H&K G3 rifle or MP5 submachinegun will recognize the style of the plastic shroud/front furniture. Having seen the metal shroud, I'd suggest trying to fit the front section of the plastic in if you switch to a metal shroud for both aestetic and comfort reasons. The front furniture allows for a slightly longer spread between hands and I feel provides a bit more control for precision shooting.

I recommend some form of a stock for even more precise use for those people comfortable with the larger length. Those of smaller stature will likely prefer to use an adjustable position stock with a remote line for comfort and ease of use if they use a stock.

After a day of lugging my gun around in the woods, I found it more than light enough to move quickly on the speedball court, although I again must admit that smaller people may find it a bit more unwieldy. (I stand 6' tall and 260 lbs)
Conclusion: If you're at all serious about turning your Model 98 into a lethal paintball weapon, this barrel is your best start.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

freakballa Tuesday, March 15th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock 98 barrel
SP Progressive 14in
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom, RT, 12v revvy, 20oz Co2, DOP Drop forward, DOP double trigger, 14in SP Progressive
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marbs
premiums
Strengths: OK distance
Weaknesses: Unaccurate
Pain to clean while playing
Hard to get set up right
Review: I got this barrel a year and a half ago, and i thought it was going to be a awsome barrel. I was wrong, sure the distance is good but the accuracy is bad, and you have to but the most expensive paint on the market to get it to shoot decent. And another bad thing about this barrel is that if you break a ball while playing you have to spent 5 minutes taking it apart to clean it. So after the first game i played with it, i decide that i didnt like it and i took it off and bought a Progressive.
Conclusion: If you have the money to buy the paint, and if you have the patience to work with it and get it set up correctly, than you should get it. If you dont id stick with getting a regular barrel.

I give it a 3 because of the OK distance.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

xpbsniper Thursday, August 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom with the GTA flatline system Response trigger 3 position car stock double trigger expansion chamber lightning drop forward
Recommended
Paintballs:
Zap, Tork, Heat, Chronic, Draxxus,
Strengths: This barrel is unsurpassable at long range shots.
Weaknesses: The backspin on the ball makes the ball sometimes float off target and slow.
Review: It doesn't really matter, this barrel might sound good but hey it's your money ,
The paintballs will sometimes float off target or wobble out of the barrel or if the system is inserted in wrong the paintballs will fly out wrong and compleatly miss target, yes the flatline does lower the trajectory it doesn't increase range.
Conclusion: Hey it's your money if it sounds good buy it and try it
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Wonderboy21 Sunday, July 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Numerous JT barrels, stock barrel, Hammerhead.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98C (stock for now)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything Zap quality or better. BRASS EAGLE IS SUICIDE!
Strengths: *Huge increase in distance
*Looks awesome on gun
*Light
Weaknesses: *Ball snakes
*Ball skyrockets when momentum lost
*Picky paint
*forget speedball
*Chops with r/t
Review: This barrel is the definition of a money trap. The concept is a genius, its just so poorly done that it makes the 98 a piece of crap for speed-ball. If you play woods ball this is an ok barrel if you can keep it straight and have a lot of space to maneuver. If you play urban ball this is the type of thing that will get you laughed at. all in all this barrel is Tippmann's version of a money trap. They make it seem so good but the fact that its accurate range is only as good as a barrel less than half its price defeats the purpose. THIS IS NOT AN ACCURATE BARREL AT LONG RANGE and if you have an r/t this will chop so much paint you will find yourself taking the barrel off just so you can dry fire it and hope that people think you are still a threat.
Conclusion: I give it a 4 because of the phenomenal range this adds and how cool it looks. Ive heard that the A-5 Flatline is good but ive never tried it. If you really want it go for it, but don't come crying to me when your paint snakes 20 feet to one side of the target or skyrockets right before it makes contact.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, January 5th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
boomstick,14inch tippmann sniper barrel,ceramic
Marker Setup: 98c ,pb drop forward,double trigger, lapco elbow = new gun
spyder se, boomstick barrel ,double trigger = old gun
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything but brass eagle
Strengths: shoots far and straight,doesn't pop balls stabilizes gun
Weaknesses: can be alittle bulky with the shroud but with it of it's fine just a little hard to judge where the ball is gonna hit you get used to it though
Conclusion: if you are a sniper buy this barrel
if you aren't a sniper buy this barrel and take off the shroud
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ash, Housewares Sunday, February 4th, 2001
 
0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: It does actually shoot further. More accurate than a stock barrel.
Weaknesses: Nearly impossible to clean in the field. Loud. After so many feet the balls lose enough momentum that just bounce. Expensive. Heavy and makes an already oversize gun even larger. Very tough to find a paint/barrel match.
Conclusion: The closest paint match I could find that wouldn't get slaughtered by the gun were marbalizers. Fresh paint, no breaks all day. At about 100 ft and beyond they just wouldn't break. The M98 already bugs me because it is too long, and this makes it ten times worse. All in all, I was much happier with my 10" CP. I gave it a 5 because it does make the balls go further, but without breaks it is kinda worthless.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

SharpshooterLP Wednesday, March 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Stock Barrel- Good for Speed ball, Range? Forget about it.
14" Tippmann Sniper-decent accuracy, TOO affected by elements.
Armson 16" Stealth Barrel- Only tested...Better than Flatline.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom (Marker)
-All American Teardrop Barrel (14")
-Lapco 6" Drop Forward
-E-Dot Red Dot Sight
-20oz. CO2 Tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Bigball- 0 breaks out of about 1000 shots
RPS- 1 break in about 750 shots
DO NOT use Brass Eagle or Draxxus Dusk paintballs- they break constantly.
Strengths: huge ability to upgrade, light for size
Weaknesses: Plastic shroud
Not accurate
Not long distance
Picky w/ paint
Review: O.k this is the BEST barrel that Tippmann can come up with? This barrel looks really awesome and shoots good at targets, but it isn't too ggreat in a real game, and doesn't fly that far. I recommend an Armson, it's quiter, more accurate, easier to install and just an all out good barrel. Tippmann tried hard, but it just isn't as good as it should be.
A good barrel, but not as good as it sounds. Look at other barrels before shelling out $150.

I personally recommend the All American Barrels, they're more "All Around" Barrels,
This one is just too hard to put in and get it right.
Conclusion: This is an o.k. barrel, but it's not all it's cracked up to be, in accuracy and distance.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 13th, 2004 at 9:08 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

BlkSabbath1970 Saturday, March 31st, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
32 Degrees Nightstick 16"
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom w/ Coil Remote and Flatline Barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Monster Balls, or HotSpot, NO Zaps
Strengths: None
Weaknesses: Curves balls
Review: I have noticed that accuracy is impossible w/ this barrel. You will shoot and they will curve randomly. I even adjusted the barrel and it showed no effect. For $100 this barrel is garbage. Range could not even be considered because the curve throws the balls at the ground sometimes. Do not buy!!
Conclusion: I did not like this product. Maybe I did not give enough time and effort to adjust it right, but I'm not out there to waste money on 2,000 paintballs when I won't get the thing to work.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, October 18th, 2000
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
 
0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: the name sums it up! the ball does travel a flat line. the range is insane, with the right paint!
Weaknesses: when the barrel gets filled with paint it causes trouble. after you clean the barrel,if you don't line it up perfectly it makes it incredible inaccurate.the curved barrel must be perfectly straight! It just causes you to cappi tow.
Conclusion: I recently bought another barrel for my 98. I just got fed up with all the breaking balls and lineing up the barrel.If you play rec ball in the woods with your friends buy it.If you play speedball or closer range games pass on this barrel, or try it first.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

canadian=killer Sunday, May 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: tippmann c98, J&J 14 inche,RT,cylone hopper,drop forword,xspation chamber
Recommended
Paintballs:
DO NOT USE OLD STUFF!!!!
Strengths: It shoots a little more longer.
Weaknesses: Not accarate my j&j shoots more better,price , donsnt shot to far.
Review: The set up wen i shot it was....... tippmann c98 flatline,xspachone chamber...................we tested with old stuff ( dont try that) and new good stuff that fit the born size perfect was loud i was very shocked to see how inaccurate and that it did not shootsitid shot ok when we took it off and put it back on couse i dont think he had it on right but still it did not shot good my j&j shoots just as far and alot more accurate.
Conclusion: I wood not reccommend it to any 98 user.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (78):  First  |  74  |  75  |  76  |  77  |  78
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media